Customer Reviews for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System

Built-In Wi-Fi® Internet Video Streaming iPod®/iPhone® dock
Average Customer Rating:
3.067 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
11
17 of 30(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Review 1 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:san diego CA
Date:March 31, 2012

problems returning to "home" screen

Model Number: sony bdvt58
"I have a problem with it either not loading up any screen at all and the home button not working. its too frustrating to even begin with all the erratic behavior it has. unplugging it and replugging would allow the home button to sometimes work but not always. the most irritating part is there is no rhyme or reason to what it does, sometimes it works great and sometimes it simply does not work. i can not isolate the problem. i called sony and they told me to return it to costco. which im going to do"
Review 2 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica
Date:February 17, 2012

Poor Product Quality

Pros: compact, good remote integration with sony tv, sound is good (not great but quite good), easy to set up and components are light, don't need a separate receiver, fm tuner quite good
Cons: short surround speaker cables, speaker amps died after 4 days, sony tech support useless
Model Number: BDV-T58
"I set up the system, and it sounded very good. I especially liked the small speaker sizes: the front and center speakers sit on my TV stand and don't block the screen.
I have a Sony TV, so the setup was easy, and the remote conveniently works both the HTS and the TV.
However, after 4 days, there was no sound from the left and right front speakers - the other speakers worked fine. I swapped front with surround speakers and cable to no avail. The L & R front speaker channels were brain-dead. I called Costco concierge services who patched in Sony tech support who suggested I pay to send the unit to Texas - I live in southern Ca - and I could have it back in probably 2-3 weeks! After the Costco rep suggested that a 4-day old unit should not require the customer to pay to ship it back, the Sony rep relented and offered to send me a prepaid shipping label. I don't think so. I returned the unit to the Warehouse. After reading other customers' issues, it seems the quality of the system was sacrificed for price. Very disappointing.
The only redeeming thing about this experience was Costco's support and their no-hassle return policy."
Review 3 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:February 15, 2012

Price is right

Pros: easy set up and good sound, works through my vizio remote with no problems
Cons: small sound delay when first turned on
Model Number: BDV-T58
"Works well with my Vizio there is a 30-45 second delay when I turn on TV before the system turns on and delivers surround sound but the sound is good especially considering the size of the speakers.
After reading some of the other reviews here I am not sure if we have the same system I haven't had one problem with this set and setup was easy
For the money its a very good and easy to use HTS
"
Review 4 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:February 7, 2012

Great Value like always - - It's a SONY

Pros: cool features and lots of built in apps & more
Cons: lag time in loading sometimes
Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"I have had this model for little over two months and I can not complain. I think most of the reviews I see which are 2 and 3 stars are because the end user needs to know, this is a high end product, and needs a good internet bandwidth to get the BEST of this product. I bet, non of the other brands in the same category can even compete with SONY. I am very happy with this product and I will highly recommend to buy~~"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Union City, CA
Date:February 5, 2012

Awful Product!

Pros: none
Cons: inferior product
"I had to return this product after 2 months. Initially it worked fine, however after 3 weeks I had to unplug it from the wall to make the sound work. I attempted several times to update the software, but every attempt was unsuccessful."
Review 6 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:January 31, 2012

would not recomend

Pros: easy set up. great picture great sound when wor
Cons: no sound when turned on. have to do a re-set .
Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"I purchased this product about a week ago. It worked fine, then the bugs started. First of all, my cable box will not mate up with the Sony box. Second, once the unit is turned on along with the TV, no sound. I have to go back into the Home menu and reset everything. I called Sony and they didn't have an answer. I will give it one more week. If problems still take place, I am going to replace this with another unit, most likely not a Sony."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Billings, MT
Date:January 16, 2012

expect better from sony

Cons: freezes all the time, home button stopped working after 8 months
"after owning for less than a year, i am in search of a new home theater system. It takes about 20 minutes to get sound/display to turn on every time I want to watch tv. Sony gets "stuck" and I have to reset it every time. Very disappointed. Went through all online help, reset system, purchased a new hdmi cable.. now help tells me I need to buy a new tv. Ya right! Never buying Sony again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 12, 2012

Worst product, don't buy....

Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"Sound quality is okay and total output certainly not 1000w. poor user interface. Need to unplug and plug back in every time if it goes to sleep mode."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Moses Lake, WA
Date:November 28, 2011

WORST PRODUCT & SUPPORT EVER!

