Customer Reviews for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying

Cool/Dehumidify/Ventilate/Fan Recommended 360-410 Sq. Ft. With Remote Library Quiet® 38dB
Average Customer Rating:
3.631 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
(out of 65 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
13
45 of 65(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Review 1 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southwest Montana
Date:June 29, 2011

Relief from the heat, with only a few annoyances

Pros: value
Cons: noise, air filter
"Very happy so far. I would recommend the unit to anyone, but with a few caveats:
1. The thermostat for the AC mode is located INSIDE the remote. Therefore, do NOT put the remote near the unit itself - it will just cycle on and off constantly.
2. Window panel installation is tricky, just take your time. I added a vertical piece of 1x2 wood to mount the panels to so I didn't have to drill into my vinyl window frame.
3. Put the unit on 6-inch risers. When you have to empty the tank after using dehumidify mode, it will be much easier.
4. As far as I can tell, when in AC mode the unit evaporates room humidity out through the exhaust hose. I've been running the unit for 3 weeks with no need to drain the tank.
5. The compressor is quite loud when starting up or shutting down. To alleviate this while sleeping, we keep a floor fan running in the room. The extra white noise makes it less noticeable when the AC unit turns off or on.
All in all, very happy with the purchase!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:June 11, 2011

Poor Product Design

Cons: many
Model Number: Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner
"This unit requires high maintenance to repeatedly empty the water from the unit (which is difficult due to poor product design). On the very first night of operation, beginning at 11 pm, this unit shut down at 3:30 am with lights blinking to indicate a full water reservoir. The instructions note that to empty the unit it must be taken outside or rolled over a floor drain. Poor design: the drain plug is located at the rear of the unit and so low that I could not even us a Tupperware tray to empty the water. So at 3:30 am, on the 2nd floor of my home, i put a beach towel on the floor and mopped up the water on my hardwood floors. I do not have a floor drain or the energy to carry the unit unit down 2 flight of stairs at 3:30 am each night as instructed by Sharp. This is truly one of those products that makes you wonder about what the company was thinking. Probably designed more for Europe or Latin America where floor drains are more common. Awful experience, and I live in Boston (house was 84 degrees and all I wanted was 76 degrees to sleep."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:April 28, 2011

I like it.

Pros: quiet, remote control, casters, sturdy vent hose
Cons: heavy, ambient heat from vent hose
"I'll avoid repeating all the features, but I'll point out what surprised or impressed me.
It's heavy. My wife tried to help me lift it upstairs but could not, so I used a hand truck to move it upstairs.
It's large, about the size of a medium to large mini fridge; its size instills confidence that it is not underpowered but I had to rearrange the room a couple of times until I found a pleasing setup.
The vent hose is also large, 3 or 4 inch diameter, and because it is used for hot air exhaust, there is a small area of ambient heat when you are standing right beside the hose. (Step back, and you will not notice the heat.) The great thing about the hose is that it is semi-rigid so that it holds its shape and does not sag.
The louvers can be fixed at an angle of your choosing or can oscillate using the remote, and there are two manual sliders which allow you to direct the airflow left/right.
It's quiet. Of course this is relative and some may think it's not quiet, but I found it to be no louder than the window fan I had been using.
It's features and styling are very good, and it works well. I think it looks nicer in person than in the photo.
Overall, I highly recommend it for anyone trying to get that one problem room that's always too warm under control."
44 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2011

