Customer Reviews for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio

Price Reduction: $100 discount is reflected in the price. While supplies last. Online price $799.99 Less -$100.00 YOUR COST $699.99 Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) will be automatically added at checkout. The software ships separately via USPS and WILL NOT arrive with the computer. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. This computer is custom built and ships in only two weeks. Processor & Memory: 2.3GHz (TurboBoost up to 2.9) 6GB DDR3 2 DIMM Drives: 500GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive 8x DVD+/-R Drive Graphics & Video: 15.6" High Definition (720p) LED Display with TrueLife™ Intel HD Graphics 3000 Communications: Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1030 + Bluetooth Integrated 1.0MP Webcam Audio: High Definition Audio 2.0 with SRS Premium Sound I/O Ports & Slots: 8-in-1 Card Reader 2 - USB 3.0 1 - USB 2.0 1 eSATA/USB 2.0; 15-pin VGA Connector RJ-45 (LAN) AC Adapter Connector Audio Jacks (1 line-out, 1 Mic-in) HDMI 10/100 WLAN Productivity Software: Office Home & Student 2010 - Full Version Microsoft® Word Microsoft® Excel Microsoft® PowerPoint Operating System: Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) Additional Software: McAfee Platinum - 30 day Adobe® Acrobat® Reader Power Supply: 6-Cell Battery Additional Information: Dimensions: W 13.5" x D 9.68" x H 1.20" front - 1.29" back Weight (Approximately): 5.84 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.397 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(1012 Reviews) 895
(out of 1,012 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,012 reviews)
5 stars
627
4 stars
271
3 stars
46
2 stars
25
1 star
43
917 of 1,012(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Review 1 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:california
Date:November 29, 2011

not what i expected

Pros: computer is very quick to load and start
Cons: mouse/keyboard offset
Model Number: 15r inspiron
"I have always used dell laptops and when i purchased this one it did not match the picture on line and the keyboard layout was not what i could use. the offset keyboard with the oversized and offcenter mouse pad made it impossible for me to type. I returned it and purchased a 14 dell laptop."
Review 2 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Troy, MI
Date:July 23, 2011

Great Laptop

Pros: bright monitor, ease of setup, pleasant experience dealing with costco
Cons: excessive complexity of new microsoft office.
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio 6-Cell Battery 1.0MP Webcam
"Bought this laptop 3 weeks ago and love it. Purchased online and received 7 days later. Did not bother with Kaminsky protection software. Deleted McAffee software; downloaded free AVG protection instead. Called Costco Concierge service for assistance installing my existing wireless network printer. Very patient, kind, and professional--got the job done! PC has very nice, bright monitor and works perfectly with wireless mouse & keyboard from Logitech. I surf the internet and use Excel, Word, & PowerPoint. Computer meets all my needs, but I think Microsoft made the new Office Suite too complicated. Would rather have the simplicity of the previous versions. Could not have had a better experience buying a laptop. And Costco gives me an additional year of warranty to boot!"
Review 3 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:June 22, 2011

Wife hates it - I love it

Pros: usb 3.0 and 7200 rpm hd
Cons: fingerprints fingerprints fingerprints, dell tech support is the worst, no discs or instructions - you are on your own
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M
"From a value side it is tough to beat. My wife hates it because the black plastic finish shows every finger print and smudge every time you touch it! Received my Laptop with only the laptop and ac cord. No Accessory Kit, No Warranty card - no nothing. Used Costco Concierge Service to find out what is up and Dell rep swears that is how they are shipped. Took 3 calls to get them to ship MS Office Activation Key. My Pros are the only reason this did not go back and replaced by an HP"
Review 4 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:S. CA
Date:May 31, 2011

Great for what I do

Pros: hard drive speed, screen size, like the i5 core
Cons: .
Model Number: Inspiron n5110
"E-mail, photos, light surfing for info etc is about all I need and this machine preforms for all those. I'm very glad I went with a 15.6 inch screen since it's plenty large enough yet not too cumbersome to take with me as needed. Debating about a 2nd battery or not for those longer flights, etc.
As mentioned in another review be sure to get the key for Office when you activate -- it's in with other manual and papers"
Review 5 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SC
Date:May 29, 2011

