Customer Reviews for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit

Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit

Due to the nature of this item, the Smart For Life® cookies are a perishable food product and are designed for consumption within a 75 day time frame. Smart For Life® is a comprehensive weight loss approach to health and wellness using natural, hunger-controlling foods to deliver visible results. The Smart Cookie Squares are made with all-natural, 60% organic ingredients which are scientifically formulated to be a perfect balance of fiber, protein and complex carbohydrates that help naturally suppress the appetite – absolutely no drugs or toxic preservatives are included. Each Smart Cookie Square is a meal, that when eaten six times a day with a low fat and healthy dinner, participants may lose approximately 10-15 pounds per month with. Each six-cookie package provides a one-day supply intended to replace and eliminate the need for breakfast, lunch and snacks with just 105 calories per cookie. 60-day Variety Kit includes: 27 packs Oatmeal Raisin Smart Cookie Squares 24 packs Chocolate Chip Smart Cookie Squares 12 fully enrobed Chocolate Chip Cookies 2 Vanilla Shake 4-Serving Tubs 2 Chocolate Shake 4-Serving Tubs 2 Chicken Soup 4-Serving Tubs 1 Tomato Soup 4-Serving Tubs 1 Instructional Brochure 1 Before you Start Flyer For added variety, substitute any Smart Cookie Square for a Smart Shake or Smart Soup. One Smart Shake serving is equal to two Smart Cookie Squares.  One Soup serving is equal to one Smart Cookie Square. Questions about this program please call 1-866-791-7826 Monday - Friday 9AM to 5PM Eastern Standard Time Your chance of losing up to 15 pounds in the next 4 weeks will greatly increase when you make this five minute phone call to a live advisor. This service is free and courtesy of Smart for Life®.   A short phone call will ensure you get started properly by receiving personalized information that will set you on your way to an effective and satisfying weight loss program.   So please, call toll-free to speak to a Smart for Life® advisor who is dedicated to guiding you to meeting your goals. Sincerely, Dr. Sass and your Smart for Life Team
Average Customer Rating:
4.017 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
(out of 59 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
46 of 59(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Review 1 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunny, CA
Date:March 19, 2014

Be Realistic

"I took a lot of time deciding if this was the product for me. I read the reviews and then made the decision I felt I could live with. I suggest each person who is looking into buying this product, do the same thing. What is intolerable to one person, is easy to another.
The shipping did take much longer than most of my Costco purchases. I believe that is because of the perishable nature of the product and therefore it is shipped from the manufacturer and not from a Costco Warehouse. That being said, when it is time for a new shipment I will order early.
I received my shipment 12 days ago. My BMI says I have 35 pounds to reach the normal level. I have been as stringent as possible. Had a family party to attend and that day I ate celery, pears, and 4 meatballs in the middle of the day. I skipped that cookie and for dinner out, I ate my salad and lean protein i.e. chicken salad no cheese and no dressing (they didn’t have low-fat Italian) One other day I had a business lunch meeting and I ate my dinner in the middle of the day. I am still drinking one cup of coffee each morning with no sugar creamer. As of this morning I have lost 9 pounds.
I have a ton of energy and I am rarely hungry. That is rarely not never. Some days, I seem to be more hungry than others. I really do not know why but it is a little harder on those days. Most days I am only able to eat 5 of the 6 suggested packaged servings. I hope this happens enough that I won’t have to have the shakes at all. I have not tried them but the other reviews have me a bit scared.
The oatmeal cookies are great. The chocolate cookies are soooo much better after they are warmed slightly. I have never had to sprinkle water on the cookies so I am not sure what that would do to them. This diet makes you crave water which is great. This is the only time in my life I have been drinking the recommended amount of water. Has something to do with the weight loss I am sure. Don’t expect to feel like you are stuffed all day every day. Our body is not supposed to be full all of the time. It is best to be level all of the time.
Until my first 60 days are done, I am not allowing any actual cheat days and I am even staying on the diet with my business lunches. Something I attend about 2 days a week. So 12 days down and 48 more to go. My goal is 30 pounds in 60 days!!!! Then I will order another shipment. With that shipment, I plan to stay on the plan and allow myself one nice business lunch per week."
Review 2 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:N. Carolina
Date:February 23, 2014

