Customer Reviews for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine

Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine

The Brother XM3700 is perfect for the sewer looking to expand their sewing skills. With 37 stitches and 74 stitch functions, the XM3700 is ideal for garment construction, decorative stitching, heirloom sewing and quilting.  The XM3700 comes with a variety of accessory feet including a Zipper foot, Buttonhole Foot and Button Sewing Foot, it also has a built in accessory storage compartment. Sew with ease using the free arm/flat bed convertible sewing surface and built in LED light. It has a 1-step auto-size buttonholer, automatic needle threader and drop-in bobbin to make sewing a breeze.   Includes:   Zipper Foot   Buttonhole Foot   Button Sewing Foot   Bobbin   Needle Package   Needle Set (3 pc.)   Extra Spool Pin   Feed Dog Cover   Screwdriver Features:   37 Built-in Stitches   74 Stitch Functions   Automatic needle threader   Built-in thread cutter   Built-in stretch, blind hem and decorative stitches   Quick Change Presser Feet   Automatic 1-step buttonholer   Drop-in bobbin   Dial thread tension control   Variable needle position   Twin needle for decorative stitching   Forward and reverse sewing   Built-in stitches for garment construction and decorative sewing   Free arm/flatbed convertible sewing surface   Built-in accessory storage   Built-in LED light illuminates the sewing area   Safety power switch   Lightweight with built-in handle for portability   Bilingual instructions (English/Spanish)   Dimensions: 17.5” x 7.6” x 14.25”   Weight: 13.5 lbs.   UL/CSA listed   Model Number: XM3700 Made in China Warranty: Parts/labor: 1 year Printed circuit boards: 2 years Product casting: 25 years For product related questions please contact Brother® Sewing at 1-800-284-4357. Model: XM-3700
Average Customer Rating:
3.919 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
27 of 37(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NM
Date:June 29, 2015

Stay Away

Model Number: XM 3700
" Broke the very first day I used this. Took it in for a warranty repair - tech said it needed major work - the feeder wasn't working. Returning today! "
Review 2 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2015

no good

" See previous reviews. Tension terrible. balls up. backward button hardly ever works "
Review 3 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 21, 2015

The stitch is horrible

" We tried to adjust the stitch in any way possible, but the bottom stitch is super messy! We had very high hopes that this will be a simple and useful machine, but unfortunately it is not good at all. "
Review 4 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2015

Won't hold tension

Pros: cheap, easy to thread
Cons: tension thrown off
Model Number: XM3700
" I'm a novice sewer, and this was my first machine. It worked great for about two months (aside from auto buttonholer, will get to that later), but then the tension would get thrown way off mid-project. I tried resetting it, but then after a few stitches it got wonky again causing the seam to pucker. Also, the automatic buttonholer never worked. And, yes, I read the instructions and watched various YouTube videos to make sure it wasn't user-error. I don't think the buttonhole stitch function worked on my machine. I plan to return to Costco and buy a better-quality machine. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SAN ANTONIO, TX
Date:February 12, 2015

NOT A GOOD BUY

Pros: none
Cons: none
Model Number: XM3700
" IN THE MIDDLE OF SEWING THE TENSION BALLED UP AT THE DOWN AND I WAS UNABLE TO SEW, AFTER THAT I WAS NOT ABLE TO SET THE TENSON, SO NOW MY MACHINE IS NOT WORKING "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kenmore, WA
Date:February 6, 2015

For beginner

" I'm a beginner using sewing machine. This machine is very easy to operate, and the user's manual is very easy to read. Very good investment for a beginner like me. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glenview, IL
Date:January 30, 2015

I realy like

Pros: easy to use prefect size and light to cary
Cons: none
Model Number: Brother XM3700
" Great product. Very easy to use, and I really like. "
Review 8 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Columbus, OH
Date:October 7, 2014

Great Beginner Sewing Machine

Pros: clear instructions, automatic needle threader
Cons: the thread of the needle kept coming loose
" I bought this sewing machine based on previous reviews that this is a good machine for beginner sewers or simple alterations. I agree, so I won't go into much detail here, especially since I just started learning how to use a sewing machine a few weeks ago and don't know all the fancy stuff. Sewed a few pillow cases that was multi-layered with no problem. The free shipping was great, except that with taxes, it came up to about $96- so be warned. Can't wait to use it more! My only complain is that the thread keeps coming out of the upper needle (is that the name for the part?), so I have to re-thread it over and over again. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bedford, Texas
Date:October 5, 2014

Low quality

Pros: inexpensive, light enough to carry to classes, worked well long enough to decide to upgrade
Cons: won't hold consistent tension
Model Number: Brother XM3700
" I used this machine for a few months without complaint. But it soon developed tension problems: the tension would be fine for a while, but would then get way off even while sewing the same article with the exact same thickness. Adjusting the tension would help for a while, then it would go out again. Not worth the grief - returning it, bought a higher-quality (and more expensive!) machine. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Folsom, CA
Date:August 28, 2014