Defective out of the box

Model Number: Dell inspiron 15R Laptop
"Received in time expected, but when powered it up, sometimes it would not connect to home wireless network, and if it did, was very slow, taking 30 seconds to 2 minutes to open search webpage. We have 3 HPs and 2 other Dells connected to same wireless network with no problems. Appears to be a defective network card, as some have reported on the Dell website. Now debating whether to waste hours with tech support trying to get it to work, or just return it for something else."
Review 6 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2011

Overall a Good Buy

Pros: fast, good sound output
Cons: keyboard is a little flimsy, touchpad could be better, speakers vibrate some
Model Number: N5110
"I have been using this laptop for about a month, and have been fairly pleased with it. It is quite fast (as you would expect from a laptop with Sandy Bridge and 6GB of RAM). It runs fairly quietly and starts up relatively fast (especially from hibernation mode). The key board is a little too flexible, but other than that has been fine. The volume on the speakers is good, though I have noticed some vibration noises while playing music. A special note on the touchpad. It comes with "multi-touch" capabilities, but these are nowhere near as good as a Mac multi-touch. I went in and changed the settings back to one-touch mode, which includes side-scrolling. This has worked much better for me. Also, I initially had trouble clicking into text-boxes. However, tweaking the settings for the touch-pad took care of this problem as well. Now the touch pad is almost too sensitive."
Review 7 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2011

Avg laptop

Pros: price was good
Cons: the keyboard is flimsy, extra # keyboard is not needed, speed is somehow slower than expected
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
"Not very happy with the purchase and will be returning. We were expected a better performance than we are getting."
Review 8 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2011

solid value

"Mid-level processor with large memory. Costco has done a good job of putting together a well-rounded laptop for personal use at an extremely competitive price. The screen resolution is sharp and clear and the laptop is not loaded with a bunch of software that I don't want or need. 30 day anti-virus in case you need it, but since I already have another program, I wasn't stuck with something else I didn't want."
Review 9 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Richland, WA
Date:May 20, 2011

What I expected

Model Number: Inspiron 15.6
"Everything works like a charm so far. However, the battery life of 5 hours is over rated. I think 3 hours is more factual, but I saw this written in other reviews. Having the microsoft word/excel suite was the main reason I purchased this model. The Wifi will come in handy travelling."
Review 10 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:May 17, 2011

Nice laptop

Pros: boots up very fast not a lot of junk loaded, it came with the full office home & student
Cons: sometimes i swear it clicks a website on its own, speakers are so-so
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M
"Dell laptop Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop
Core i5-2410M has all the necessary stuff for the college bound student. I5 processor, 6gb of memory, hdmi, webcam, etc..
"
Review 11 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:April 15, 2011

fan too noisy

Model Number: i5-480 processor Inspiron i15R-1846MRB
"It is a good piece. But my only drawback is the fan, it seems to get going more often like evry 1 -2 minutes and it is very noisy especially in a quiet environment. I am debating if I should return it. I will call Dell to see if there is a solution to this problem."
Review 12 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, Oregon
Date:August 7, 2011

Very Disappointed

Model Number: Inspiron 15R i5-2410M
"We did lots of research on what brand rated the best. We purchased the Dell Inspiron 15R i5-2410M. Within a week we began having trouble with the screen freezing and having a "snowy" effect to it. The only way to fix it was to hard power off the computer. Rather than send it in for repair, we chose to return it and buy a new one. The same thing happened within a week. After further research, it sounds like that is a problem that can occur. We are going to return the 2nd one and now not sure what to buy. We are feeling a little shy about trying to by a Dell for the third go around (even though they have such high ratings). The computer was great other than the screen continually freezing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:June 13, 2011

good laptop

Pros: good design, good value, double the factory warranty, includes ms office home and student
Cons: lousy delivery by fedex
Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R
"This laptop seems well built and is easy to set up. it took almost 2 weeks to get it, and Fedex messed up the delivery even more, so that was a negative. But the computer is everything I was expecting. I don't like the built in mouse device, but it does work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:June 7, 2011

Terrible customer service from DELL

Cons: costco concierge service is amazing
"Laptop worked great for 6 months then it would not work. Bottom line the fan failed and the hard drive Overheated. I have spent numerous hours on hold with DELL trying to get resolution. It has been almost 3weeks since I called in the problem to them and they called yesterday to say it had been fixed I picked up the laptop from Fedex today and there was my laptop with a note from DELL stating that the hard drive is not currently in stock and they will send me a new hard drive when it is back in stock so I can install it. COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE. I called Costco concierge service who were absolutely
Wonderful and spent another hour on the phone with me and DELL trying to get a supervisor to fix the problem. If the laptop is not fully repaired by the end of this week I will require a full refund. I am a huge fan of COSTCO and I truly appreciate their help with this and I will always purchase anything I can from them. However I will never purchase another DELL product as this experience has taught me how little they value their customers and fail to stand behind their faulty products.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 21, 2011