So disappointed

Cons: heavy, drain to low to the ground, pan fills fast and leaks, cools less space than indicated
"1) Set up was not easy and does not simply fit in the window...lots of rigging and gaps.
2) This did cool my room about 12x14, but not much more in the upstairs area.
3) I was ok with that until in the middle of the night after one month, it stopped working and lights were blinking. So, at 2am I was reading the manual for the codes. Pan is full. Instructions say to take it out and let it drain in the yard! This is on the 2nd floor of my house and weighs over 100lbs.
4) The drain is so close to the floor, so I had to find a low pan, tilt this heavy machine while holding the pan and drain small amounts at a time. Got it to run the night but would no longer go on Max Cool.
5) Next day, blinking again. Hot and frustrated, tried to lug it down the first flight of stairs, and water started to run out even with the plug in.
6) Drained all the water, returned to room and turned on...A/C & Max A/C would not work only other modes. Completely fed up, lugged it back to the store.
Never again...NO Sharp products.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:May 29, 2011

UGH - Had to DRAIN this unit every couple hours

Cons: requires tedious draining every couple hours, heavy to lug around to drain
Model Number: Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner
"While this unit blew very cool air and was easy to set up, it would shut itself off after running only about two hours because it collected too much water and had to be drained. We rolled it down the hall, had to lift it up on the edge of the tub (80+lbs) and then tip it back and patiently wait for the water to slowly drain out. This sucker is heavy, so this is not something I wanted to do every couple of hours. We tried it the next day, and again it automatically shut off, with all lights flashing at about the 2 1/2 hour mark. We are in Virginia, so we have lots of humidity, but this was just ridiculous. We wanted to be able to run this during the night in our extra room upstairs without having to provide maintenance to it in two hour increments. The product design to drain this unit is very poor. Hoping to get the Delonghi unit that Costco has and that it will not require constant draining just to keep it running."
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:June 19, 2011

Work quietly - Setup in 5 minutes

Pros: very quiet, easy setup, no vibration
Model Number: Model CVP10RC
"Ordered the product online. It was delivered in 3 days. It took me less than 5 minutes to set it up next to a vertical window (I suspect a horizontal opening will be even easier).
It works very quietly compared to any other AC unit I have seen. I have had it for three weeks now in a 500 Sq Ft space and it works nicely in terms of cooling the place. The window where the direct sun light comes through has sheers hanging in front of it; I guess that helps.
I would recommend this product and will get another one for the bedroom. It runs with a gentle "hum" even at full power and no vibration despite standing on bare wooden floor. None of the through the window or floor standing ( / portable) units I have seen thus far are this quiet.
I haven't had the condensation issue some of the other posts are referring to. Perhaps others are using this unit as a dehumidifier (one of the modes) as opposed to an AC. As an AC it seems that it evaporates the water and discharges it along the hot air through the window."
Review 7 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:July 13, 2011

Very Impressed

Pros: quiet well built it cools!
Cons: heavy - but that is the nature of these
Model Number: CV-2P10SC
"I decided to try this Sharp figuring it could be returned easily. Well, I purchased this on 5/21/2011 and have it and love it! I am using it in a second floor 10 x 10 office. I was worried about "draining" the unit. It has never happened and this is used 5 days a week since I purchased it. I never needed to run on max a/c. I like the fact that this has a screen on the air output and also I am able to keep the screen closed on the window. It is quiet: I am on the phone and never had to turn the unit off. I am about 4 feet from it. The noisemaker 6000BTU window unit this replaced was constantly be turned off when I took a phone call. As for cooling, it performs like the 6000BTU window unit with a lot less noise. We did try a Soleus unit back in 2006 and that was noisy and could not cool the room. These portable a/c units have improved since 2006 and I am very satisfied with this SHARP. Also in 2006 the Soleus costs us close to $500!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:May 25, 2011

Jury is still out

Model Number: Sharp CV-2P10SX 10,500 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
"I've had this unit for a week. A few observations.
It was loud at first, I found by moving the unit around it quieted down dramatically. Probably my floor was not completely level so that could cause the oscillation type rattling I initially had. Is it "Library Quiet"...that may be a bit of a stretch, but we use it in master bedroom and it's 5 feet from bed yet we sleep through the night just fine. No louder than window unit.
I've had to drain it as well which was not expected. I have a Maytag portable that I have never had to drain in over 10 years of use. A good solution is to raise the unit up on blocks or lifters and you can slide a pan under the petcock for draining right where it sits. I used 4 bed risers. Its not a lot of water but is a pain and I don't understand why the unit doesn't evaporate the water during operation to minimize this. So far I'm content - not thrilled. We'll see. I'll post update later."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:June 20, 2011