Easy diet

Pros: very easy diet., the cookies are good., very little strategic planning, cheap.
Cons: very limited menu.
"My wife and I decided that we wanted to lose a few pounds. We wanted a diet that didn't require a lot of complex recipes or counting numbers. We looked at several options and decided on the Smart for Life through Costco. The package was ordered on a Sunday evening and arrived on the following Friday through UPS.
I had read some people say that the food is nasty tasting. That has not been my experience. The cookies taste pretty good to me. They are on the dry side which, for this purpose, I actually like. It means that I eat them slowly and enjoy the cookie rather than shoving the whole thing in my face in two seconds flat. The cookies do cut my hunger. They don't make you feel full in the sense that you just ate a large pizza and a bowl of ice cream. But, they do give me the feeling that hunger would be purely recreational. So, I would say that they do their job very well. Besides, I keep telling myself that it was mindless eating that created the need to diet in the first place. Nevertheless, I do like the food in this diet, a lot actually.
As to the shakes, to make them as good as they can be make sure to use ice and a blender. You can use water and a shaker but, it'll be a little less of a "shake-smoothie" or whatever. The soups are pretty much what I expected, thin. But hey, it's a diet and eating hearty got me into this mess so, I'm not complaining.
My wife and I have rediscovered the local cafeteria. We can go there and get the veggies and a grilled chicken breast and stay within the diet rules. I have found that nearly everything at the grocery store is off limits. Which means, this diet is a cheaper lifestyle for us by far. It covers all meals except dinner every evening. We bough the 60 day pack and are splitting it so it's a 30 day pack for two.
So, don't over expect. If you're expecting a big bag of chocolate chip and oreo cookies this ain't it. If you expect the soup to be chunky you'll get your feelings hurt and there wont be whipped cream and a cherry on the shake. But, if you're like me and you know you need and want to seriously lose some weight and you need a simple plan to stick with this one is totally it. I always say that my diet gets screwed up at the grocery store. This diet cures that issue completely."
Review 3 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:February 4, 2014

Good Results

Pros: the oatmeal and chocolate cookies aren't bad.
Cons: the size and shape of the cookies are consistent, the cookies are not individually packaged
"The concept and the product overall is good if not cheap. i have bought seveal shipments of this product. The product is that the 60-day no longer contains the individual portions of soup and shakes. So they don't travel to work as eailey as in the past. And once you open the container, you have to put it in something since you don't need 4 servings at once. Also the writing on the containers is so small, I had to get a magifying glass to read it."
Review 4 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:November 7, 2013

It works.

Pros: convenient, easy, works
Cons: bagel chips!, you will get tired of cookies.
"First things first! If you order this immediately throw away the bagel chips! That being said, the cookies are not bad but DO heat them prior to eating. It helps a lot. This is my second time on this diet plan. Keep in mind these are diet foods, not desserts! I have lost weight quickly on this diet. However, I drink MUCH more water while on this diet because it helps the cookies go down and keeps me from getting hungry. I will admit I allow small "cheats" for myself otherwise I couldn't do it! By cheats I mean I might eat 2 green olives or a few chips or salsa. Also I add hot sauce and a few croutons in the soup. Stick with it and tell yourself the cookies aren't that bad. Lol! The end results are great."
Review 5 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 20, 2013

Something that works

Pros: it works, convenient for someone on the go, portion control is easy
Cons: vanilla shakes are disgusting, can get boring, dry skin
Model Number: 60 day pack
"Over the years I have tried just about everything to lose weight. Initially I thought this was just another fad diet.
A family member started on this and has lost/kept off 100 pounds. After observing and asking a lot of questions for 6 months I decided to try it. I was a sugar addict and the first week was filled with headaches as my body withdrew from sugar. After that it was easy.
I lost 60 pounds in the first three months and have lost 90 over 6 months. I went from a size 52 to a 34 trouser - I haven't worn 34 since First Grade!
Dry skin is about the only side effect that drives me nuts. Never in my entire life did I have dry skin but I changed my soap to a moisturizing shower gel and use lotion immediately after showering.
The Vanilla Shakes are absolutely disgusting - I still haven't found a way to make them palatable. The soups are not too bad after I discovered that a liberal shot of of real balsamic vinegar improves the taste.
The cookies are OK. They are convenient and easy to take with you. As another reviewer noted they are somewhat dry so I always have a huge glass of water or iced tea (no sweetener) with them.
Bottom line: it is worth a try."
Review 6 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rockville, MD
Date:January 22, 2013

Yuck!