Simple and Nice Sewing Machine

Pros: small, simple, light weight
Model Number: XM3700
" I bought this sewing machine for myself and my son as he likes to learn how to alter his clothes. He's a beginner and I think this is a great machine for him. It's simple to use and one thing I like it the most is that we can sew on jeans. Just be patience and careful... since this is a small machine, as long as we go slow on thicker fabric like jeans (use the handle as going stitch by stitch) and it will turn out fine. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Sanfrancisco CA
Date:July 23, 2014

easy to thread, easy to use, free shipping

Pros: easy to use free shipping
Model Number: Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch sewing machine
" july 23, 2014
Brother XM3700 74 Stitch Sewing Machine
is easy to use, i bought this sewing machine from coscto.
. Automatic Needle Threader
. Built-in LED Light
. Dial Thread Tension Control
. Bilingual Instructions
. Lightweight
. Built-in Thread Cutter
"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis, Tn
Date:June 2, 2014

Love this machine

Pros: easy to follow instructions and, lightweight.
Cons: plastic parts may not be durable.
Model Number: XM3700
" This machine is easy to operate and has a self-threader. I am very happy using it. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:April 28, 2014

Great Value and Easy to Use

Pros: good product for the money
Cons: online how-to video would have been nice
Model Number: XM3700 74-stitch
" Bought for condo in FL because I have machine up north. But, I loved it and so easy to use. For the price you cannot beat it. Threading the bobbin was a little hard at first but turned out to be better than what I have at home. Love the self-threader. Went online and got some tips. I have an old Singer from the 70s and paid $$$$$. This has a good stitch and does everything I need. I was surprised it sewed right thru my home decor thick fabric. I may purchase another one for my home here in the north. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:April 11, 2014

Great purchase

Pros: great value for price;, very prompt delivery, no addition shipping cost
Model Number: Brother XM3700 74 Stitch Sewing Machine
" Simple machine that does what I need it to do. Easy to load bobbin; Quiet running machine "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:February 24, 2013

Great Machine for the Price

Pros: cant beat the costco return policy
Cons: may not be the best for real heavy material.
Model Number: Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
" Was able to start sewing for the first time. Not too many other machines for this price. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2012

Sews very nicely indeed

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: accessory storage compartment not really useful
Model Number: XM3700
" I bought this sewing machine and another similarly priced Brother. While they both stitch very well, I chose this one for its "more sewing machine, less toy-like" appearance (and sold the other one to a friend). One thing I don't like about the new machine's accessory holders is that they don't have a "lid", so unless everything is first placed into a plastic bag and then put in the holder, things will fall out. The machine I'm replacing (after more than 20 years - it has given up reversing) had an easily accessible, useful compartment. Neither of the two Brother machines have that. It took me a while to find out how to use the "additional stitches" and all I had to do was turn the stitch length dial to SS position to make that happen. I had no trouble threading the machine on the top, the bobbin, or using the automatic threader. I am really enjoying it! Very happy with the purchase indeed. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2012

Having some trouble

Model Number: XM3700
" I received this machine a few weeks ago and within the first few uses it started sewing backwards even though I was not pressing the backstitch lever. I called the Brother's helpline and was still unable to get the machine functioning properly with their suggestions. They have told me the only option is to take it to a service center for repair, although the work should be covered by the warranty. This machine may be going back to Costco if it turns out to be too much of a hassle... "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Clair Shores, Mi
Date:August 25, 2012

nice machine

Pros: easy to thread, easy to move and use
" I purchased this sewing machine on a Sunday online and received it Wednesday...now, that is fast shipping.
I bought this one to replace a machine that was probably about 45 yrs. old that decided to die in the middle of a project. I was skeptical at first about ordering this because of the reasonable price. But since it was Costco, I didn't worry. I have used it only once so far to sew curtain panels. It worked great. It was easy to thread--directions are right on the machine. It states it also has an auto threader, but I haven't tried it because manually was so easy. How this will hold up, I'm not sure. But I don't do a ton of sewing on a weekly basis. Curtains, shortening hems, pillows, and that kind of stuff when needed. I also checked reviews for this machine and it got very good ones. So far I think it's a great little machine and just what I need and a great price.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:August 22, 2012

Good deal

Model Number: XM3700
" Haven't tried all the features yet, but like the way the machine handles. It's also lightweight, which is a plus when I have to pick it up and put it on the table, "
Review 20 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:August 21, 2012

Best Buy!

Model Number: Brother" XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
" Excellent sewing machine with lots of features. Price was less than at local retail stores. Item was delivered quickly and packaged with care. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>