Very good product

Model Number: Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz
"Dell Inspiron15R with Intel core i5-460M Processor (2.53GHz) 6 GB on board with a 500 GB hard drive. One month usage.
Pros:
1. For my use this is a fast computer (net surfing, email, small spread sheets, photo editing, ripping music, etc.
2. Case is a smooth plastic with no sharp edges or corners gives a feel of quality.
3. Has a number pad on key board which I appreciate.
4. Very good resolution
Cons:
1. Speakers are on the bottom of the computer which gives you a muffled sound quality, for quality sound use external speakers.
2. The mouse pad is off center of the letter keys, but one can adjust to that.
3. Delete key is hidden and hard to see (upper right of keyboard) in touch typing miss key and turn off num lock pad.
4. Num lock key has no light for off/on just a little icon that light up for about 3 or 4 seconds on screen.
5. Same for the Cap lock key.
Have in the past not been a Dells fan but this laptop changes my mind and would recommend buying this computer.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 23, 2011

NP5110 - i5 2410M processor

Model Number: Inspiron 15R - N5110
"Needed to give back a borrowed MacBook and wanted to get a new laptop with a "sandy bridge" processor. Bought this computer from costco.com about a month ago b/c it had the processor i wanted and also had a 7200 rpm hard drive. The laptop arrived in about a week. set-up went well - updated bios and drivers and got rid of some of the bloatware (including the included McAfee software). First time i did the updates, used Dell "download" program and ran into some problems, so did a "system restore" and then downloaded bios and drivers without the dell downloader's help.
From the beginning, the computer had a problem maintaining a stable wireless connection when running on the battery (e.g., sound kept breaking up when streaming radio via i-tunes). Contacted Costco's concierge service and, thru them, Dell Dell decided the problem was the wireless card and, 2 days later, sent a technician to my home to replace it with an upgraded card (dual band). But still didn't work properly. Dell had e-mailed to follow up on our telephone conference, and i replied to the e-mail to tell them the problem wasn't resolved. The next day i got a call from Kahn at Dell's Service Desk - he connected to my computer thru Dell Connect and made some adjustments to my system and wireless router settings and the computer now seems to work well. Kahn also helped me figure out how to get sound over my TV when connecting thru the HDMI port on the laptop. And for my trouble, Dell is upgrading me to a 9 cell battery (in addition to the upgraded wireless card).
Pros: The USB 3.0 works great - bought a MyPassport 3.0 USB 750 Gb back-up drive from costco and the entire system (about 50 Gb) imaged in less than 10 min and approx. 6 GB of files (music, photos, etc) backed-up in a few minutes. The webcam also works well on Skype (so i'm told.
and Costco.com - when it looked liked the computer wasn't going to get fixed (after the wireless card was replaced but before Kahn remote connected to it- dell had offered either to replace the mother board or send me a new computer), i called costco.com and they said if i'm not happy with the computer or my options, just return it either to them (they'd send me a pre-paid mailing label) or to any warehouse.
Cons: could use a back-lit keyboard (it's black and invisible in the dark) Also, the laptop has a number pad to the right of the keyboard, but the touch pad is only somewhat to the leftt of center - as such, the touch pad is not centered on the typing part of the keyboard, so i often hit the touch pad while typing and wind up closing a page or opening a program. And would be nice to have a dedicated button for "sleep" mode.
Bottom line - this laptop now works great and is a good value. and i have to commend Dell's customer service, particularly Kahn."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dell Inspiron 15R Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz HD Audio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:May 3, 2011

Not As Advertised

Model Number: 15R with i5-2410M
"Costco's description of this computer details the following with regard to Microsoft Office:
Productivity Software: Office Home & Student 2010 - Full Version
Microsoft® Word
Microsoft® Excel
Microsoft® PowerPoint
If you click on the lone icon for MS Office, it will give you 3 options:
1. Enter your license/key for MS Office.
2. Purchase a license/key for MS Office.
3. Use the starter editions of Word & Excel which have advertising.
You may be tempted to just use the starter editions but look for a small card, buried in your packet of documents, that has the full license for the Home & Student edition (a $120 value)."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.