Customer Reviews for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System

Built-In Wi-Fi® Internet Video Streaming iPod®/iPhone® dock
Average Customer Rating:
3.067 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
11
17 of 30(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Review 1 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:April 4, 2011

Great system so far!

Pros: easy set up, great features, easy to use
Cons: no headphone jack
Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"I had purchased a similar system by Denon and returned it because the iPod dock didn't work right (I even exchanged it once thinking it was possible that I got a defective item, but the 2nd one had the same issues). I took a chance and purchased this system from Costco, even though I couldn't find a single review for it anywhere online. It was an easy set-up and all the features work just as they should. It sounds great and produces an excellent picture quality. I've only had it for a few days, but I love it so far!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kirkalnd, WA
Date:August 31, 2011

NOT compatible

Model Number: BDV-T58 Home Theater System
"I own a Sony HD TV purchased in 2006. I saw this Sony BlueRay Home Theater system at Costco and thought "Great, all things Sony, I'm good to go!" WRONG. There is this little problem out there called HDCP. It is a digital media content protection encryption code that disables "non-compliant" units from being allowed to attend the party. It was designed to to stop high quality pirating of video signals from HDMI cable sources. Honest people like me now have to purchase ANOTHER $1,500. 00 HD television to enjoy HD video discs. All because of criminals. Before you buy this or any other Blue Ray device make sure your HDTV is HDCP compliant or you will be just staring at a blank TV screen wondering what in the heck is going on and get to spend several hours of your day troubleshooting and researching for the answers. If Costco had only placed this information at the display site!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chula Vista
Date:April 18, 2011

Easy Setup

Model Number: BDV-T58
"The system setup was very easy. Netflix didn't work initially, but after about an hour I was instructed by the system to do a software upgrade, and Netflix worked after that. I lost the internet connection a couple times while playing Slacker radio, will test again to see if there is a problem holding the connection. Watched a Netflix movie and the system worked well. One complaint is when listing to TV programs with the system the volume is not as loud as it is when using the FM tuner, Netflix or Internet radio.
I notice when trying to register the product via the Sony website, they don't list model # BDV-T58 as a valid model number, so I used BDV-E580, which appears to be the same system (as listed on the product manual).
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:union nj
Date:September 13, 2011

Good, but has some poor design issues

Pros: bass reponse was good, integrated internet connectivity
Cons: see above
Model Number: BDV-T58
"My intention was to integrate my DVDR, VHS, Cable, Computer and improve sound where applicable. And get Netflix streaming via the internet which I can not do on my current TV. Sound quality was good, but the design issues that I found annoying are as follows:
If you use the two HDMI inputs, none of the options or display menus are displayed on the TV. Instead they apprear in the front panel and the front panel is almost horizontal! see image above. So, for example, if you have cable box plugged into the Sony system and you want to make any adjustments to volume, for example, you need to walk up to the system to see what you are doing. This does not apply to using the internal DVD/ Blu-ray player. For that all menus are on the TV screen. I have not used the i-net connection yet
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Augusta, GA
Date:April 10, 2011

Great system & easy setup

Pros: setup was a snap
Cons: rear speaker wires could be longer.
Model Number: BDV-T58
"This system looks and sounds great. Blu-ray plays no problem, including one I burned. Internet was a simple process using wireless network, After that I was able to play files from a network hard drive, and watch from my Netflix instant queue-looked and sounded much better than streaming from PC! An Easy Setup DVD comes in the box, but I forgot about it until storing the packaging-never needed it. My only minor complaint is that the rear speaker cables were too short to go where needed without patching in an extra 10 feet."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central New Jersey
Date:October 13, 2011

Home Theater Systems Fan

Pros: easy setup.
Cons: no hdmi pass through requires unit to be turned
Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"Only thing missing is HDMI pass through...let me explain. In order to watch HDTV, this unit has to be turned on it is not very incontinent if I just want to watch cable programs. Although other higher costing systems don't offer this function this is a good buy! Otherwise, the system works very well. Great surround sounds, speakers are adequate for my application. Very easy to setup. Wifi is a nice feature and able to down load remote control app for Apple and Android devices."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:February 7, 2012

Great Value like always - - It's a SONY

Pros: cool features and lots of built in apps & more
Cons: lag time in loading sometimes
Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"I have had this model for little over two months and I can not complain. I think most of the reviews I see which are 2 and 3 stars are because the end user needs to know, this is a high end product, and needs a good internet bandwidth to get the BEST of this product. I bet, non of the other brands in the same category can even compete with SONY. I am very happy with this product and I will highly recommend to buy~~"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 18, 2011

Solid system, a little pricey

Pros: overall set up is not difficult, fits well pretty much anywhere
Cons: wireless connection and set up could be easier, seems a little over priced
"Overall a very good system. Good sound range and frequency response. The speakers appear lower quality than they are. Set up was mostly painless. No more, no less than the average system.
The wireless connection to netflix drops for no reason. I need more research as to why.
I have not tested the 3d yet. The ipod doesnt like to auto connect. Could be a bad cable."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:May 15, 2011