Pros: oatmeal cookies tasted good
Cons: the shakes were inedible
"I really tried to make this diet work. After three full days of following it perfectly, my stomach hurt the whole time. The cookies tasted fine, but there was a weird aftertaste. Even though I drank plenty of water with each cookie and between them, I was constantly thirsty. The last straw was when I tried a shake on the 4th morning. It was so terrible that I couldn't even finish it. Thank goodness that Costco has a fantastic return policy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY NY
Date:November 6, 2012

good diet plan , boring like all diets

Pros: simple to follow good results
Cons: boring like all diets
"simple, easy to follow, good results ; seldom , if ever, hungry ; cookies are fine, shakes good, soups so-so (chicken murder to dissolve, not much flavor;tomato easier and tastes pretty good); bagel chips: fugeddabodit"
Review 8 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2012

awesome results...but

Pros: great results
Cons: changed recipe! doesn't taste as good as before
"combined with exercise, I lost 50 lbs on this cookie diet in 4 months. the cookies do an excellent job at appetite control, so long as you don't cheat. IF/when you cheat and snack on something else, I recommend following it with a cookie, and drinking a glass of water/crystal light...otherwise, you'll feel hungry till you stuff yourself with junk. I still take the cookies for breakfast/lunch most days to help maintain weight (1 year later). The big negative is that they've changed their recipe 3 times since I've started taking these. They used to taste better... now, the oatmeal raisin cookies, which were my favorite, are now just ok. the chocolate chip are still pretty good - though a step down from last year's recipe. regarding the shakes... I don't think they work nearly as well at suppressing appetite, and while the vanilla is ok, the chocolate isn't good (and I love most anything chocolate)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Coppell, TX
Date:April 15, 2012

Worked Great for Me

Pros: cookies are very portable and convenient., just count protein grams for one meal a day., cookies are dry helping you get the water needed.
Cons: not recommended for long-term., program provides little help on maintenance.
Model Number: Item # 572829
"I'm 6'3" and weighed 269.4 when I started the program on 2/15. Just finished the 60 days yesterday and weighed 223.8 this morning. Followed the program pretty closely (lots of water with lean protein and leafy greens for the one allowed meal a day) and only felt hunger a couple of times. Actually liked the taste of the cookies and having one every 2 hours kept me on an even keel. Although I am transitioning to another weight loss program to get down to my normal weight BMI, the Fit for Life Cookie Diet program was a great jump-start for me."
Review 10 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:April 9, 2012

Love it!!

Pros: easy easy easy, i like the cookies and don't crave sweets
Cons: rough on digestion at first
"After reading reviews and researching I decided to try Smart for Life. I love it. I have lost 18lbs in 2 months and feel great. At first it was a little rough on the digestive track but that lasted about 2 weeks. It is EASY, I rarely feel hungry and have lots of energy, don't crave sugar or chocolate which I LOVE! My husband is actually just starting it because of my success."
Review 11 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Nebraska
Date:March 20, 2012

So - So

Pros: cookies taste good
Cons: shakes and soup lousy., very little diet plan, promotes organic myth
"Lost a little weight the first week but no more after that. Poor, incomplete literature comes with product and a recording at the call center is not helpful. I received one bag of bagel chips that was to be my extra snack for the entire 8 week plan!! Soup mix was nothing more than bullion and shakes were thrown away after drinking the first one."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:March 13, 2012

No Hunger, No brainer

Pros: easy to follow, no hunger, reasonably good taste, more tolerable than nutrisystem
Cons: can get a little boring
"I am 5'6" with starting weight of 156. Which is just into the "overweight category". I lost about 4# the first week and am now in the "normal weight but overfat category" Since the first week the rapid weight loss turned into VERY slow/ stair step weightloss, but I use excell to track my daily weights, and my weekly average trend still shows a steady downward trend. I have about 20# to go and expect to get there in 3-4 months. So for me, things are going more slowly than the ads, but I am still headed in the right direction.
That said, my husband has lost alot more weight, but had about 40# to lose from the start
We stick pretty closely to the plan during the week. But on the weekend we often indulge for our 1 meal on Sat and sunday. Every few weeks we may even get icecream. So we could lose weight more rapidly if we stuck strictly to the plan.
All things considered, the flex on the weekends helps me forget that I'm dieting, and we are still definately losing weight. I don't really mind that it will take me longer, because I really don't mind the diet.
I am starting a 3X weekly resistance exercise program, but I am not really focused on the exercise for weight loss as much as just wanting to improve muscle tone/posture and overall fitness. I have noticed on the days I exercise, I see a significant improvement in weight loss the next day.
To maximize this diet both in terms of your general feeling of fullness and well-being...DRINK THE WATER they recommend, eat as many daily veggies at dinner as you can stand and try to eat plenty of protein at dinner.
Regarding other diests I have tried: Jenny Craig, nutrisystem, South Beach. I lost weight on all of them, but it was harder in that you had so many options, to me thinking about "what do I want" inevitably leads me to foods I shouldn't have. To me, just eating a cookie without thinking about"what I want" really helps me stay on track."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FONTANA, CA
Date:February 29, 2012

