Customer Reviews for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack

LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack

These battery powered LED spot lights can be mounted anywhere you need light, but don’t have power.  Great for gates, storage sheds, remote locations in your yard.  Can be used outdoors or indoors.  Battery powered so there is no wiring. The motion sensor turns the light on when you approach and automatically turns off when you leave to conserve battery life.  Powered by 3 standard AA batteries. Features: 5 LED outdoor light in pack   Easy installation, no wiring   LED provides 16 lumens of light   Cool White   Kelvin Range: 5000K - 6500K   Motion sensor covers an area 12 feet in front of light   Light dimensions:  5.3” L X 2.4” Diameter   Requires 3 AA batteries for each light (not included)   Typical Battery Life 15 months   Mounting hardware (included)   Weather proof  
Average Customer Rating:
3.471 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
11 of 17(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Review 1 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 19, 2014

Perfect little spot light!

Pros: bright, great motion sensor built-in to the tip, paintable to disguise during the day, waterproof!
"I needed path lights for a little extra security and to see keyholes at night. These were perfect to hide in the thicket of vines on the one side of the path. The motion sensor is in the light circle on the end so they are almost perfectly hidden until movement is sensed. They all worked unfailingly right out of the box and still now for the last 2 months. The light stays on for 30 seconds.
Contrary to two other reviews the lights ARE totally waterproof via a silicone seal around the electrical compartment. At first glance they do not look water tight because of a wide seam down the center but look inside and you'll see the seal.
They are plastic and lightweight so if you're looking for weighty powder-coated metal cylinders then you'll be disappointed... then of course you'd be paying 4 times as much!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:January 12, 2014

Lighting Solution

Pros: no wiring
Model Number: OL-3205
"We needed something to light the backyard in order to see if the puppy was taking care of business. Since we live in a cold climate, I used lithium AA batteries. The lights worked perfectly even in -30 wind chills. Even though these lights are not large enough to illuminate the entire yard, they are easy to install and an affordable solution."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:August 10, 2013

Did not work, bad packaging

Pros: battery operated
Cons: did not work, cheap quality
"I returned these yesterday. The online user guide is much better than the one included in the pkg (why is that?). After putting batteries in, the light comes on for about 20s then off. I guess to confirm unit is good. However, that's the only time it comes on. I tried it numerous times in complete darkness and it will not come on again. Tried reinserting batteries again and lights up for 20s again but that it...sigh..."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:March 14, 2013

Good convenience lighting

Pros: very good convenience lighting for dark areas, good sensitivity - work at 12-15', easy to mount, not so large that they stand out-not unsightly
Cons: not real bright but fine for lighting paths
Model Number: 573292
"I needed lighting for dark paved paths from driveway to front entry of house and along a dark side of house. Installed three at staggered locations under house eves and in a tree. This works very well with them coming on just at the rignt time a visitor approaches. A fourth lights entire path along side of house and the fifth lights dark cul de sac area next yard from a tree. They all work exactly as I hoped and provide the perfect solution to lighting darkened walkways. Installed now for about a month in very rainy, cold weather and all work great so far."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fayetteville NC
Date:January 16, 2013

Battery Spring Bent

Pros: seemed like a good solution
Cons: cheap construction, overpriced product
"I only tried to use the first one out of the box (I might add that I also purchased the 2-light set and these were fine) and the coiled wire battery spring bent into an unusable position - I will be returning the entire set - at this price I am disappointed - at the half the price I would chalk these up to almost acceptable."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:December 12, 2012

We Can SEE Now!

Pros: easy to install!
Cons: space age look, lights stay on just a short time
"We live among the evergreens and have foolishly tried solar lights. Of course, they don’t work in this area. Best thing would be to hire an electrician, but that would involve digging a ditch under the concrete sidewalk, etc., etc., and a huge overall expense.
Out of desperation and fear of tripping, I purchased these lights. They were shipped quickly. I was pleased to see that they have holes in the sides so that they can be lashed to a tree, if need be, which is what I did. I was worried that the branches above might obscure the motion sensors/lights, but that hasn’t happened. They work perfectly, and are a simple solution. I just wish they didn’t look so space age—would be nice if they came in some darker colors and a different shape to kind of blend into our woodsy area a little better. (I might just paint them.)
At any rate, a great buy that solves a problem that’s been bugging us for a long time!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:November 21, 2012

Happy with the purchase

Pros: easy to install no wiring
"Works very well, specially by the door where I can see the key hole now. Bright enough for lighting up hallway."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 27, 2012

