Customer Reviews for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier

Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier

For large rooms up to 500 square feet, this air purifier features electronic controls and 4 fan speeds, including Turbo Setting to clear the air quickly, and Sleep Mode for quiet operation while saving energy. The True HEPA filter captures 99.97% of particles as small as 0.3 microns. A charcoal pre-filter traps odors and pre-cleans the air before it reaches the HEPA filter. Removes airborne allergens such as dust, pet dander, pollen, tobacco smoke, fabric fibers and mold spores. The Quiet Partner® System offers the quietest high efficiency air purifier technology.* Manufacturer's 30-day Money Back Quiet Guarantee and 5-year Limited Warranty.** This model filters the air 4.8 times per hour in a room up to 500 square feet. AHAM Certified CADR (Clean Air Delivery Rate). Features: For large rooms up to 500 square feet (filters the air 4.8 times per hour)   CADR Certified Ratings: smoke 315 / dust 325 / pollen 401   Electronic controls   4 speed fan with turbo speed   Energy Star qualified   Turbo setting   Sleep mode   True HEPA filter captures 99.97% of particles as small as 0.3 microns   Removes airborne allergens such as dust, pet dander, pollen, tobacco smoke, fabric fibers, mold spores   Charcoal pre-filter traps odors and pre-cleans the air before it reaches the HEPA filter   Quiet Partner® System: the Quietest High Efficiency Air Purifier Technology*   2 Separate Filter Replacement Lights indicate when to replace the HEPA filter or charcoal pre-filter   Built-in Handle and Cord Storage for easy transportation to any room in the house   Manufacturer's 5-year Limited Warranty**   * Among leading brands of True HEPA air purifiers   True HEPA filter is 99.97% effective   Odor-absorbing pre-filter   Change filter indicator lights   Sleep mode   Control lock   Power cord storage   Model: AP51030K
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
(out of 40 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
34 of 40(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Review 1 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 29, 2011

Wow, Incredible Air Filter

Pros: dust disappears., quiet
Model Number: AP510
"We live off of an alley and our place is always dusty. I can dust and in a few hours it looks like I haven't dusted in a month. We received this 2 days ago and ever since plugging it in, we're looking for dust. This thing is amazing. How did we ever do without it. You won't be disappointed."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:October 7, 2011

Ratings Winner, What Do I Know?

Pros: can be placed almost flush against the wall., quiet especially considering the air it moves, sleep setting returns to "turbo" after 8 hours.
Cons: more expensive than some other hepa's.
"I was happy to find that Costco sells the Whispure, as it was the top-rated HEPA cleaner in our favorite consumer magazine.
While Costco.com's price came in about $30 higher than the lowest price I could find online (and I wasn't going to bother hunting down this specific unit locally), I preferred to order from Costco.com, knowing that if I hated the Whispure for any reason, I could return it to my local Costco.
I have had a Honeywell HEPA cleaner that has lasted 10 years, and before the Whispure, I tried a Honeywell tower unit. The new Honeywell was way too loud at night, even at the quietest setting.
The Whispure, at its highest setting -- TURBO-- makes noise, which is unavoidable, because I understand that it moves a heck of a lot of air. But the sound it makes is much more homogeneous, more like white noise, than either my old Honeywell, or the newer one I just tried. The lowest setting, which I use at night, is noticeable but not bothersome, and maybe, just maybe, it helps me sleep!
I've relied on test ratings in the consumer magazine to compare and shop for HEPA units, because how would I know which HEPA cleans air better?
As another writer has mentioned elsewhere, the Whispure is nicely designed because it can sit against the wall and doesn't require open space around it.
I'll be extra careful when I change filters, because the notches into which the front plastic piece snaps look like they're begging to break off eventually.
Otherwise, I'm betting that I've bought a really good appliance."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 11, 2013

Great value

Pros: relatively quiet for what it does, has four settings for air flow speed, uses high quality filters, despite the high cost it does a good job
Cons: intial cost is high, maintenance cost is high, filters will cost about $100 per year
Model Number: Whispure 510
"I purchased this product to replace an expensive other company's air filter. This product actually uses filters whereas the other uses static electricity. The former generally simply recirculated the dust and pollen laden air throughout the room leaving piles of dust and pollen everywhere. The Wispure does clean the air and I do not see any dust accumulating. I am able to sleep better at night which is why I purchased a filter in the first place. I also noticed that my CPAP machine filter is staying cleaner a lot longer now as a result of the cleaner air. Remember: you must place the unit on a solid surface, not carpeting."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OC, CA
Date:October 2, 2012

A solid choice

Pros: different speed settings huge fan and grate
Cons: none (so far)
"-Ordered in May 2012 for a 250 sq ft bedroom of a 2yo with severe environmental allergies.
-Looked at all other costco.com availabilities, as well as other vendor options. Selected this based on CR review (and the fact my brother in law bought that same one months before and was happy) that indicated it as the top choice.
-Was concerned over previous reviews indicating a "noice or click" that develops shortly after setup/operation. Was also concerned over size, replacement filter costs, and overall volume of operation.
-After nearly 5 months of use, I can say that none of my concerns have materialized into actual gripes. This thing is a champ (so far).
-Seems to be all that it was advertised to be. I am planning to buy a 2nd soon."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Petaluma, Ca
Date:June 13, 2012

Super Unit, Covers Big Area & Quiet!! A++

Pros: quiet, powerful, easy to maintain, cost effective
"We have 10 of these units on my production floor & they do a great job keeping the dust & pollen down & the air clean thruout the area! Amazingly quiet compared to other hepa units & super happy with the square footage & area they cover, way better then the Honeywell & sharp brands we were using! I have been a user of hepa floor filters for last 10 years and these are the best models I have found yet!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:DFW, TX
Date:September 24, 2012

Good Product - I've Been Happy with Mine!