Model Number: BDV-T58
"I plugged this system in, hooked up exactly as the manual states, powered up and the unit immediately started acting completely irratic. The tray opening / closing, switching modes, volume up and down, the system was going wacky. I then discovered that it was related to the touch sensitive buttons. None of them worked as labled. VERY FRUSTRATING. Contacted Sony, after about an hour on the phone their solution was to repair it. I had to send a DOA unit in to them for 2 weeks and they would send me back a repaired unit. I demanded a new unit and all they would say is that "the warranty states" that they will repair it. I am so frustrated that I will return this to Costco and NEVER purchase Sony again!"
Review 10 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2011

Terrible, can't believe it's a Sony

"I had an all in one Panasonic and wanted to upgrade to blue ray, and I thought Sony was a smart move. Physical setup was simple enough, but however the logical setup (Internet, surround, ipod, etc) was worse than expected. I'd give it zero stars if possible. The blue ray drive has a high pitched wine, software is very click happy, and the ipod connection in the rear of the unit was DOA. The front ipod connection worked but was very painful and click happy to use. GOING BACK TOMORROW!"
Review 11 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boise Idaho
Date:November 6, 2011

stay away

Pros: radio works good with an outside antenna
Cons: needs a big software upgrade!
Model Number: BDV-T58
"Lots of buffering problems with Netflix. Sony keeps pushing sites to the home screen and you can't get rid of them. (I don't want the yoga channel) You can't add things like the FREE Hulu web site, but the pay one is there. No eject button on the remote so you must place in a location that gives you access to the top buttons. It's my unit and I paid for it so I should be able to have a say on whats on the screen.
Front speaker cables are short so the base unit must be placed close to the tv. Unit can take a long time to boot up a DVD and mine sometimes will kick it out 2 or 3 times before playing.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:beaverton, OR
Date:October 17, 2011

AMAZING SOUND AND FEATURES!

Pros: sound ease of installing apps price look
Cons: none
Model Number: Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
"awesome and nice for the price....all five stars and perfect if you want apps, decent sound, and features. I never owned a better system before this one. its a keeper!"
Review 13 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central New Jersey
Date:October 13, 2011

Home Theater Systems Fan

Pros: easy setup.
Cons: no hdmi pass through requires unit to be turned
Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"Only thing missing is HDMI pass through...let me explain. In order to watch HDTV, this unit has to be turned on it is not very incontinent if I just want to watch cable programs. Although other higher costing systems don't offer this function this is a good buy! Otherwise, the system works very well. Great surround sounds, speakers are adequate for my application. Very easy to setup. Wifi is a nice feature and able to down load remote control app for Apple and Android devices."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:October 4, 2011

Not sold yet

Model Number: BDV T-58
"I'll skip the Pro/Con section since that's basically my whole review and just list them here.
I've had this unit for about 2 weeks. I've made notes along the way and will just list them.
No particular order
Pros:
1. DVD Playback video and sound is excellent although I did have component video before direct from Sat to TV.
2. FM Coax connection. Allows me to connect my rooftop TV antenna to use as an FM antenna. I'm about 30 miles from the nearest radio transmitter and it picks up stations very well.
3. Optical input from TV so when I'm using the TV antenna for local channels I get high quality audio.
4. DLNA quality during playback is as good as listening from a PC connected wirelessly to the same server.
5. DLNA playback shows title, artist, album, file type and recording quality.
6. Hulu+, Netflix, NHL Vault (don't use any of those). Youtube, HD Movies on demand, Flickstream movie previews and other streaming video/audio.
7. Integrated facebook link.
8. Integrated browser (I think it's linux-based).
9. Online firmware updates.
10. Included iPod dock. (don't use, don't see the point)
11. Includes set up mic for speakers. Not sure if this really helps but it's supposed to.
Cons:
1. Audio cuts out sometimes then unit freezes when I try to shut it down to correct issue.
2. Youtube loads slow.
3. Can't stream video via the web browser (i.e. from TV network sites).
4. Images on DLNA are very hard to find unless all of your photos are labeled and/or dated properly.
5. DLNA is junk. I have multiple albums from multiple artists and some are compilations or from movies. The system sorts them all by artist. Some artists aren't listed in the artist folder but are found in the album folder. Not all albums are shown. It's a huge mess and I won't use it.
6. There is a very annoying white light on the front of the unit (like a Cylon or KITT but white). It's a pointless light, only changes when you press any button on the remote, I guess to let you know it's received it.
7. The display on the unit is on the top of it so you can't see anything unless you are right there.
8. Volume displays on TV only in DVD, DLNA or Tuner mode.
9. Unit was on mute for about 10 minutes and when I unmuted it, a loud static-like buzz noise rang through the speakers. The only way I got it to stop was to turn off the unit, wait 3-5 minutes for it to actually turn off, then turn it back on again.
10. No component or composite input; outputs only.
11. No actual input buttons on the remote. Only a Function button and if you don't wait long enough between pushes of the button, you will pass over the mode you want, plus you have to be within a few feet of the unit to read the mode in the display.
12. Unit seems to always check for DVD/BD upon startup. If no disk is in drive you can't switch to that mode (getting ready to insert DVD want it on DVD mode but you can't until you insert disk). Not a huge problem but I find it annoying.
13. Video cut out when unit was turned on (several times during the first few days). Had to press Home, select output to get it back.
14. Limited on streaming music (from internet).
15. Speaker connections on unit are specific to the unit. If the included wire isn't long enough, splicing has to be done.
16. TV ads are sometimes (most of the time) louder than the program or movie being watched.
17. Closed Captioning setting on Sat receiver don't work through this unit. Yes, I know this is a unit for sound but if you have someone in your home that wants to watch TV late and can't hear everything, CC helps but you can't use it. I can't find any CC settings within the unit.
18. Remote functions are not all compatible with my Harmony remote.
So far that's all I've got. I'm torn between returning it and living with it. I'm going to give it at least another 2 weeks and see.
I did buy my first BluRay movie and I'm very disappointed. The audio and video weren't at all better than standard DVD movies. Maybe they spent all their time and money on the 3D part which I can't use.
If I find more I'll add to this if it let's me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 19, 2011

