Customer Reviews for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM

Limited Time Offer: $400 discount is reflected in the price.   Valid for orders placed August 1, 2011 through October 9, 2011. While supplies last. Online price $1099.99 Less -$400.00 YOUR COST $699.99 Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) will be automatically added at checkout. The software ships separately via USPS and WILL NOT arrive with the computer. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Processor & Memory: 1.73GHz (Turbo Boost up to 2.93GHz) 1066MHz Front Side Bus 8GB DDR3 RAM 1066Ghz (2x 4GB, 8GB max); (2 x SODIMM slots) Drives: 750GB (7200RPM) SATA hard drive Blu-Ray ROM and DVD±RW Combo Drive Graphics & Video: 15.6" HD display (1366x768 native resolution) 1GB ATI HD 6370 DDR3 Integrated 0.3M webcam Communications: Wireless LAN 802.11 b/g/n 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN Audio: Built-in Altec Lansing HD speakers SRS Premium Sound Card Slots: 4-in-1 digital multimedia card reader (SD, MMC, MS, MS PRO) Ports: 3 x USB 2.0 HDMI VGA (15-pin) RJ-45 1x microphone in 1x headphone out Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) Power Supply: 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery Additional Information: Color: Dark Brown Dimensions: 15.2" W x 10.2" D x 1.4" H Weight (approximate): 5.8 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.259 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
(out of 27 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
16 of 27(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Review 1 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:June 25, 2011

Terrible Battery Life

"I bought this computer because I needed a high performance machine to setup a virtual datacenter. While it was able to handle this task, the battery life on this system makes it almost unusable as a portable device. I never got more than 2 hours, and this is without running any video intensive apps. I returned it to Costco. As another reviewer noted, it also runs very hot."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:June 9, 2011

Thank Goodness for Costco's Return Policy!

Cons: terrible sound, constantly asks to update driver, flashing strobe screen, runs extremely hot, so-so screen resolution, pathetic battery life
"I've been searching Costco's website for a computer that had the configurations I was desiring, and I thought I hit the jackpot. After using this computer for a little over 2 months and never being satisfied, I just ordered the Dell XPS 15 instead advertised online yesterday and this one is going back. With the speakers on 100 percent full volume, the sound is barely audible. 99 out of 100 times I log on, I am asked to install drivers. The machine runs very hot. Screen resolution is so-so. Battery life is pathetic, so it is basically serving as a desktop. And instead of the dreaded blue screen, I get a flashing screen (read: Disco strobe light) that will not stop, will not allow me to exit, or shut down with task manager. The only way out is to hold the power button down. Hope Dell does a better job of delivering on the XPS 15!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:May 22, 2011

Better suited to be a Desktop

Cons: too small a battery for the computer.
Model Number: ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM Item # 5725
"For two months I have tried the various power settings of this computer as recommended by the customer service of Asus. The battery runs out in an hour or so. That defeats the purpose of a laptop. Regrettably I will be returning it for something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:May 22, 2011

Work in progress

Pros: fast to boot, utilities for facial recognition and speed, excellent display quality, blu-ray player probably why excellent display, concierge service was outstanding
Cons: many operating system software updates
Model Number: K52JT-XC1
"I was looking for a small footprint laptop for home use. I normally run an exterior monitor, so the picture quality of both the laptop and the display had to be good. My last requirement was to find something that would stay relevant for several years. The ASUS was configured to meet all these requirements. Why not a 5 rating; mainly the 64 bit operations. I almost returned the machine when my document management software seemed incompatible; turns out the quick scan portion just needed to be refreshed to be recognized in Windows7. Costco service was great! I have been downloading a lot of updates for Windows7, so I think such nuances will clear as the operating system matures. This machine also is based on an older processor; I was ok with that because you may pay a premium to get the latest and greatest. Overall pricepoint, 2nd year factory warranty, and configuration made this the machine what I was looking for."
Review 5 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dixon, CA
Date:May 21, 2011

Awesome laptop

Pros: ease of use
Cons: no keyboard backlight
Model Number: K52JT-XC1
"I did a lot of homework on laptops before I made the decision to try the Asus; I am extremely happy with my decision."
Review 6 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palm Coast, Fl
Date:May 1, 2011