Great Product

Pros: netflix internet apps
Cons: limited dlna support
Model Number: BDV T58
"This is a great product. The price is very attractive. It works flawlessly. Only problem: Only mpeg video formats work over DLNA. Sony, pls fix it. That will complete an great product. I had a small issue with NetFlix. I called Sony customer support and a CSR called Mario was fantastic. He worked with me to re-register. Great after sales service. Kudos, Sony."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:October 4, 2011

Not sold yet

Model Number: BDV T-58
"I'll skip the Pro/Con section since that's basically my whole review and just list them here.
I've had this unit for about 2 weeks. I've made notes along the way and will just list them.
No particular order
Pros:
1. DVD Playback video and sound is excellent although I did have component video before direct from Sat to TV.
2. FM Coax connection. Allows me to connect my rooftop TV antenna to use as an FM antenna. I'm about 30 miles from the nearest radio transmitter and it picks up stations very well.
3. Optical input from TV so when I'm using the TV antenna for local channels I get high quality audio.
4. DLNA quality during playback is as good as listening from a PC connected wirelessly to the same server.
5. DLNA playback shows title, artist, album, file type and recording quality.
6. Hulu+, Netflix, NHL Vault (don't use any of those). Youtube, HD Movies on demand, Flickstream movie previews and other streaming video/audio.
7. Integrated facebook link.
8. Integrated browser (I think it's linux-based).
9. Online firmware updates.
10. Included iPod dock. (don't use, don't see the point)
11. Includes set up mic for speakers. Not sure if this really helps but it's supposed to.
Cons:
1. Audio cuts out sometimes then unit freezes when I try to shut it down to correct issue.
2. Youtube loads slow.
3. Can't stream video via the web browser (i.e. from TV network sites).
4. Images on DLNA are very hard to find unless all of your photos are labeled and/or dated properly.
5. DLNA is junk. I have multiple albums from multiple artists and some are compilations or from movies. The system sorts them all by artist. Some artists aren't listed in the artist folder but are found in the album folder. Not all albums are shown. It's a huge mess and I won't use it.
6. There is a very annoying white light on the front of the unit (like a Cylon or KITT but white). It's a pointless light, only changes when you press any button on the remote, I guess to let you know it's received it.
7. The display on the unit is on the top of it so you can't see anything unless you are right there.
8. Volume displays on TV only in DVD, DLNA or Tuner mode.
9. Unit was on mute for about 10 minutes and when I unmuted it, a loud static-like buzz noise rang through the speakers. The only way I got it to stop was to turn off the unit, wait 3-5 minutes for it to actually turn off, then turn it back on again.
10. No component or composite input; outputs only.
11. No actual input buttons on the remote. Only a Function button and if you don't wait long enough between pushes of the button, you will pass over the mode you want, plus you have to be within a few feet of the unit to read the mode in the display.
12. Unit seems to always check for DVD/BD upon startup. If no disk is in drive you can't switch to that mode (getting ready to insert DVD want it on DVD mode but you can't until you insert disk). Not a huge problem but I find it annoying.
13. Video cut out when unit was turned on (several times during the first few days). Had to press Home, select output to get it back.
14. Limited on streaming music (from internet).
15. Speaker connections on unit are specific to the unit. If the included wire isn't long enough, splicing has to be done.
16. TV ads are sometimes (most of the time) louder than the program or movie being watched.
17. Closed Captioning setting on Sat receiver don't work through this unit. Yes, I know this is a unit for sound but if you have someone in your home that wants to watch TV late and can't hear everything, CC helps but you can't use it. I can't find any CC settings within the unit.
18. Remote functions are not all compatible with my Harmony remote.
So far that's all I've got. I'm torn between returning it and living with it. I'm going to give it at least another 2 weeks and see.
I did buy my first BluRay movie and I'm very disappointed. The audio and video weren't at all better than standard DVD movies. Maybe they spent all their time and money on the 3D part which I can't use.
If I find more I'll add to this if it let's me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:May 1, 2011

Good value for money

Cons: video file format support
Model Number: BDV T58
"Good sound, good connectivity options, great with internet streaming, great playback... In short great value for money. Only issue I do have is the very limited support for video file formats playback over DLNA. A little irritating but I will recommend this product any day. Sony: Come on.. you can fix this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New Jersey shore
Date:May 17, 2011