Poor Quality

Pros: nice esthetic design
Cons: does not work
Model Number: Sharp CV-P10RC Portable Air Conditioner
"After un-boxing and following all instructions, I turn it on, but all I got was warm air, even though green "AirCon" light was on. I try different settings but with no avail.
So I returned it, and got a REPLACEMENT: un-boxed it, AGAIN followed all instructions, turn on and..... very nice cool air!!! BUT then it suddenly STOPPED with three blinking lights. The manual says this means I need to empty the water tank. It ran for TWO minutes, and already needs to be drained? this makes no sense. So, I follow the instructions and try to drain it, but all I get is 2 drops of water ( which makes sense, it only ran for a couple of minutes).
After several failed attempts at troubleshooting, I realize this air conditioner will only work for 2 minutes then demand to be drained. It must be a malfunctioning moisture sensor or something....
So I returned it...again! and this is not a light machine by any means. While I appreciate Costco's return policy, this has been a painful experience.
Is it my bad luck? poor product quality control? damage during transport? I don't know.
Very disappointed.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rockville, Maryland
Date:September 26, 2011

Works as expected

Pros: relatively quiet, ion purifying, circulating louver
Cons: very heavy, windows mounting is cumbersome, remote control mainly
Model Number: CV-P10RC
"This portable A/C is the best I have bought so far. Its noise level is not significant, and even at the highest fan speed (max mode), you still can sleep while it is on. At the lowest fan speed, it does come down to almost "library" quiet. To me, noise level is very important when I sleep or watch TV. I had a Haier portable A/C before and the Hair's noise level was unbearable, so I had to upgrade to this Sharp one; and I'm glad I did.
Other reviews mentioned about the drainage issue, and how heavy the machine is to lift for draining. While I agree the machine is very heavy (my brother had to help me, and we both carried it to my bedroom), the machine does not need lifting for draining. There are valves in the back of the machine that could be open for draining, and all you need to do is putting a hose or a big bucket to catch the water, and then turn the machine on and the water will be pumped out. It's pretty humid here in Maryland in the summer, but not much water accumulated either because some of the water actually did get evaporated when the machine is on. However, to be careful and to prevent water-borne elements, I drained the machine weekly, and I did not have to lift the machine or move it anywhere to drain it.
I like the ion purifying and the air louver circulation features. They make the room's air fresh and comfortably cool. If you expect a forceful volume of cold air, this is not the machine for you. But if you would like breeze-like cold fresh air, then this does the best. I actually prefer cool breeze than concentrated coldness. And this machine does keep accurate ambience temperature. I have some other devide that measure room temperature, and found that the temperature in the room was the same as what I set this A/C to, after about 15 minutes.
One thing really draws back one star in my review is the poor design of the windows mounting. Sharp makes an effort to decide an elaborated system to prevent rain and insects, but if forgets to make the mounting pieces adjustable for length. This oversight creates a lot of hassles when your windows' width is slightly shorter or longer than the pieces because you have to find a saw to saw off the extra length or to find some insulation tape to cover the length shortage.
I highly recommend Sharp to redesign the machine so that it is still well-built but not too darn heavy, to make it operable by buttons on machine in addition to remote control, and also to make it easier to adjust the windows mounting plastic pieces."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:June 21, 2011