Good Buy

Pros: fast. friendly user.
Cons: missing 3 usb weak battery low volume speakers
Model Number: AsusK52JT-XC1
"Asus reliability, Asus and Costco warranties.good processor, Blue Ray and
high memory
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 27, 2011

Stay Away

"I have had this "computer" for just under a month....and within this time frame, Ive seen the dreaded blue screen 5 times, the battery lasts for ONE HOUR, horrible tech support that makes you feel like a moron, the computer runs HOT, Windows install is absolutely pathetic....I think its time for a Mac!!"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fountain Valley, CA
Date:April 25, 2011

Perfect for everything

Pros: 8gb memory, fast processor
Cons: none
Model Number: ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop
"this is no doubt the best laptop i've ever used...
as a student and a game-lover, this provides everything i need. although ppl say its ATI 6370 card isn't as good as the old 5 series, i personally feel this is totally enough for me to play really demanding games..no need to mention about basic web browsing, youtube, movies, MS processing...
this is definitely something you would love you have :)"
Review 9 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2011

Wonderful

Model Number: K52JT-XC1
"I started using my new Asus last night. Love it. So much better than the old one, faster and more responsive. Good game play for the games I use. That's all I've done so far. My son's comment was "Wow.""
Review 10 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:April 21, 2011

Great Laptop

Pros: fast, great price.
Cons: poor quality speakers.
Model Number: Asus K52J-XC1
"Love my new computer. The price was excellent and it comes with a Blu-Ray DVD. The only reason I give it 4 stars is because the speakers are terrible. Really quiet even on the highest setting, so I ended up buying some external speakers so I can now hear movies properly."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2011

Don't buy this company's products

Pros: cheap
Model Number: K52JT-XC1
"1. No understandable tech support
2. Cheesy build
3. Asus software is faulty
4. Battery lasts less than 100 mins.
And these are the good points
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lisle, IL
Date:April 19, 2011

Fool me twice...

Pros: cool color, costco policy, it's not an hp
Cons: awful keyboard, pathetic screen, too many software bugs, poor battery life, buggy touchpad
Model Number: Model K52JT-XC1 / 565469
"Three years ago, I decided to take a chance with purchasing an Asus gaming notebook online - upon receipt it had a faulty keyboard with constant BSOD crashes, resulted in faulty BIOS.
So I returned it, and bought a less than desirable hp at the Costco retail location.
It lasted a while, but I didn't want hp, and I was committed to buying from Costco.
Recently, I was in need of a laptop, so I decided to give Asus another chance with this notebook... I ordered it online and when I got it I found out it had the same faulty loose keyboard. It's a manufacturing flaw as to where several contact points weren't connected upon assembly. I paid for 2-day shipping, only to receive it 5 days later - which resulted in the realization of how poor of a machine this thing really is.
The screen is pathetic, as the resolution will note. But I took a chance, hoping that other features would offset the poor resolution. I wasted a lot of time with this purchase.
I utilized all relevant software upgrades, before evaluating this machine.
If you're planning on using this laptop as your primary computer, there's an excellent chance that you will be sorely disappointed. Now, off I go to Costco store to realize that the only decent configuration there is made by hp. In store selection is awful.
I can't believe I've been duped twice by Asus ... shame on me.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Columbia, Maryland
Date:April 18, 2011
"DVD player make a very loud noise after 15-20 min run time... Resolution so so."
Review 14 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:April 17, 2011

ASUA K52JT-XC1 i7 core

Model Number: K52JT-XC1
"Pros: Very fast and quite, very good specs
Cons: Battery life too short for long movie; "sticky" mouse pad; no USB 3.0; and the worset one is the speaker volume too weak, cannot listen to movie , need to add external speakers.
Is there anyway to increase the volume output? Beyond the volume issue, this laptop is a good machine for the price with Costco warranty coverage.
"
Review 15 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:sunnyvale, ca
Date:April 16, 2011