Pros: eliminates some of my allergy symptoms, very easy to use and easy to replace pre-filters
Cons: lights on unit are a little too bright at night, received a used unit when i ordered a third one
Model Number: Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier Item # 571518
"I ordered two of these in October 2011 and have been very happy with them so far. I run one in the master bedroom on Turbo, and one in the living room on High. It is a little easier to hear the TV while the unit is on High or Medium. I find the "white noise" that it emits soothing and it also has the benefit of drowning out some noise from the outdoors (barking dogs, traffic, etc.). I feel that it has helped eliminate some of my allergy symptoms, and I have found it to be a worthwhile investment.
My one complaint so far is from when I ordered a third unit (in August 2012) for my spare bedroom and received a unit that had obviously been opened and used. I returned it to my local Costco store, and I have recently ordered another one."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodburn, OR
Date:October 10, 2011

Excellent purchase

Pros: quiet, efficient
Cons: costco does not carry a smaller size
"My physician recommended that I install an air purifier in my home. I chose this model with the help of a consumer report and his approval. My home was built in 1925, and my husband and I are in the middle of a slow rebuiling process hence there is a lot of dust "old" odors.
I placed the unit in my bedroom. After three nights, my sinus issues were resolved. I can sleep and not be awakened by sinus pain and stuffiness. The unit produces "white noise" that is not bothersome which is important because I have insomnia. Since the machine filters up to 500 square feet, I will be purchasing two more units. I wish Costco carried a similar unit to use in rooms smaller than 500 square feet.
I put the unit on the "low" setting before I put it on the "sleep" setting so after eight hours, the machine will revert to the low setting while I am at work."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lexington , Ky.
Date:November 18, 2013

works as adverticized

Pros: does what it says it will do
Cons: none
Model Number: Whispure 510
"This product does just what it claims.
the best part and the reason that it was purchased was dust reduction. It does a great and obvious job at that.
It is constantly running on high in a very dusty room (two Lg. dogs sleep in their cages at night in that room too)
The noise level is fine. It worked perfectly right out of the box.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:November 12, 2011

Excellent for the job

"this is the second one I own. I've had the first for more than 4 years, still running strong."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:March 21, 2012

Purchase Well Worth It

Pros: quiet, easy to use, improves air quality
Cons: prefilter looks cheap
Model Number: AP51030K
"This unit is very simple to use and appears to do what it claims. The day after we started running it we could tell a big difference in the air qualify. We run it in a large living room with a wood fireplace insert that we use to heat our whole house. The air used to be foggy when you walked into the room and it's crystal clear now...after only a couple days. The dust also appears to be collecting more slowly in the room. Hardly any particles floating in the sunlight, and any ones we do see are being pulled towards the unit. Love that it can go against the wall too.
Maybe some people get noisy units, but we think it is VERY quiet. We run it on turbo most of the time and hardly notice the noise (although we are used to our fireplace fan and living with two kids). To us, turbo sounds like a typical fan you'd run in the summer. When I slept next to it one night the turbo was too loud for me so I changed it to medium.
Looking into getting another one for other areas of our home."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 26, 2012

Great for the lab benchtop

Pros: low setting is quiet
Model Number: Whispure 510
"Ever since I set Whispure 510 on my lab bench where I test different types of substances including plant material, I go most days without sneezing. Before I would sneeze one after another depending what is being tested.
It's right next to my computer and on the low setting you don't really hear it. In fact, my co-worker asked if it was on. The Whispure 510 has four settings --- low, medium, high and turbo.
I like the fact that the air is filtered in through the front of the purifier and is blown out thru the top. This way it doesn't bother the paperwork or other things that I have at my workbench.
I feel better at work since the air is cleaner. That exhausted feeling at the end of the day is not as bad since I am not sneezing as much.
The filters (a prefilter and a hepa filter) are easy to take out and replace. I've been using it for about a month. For the last two weeks, I've kept it on low 24 / 7. It really cleans up the air. .
I like the fact that the Whispure 510 monitors the effectiveness of both filters. There are indicator lights for both filters to let you know when to replace them. For each filter there 4 or 5 indicator lights to let you know what state they are. The prefilter just went to the next indicator light. The hepa filter is still like new according to the indicator lights
Again the Whispure 510 is great."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Green Valley
Date:May 23, 2012