WORTH THE MONEY

"I BOUGHT THE 60 DAY VARIETY KIT. I SPLIT IT IN HALF W/MY WIFE. SHE LOST 12LBS IN 30 DAYS W/NO EXERCISE. I STARTED AT 212LBS & AFTER 30 DAYS I WAS AT 189LBS. THIS PRODUCT WORKS WELL W/DAILY EXERCISE. IT'S TOUGH AT FIRST, BUT YOU GET OVER IT. GOOD TASTING COOKIES .... I RECOMMEND EXERCISE FOR BETTER RESULTS."
Review 14 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eatonville, WA
Date:February 28, 2012

"Smart for loss"

Pros: tasty cookies., sensible meals are part of the program.
Cons: soups with chicken broth = vegetarians?
Model Number: ??
"The Smart for LIfe program is the best and easiest weight control/lose that I have found. Of course, some of the food is better than other, but, in the long run, it's an excellent and easy way to lose weight - no matter how much you want to lose."
Review 15 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:February 10, 2012
Pros: easy, worry-free
Cons: boring, lacks vitamins
"I purchased this dieting plan because I found myself overwhelmed with kids and daily chores. I had very little time for my meal preparation. I am 5'6" and 151 lbs. I am looking to lose 20 lbs. So, I am giving this plan a try. It has only been 2 days. I read many of the reviews and wanted to add information that might have been missing from prior reviews that can help you make an educated decision on this product.
They are more like biscuits. There are several textures in the "cookies". The chocolate ones have "crispies" in them, which is actually a good thing.
I have attempted to reach a counselor (about 7 times) and have only reached a recording.
I lost about 2.5 pounds in the first 2 days which I am guessing is probably water weight. All of my interior was "gently evacuated" on the second day. So, I don't know how real the initial weight loss may be. You have to consider that you are drinking lots of water and are not consuming any salt- I like salt. I did notice that my waistline shrunk an inch or two.
I haven't been able to eat all 6 cookies in one day. Don't know exactly why. I think 6 cookies are just too much for me to tolerate.
I strongly recommend getting a good supplemental vitamin(s). I would not do this plan otherwise.
Clear off your pantry shelves because the plan is boring and you will miss food.
I want to highlight that these comments are in addition to previous reviews. My overall experience has been a good one. I don't have to think about my diet. I haven't felt sick or experienced any headaches and I am doing 1 hour walks during the day. I am looking forward to being a success story!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:February 7, 2012

Buy this!

Pros: easy, affordable, habit forming, filling
Cons: bad taste at first, can be boring
"My wife and I have been on this diet for 8 days now. I am down 9 lbs and we have went out to eat three or four times just think if we hadn't! Cookies are not great at first but after a few days they are not bad especially the Oatmeal Raisin. I have not felt malnourished or hungry and I am 6'5" 305lbs. I also have been running 30 min 3 or 4 times a week. My wife is looking great too she is waiting to weigh herself but she has lost weight too.Just drink a bunch of water with each cookie and you will feel full"
Review 17 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:ca
Date:February 5, 2012

just ok

"The cookies taste decent, but they are not filling. I was still hungry after eating one. They cause bloating and a lot of gas which is not much fun! I returned them since I didn't think I could take another day of it! I am sure if you can stick to it you will lose wt. but I just couldn't take it anymore :("
Review 18 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2012

DOING GREAT SO FAR

"I am on day 8 and when I weighed myself this morning I was down 10.6lbs I am 28yr male and started off at 245lbs. The cokies are not bad and they are not great, but they do the job. I haven't really felt hungry. It is really easy to stick to. Your BM's will be off the first few days. I have tried other diets but find myself too busy to prepare meals because I work a lot. Very easy!! Deffinately reccommend.
I will keep you posted on my weight loss at 1 month.
"
Review 19 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:We live in Florida
Date:January 30, 2012

It Works!

Pros: tastes good and it works
"After trying for 8 1/2 years to lose the weight I gained after being diagnosed with a rare thyroid disease, Smart for Life has been an answer to my prayers! When I diet, I am totally dedicated to the diet and after having no success with Nutra System, WeightWatchers, South Beach, Atkins and others, Smart for Life worked for me. Just follow the directions and you will feel full and have no cravings. The cookies and shakes are delicious-----not too fond of the soups. I have lost 30 lbs. in 4 months and have 35 more lbs. to go."
Review 20 for Smart For Life® 60-day Variety Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:oregon
Date:January 28, 2012

lost 5#

Pros: makes you drink water
Cons: nice to have 3-4 flavours
"lost 5.4# in the first week .easy.no meaureing. i use a timer set for 2-3 hours to help remind me when to have a cookie.have had no headaches which is something i was worried about."
1 2 3 next>>