So far so good

Pros: reasonable price, motion sensor works well, easy to install - no wire
"I just got mine a few days ago, and have put up 4 of the 5 lights already.
2 indoor and 2 outdoor.
All of them work as they are supposed to.
They turn on only at night.
They turn on when I walked near them.
I am happy with them so far.
Things that can be improved are:
- the light is not really bright, but ok for my purpose
- it cannot sense any motion through glass. i first tried to put one indoor pointing outside the window, but it couldn't sense any motion outside
- it is all plastic and the battery cover is not water-tight so now sure how well it will hold up when it rains.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Upper Marlboro, MD
Date:December 29, 2011

Returned-didn't work

Pros: no wiring required
Cons: didn't work, don't work in climates < 32 degrees
Model Number: Not sure
"I returned these because they did not work. Also, there is no mention in the information online that they should be used in areas that don't go below 32 degrees. I only saw that once I got them at home. I had them put up anyway but maybe that's why they didn't work as I live in Maryland. I was really disappointed as usually the items I get from Costco are spot on, plus I paid someone to install them for me so I'm out that money too."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, California
Date:October 31, 2011

great product

Model Number: OL3205
"These work great, installed outside and inside the home and garage, gives a good amount of light and sensor has a good distance. Great price!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:September 4, 2011

Poor, Completely Unacceptable Quality

"2 of the 5 were dead on arrival. I suspect now after reading the 2 reviews with the exact same problem, that they re-ship the returned/defective product when a new order is placed. So, when you receive yours and 2 of the 5 don't work, check for the "X" that I wrote in pencil on the edge of the mounting base of the defective lights that I returned. Then please write a review so we'll know for sure.
So, based on my limited evaluation of the lights that were working:
1) Fairly narrow and weak field of light.
2) They don't seem to stay on for very long when activated.
3) Not sure how appropriate they really are for outdoor use as advertised when the battery cover does not look like it would prevent rain or moisture from ruining the batteries or contact with the batteries.
The trade off is that they are small and use common AA batteries. I thought they might be most useful for closets, a pantry, a covered entry, areas of a garage, or maybe even an area where pets eat or use a litter box when it's dark - IF the company were to resolve their quality control problems."
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Buchanan, MI
Date:August 26, 2011

Very pleased with this purchase

Pros: lights only operate in darkness, no wasted battery life
Cons: won't see light if testing installation during day
Model Number: OL-3205
"These lights were very easy to install and they are bright! This motion activated light is exactly what I needed for locations without electricity or where I don't want a light on all night long. I have a few more areas that could use this type of convenience light so I think I'm going to order another set. First class for the price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:August 17, 2011

Love these lights!

Pros: led's are bright!, motion sensor really works
Cons: motion sensor is integrated into light
"The lights were easy to install, simple instructions and worked right out of the box. Battery powered so I can put them anywhere. backyard by gates, inside storage shed and in a garage closet."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2011

looks good, quality control needs improvement

Pros: looks great and bright., motion sensor works
Cons: quality control
"the light looks great, and bright. Motion sensor works great. But 2 units out of 5 don't work out of box!? Returned them to costco with no issue. ordered another box and all works fine. ."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SAN ANTONIO, TX
Date:August 8, 2011

UNACCEPTABLE

Pros: none
Cons: defective product
Model Number: OL-3205
"THIS IS EXACTLY THE TYPE OF PRODUCT THAT I WAS SEARCHING FOR. I ORDERED TEN OF THEM; HOWEVER, THE FIRST TWO THAT I INSTALLED DID NOT WORK. (MOTION WAS NOT DETECTED AND THE LIGHTS WOULD NOT COME ON). I AM RETURNING THE ENTIRE ORDER TO COSTCO AND WILL KEEP LOOKING."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:July 27, 2011

Poor quality control

Cons: 2 lights not working, poor quality screws
"I have been looking for lights like these for a while. Wanted something that didn't require wiring or an electrician to install so I ordered these.
Out of the 5 that came in the box 2 don't work. I've already installed a couple of them so not sure if I'm going to uninstall them and return the lights to Costco.
I'm very disappointed in this purchase.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LED Motion Sensing Outdoor Spot Light 5-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:July 12, 2011

Better than expected!

"They seem like they are small and aren't going to provide much UMPH, but they do! We've got them facing our car parking spaces. 3 are plenty to light up 2 cars' worth of space.
They light up a nice 5 foot area when they are placed 6-10 feet in the air and have really good range of motion, so you can point them nearly anywhere you need them (something we haven't been able to say about other light).
You WILL WANT TO USE DIFFERENT SCREWS...we stripped one almost immediately by starting out with a power drill, but if you start with a power drill (on low setting), you can easily finish by using a screwdriver (I know, how 1999).
They don't have a "detects up to XYZ feet" but we found that one would turn on at about 20 feet and the rest would follow.
I'm VERY happy with these lights and would suggest them to you.
I thought about installing one of the extra lights in our basement stairway, which doesn't have a light, but it is too bright for that small area, unless we mounted it pointing up or 6 inches off a step...that might be overkill.
We're very please."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.