Customer Reviews for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine

Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine

The Brother XM3700 is perfect for the sewer looking to expand their sewing skills. With 37 stitches and 74 stitch functions, the XM3700 is ideal for garment construction, decorative stitching, heirloom sewing and quilting.  The XM3700 comes with a variety of accessory feet including a Zipper foot, Buttonhole Foot and Button Sewing Foot, it also has a built in accessory storage compartment. Sew with ease using the free arm/flat bed convertible sewing surface and built in LED light. It has a 1-step auto-size buttonholer, automatic needle threader and drop-in bobbin to make sewing a breeze.   Includes:   Zipper Foot   Buttonhole Foot   Button Sewing Foot   Bobbin   Needle Package   Needle Set (3 pc.)   Extra Spool Pin   Feed Dog Cover   Screwdriver Features:   37 Built-in Stitches   74 Stitch Functions   Automatic needle threader   Built-in thread cutter   Built-in stretch, blind hem and decorative stitches   Quick Change Presser Feet   Automatic 1-step buttonholer   Drop-in bobbin   Dial thread tension control   Variable needle position   Twin needle for decorative stitching   Forward and reverse sewing   Built-in stitches for garment construction and decorative sewing   Free arm/flatbed convertible sewing surface   Built-in accessory storage   Built-in LED light illuminates the sewing area   Safety power switch   Lightweight with built-in handle for portability   Bilingual instructions (English/Spanish)   Dimensions: 17.5” x 7.6” x 14.25”   Weight: 13.5 lbs.   UL/CSA listed   Model Number: XM3700 Made in China Warranty: Parts/labor: 1 year Printed circuit boards: 2 years Product casting: 25 years For product related questions please contact Brother® Sewing at 1-800-284-4357. Model: XM-3700
Average Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
24 of 29(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bedford, Texas
Date:October 5, 2014

Low quality

Pros: inexpensive, light enough to carry to classes, worked well long enough to decide to upgrade
Cons: won't hold consistent tension
Model Number: Brother XM3700
"I used this machine for a few months without complaint. But it soon developed tension problems: the tension would be fine for a while, but would then get way off even while sewing the same article with the exact same thickness. Adjusting the tension would help for a while, then it would go out again. Not worth the grief - returning it, bought a higher-quality (and more expensive!) machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Folsom, CA
Date:August 28, 2014

Simple and Nice Sewing Machine

Pros: small, simple, light weight
Model Number: XM3700
"I bought this sewing machine for myself and my son as he likes to learn how to alter his clothes. He's a beginner and I think this is a great machine for him. It's simple to use and one thing I like it the most is that we can sew on jeans. Just be patience and careful... since this is a small machine, as long as we go slow on thicker fabric like jeans (use the handle as going stitch by stitch) and it will turn out fine."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Sanfrancisco CA
Date:July 23, 2014

easy to thread, easy to use, free shipping

Pros: easy to use free shipping
Model Number: Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch sewing machine
"july 23, 2014
Brother XM3700 74 Stitch Sewing Machine
is easy to use, i bought this sewing machine from coscto.
. Automatic Needle Threader
. Built-in LED Light
. Dial Thread Tension Control
. Bilingual Instructions
. Lightweight
. Built-in Thread Cutter
"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis, Tn
Date:June 2, 2014

Love this machine

Pros: easy to follow instructions and, lightweight.
Cons: plastic parts may not be durable.
Model Number: XM3700
"This machine is easy to operate and has a self-threader. I am very happy using it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:April 28, 2014

Great Value and Easy to Use

Pros: good product for the money
Cons: online how-to video would have been nice
Model Number: XM3700 74-stitch
"Bought for condo in FL because I have machine up north. But, I loved it and so easy to use. For the price you cannot beat it. Threading the bobbin was a little hard at first but turned out to be better than what I have at home. Love the self-threader. Went online and got some tips. I have an old Singer from the 70s and paid $$$$$. This has a good stitch and does everything I need. I was surprised it sewed right thru my home decor thick fabric. I may purchase another one for my home here in the north."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:April 11, 2014

Great purchase

Pros: great value for price;, very prompt delivery, no addition shipping cost
Model Number: Brother XM3700 74 Stitch Sewing Machine
"Simple machine that does what I need it to do. Easy to load bobbin; Quiet running machine"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:February 24, 2013

Great Machine for the Price

Pros: cant beat the costco return policy
Cons: may not be the best for real heavy material.
Model Number: Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
"Was able to start sewing for the first time. Not too many other machines for this price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2012