worst laptop used so far

Model Number: ASUS
"I have used a lot of laptops in my life at work and home. But this is the worst laptop by far. i bought this at costco based on the reviews but maybe i got the worst laptop in the model. the volume is terrible - cant hear it unless i make the whole house completely quite on most of the videos. the battery life is like 1 hour. i cant sit in one place without it being connected which makes no sense when you think this is a laptop!!! and not a desktop. anyway, terrible. blu ray is of no use actually for me because we have a blu ray player samsung which we use most of the time - thats more of a personal preference. the key board has a number pad as well but its actually annoying as mentally you have to think of where the letters start - you always end up being in the middle of the laptop and not on the side which has the qwerty keypad - i am probably not explaining clearly but anyone who gets it will know what i am talking about. the key pad is not backlit so thats another negative. the quality of the picture is not that good either. the most surprising thing was the speed of the laptop out of the box - we expected an i7 to be so so so fast but it took an eternity for it boot and it continues to be pretty slow.
the price is good for the features but i dont think its any good if you cannot use any of them right?"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:April 13, 2011

Best buy!

Pros: costco warranty and peace of mind.
Model Number: ASUS K52JT-XC
"I searched for a long time and never found a feature filled laptop like this one. It has the best price/value of anything that I've seen yet. Yes, it's got a bygone generation processor, doesn't have a 1080 screen, or long-play battery, and no back-lit keyboard. But it does have a processor that elicits envy; a huge, fast 7,200-RPM hard drive; a decent 1GB discrete video card, Blu-ray player and software, and 8GB of ram!
I looked at computers with the features that I mentioned and Costco has 'em. They're $3 - 400 more money. And besides, they have a larger footprint and weight 2-3lbs more.
It's more computer than I need and there's no reason to keep looking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:April 13, 2011

Good specs laptop with one deal-breaker default

Pros: good performance
Cons: bad keyboard
"I returned this laptop to Costco the second day I got it. It looks nice and works great; high performance machine, BUT the keyboard is absolutley a deal-breaker. The moment my fingers touched the keyboard to type, I decided to return it back. The keyboard material makes it feel so cheap and the main default is that it rattles as it is not tightly attached at both ends and makes very annoying clicking noise every time you type on the sides."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Des Moines IA
Date:April 13, 2011

Excellent Laptop - Not Enough Battery

Pros: i7 blazing fast, size & weight of shell
Cons: short battery life
Model Number: K52JT-XC1
"Good value all around - processor is fast, screen resolution is crisp, audio is better than expected. Keyboard and touch pad feel right. Initial setup took a while - be sure to update Windows prior to activating and installing applications. This is for home use on a network and watching Blu-Ray movies, and just a couple of weeks in, only complaint is the (lack of) battery life. As others have indicated, 6-cell battery is not nearly enough. Very attractive shell, sleek design with shiny deep bronze finish. This is my first laptop - except for the battery, I'm very pleased."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:April 13, 2011

Very Nice

Pros: fast, quiet, great value
Cons: battery life 2 hrs
Model Number: ASUS-K52JT-XC1-15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM
"I have a laptop for work, but always a desktop at home. I asumed i would get more for the money going that route. That is not the case. This laptop is lightning fast. Boots up so quick, I think something is wrong. The screen is beautiful, sound great, runs cool and quiet. The battery still only gets 2 hours of use. And Outlook Express doesn't work with Windows 7, but not a huge deal. For the money, you get a ton of computer. I don't regret this purchase at all!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ASUS K52JT-XC1 15.6" Laptop Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz 1GB ATI HD 6370 Graphics Blu-Ray ROM
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orem, UT
Date:April 8, 2011

Unbeatable for the price!

Pros: i7 processor, 7200rpm hard drive, 8 gigs of memory, blu-ray player
Cons: 6-cell battery
Model Number: K52JT-XC1
"Ok, let me lay all the bad and average reviews to rest. You will not find a better laptop than this ASUS for the price - now mind you, this is not a gaming laptop! As others have mentioned, the graphics card is not meant for gaming. I am an IS major who needed a laptop that could handle the high-powered programming and functions I would throw at it. With the i7 processor (even an older generation), 8gigs of memory and a 750GB 7200RPM HDD, this laptop is top notch. I had been searching for a laptop for over 6 months, and kept coming back to HP and ASUS. My final decision to buy an ASUS was when I found that ASUS has the least product returns due to product failures. HP comes in at #1 with the most failures. The look and feel of the laptop is awesome. Keyboard is big with space between each key. The only drawback to this laptop is the battery. There is a lot of power in this laptop for a 6-cell battery, but battery upgrades are always available! Overall; excellent machine and am very happy and excited while using it!"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>