Customer Reviews for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying

Cool/Dehumidify/Ventilate/Fan Recommended 360-410 Sq. Ft. With Remote Library Quiet® 38dB
Average Customer Rating:
3.631 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
(out of 65 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
13
45 of 65(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Review 41 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laytonsville, MD
Date:May 26, 2011

Sharp portable A/C

Pros: coils sweat pulling humididty better!, quiet
Cons: could be larger!
Model Number: Sharp CV-P10RC
"Bought it to control damp basement issue, although my area is approx. 550 s.f.--more than units capacity-- I bought Sharp brand instead of other brands because of the quality.The CV-P10RC is pulling 4+ gallons every 24 hrs, and keeping things under control. Runs quiet, set up easy, the price was under $400, berry Nice!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:May 29, 2011

UGH - Had to DRAIN this unit every couple hours

Cons: requires tedious draining every couple hours, heavy to lug around to drain
Model Number: Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner
"While this unit blew very cool air and was easy to set up, it would shut itself off after running only about two hours because it collected too much water and had to be drained. We rolled it down the hall, had to lift it up on the edge of the tub (80+lbs) and then tip it back and patiently wait for the water to slowly drain out. This sucker is heavy, so this is not something I wanted to do every couple of hours. We tried it the next day, and again it automatically shut off, with all lights flashing at about the 2 1/2 hour mark. We are in Virginia, so we have lots of humidity, but this was just ridiculous. We wanted to be able to run this during the night in our extra room upstairs without having to provide maintenance to it in two hour increments. The product design to drain this unit is very poor. Hoping to get the Delonghi unit that Costco has and that it will not require constant draining just to keep it running."
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:June 11, 2011

Poor Product Design

Cons: many
Model Number: Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner
"This unit requires high maintenance to repeatedly empty the water from the unit (which is difficult due to poor product design). On the very first night of operation, beginning at 11 pm, this unit shut down at 3:30 am with lights blinking to indicate a full water reservoir. The instructions note that to empty the unit it must be taken outside or rolled over a floor drain. Poor design: the drain plug is located at the rear of the unit and so low that I could not even us a Tupperware tray to empty the water. So at 3:30 am, on the 2nd floor of my home, i put a beach towel on the floor and mopped up the water on my hardwood floors. I do not have a floor drain or the energy to carry the unit unit down 2 flight of stairs at 3:30 am each night as instructed by Sharp. This is truly one of those products that makes you wonder about what the company was thinking. Probably designed more for Europe or Latin America where floor drains are more common. Awful experience, and I live in Boston (house was 84 degrees and all I wanted was 76 degrees to sleep."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:April 28, 2011

I like it.

Pros: quiet, remote control, casters, sturdy vent hose
Cons: heavy, ambient heat from vent hose
"I'll avoid repeating all the features, but I'll point out what surprised or impressed me.
It's heavy. My wife tried to help me lift it upstairs but could not, so I used a hand truck to move it upstairs.
It's large, about the size of a medium to large mini fridge; its size instills confidence that it is not underpowered but I had to rearrange the room a couple of times until I found a pleasing setup.
The vent hose is also large, 3 or 4 inch diameter, and because it is used for hot air exhaust, there is a small area of ambient heat when you are standing right beside the hose. (Step back, and you will not notice the heat.) The great thing about the hose is that it is semi-rigid so that it holds its shape and does not sag.
The louvers can be fixed at an angle of your choosing or can oscillate using the remote, and there are two manual sliders which allow you to direct the airflow left/right.
It's quiet. Of course this is relative and some may think it's not quiet, but I found it to be no louder than the window fan I had been using.
It's features and styling are very good, and it works well. I think it looks nicer in person than in the photo.
Overall, I highly recommend it for anyone trying to get that one problem room that's always too warm under control."
44 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:September 6, 2011