Good, but Not for Lowspeed DSL

Pros: lots of features, sounds good
Cons: doesn't connect to internet over basic dsl
Model Number: BDV-T58
"This system has everything I wanted, including BluRay player, iPod dock, and built-in WiFi. And it sounded great. But when I tried to access the Internet over my home network, it kept saying there was a network problem. The system connected to the home network OK, and diagnostics confirmed my home network connection was good. Turns out the system didn't like my 1MB DSL connection, so I returned it to Costco. Sony toll-free support also not available on Saturday I found out. Disappointing, since my 9 month old standalone Sony BluRay player from Costco works fine on my network, with 1MB DSL access for Netflix, YouTube, etc.. Too bad, this was a nice system otherwise."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica
Date:February 17, 2012

Poor Product Quality

Pros: compact, good remote integration with sony tv, sound is good (not great but quite good), easy to set up and components are light, don't need a separate receiver, fm tuner quite good
Cons: short surround speaker cables, speaker amps died after 4 days, sony tech support useless
Model Number: BDV-T58
"I set up the system, and it sounded very good. I especially liked the small speaker sizes: the front and center speakers sit on my TV stand and don't block the screen.
I have a Sony TV, so the setup was easy, and the remote conveniently works both the HTS and the TV.
However, after 4 days, there was no sound from the left and right front speakers - the other speakers worked fine. I swapped front with surround speakers and cable to no avail. The L & R front speaker channels were brain-dead. I called Costco concierge services who patched in Sony tech support who suggested I pay to send the unit to Texas - I live in southern Ca - and I could have it back in probably 2-3 weeks! After the Costco rep suggested that a 4-day old unit should not require the customer to pay to ship it back, the Sony rep relented and offered to send me a prepaid shipping label. I don't think so. I returned the unit to the Warehouse. After reading other customers' issues, it seems the quality of the system was sacrificed for price. Very disappointing.
The only redeeming thing about this experience was Costco's support and their no-hassle return policy."
Review 14 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boise Idaho
Date:November 6, 2011

stay away

Pros: radio works good with an outside antenna
Cons: needs a big software upgrade!
Model Number: BDV-T58
"Lots of buffering problems with Netflix. Sony keeps pushing sites to the home screen and you can't get rid of them. (I don't want the yoga channel) You can't add things like the FREE Hulu web site, but the pay one is there. No eject button on the remote so you must place in a location that gives you access to the top buttons. It's my unit and I paid for it so I should be able to have a say on whats on the screen.
Front speaker cables are short so the base unit must be placed close to the tv. Unit can take a long time to boot up a DVD and mine sometimes will kick it out 2 or 3 times before playing.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:January 31, 2012

would not recomend

Pros: easy set up. great picture great sound when wor
Cons: no sound when turned on. have to do a re-set .
Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"I purchased this product about a week ago. It worked fine, then the bugs started. First of all, my cable box will not mate up with the Sony box. Second, once the unit is turned on along with the TV, no sound. I have to go back into the Home menu and reset everything. I called Sony and they didn't have an answer. I will give it one more week. If problems still take place, I am going to replace this with another unit, most likely not a Sony."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Billings, MT
Date:January 16, 2012

expect better from sony

Cons: freezes all the time, home button stopped working after 8 months
"after owning for less than a year, i am in search of a new home theater system. It takes about 20 minutes to get sound/display to turn on every time I want to watch tv. Sony gets "stuck" and I have to reset it every time. Very disappointed. Went through all online help, reset system, purchased a new hdmi cable.. now help tells me I need to buy a new tv. Ya right! Never buying Sony again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cedar Park, TX
Date:April 25, 2011

Thrilled with this purchase

Pros: easy integration with other devices
Model Number: BDV-T58
"This is a great system. Sound quality and its ability to integrate with other devices is awesome! My son did download some Apps and we are not just using our Android phone as remote but we can play our songs stored in the phone on the sony system WITHOUT PHYSICALLY CONNECTING!!! Yes, songs from our phone to the home theatre without wires, we are thrilled!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Date:September 11, 2011

Great system

Model Number: BDV-T58
"I bought the Panasonic home theater first and returned it the next day. Today I brought home the Sony one. So far, I love it, everything works great, streaming is awesome, audio is great, I would def recommend this one over the Panasonic system! Good value, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 12, 2012

Worst product, don't buy....

Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"Sound quality is okay and total output certainly not 1000w. poor user interface. Need to unplug and plug back in every time if it goes to sleep mode."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Moses Lake, WA
Date:November 28, 2011

WORST PRODUCT & SUPPORT EVER!

Model Number: BDV-T58
"I plugged this system in, hooked up exactly as the manual states, powered up and the unit immediately started acting completely irratic. The tray opening / closing, switching modes, volume up and down, the system was going wacky. I then discovered that it was related to the touch sensitive buttons. None of them worked as labled. VERY FRUSTRATING. Contacted Sony, after about an hour on the phone their solution was to repair it. I had to send a DOA unit in to them for 2 weeks and they would send me back a repaired unit. I demanded a new unit and all they would say is that "the warranty states" that they will repair it. I am so frustrated that I will return this to Costco and NEVER purchase Sony again!"
1 2 next>>