Good for the price

Pros: easy setup, good sound, good value for system with dual hdmi input
Cons: lose audio going from dvr to live tv on cablebox, uses different connectors for speaker wire on back
Model Number: BDV-T58
"Works well and is the least expensive dual HDMI input HTC I could find. Connected easy to the WiFi and works well with IPhone. It even prompted me to update the device over the internet. Nice. Sounds good and is easy to setup.
For some reason, it loses audio when the Comcast Motorola cablebox goes from DVR back to live TV. This didn't happen before with my old Sony HTC. It also uses different speaker connectors on the back than my previous Sony HTC. Why can't they just use bare wires??? I'm no re-running cable because they can't decide what type of connector ends to use. Just use bare wires. Otherwise I'm happy with the system."
Review 16 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:September 18, 2011

love it

Pros: great sound
Cons: none
Model Number: T58
"I love the easy set up and connection. Love streamming movies and Pandora and the many choices of movies services, music services, ipod playing and of course watching football in surround sound. don't belive the reviewers who don't know how to set it up and stream from their router. Very easy set up. Will buy another unit for another large room. can't beat it with my 55" Sony TV."
Review 17 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:union nj
Date:September 13, 2011

Good, but has some poor design issues

Pros: bass reponse was good, integrated internet connectivity
Cons: see above
Model Number: BDV-T58
"My intention was to integrate my DVDR, VHS, Cable, Computer and improve sound where applicable. And get Netflix streaming via the internet which I can not do on my current TV. Sound quality was good, but the design issues that I found annoying are as follows:
If you use the two HDMI inputs, none of the options or display menus are displayed on the TV. Instead they apprear in the front panel and the front panel is almost horizontal! see image above. So, for example, if you have cable box plugged into the Sony system and you want to make any adjustments to volume, for example, you need to walk up to the system to see what you are doing. This does not apply to using the internal DVD/ Blu-ray player. For that all menus are on the TV screen. I have not used the i-net connection yet
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Date:September 11, 2011

Great system

Model Number: BDV-T58
"I bought the Panasonic home theater first and returned it the next day. Today I brought home the Sony one. So far, I love it, everything works great, streaming is awesome, audio is great, I would def recommend this one over the Panasonic system! Good value, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2011

streaming ? really?

Pros: dvd playback
Cons: it will not stream. sony needs to do more r&d
Model Number: Sony BDV-T58
"Not so fast. I want the the two days of my life back that i spent on this pile of frustration. dvd playback and sound was ok . BUT when it came to streaming netflix, pandora, slacker, youtube or whatever, NOPE, Wont do it. if you crossed your fingers, while looking to the north and shouting praises to sony, then it would actually connect for one minute. and then nothing. i should have read more reviews on this one (lesson learned). like others my internet is fine, i can stream all day long using my Wii. i have a bravia tv and love it. i so wanted to love this sony product as well but Sony blew it on this one. i took it back and now searching for a dvd that will stream."
Review 20 for Sony BDV-T58 3D Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kirkalnd, WA
Date:August 31, 2011

NOT compatible

Model Number: BDV-T58 Home Theater System
"I own a Sony HD TV purchased in 2006. I saw this Sony BlueRay Home Theater system at Costco and thought "Great, all things Sony, I'm good to go!" WRONG. There is this little problem out there called HDCP. It is a digital media content protection encryption code that disables "non-compliant" units from being allowed to attend the party. It was designed to to stop high quality pirating of video signals from HDMI cable sources. Honest people like me now have to purchase ANOTHER $1,500. 00 HD television to enjoy HD video discs. All because of criminals. Before you buy this or any other Blue Ray device make sure your HDTV is HDCP compliant or you will be just staring at a blank TV screen wondering what in the heck is going on and get to spend several hours of your day troubleshooting and researching for the answers. If Costco had only placed this information at the display site!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>