Works great for home office

Pros: works great. compact.
Cons: duct tape needed for tall window.
"I have no central air, and work at home full time (self employed). This unit has been awesome the past couple of years after my PC overheated ... it's 88 outside right now, but only 74 in my office which is what I have it set at; pointed at my PC and RAID system rack, it's only 63 in the rack. Great. Buying another one for back room, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 29, 2011

very quiet for bedroom

Pros: very quiet, appearance
Model Number: CV-2P10SC
"We bought both the Delonghi and the Sharp at our local Costco.Together, they make 850 sq ft quite comfortable (73 when it is 85 outside). The heat exhaust tube does get hot and heat up the room, but there is an easy fix. We followed the advice of another reviewer, and wrapped the exhaust tube w/ foil insulation. The Delonghi takes up less room space than the Sharp. The Sharp is very quiet. Sometimes it is hard to tell that it is on. Perfect for the bedroom. It puts out less cooling than the Delonghi, but plenty for a medium-sized bedroom and the nearby hallways. At first, we just bought the Sharp. We rolled the Sharp to the room we occupied. But, for each move, it took a while to cool down. With two units, our whole two-bedroom condo is comfortable, even the second bedroom stays in the comfortable range (max 77), which is nice for summer guests."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2011

Not what you might think.

Pros: reasonably quiet and easy set up
Cons: heavy and bulky
"First, there's nothing wrong with the product, but to say it will cool 300-400 sqft is only accurate if you mean by a few degrees.
WHAT IT WILL DO:
Set on Max cool, it cooled my 13x14x8 well insulated bedroom by 20 degrees. That's OK until the temp gets to 105, then it's 85 in the bedroom.
It should be fine for rooms 12x12 or smaller or in places where the temps don't get over 95.
WHAT IT WON'T DO:
Cool a decent sized room to 78 degrees on really hot day.
Also heavy (100lbs) and bulky. It's about 2 feet thick and also requires 12" clearance from the wall, making it stick out 3 feet from the wall overall. In a room small enough for it to cool, it really sticks out.
I'm gonna have to return mine, as it just doesn't get the job done here in Texas."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Date:August 2, 2011

Great if you sit infront of it

Pros: cold air when directly hit by it, rolls nice, costco's excellent return policy and customer serv
Cons: does not cool even rooms under 200 sq feet
"I read the mixed reviews online here and figured that I'd give it a shot because the room I needed cooled is only 12 x 14 with 8 feet ceiling and Costco has such excellent customer service. I had the AC setup in about 10-15 minutes and it was pushing really cold air. Everything was setup perfect and I let it run for a few hours. The room remained the same temperature but sitting in front of it was super cold. It was pretty quiet, easy to setup, and rolled nice but other than that it was useless instead you sit in front of it. Second day gave the same results. We turned off our central air in the morning and this portable AC couldn't cool / maintain just one small room."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Revere, MA
Date:July 28, 2011

Excellent air conditioner

Pros: evaporation system is excellent.
Cons: not a good fit for some replacement windows.
Model Number: CV-P10RC
"We had the exact same model for at least a year and we replaced an old Windchaseer model that required constant emptying of water. This A/C almost never has to be emptyed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2011

Ok if you don't expect too much.

Pros: quiet, elegant desing
Cons: slow to cool the area, annoyance to drain
"I bought it Tuesday; it went back Wed.
If Sharp had put as much thought into the design as they did into its appearance, they'd have something here. It looks like R2D2, complete with louvers that open automatically on start up.
But it's a 10,0000 BTU unit that took nearly 10 hours to drop the temp from 80 to 74 in a 300 sq ft room! It puts out cold air, all right, but the fan is so undersized it doesn't send it anywhere.
Then there's the drain; most of these units have pans you can remove, but this one has a drain. At the bottom of the unit, so you have to elevate it to drain it. One advantage is that it doesn't seem to need to be drained often.
It is quiet, and it does work, but it's underpowered for a 10,000 btu unit, and has some annoying design flaws.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 14, 2011

Love It!

