Customer Reviews for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology

Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology

Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
28 of 31(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Review 1 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:July 21, 2015

Quietest Air Cleaner Ever

Pros: very quiet.
Cons: too quiet.
Model Number: Winks WAC9500
" This unit runs so quiet in L, M, and H speeds that we have to operate it in Turbo mode to attain the same noise level that we had become accustomed to with the previous unit. "
Review 2 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:July 8, 2015

Made a big difference

Pros: made a difference within hours, very quite when running on low - which is most of
Cons: not sure how to buy the filter replacements.
Model Number: Wac9500
" Put this in an open area of 2 room. It's a kitchen and den which is much bigger than the coverage area. It made a big improvement from the dog smell and with the kitchen cooking smells. "
Review 3 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:May 29, 2015

We are THRILLED with our new Winix WAC 9500!!!!

" This product has exceeded our expectations from the moment we plugged it in and turned it on! BEST air cleaner we have ever had! Worth every cent and then some. This machine knows before we do that something needs to be cleaned out of the air and goes automatically into overdrive until the smell is gone -- unbelievable! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:May 28, 2015

Winix WAC 9500

Pros: quiet, energy efficient, cosmetically above average
Cons: very expensive filters unless you buy multiples
Model Number: WAC 9500
" I own three purchased over the last 5 months. I ran them at turbo every morning for two weeks to get an idea of what to expect. They raise or lower their speeds as necessary to control odor and dust. Popcorn spell gone overnight. Dust reduced by about 70%. Nice.... "
Review 5 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:May 13, 2015

air is not purified

" after use it for half a year, I can hardly see the difference with or without the purifier. The other two purifiers of other brands work great though not that quiet. I put this one in bedroom and I can still smell something sometimes. I have another purifier of other brand sitting in kitchen which does great work. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Folsom, California
Date:May 7, 2015

Quality Air Purifier

Pros: very quiet, very efficient, very reliable, quality construction
Cons: i find no problems with this unit
Model Number: Winix WAC9500
" This purifier does a fantastic job of cleaning the air. You can actually smell the the fresh air in the room and this is in a large 600 sq ft master bedroom. I have asthma and usually wake up during the night coughing, but not with this machine running. I do keep a very clean house, so this unit never goes into the high setting. I keep the unit on auto mode and let it decide what to do. Also, I find this unit very quiet and the muted amber lights on the front do not bother me one iota. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 4, 2015

So Far Pretty Good

" Seems like we are breathing easier...hope it isn't a placebo effect. "
Review 8 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bronx, New York
Date:April 29, 2015

It clears the air

Pros: washable pre filter and washable carbon filter.
Model Number: Ultimate pet true HEPA. WAC 9500
" We have had two of these air cleaners for about two months. We had the windows closed for the winter but also decided to remove the rugs in the house. These babies do the job!!! Allergies are down to unnoticeable. No more nasal sprays or antihistamines. When there are odors the units automatically sense them and up the fan a notch to clear the air. This was a well worth the price paid purchase. "
Review 9 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 29, 2015

SO FAR, IT'S DOING A GREAT JOB!

Model Number: 9500
" I've had this for 2 full weeks now and so far, it is doing a good job of cleaning the air! I have terrible allergies and am currently allergic to my Yellow Lab. Sneezing and stuffiness are part of my daily life! Have tried a few different machines and finally decided to bite the bullet and buy this while it was $189 with free delivery! It's a little bit heavy so needed my better half to lift it. Set up was really easy, out of the box, attach the filter, plug it in and away we go! It's extremely quiet on low to medium and then a little louder after that but not unpleasant. Sometimes when the dog walks by the sensor goes off (you can't hear it, it lights up on the display, as if in smelling/detecting him!) and then the plasma thingy starts up. I do feel like the air is cleaner and fresher since I've had this. I have no idea what the long term review would be, as to how long it lasts or how well it continues to clean. I liked it so much I ordered a second one for the downstairs while it was still $189! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntingtong Beach, CA
Date:January 23, 2015

Great purchase

Pros: quiet, no ozone, does what it says it will do, remote
Cons: filters cost about $100/year
Model Number: WAC9500
" After doing some research, we decided to purchase this particular unit for two reasons. First, the plasma technology meant there was no ozone, which was great for the environment. Second, the until was great if you had pets, which we have two cats. Our place gets very dusty and with the cat dander makes it tough on our sinuses. From the first night the problem was solved. Less dust in the room and sleep like a baby with no sinus problems. We are thinking of getting another one for our living room. "
Review 11 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:November 12, 2014

Works Great

Pros: small, quite
Model Number: WAC9500
" We have 4 dogs and the dog smell is gone. Don't notice when it is running unless it goes up to high. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sarasota, Florida
Date:April 15, 2014

we stopped caughing

Pros: compact well engineered like the romote control
Cons: wish it would run more than 8 hrs befor reset
Model Number: 9500
" we live in south Florida are smokers and suffer from pollen and allergies this time of year (March/April). Conditions were not improving which prompted ordering this unit. It came in 4 days and we used it in the bedroom the first night. We commented that there was far less congestion and we were not spitting up in the morning, After 3 days we ordered a second unit for our living room. After a week of use we could not be happier. We run it on turbo during the day and high at night in the bedroom. Considering a third unit for kitchen area. Smoke odor has disappeared. Nice units would recommend. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2014

