Customer Reviews for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying

Cool/Dehumidify/Ventilate/Fan Recommended 360-410 Sq. Ft. With Remote Library Quiet® 38dB
Average Customer Rating:
3.631 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
(out of 65 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
13
45 of 65(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Review 1 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rockville, Maryland
Date:September 26, 2011

Works as expected

Pros: relatively quiet, ion purifying, circulating louver
Cons: very heavy, windows mounting is cumbersome, remote control mainly
Model Number: CV-P10RC
"This portable A/C is the best I have bought so far. Its noise level is not significant, and even at the highest fan speed (max mode), you still can sleep while it is on. At the lowest fan speed, it does come down to almost "library" quiet. To me, noise level is very important when I sleep or watch TV. I had a Haier portable A/C before and the Hair's noise level was unbearable, so I had to upgrade to this Sharp one; and I'm glad I did.
Other reviews mentioned about the drainage issue, and how heavy the machine is to lift for draining. While I agree the machine is very heavy (my brother had to help me, and we both carried it to my bedroom), the machine does not need lifting for draining. There are valves in the back of the machine that could be open for draining, and all you need to do is putting a hose or a big bucket to catch the water, and then turn the machine on and the water will be pumped out. It's pretty humid here in Maryland in the summer, but not much water accumulated either because some of the water actually did get evaporated when the machine is on. However, to be careful and to prevent water-borne elements, I drained the machine weekly, and I did not have to lift the machine or move it anywhere to drain it.
I like the ion purifying and the air louver circulation features. They make the room's air fresh and comfortably cool. If you expect a forceful volume of cold air, this is not the machine for you. But if you would like breeze-like cold fresh air, then this does the best. I actually prefer cool breeze than concentrated coldness. And this machine does keep accurate ambience temperature. I have some other devide that measure room temperature, and found that the temperature in the room was the same as what I set this A/C to, after about 15 minutes.
One thing really draws back one star in my review is the poor design of the windows mounting. Sharp makes an effort to decide an elaborated system to prevent rain and insects, but if forgets to make the mounting pieces adjustable for length. This oversight creates a lot of hassles when your windows' width is slightly shorter or longer than the pieces because you have to find a saw to saw off the extra length or to find some insulation tape to cover the length shortage.
I highly recommend Sharp to redesign the machine so that it is still well-built but not too darn heavy, to make it operable by buttons on machine in addition to remote control, and also to make it easier to adjust the windows mounting plastic pieces."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:September 20, 2011

Works as expected

Pros: remote, adjustable & motorized louvers, plasmacluster® purifying
Cons: window mount could have been designed better
"I would defiantly recommend this unit to my friends... It works well in a small or medium size room..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:los angeles,ca
Date:September 15, 2011

like a 7mo baby

Pros: good value
Cons: heavy, need to drain water, loud
Model Number: sharp
"I used this for my 7months old baby and it turn out this units works just like a baby!
1. it will only work for 2 hours then you have to change the diaper! once the water tank is full, its shuts down.
2. its noise when on full mode
3. the water drain is at the bottom of the machine, you have to carry it over ledge to drain it out.
The only difference is that baby you can not return, this one you can!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2011

CHEAP PRICE IS MISLEADING - Utilities $$$

Pros: remote is smart
Cons: + $125/mo. elec bill
Model Number: CV-P10RC
"Bulky, noisy and uses 9 AMPS a day !!! to operate normally -- 2X what my central air uses and it does the whole house. My electricity has gone up $125 a month !!
I live in California and we have had a few days over 85, avrg of 78 and it cant cool a 20x15 office.
The motor is noisy, when it sycles on the lights dim and it has blown the breaker fuse numerous times."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:September 6, 2011

Works great for home office

Pros: works great. compact.
Cons: duct tape needed for tall window.
"I have no central air, and work at home full time (self employed). This unit has been awesome the past couple of years after my PC overheated ... it's 88 outside right now, but only 74 in my office which is what I have it set at; pointed at my PC and RAID system rack, it's only 63 in the rack. Great. Buying another one for back room, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2011