Model Number: Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable AC
"I've been using this AC all summer now and I'm really pleased. It cools down my small place quickly. I was surprised at how cool this can get things. The Mega Cool setting works well to cool everything down quickly.
You need to be able to air out the room daily, especially if one uses gas appliances in the same room.
I've never had to empty the water tank. But then I wouldn't have set it up to dehumidify if that was one of my options in the beginning.
. It was a bit of a pain to set up the window panels in the beginning. I was wrongly under the impression that I could move this unit from room to room with ease. Although the unit moves easily, I would have to set up the window panels in each room that I want it used. I don't know if they sell extra supplies so that I wouldn't need to remove the inserts with each move of the machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:July 13, 2011

Very Impressed

Pros: quiet well built it cools!
Cons: heavy - but that is the nature of these
Model Number: CV-2P10SC
"I decided to try this Sharp figuring it could be returned easily. Well, I purchased this on 5/21/2011 and have it and love it! I am using it in a second floor 10 x 10 office. I was worried about "draining" the unit. It has never happened and this is used 5 days a week since I purchased it. I never needed to run on max a/c. I like the fact that this has a screen on the air output and also I am able to keep the screen closed on the window. It is quiet: I am on the phone and never had to turn the unit off. I am about 4 feet from it. The noisemaker 6000BTU window unit this replaced was constantly be turned off when I took a phone call. As for cooling, it performs like the 6000BTU window unit with a lot less noise. We did try a Soleus unit back in 2006 and that was noisy and could not cool the room. These portable a/c units have improved since 2006 and I am very satisfied with this SHARP. Also in 2006 the Soleus costs us close to $500!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA,CA
Date:July 2, 2011

Excellent AC

"Excellent cooling,quiet.
The last one of these ran NON STOP in our Equipment room for 5 YEARS
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:June 21, 2011

Very weak, could not handle Heat in New England

Pros: quiet, nicelooking??, remote
Cons: not cool, short hose, hot!!
Model Number: SharpAC in costco
"I would not buy another Sharp again, they are trying to make the product be quiet, but the cooling power is so weak, it could not even handle the summer in New England. I have total of 3 Sharp ACs, but none of them work good, one already broken after 8 years of gentle use. and I kept telling myself that next one should be good, but they just could not hand the heat, the most recent one bout from Costco, the stand floor model, same thing, very weak, yet very quiet. so if you want the quiet, then buy a sharp ac and be toasted in the heat. if you want cool, look other brands. I got a Haier floor model and could not be happier for the cooling power (but noiser!). If you really want this ac, buy from the store, about $100 than online costco.com. but I just couldnot recommend this product after compare it with other ones and own 3 of these weak Sharp AC!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:June 20, 2011

Poor Quality

Pros: nice esthetic design
Cons: does not work
Model Number: Sharp CV-P10RC Portable Air Conditioner
"After un-boxing and following all instructions, I turn it on, but all I got was warm air, even though green "AirCon" light was on. I try different settings but with no avail.
So I returned it, and got a REPLACEMENT: un-boxed it, AGAIN followed all instructions, turn on and..... very nice cool air!!! BUT then it suddenly STOPPED with three blinking lights. The manual says this means I need to empty the water tank. It ran for TWO minutes, and already needs to be drained? this makes no sense. So, I follow the instructions and try to drain it, but all I get is 2 drops of water ( which makes sense, it only ran for a couple of minutes).
After several failed attempts at troubleshooting, I realize this air conditioner will only work for 2 minutes then demand to be drained. It must be a malfunctioning moisture sensor or something....
So I returned it...again! and this is not a light machine by any means. While I appreciate Costco's return policy, this has been a painful experience.
Is it my bad luck? poor product quality control? damage during transport? I don't know.
Very disappointed.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa
Date:June 20, 2011

Libary Quiet? Are you kidding???