Very weak, could not handle Heat in New England

Pros: quiet, nicelooking??, remote
Cons: not cool, short hose, hot!!
Model Number: SharpAC in costco
"I would not buy another Sharp again, they are trying to make the product be quiet, but the cooling power is so weak, it could not even handle the summer in New England. I have total of 3 Sharp ACs, but none of them work good, one already broken after 8 years of gentle use. and I kept telling myself that next one should be good, but they just could not hand the heat, the most recent one bout from Costco, the stand floor model, same thing, very weak, yet very quiet. so if you want the quiet, then buy a sharp ac and be toasted in the heat. if you want cool, look other brands. I got a Haier floor model and could not be happier for the cooling power (but noiser!). If you really want this ac, buy from the store, about $100 than online costco.com. but I just couldnot recommend this product after compare it with other ones and own 3 of these weak Sharp AC!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 29, 2011

very quiet for bedroom

Pros: very quiet, appearance
Model Number: CV-2P10SC
"We bought both the Delonghi and the Sharp at our local Costco.Together, they make 850 sq ft quite comfortable (73 when it is 85 outside). The heat exhaust tube does get hot and heat up the room, but there is an easy fix. We followed the advice of another reviewer, and wrapped the exhaust tube w/ foil insulation. The Delonghi takes up less room space than the Sharp. The Sharp is very quiet. Sometimes it is hard to tell that it is on. Perfect for the bedroom. It puts out less cooling than the Delonghi, but plenty for a medium-sized bedroom and the nearby hallways. At first, we just bought the Sharp. We rolled the Sharp to the room we occupied. But, for each move, it took a while to cool down. With two units, our whole two-bedroom condo is comfortable, even the second bedroom stays in the comfortable range (max 77), which is nice for summer guests."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa
Date:June 20, 2011

Libary Quiet? Are you kidding???

Pros: cools nicely
Cons: very loud, cycles on and off
"We bought this unit at the warehouse about 6 weeks ago. We have central A/C, but needed something to cool off our upstairs bedroom. We already had a portable unit, but didn't like the noise. The Library Quiet ad sold us. We have 2 complaints with the unit. 1) The unit cycles on and off continuously unless you have it on max cool. When it cycles on and off it makes a thumping noise. 2) It is LOUD. When the unit is running, I have to use ear plugs to sleep. We had no idea it would be LOUDER THAN OUR OLD UNIT. Every time the compressor turns on, the unit thumps. The compressor then rattles the whole time the unit is cooling. I can't get the rattling noise to stop no matter how I re-position the unit. VERY FRUSTRATING. We are going to try and take the unit back to the warehouse. Perhaps the unit wouldn't be bad if you didn't have it where you sleep."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 14, 2011

Love It!

Model Number: Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable AC
"I've been using this AC all summer now and I'm really pleased. It cools down my small place quickly. I was surprised at how cool this can get things. The Mega Cool setting works well to cool everything down quickly.
You need to be able to air out the room daily, especially if one uses gas appliances in the same room.
I've never had to empty the water tank. But then I wouldn't have set it up to dehumidify if that was one of my options in the beginning.
. It was a bit of a pain to set up the window panels in the beginning. I was wrongly under the impression that I could move this unit from room to room with ease. Although the unit moves easily, I would have to set up the window panels in each room that I want it used. I don't know if they sell extra supplies so that I wouldn't need to remove the inserts with each move of the machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:May 23, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: it's from costco and a good price.., it's relatively quiet.
Cons: i have to drain it constantly.
"It takes me months to finally decide on any larger purchase, and while the unit is heavy and larger than I expected, when I plugged it in and installed the window exhaust, I was initially very impressed. It cooled the upstairs bedroom of 81 degrees down to 69 in just a couple of hours. After about 24 hours (the unit didn't run non-stop - we actually only ran it for about 10 hours in a 24 hours period) I noticed that the unit wasn't running and the lights were flashing which indicated that it needed to be drained. I unplugged the unit and removed the exhaust hose from the back and then wheeled it into our upstairs bathroom and then I had to lift this 80 lb. machine up on to the edge of the tub and balance it while pulling out the stopcock on the drain. It takes about 7 or 8 minutes to drain. Then I wheeled it back in to the bedroom and hooked it all back up. The whole process takes about 15 minutes and is obviously more of a nuisance than anything else but I hoped that it would only happen on occasion. I've had the a/c running off and on for about 3 days now and have already had to drain this thing FOUR TIMES!!! The manual says in high humidity locations it may have to be drained frequently. If I knew frequently meant once or twice a day I think I would have passed. I'm sure I'll take this back and try to find a unit that I rarely have to drain."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2011

Ok if you don't expect too much.