Great purifier

Pros: very easy to use, very effective
" Very east set up. I was very impressed on how the air quality improved in my home in such a short time, based on my family's serious reduction of allergy symptoms, and it's April. The odor detector picked up hairspray from about 15 feet away. "
Review 14 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:April 7, 2014

Air Freshener Works

Pros: light weigth minimal set-up, very quite on auto mode
Cons: none noted yet
Model Number: Winix WAC9500
" Winix 9500 worked great. It only took a few minutes to put into operations after unpacking. It cleared out the odors in a room within a few hours and we keep it running. Before this purchase we opened the windows to air out the room. All functions are working as advertised. Don't know how long the filter will last. If filters are short lived, that will be the greatest impact on this order. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:November 3, 2013

It works great

Pros: works great on pet smells!
Cons: none
Model Number: WINIX WAC9500
" No idea why people say it doesn't work. It works just the way it is suppose to work! We have a new bird in my daughter's room and the bird doesn't smell but the bird food (although in an air tight container) does make the room smell of bird. With in a few hours of plugging this device in, the smell was gone. I highly recommend this air filter for anyone with pets. We're buying another one to manage the dust our dogs bring into our sunroom. We did turn off the PlasmaWave as others had recommended. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Near Seattle, WA
Date:August 9, 2013

Works Great!

Pros: it works
Cons: the pre-filter is washable - but the filter is not
Model Number: 9500
" I began having terrible asthma problems in my elementary classroom. I bought one of these for my home and decided to bring it to work and see if it helped. What a difference!! After bringing this to school and leaving it on in my classroom, my asthma attacks in the room went completely away.
I am a specialist teacher who teaches several different classes a day and, therefore, sees each child in the school during the week. I marveled at the machine whenever one of several children with poor hygiene entered my room and it automatically kicked into high. When the kid left it returned to normal. Also, whether due to the decrease in my asthma or the PlasmaWave technology, I feel I was less ill last school year because of it.
I have been assigned to teach 1/2 time kindergarten this year as well as my regular specialist classes. Kindergarten is known to be a germ factory. I am buying another one of these for my kindergarten classroom so I can have one in each classroom. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2013

Caution - Problematic Technology

Pros: hepa is good, very quiet
Cons: poor air flow on low/med., odd odor
Model Number: 9500
" I must state up front that we were owners of the infamous Friederich Air Cleaners that were ozone producers so we wanted an Air Cleaner that would not produce any OZONE. I spent a week reading on line reviews and settled on the Winix 9500 after reading the excellent reviews by the customers.
The Winix is a competent machine with a few flaws. The auto function was a waste for us as it only set itself at low and NEVER went to high even when the gauges indicated an odor. So we had it set manually on high so we could get some air movement in the room. Low does about nothing in air movement. Even on high we found the Winix to be quiet and were able to watch TV with no problems. Turbo is another story - only to be used when you are away from the house or room as it can be very loud and tiring to hear on a constant basis.
Now for the big problem: If you dig deep enough into the online reviews, searches and comments you find that the Plasma Wave Technology can become problematic. We began turning off the Plasma Wave and noticed a difference in the odor of the rooms air. With the PlasmaWave on it had an odd odor - almost chemical in nature. We cannot say with certainty what the odor was but it was irritating. Please note that I called the customer service and they stated the unit does not create any ozone. However, I caution everyone to read the statement on the front of the Winix Box "ARB Certified. This air cleaner complies with the federal ozone emissions limit" It does not say Ozone Free it says "limit".
If we never used the PlasmaWave then the machine would be acceptable as a pure HEPA air cleaner but we were attracted to the new technology offered by this machine. The strange odor became a deal killer and we returned the Winix 9500 and are now pursuing a new Air Purifier.
"
24 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2013

Just what I was looking for.

Pros: quiet auto feature
" While my experience is minimal on this topic, I have been very satisfied. After my allergist recommended this for my bedroom, I have noticed a difference in my nighttime allergy attacks. The auto function works great, helping maintain a very quiet performance. The only setting that really produces an undesirable noise level is the high settings, which is understandable. The only time it kicks into high is when there is something in the air that sets it off. My mother in-law, who owns a much more outdated model marveled at how quiet it performed. It has been almost a month and so far so good. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2013

A very good buy

" This is a very quiet machine, much, much quieter than the old HEPA technology. Also effective. We used a furniture polish with a lemon scent without thinking too much and the HEPA came on and noticed an increase in 'fumes.' Nice machine. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:February 4, 2013

Better Than Expected

Pros: quiet / sleek / works as advertised
Cons: have not found one yet.
" First off, it looks a lot better than the pics show. It's very contemporary and sleek.
The reviews stating how quiet it is are right-on. I can turn it on "high" and go to sleep with it on. It sits 5 feet from my bed. It's got a great motor on it that is very pleasing to the ear.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>