Not bad....but could be better

"costco shipped this item so quick that i had it even before i was expecting it. set up was not as easy as i thought. i was hoping to be able to move it from room to room whenever i needed but once it's set up in a room it will require a whole new set up in the next room if you want to move it. there are foam thingys you have to stick in your window and those are kind of a pain. it works really well. we have a huge great room and high ceilings. it's been a nice help to cool down the big room. i think it will be even better in a smaller room with lower ceilings. overall, a good purchase but not as mobile as i thought it would be. i will be keeping it though...so for the most part i'm happy with it."
Review 7 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, Colorado
Date:September 2, 2011

Great machine, works as advertised

Pros: good price nice looking unit., quiet enough when running.
Cons: noisy when cycling on/off the cooling cycle.
Model Number: CV-P10RC
"Bought this AC unit late in the hot season so the addition of it to my house was very dramatic. The vent did not have an adapter for casement windows, so I built one. The remote control is intuitive and easy to use. I have not cleaned out the filters yet, but they are easy to access in the side.
There is no mention on the website that condensation needs to be drained out of the unit. The manual has a good explanation and i followed it easily.
"
Review 8 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 29, 2011

very quiet for bedroom

Pros: very quiet, appearance
Model Number: CV-2P10SC
"We bought both the Delonghi and the Sharp at our local Costco.Together, they make 850 sq ft quite comfortable (73 when it is 85 outside). The heat exhaust tube does get hot and heat up the room, but there is an easy fix. We followed the advice of another reviewer, and wrapped the exhaust tube w/ foil insulation. The Delonghi takes up less room space than the Sharp. The Sharp is very quiet. Sometimes it is hard to tell that it is on. Perfect for the bedroom. It puts out less cooling than the Delonghi, but plenty for a medium-sized bedroom and the nearby hallways. At first, we just bought the Sharp. We rolled the Sharp to the room we occupied. But, for each move, it took a while to cool down. With two units, our whole two-bedroom condo is comfortable, even the second bedroom stays in the comfortable range (max 77), which is nice for summer guests."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:August 20, 2011

not happpy

Pros: no hanging anything unsightly out the window
"judging from the reviews, I must have bought the dud. After being on for 48 hrs on the max setting, the room (12x18ft.) went from hot to lukewarm. I returned it, got the ugly window unit, room was noticeably cooler within 30 minutes."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clarksville, MD
Date:August 18, 2011

Excellent portable AC unit

"Loved the unit so far. I purchased this for a home office, which is exposured to decent amount of sunlight. Given it is the hottest room on the main floor, it is an efficient solution. I tusted the Sharp brand and likes the design and the quietness is relatively good in comparison to other units in my friend's house (note it is still a AC with compressor right in the room, so the noise level is there)."
Review 11 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:August 17, 2011

I was right (again)!

"We purchased the Sharp Portable Room Air Conditioner for a very uncomfortable individual office in our 100 year old building. The occupant of this office is constantly lowering (sneaky) the overall office temp to compensate causing overall misery, discomfort and crankiness from the staff. Nevertheless, he was very hesitant about this purchase - afraid the unit would be too noisy and distracting in the workplace. Not only is the unit "library quiet" as advertised (you have to really listen to see if it is running) it is so efficient, our office overall is more comfortable. Further, the Doubting Thomas announced he was going to buy one for his home! I never would have purchased this over his objections if it came from anywhere but Costco - I trust their products completely. Thank you Costco! We don't have to wear sweaters in August inside anymore!"
Review 12 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2011

Not what you might think.

Pros: reasonably quiet and easy set up
Cons: heavy and bulky
"First, there's nothing wrong with the product, but to say it will cool 300-400 sqft is only accurate if you mean by a few degrees.
WHAT IT WILL DO:
Set on Max cool, it cooled my 13x14x8 well insulated bedroom by 20 degrees. That's OK until the temp gets to 105, then it's 85 in the bedroom.
It should be fine for rooms 12x12 or smaller or in places where the temps don't get over 95.
WHAT IT WON'T DO:
Cool a decent sized room to 78 degrees on really hot day.
Also heavy (100lbs) and bulky. It's about 2 feet thick and also requires 12" clearance from the wall, making it stick out 3 feet from the wall overall. In a room small enough for it to cool, it really sticks out.
I'm gonna have to return mine, as it just doesn't get the job done here in Texas."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:August 7, 2011

