Customer Reviews for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.

1.3MP Webcam Backlit Keyboard 6-Cell Battery Wireless-N & Bluetooth 3-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 of 8(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.
Review 1 for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2011
"Love this computer, so much packed into a super lightweight notebook!"
Review 2 for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Memphis TN
Date:June 25, 2011

Do not buy this one

Pros: light weight beautiful look
Cons: unacceptable wifi
"We waited to ordered this one as soon as it became available. Arrived in very nice packing and looks great, light weight and nice form factor.
This does not use standard connectors so you need to carry around micro to standard adepter for HDMI and Ethernet.
It has poor wifi performance. Worked in front of the router but it did not work around the house where all other phones and laptops work just fine. We returned the first one (thank you Costco for easy return).
We ordered another one. Slightly better wifi. We took it on a trip. Hotels and airports. Same problems as last one. Other devices found hotspots and worked, this one did not. Or if it connected, droped the connection.
Returned another one. (thank you Costco again.)
If you plan to use wifi, do not buy this one. Wait till they replace the wifi (and while at it, put standard ports).
.
"
Review 3 for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:June 13, 2011

Above average, but not perfect for the price

"1) still getting used to it, but found it troublesome that the user's guide is poorly translated into English, with typos, and bundles various models without specifying what things apply to the specific computer purchased. In the computer age, one would think that a separate manual for each model would be a snap to prepare. (2) Troublesome that the computer doesn't come with a vehicle charger-cable and that it is so expensive to purchase one. (3) Touch is pretty nice, backlit keyboard is great, screen is pretty bright, clear and readable, start-up and shut-down time is really quick. Wireless access system with Windows 7 is confusing to figure out and cumbersome to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:June 11, 2011
Pros: thin light wieght backlight keyboard 3 year warr
Cons: only 128 gb ssd ;(
"I would disregard the first review on the laptop the reviewer did clearly did not do research on this product. This laptop is meant for portability and mobility, basically like the macbook air with a windows OS. the touch pad is a little glitchy at times. Its pretty good for college students who use laptops in class and around campus, its ligthweight can barely tell if its in the backpack. Also comes with a 3 year warranty which is a really big plus. This should mainly be used for the mobile person."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Date:May 18, 2011

Great Laptop, Released w/o VGA Adapter Available

Pros: lightweight, fast boot time w/ ssd, backlit keyboard, design/look
Cons: ssd size 128gb / half used out of box, vga adapter not available
Model Number: NP900X3A
"I was originally going to purchase the MacBook Air, but waited for this laptop considering that I would not have to dual boot to run PC specific software. Pound for pound it seemed the Samsung Series 9 would be just as good if not better then the MacBook Air. I just received the Series 9 Laptop and overall after using for a few days, love the product. It is perfect for someone who travels a lot and can easily work around not having a cd/dvd drive built-in. Boot up time is incredible comparing to my old Dell Laptop which has a Dual Core processor. I love the backlit keyboard, which the MacBook Air does not have. The SSD drive is only 128GB, but out of the box capacity is showing only 100GB, with only 68GB available … and this is w/o Microsoft Office loaded ... so I will need to go through and figure what junk software has been loaded and clean up. With a small drive capacity ... it is really important to monitor what is loaded and Samsung didn't make this easy by shipping with it half used. As a side note ... MacBook Air is now available with 256GB SSD. The biggest con for me, though, is Samsung released the Series 9 Laptop without the VGA Adapter being available, so you can not use this laptop with a Monitor. I've chatted a couple times with Samsung Support concerning this issue. The first time they provided me with a model number for the adapter (AA-AH0NAMB/US) and said that it was available online through Best Buy or Radio Shack. Unfortunately my searches for the adapter came up empty handed (not available or back ordered). The second chat with Samsung Support identified that the adapter is currently Not Available and there is no release date that can be provided. Great laptop … great alternative to the MacBook Air … but poor release planning without required adapters. If you do not plan on using with a monitor, then this won’t be a big deal, but for the price tag on this laptop I would expect this adapter to be available already and actually come with the laptop."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2011

Awesome Laptop!

"If you are looking for a light, powerful laptop with really good battery life, the brightess screen on the market, a deep sleep mode (almost instant on with no power drain), an SSD drive, a small, light power adaptor, (and did I mention the backlight keyboard?), look no further than this laptop.
With any laptop there are sacrifices. Pick your poison: want lots of connection options? Give up the thin profile and ultra-light weight."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:May 3, 2011

great if they only....

Pros: windows laptop that merges form and function
Cons: watch out for slow wifi
Model Number: 900x3a-a03
"Very nice portable laptop, with great looks, nice design, and fast. Super portable, light, and seems durable. It's not the fastest (sec gen i5 at 1.4ghz) , but definitely handles a lot of programs at once and fairly snappily.
Most important thing is to update all drivers and do a windows 7 update which will fix a lot of wifi issues (but not entirely). The broadcom wifi card is not the best and will get noticeably slower download speeds as you get further from the wireless router. Near the router, I get what I expect- around 10-13Mbps download; about 30ft away and two floors above the signal degrades to 2-3Mbps (other laptops do not have this decrease). For around $35, one could fix this by upgrading the card to
Intel Ultimate N 633ANHMW IEEE 802.11n (which would require opening the laptop; not too hard to do, but after spending this much, you have to decide for yourself if you think you need the better performing wifi- and since you're upgrading to intel, would probably get widi with this change). Samsung should not have skimped on the wifi; it is dissappointing. I don't think it can be fixed with a mere software update; pretty sure it's a hardware issue.
The only other bugger is there is no vga port, you will need an adapter from miniHDMI or USB3. The SSD of 128GB is good, but probably bare minimum for me; though could easily add fairly cheap microSD cards for extra space.
I like the trackpad- recognizes smart finger moves, and feels natural.
I'm deciding on whether to return the laptop or change the wifi card. There is a decent amount written online about the wifi- check it out and see for yourself."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 9 Series Laptop Core i5-2537M 1.4GHz 0.64" Thin, 2.88 lbs.
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:USA
Date:April 29, 2011

Unfinished product

Pros: size 13-14", v. light, usb 3.0, i5 2nd generation
Cons: unworkable mono touchpad, requires adapters for ethernet, adapter for micro usb 3, micro sd only, ethernet 10/100 only, lack of tech support, no sd card port, broadcom wifi - no widi
Model Number: 900X3A-A03
"Samsungs 900X series is a promising product but it fails in too many places."
3 of 16 people found this review helpful.