Sews very nicely indeed

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: accessory storage compartment not really useful
Model Number: XM3700
"I bought this sewing machine and another similarly priced Brother. While they both stitch very well, I chose this one for its "more sewing machine, less toy-like" appearance (and sold the other one to a friend). One thing I don't like about the new machine's accessory holders is that they don't have a "lid", so unless everything is first placed into a plastic bag and then put in the holder, things will fall out. The machine I'm replacing (after more than 20 years - it has given up reversing) had an easily accessible, useful compartment. Neither of the two Brother machines have that. It took me a while to find out how to use the "additional stitches" and all I had to do was turn the stitch length dial to SS position to make that happen. I had no trouble threading the machine on the top, the bobbin, or using the automatic threader. I am really enjoying it! Very happy with the purchase indeed."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2012

Having some trouble

Model Number: XM3700
"I received this machine a few weeks ago and within the first few uses it started sewing backwards even though I was not pressing the backstitch lever. I called the Brother's helpline and was still unable to get the machine functioning properly with their suggestions. They have told me the only option is to take it to a service center for repair, although the work should be covered by the warranty. This machine may be going back to Costco if it turns out to be too much of a hassle..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Clair Shores, Mi
Date:August 25, 2012

nice machine

Pros: easy to thread, easy to move and use
"I purchased this sewing machine on a Sunday online and received it Wednesday...now, that is fast shipping.
I bought this one to replace a machine that was probably about 45 yrs. old that decided to die in the middle of a project. I was skeptical at first about ordering this because of the reasonable price. But since it was Costco, I didn't worry. I have used it only once so far to sew curtain panels. It worked great. It was easy to thread--directions are right on the machine. It states it also has an auto threader, but I haven't tried it because manually was so easy. How this will hold up, I'm not sure. But I don't do a ton of sewing on a weekly basis. Curtains, shortening hems, pillows, and that kind of stuff when needed. I also checked reviews for this machine and it got very good ones. So far I think it's a great little machine and just what I need and a great price.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:August 22, 2012

Good deal

Model Number: XM3700
"Haven't tried all the features yet, but like the way the machine handles. It's also lightweight, which is a plus when I have to pick it up and put it on the table,"
Review 12 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:August 21, 2012

Best Buy!

Model Number: Brother" XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
"Excellent sewing machine with lots of features. Price was less than at local retail stores. Item was delivered quickly and packaged with care."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Coconut Creek , Fl.
Date:August 18, 2012

Great purchase!

Pros: easy to learn how to use it., great price.
Cons: don't have any yet!
Model Number: Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch
"Just had this Brother sewing machine delivered to me about a week ago and so far it is great! Easy to use and light to carry but still feels heavy duty. Haven't had a chance to do a lot of sewing on it yet but I am very pleased to get such a great machine that can do all I want to do on it at such a great price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 17, 2012

Good machine, excellent price

Pros: fans service
Model Number: XM3700
"We purchased the new Brother with the sewing arm for less $$ than it would have cost to repair the old Singer.
It was delivered in two days, wow."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Date:August 17, 2012

Great Gift

Model Number: XM3700
"I purchased this machine for my youngest daughter to learn to sew with. She is quite pleased with it and says it's easy to use. It was delivered in a timely manner.
I hope to see some of the many projects she has in mind come to fruition in the near future!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012

sewing machine

Model Number: brother xm3700
"i purchased this for my daughter for Christmas. it looks very fuctional and i know she will be very pleased with it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Claremont,CA
Date:July 13, 2012

Good buy

Pros: lots of stitches
Cons: cannot figure out how to thread it
Model Number: MX 3700
"I like this sewing machine a lot but still have not been able to figure out how to automatically thread it. That is, in fact, the MAIN REASON I bought this machine. Is there a tutorial for this machine or do I just have to tough it out until I "get it"?"
Review 18 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 10, 2012

Fast & Easy

"Bought this on sale and I'm very satisfied. I have not used a sewing machine in over 20 years nor was I ever a proficient seamstress. The instructions were easy to follow. I was able to wind a bobbin and easily thread the needle. Once you get the hang of the auto threader, it's not hard at all, just a little awkward at first. I like the variety of stitches and it comes with different feet, extra needles, etc. Now that I know how to use it, let's see if I can actually sew something useful."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, CO
Date:May 10, 2012
Cons: no help from brother passed all problems off.
Model Number: Brother XM3700
"I ordered one and it lasted 10 days and froze up, was probably a manufacturing problem but I just took it back when Brother wanted me take it to be repaired, which would have taken upwards of 2 week. In less than 5 days I ordered and received another from Costco and it has been working wonderfully and beyond my expectations. I do tons of valances, drapes and romans and needed a utilitarian machine and this is definitely it."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® XM3700 74-Stitch Function Free Arm Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 1, 2012

Great Machine

"Easy to use directions. I have not used a sewing machine in years but was able to get this going quickly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>