Excellent air conditioning unit

Pros: easy to install, very very quiet
Cons: none
Model Number: CV-2P10SC
"Having already purchased a Sharp portable a few years ago from Costco which has provided me wonderful sleep in the summer, I gave up on a portable Haier that I had for my living room. Instead bought this air conditioner, which by the way is 10,500 BTU's not 10,000. Took me about an hour to cut the window panel and install the hose, but as soon as I plugged it in and turned it on, it was heaven in my living room. And Sharp makes the quietest air conditioners ever!!!!"
Review 14 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2011

great purchase

Pros: does the job quieter then fans at med/high speed
Cons: heavy mobility not as practical as add implies
"Arrived at my door 2 days after purchase, I installed it easily myself that day and have been enjoying restful sleep ever since. Asked myself many times why had'nt I bought one sooner.
I live in a old log farmhouse that once summer sets in the upper master bedroom (400 sq ft) gets very hot during the day and holds the heat thru the night.
I turn it on 3 hours before bed at maxi-cool, then set it to 76 before I lay down ....perfect for sleeping!
Curious what my 'lectric bill will be this month tho...."
Review 15 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 4, 2011

Worked Flawlessly

Pros: quiet, cools well, performs as advertised
Cons: heavy to lift and drain.
"Bought this unit and took it to our second home in New Mexico. I was able to set it up in minutes, turned it on and ran it everyday for nearly two weeks, turning it off at night. Not a single problem, cooled the bedroom we had it set up in very well and even cooled part of the rest of the house. There was no problem with water accumulating in the tank. At the end of two weeks, we rolled the unit into the shower to drain it. Hardly any water came out."
Review 16 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Date:August 2, 2011

Great if you sit infront of it

Pros: cold air when directly hit by it, rolls nice, costco's excellent return policy and customer serv
Cons: does not cool even rooms under 200 sq feet
"I read the mixed reviews online here and figured that I'd give it a shot because the room I needed cooled is only 12 x 14 with 8 feet ceiling and Costco has such excellent customer service. I had the AC setup in about 10-15 minutes and it was pushing really cold air. Everything was setup perfect and I let it run for a few hours. The room remained the same temperature but sitting in front of it was super cold. It was pretty quiet, easy to setup, and rolled nice but other than that it was useless instead you sit in front of it. Second day gave the same results. We turned off our central air in the morning and this portable AC couldn't cool / maintain just one small room."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:July 30, 2011

Ice cool.

Pros: cold, slim, quiet, easy set up
Cons: heavy, price
Model Number: Sharp - CVP10RC
"With the reviews of this item being mixed, I thought I would give this a shot because I really like the quality of Sharp products and the Costco return policy is great. So, I really felt secure in my buying decision if this unit did not work out. I am really surprised that there were many negative responses. I am not sure why so many people had bad experiences. I have had many different types of air conditioning models in the past. So, it was easy for me to compare this with the ones I had in the past. The unit does not look cheap. It's built well and the quality is what I expected. This things works great! It really cools the room quickly. The set up was quick and easy. I had this up in 20 mins. It's pretty quiet (subjective of course) compared to my old window unit. It's only 10,000 BTU. It's more than adequate in my opinion. I wish the price was cheaper though."
Review 18 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Revere, MA
Date:July 28, 2011

Excellent air conditioner

Pros: evaporation system is excellent.
Cons: not a good fit for some replacement windows.
Model Number: CV-P10RC
"We had the exact same model for at least a year and we replaced an old Windchaseer model that required constant emptying of water. This A/C almost never has to be emptyed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lone Star
Date:July 26, 2011

Love it

Pros: high quality, fast cooling, quiet (for an ac)
Cons: setup not easy
Model Number: Costco model
"I've owned other portable ACs before but this is by far the best. Bought it at my local warehouse. The setup is typical, requiring some serious fitting on the window pane, but once that's done, it works like a super chart. Cools fast yet this is the quietest portable AC I've used. It also dehumidifies and cleans air! Remote is easy to use. I love this unit and will buy another one for my basement."
Review 20 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cupertino, CA
Date:July 26, 2011

I like it

"We used window 1500 BTU Air Conditioner for 5 years before bought this. We put it at our living room. It is easy to install and more quiet and working very well.
We are living in California. We don't need to too worry about humidity than East Coast.
"
1 2 3 4 next>>