Pros: cools nicely
Cons: very loud, cycles on and off
"We bought this unit at the warehouse about 6 weeks ago. We have central A/C, but needed something to cool off our upstairs bedroom. We already had a portable unit, but didn't like the noise. The Library Quiet ad sold us. We have 2 complaints with the unit. 1) The unit cycles on and off continuously unless you have it on max cool. When it cycles on and off it makes a thumping noise. 2) It is LOUD. When the unit is running, I have to use ear plugs to sleep. We had no idea it would be LOUDER THAN OUR OLD UNIT. Every time the compressor turns on, the unit thumps. The compressor then rattles the whole time the unit is cooling. I can't get the rattling noise to stop no matter how I re-position the unit. VERY FRUSTRATING. We are going to try and take the unit back to the warehouse. Perhaps the unit wouldn't be bad if you didn't have it where you sleep."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:clearville,PA
Date:June 3, 2011

Well Worth The Money!!!

"This was easy to install. I have a small sliding window and the exhaust panel was easy to cut.
I do Not wake up with a stuffy head/nose with the PlasmaCluster.
The unit does cool my bedroom quickly and it is quieter than a window ac unit. I did think it would/should have been quieter after reading the description.
The only draw back is that vent hose does get very warm/hot so the whole system needs to be away from the wall and curtains so air can circulate.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:May 25, 2011

Jury is still out

Model Number: Sharp CV-2P10SX 10,500 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
"I've had this unit for a week. A few observations.
It was loud at first, I found by moving the unit around it quieted down dramatically. Probably my floor was not completely level so that could cause the oscillation type rattling I initially had. Is it "Library Quiet"...that may be a bit of a stretch, but we use it in master bedroom and it's 5 feet from bed yet we sleep through the night just fine. No louder than window unit.
I've had to drain it as well which was not expected. I have a Maytag portable that I have never had to drain in over 10 years of use. A good solution is to raise the unit up on blocks or lifters and you can slide a pan under the petcock for draining right where it sits. I used 4 bed risers. Its not a lot of water but is a pain and I don't understand why the unit doesn't evaporate the water during operation to minimize this. So far I'm content - not thrilled. We'll see. I'll post update later."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach, Fl
Date:May 22, 2011

Not bad for a portable A/C

Pros: easy install, quick cool
Cons: a tad loud, heat from hose
Model Number: cv-2p10sc
"Let me start by saying that a portable does not cool like a window a/c but isnt as unsightly either. The installation was quick and easy. I was able to move this around by myself as the rollers really help. The panels were easy to work with once you get them situated, however once installed I would suggest once you have decided on placement that you use a insulated product around the hose due to the heat that does come off of it. We purchased a insulated wrap. Took 15 minutes, and removed 50% of the heat off the hose. Takes some time getting use to the compressor kicking on and off. My first night was little rough. But getting use to it. Living in South Florida, and our room being on the opposite side of the house and away from the central a/c, we have to freeze the kids out to cool our side of the house. This was a nice addition to compensate for the lack of a/c in our room. My husband also likes it as he doesnt have to hear me whine that I am hot..lol. The remote for me was a tad overwhelming, but again getting use to it. We have used this on regular a/c setting for night time. The max a/c setting is loud, but it does cool. So for a quick cool down, use the max setting and then switch over to regular a/c where you can set the temp. I would not recommend running this all day and all night, but to supplement or to cool 250-300 square feet I believe this is a winner. I have shopped all my options, pricing everything out. Although a tad more than a window a/c, it has its up sides as well. I realize it states this is good up to 415 square feet, but I do not agree with those numbers unless you are using this to assist with an exsisting central a/c unit like we are.
We were able to pick up at our local costco and had it home and running within a hour!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Sharp 10,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner With PlasmaCluster® Purifying
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:mission hills san diego california
Date:May 11, 2011

looks like it will cool

Pros: very quiet
Cons: the exhaust system and window panels are bad
Model Number: cv - p10rc
"looks like a good product. waiting for some hot days to really fire it up. the downside are those window panels. not thought out at all. very very poor design. be forewarned. i have worked with those panels for two days and i think i have them finally right. it is trial and error. don't tighten anything down until you are sure it it right. take your time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>