Just What I Needed

Model Number: Whirlpool AP51030K
"I was unable to sleep through the night in my bedroom due to air pollution, primarily from dust--I live in the desert and the air is very dry. This product has given me the ability to sleep through the night, without waking up to clear out my blocked nasal passages. It has a sleep mode that is very quiet. I was so pleased to find Consumer Reports Best Buy product on Costco.com. Another great find from Costco!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 4, 2011

Developed a Squeak

Pros: does a great job, quiet sleep mode
Cons: developed a squeak
"I have bad allergies. After sinus surgery, I could literally feel the dust in the air when I breathed. I put this unit in my bedroom (very large and very dusty due to old windows). It did a great job cleaning the air and I could "feel" the difference. Unfortunately, it developed a very annoying squeak after about 30 days. I returned it to Costco and am contemplating buying another one. One of my best friends has the same unit and has had no problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, Tx
Date:February 7, 2012

Breathing Easier!!

Pros: quiet
"I could feel the difference in the air quality in our bedroom in just a few short hours. My allergy headaches are much better after two weeks of use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Westminster, CA
Date:February 9, 2012

Can't tell until 1 year of usage

"We bought Winix Plaswave 5300, and it stopped working after 1 year, so we got this one from Online CostCo. Surprisingly, the brand-new unit shipped to me with no power. I called CostCo, return and get a new one. I don't know how good of this unit until at least 1 year of usage, so I can't write much. This is Made in China product, so I m kindda doubt about the quality eventhough this is OEM and US brand name company... Lets wait and see...... I am happy with Costco online service, if something wrong, or you'r not happy with the product, bring it to local store and they give you full refund with no hassle...... Go with CostCo forever!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hanford, Ca.
Date:September 10, 2012

Happy I Bought it

Model Number: AP51030K
"Cleans the air in my room at night quickly. I finally wake up in the morning not stuffed up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York City
Date:August 28, 2013

Best Value...Great Product...Highly Rated

Pros: effective filtration system, easy to use, low maintenance
Model Number: AP51030K
"I purchased one unit and was so impressed with its quality and performance that over time, I have purchased additional units (my most recent is this purchase from Costco). Every room in my house now has a unit running 24/7. This model was given top rating by that well known consumer magazine, and I agree with them 100%. Although the cost to replace the HEPA filter is a bit pricey, you can shop around and find the best deal. I get 1.5 years use per HEPA filter (HEPA indicator light is preset; change filter light goes from green to red after a year's time). I vacuum the prefilter every other week; it helps the unit to run more efficiently. That also has a 'change filter' indicator light; approximate time to go from green to red is 3 months. The sleep setting at bedtime runs the unit on low speed; it is an 8 hour timer; after 8 hours the unit reverts back to the fan speed it was originally set on. The unit came with a HEPA filter, pre filter and the bonus 4 prefilters. All you have to do to the unit is plug it in and turn it on; nothing to fuss with. The styrofoam surrounding the fan assembly DOES NOT get removed; it's part of the unit. Dont touch!
I have found the units to be quiet even when running on high fan speed. I have no complaints about the unit at all. I highly recommend this unit to all who seek an environment without dust and pollen as constant companions.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:October 23, 2011

Don't understand

"After having read the great reviews, I purchased this machine for a small office space. However, I was extremely disappointed in that it wasn't quiet at all and I did not find any noticeable difference in the air quality. Is it possible that mine was defective?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nassau County, NY
Date:February 11, 2012

Whispure Air Purifier

Pros: cuts down on dust
Cons: "uneven" sound on lower speeds, loud
Model Number: Whispure 510
"I live on a busy street on Long Island, NY and my house has lots of dust even though I never open windows because of my allergies. I have been using this purifier every day for about 3 months now. I keep it in my bedroom or in the hallway near my bedroom. It is NOT a quiet unit so if sound bothers you, this might not be the unit for you. I had a hard time in the beginning sleeping with it in my room but have since gotten used to it being on the high or turbo fan settings even though they are loudest. The lower speeds make a different, funny sound which is more annoying because it is NOT a consistent sound. The louder settings are really just like loud "white noise". There is a lot of "fan" breeze coming out of the top of the unit on the higher settings and I have to stay "under the blankets' because it is like having my ceiling fan turned on. But my BR is fairly small....this is NY! But that is fine. I know it is working because I see less dust in my BR and the filters are definitely catching dust because I have checked. I wish I could keep it on a lower setting at night but my biggest reason for getting it was to cut down on the dust to help my allergies and I feel it is HELPING to do that, so I am tolerant of the noise. Frankly, the louder settings also block out some of the street noise. I consider myself a very light sleeper and I have still managed to learn to fall asleep listening to the unit on TURBO so that is good. Overall, I am happy with the unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Whirlpool® Whispure™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 22, 2012

Breathing Easier / Better

Pros: cleaner / fresher air, quite, easy to service
Model Number: AP51030K
"I have a dry back room that has little cross-ventilation and researched the web for the best rated air purifier. The Whirlpool AP51030 Air Purifier has made a big difference in air quality, it is definitely fresher and my eyes and nose aren't irritated anymore. Buy it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>