Pros: quiet, elegant desing
Cons: slow to cool the area, annoyance to drain
"I bought it Tuesday; it went back Wed.
If Sharp had put as much thought into the design as they did into its appearance, they'd have something here. It looks like R2D2, complete with louvers that open automatically on start up.
But it's a 10,0000 BTU unit that took nearly 10 hours to drop the temp from 80 to 74 in a 300 sq ft room! It puts out cold air, all right, but the fan is so undersized it doesn't send it anywhere.
Then there's the drain; most of these units have pans you can remove, but this one has a drain. At the bottom of the unit, so you have to elevate it to drain it. One advantage is that it doesn't seem to need to be drained often.
It is quiet, and it does work, but it's underpowered for a 10,000 btu unit, and has some annoying design flaws.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2011

Not what you might think.

Pros: reasonably quiet and easy set up
Cons: heavy and bulky
"First, there's nothing wrong with the product, but to say it will cool 300-400 sqft is only accurate if you mean by a few degrees.
WHAT IT WILL DO:
Set on Max cool, it cooled my 13x14x8 well insulated bedroom by 20 degrees. That's OK until the temp gets to 105, then it's 85 in the bedroom.
It should be fine for rooms 12x12 or smaller or in places where the temps don't get over 95.
WHAT IT WON'T DO:
Cool a decent sized room to 78 degrees on really hot day.
Also heavy (100lbs) and bulky. It's about 2 feet thick and also requires 12" clearance from the wall, making it stick out 3 feet from the wall overall. In a room small enough for it to cool, it really sticks out.
I'm gonna have to return mine, as it just doesn't get the job done here in Texas."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 9, 2011

Great quiet portable

Pros: quite-cools great-nice looking-good window fit
Cons: compressor does thump turning on/off sometimes
"Purchased this for a bedroom after getting rid of the previous one that we had. This one is so much quieter and allows you to sleep at night and not get woken up. We have had it for about a year now and could not be happier. Not once have we had it shut down due to a full water tank, but then living in low humidity San Diego might have something to do with this.
All in all we are very satisfied with this AC unit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:los angeles,ca
Date:September 15, 2011

like a 7mo baby

Pros: good value
Cons: heavy, need to drain water, loud
Model Number: sharp
"I used this for my 7months old baby and it turn out this units works just like a baby!
1. it will only work for 2 hours then you have to change the diaper! once the water tank is full, its shuts down.
2. its noise when on full mode
3. the water drain is at the bottom of the machine, you have to carry it over ledge to drain it out.
The only difference is that baby you can not return, this one you can!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:July 30, 2011

Ice cool.

Pros: cold, slim, quiet, easy set up
Cons: heavy, price
Model Number: Sharp - CVP10RC
"With the reviews of this item being mixed, I thought I would give this a shot because I really like the quality of Sharp products and the Costco return policy is great. So, I really felt secure in my buying decision if this unit did not work out. I am really surprised that there were many negative responses. I am not sure why so many people had bad experiences. I have had many different types of air conditioning models in the past. So, it was easy for me to compare this with the ones I had in the past. The unit does not look cheap. It's built well and the quality is what I expected. This things works great! It really cools the room quickly. The set up was quick and easy. I had this up in 20 mins. It's pretty quiet (subjective of course) compared to my old window unit. It's only 10,000 BTU. It's more than adequate in my opinion. I wish the price was cheaper though."
1 2 3 4 next>>