Customer Reviews for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology

Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology

Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
15 of 17(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Review 1 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:November 3, 2013

It works great

Pros: works great on pet smells!
Cons: none
Model Number: WINIX WAC9500
"No idea why people say it doesn't work. It works just the way it is suppose to work! We have a new bird in my daughter's room and the bird doesn't smell but the bird food (although in an air tight container) does make the room smell of bird. With in a few hours of plugging this device in, the smell was gone. I highly recommend this air filter for anyone with pets. We're buying another one to manage the dust our dogs bring into our sunroom. We did turn off the PlasmaWave as others had recommended."
Review 2 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Near Seattle, WA
Date:August 9, 2013

Works Great!

Pros: it works
Cons: the pre-filter is washable - but the filter is not
Model Number: 9500
"I began having terrible asthma problems in my elementary classroom. I bought one of these for my home and decided to bring it to work and see if it helped. What a difference!! After bringing this to school and leaving it on in my classroom, my asthma attacks in the room went completely away.
I am a specialist teacher who teaches several different classes a day and, therefore, sees each child in the school during the week. I marveled at the machine whenever one of several children with poor hygiene entered my room and it automatically kicked into high. When the kid left it returned to normal. Also, whether due to the decrease in my asthma or the PlasmaWave technology, I feel I was less ill last school year because of it.
I have been assigned to teach 1/2 time kindergarten this year as well as my regular specialist classes. Kindergarten is known to be a germ factory. I am buying another one of these for my kindergarten classroom so I can have one in each classroom."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2013

Caution - Problematic Technology

Pros: hepa is good, very quiet
Cons: poor air flow on low/med., odd odor
Model Number: 9500
"I must state up front that we were owners of the infamous Friederich Air Cleaners that were ozone producers so we wanted an Air Cleaner that would not produce any OZONE. I spent a week reading on line reviews and settled on the Winix 9500 after reading the excellent reviews by the customers.
The Winix is a competent machine with a few flaws. The auto function was a waste for us as it only set itself at low and NEVER went to high even when the gauges indicated an odor. So we had it set manually on high so we could get some air movement in the room. Low does about nothing in air movement. Even on high we found the Winix to be quiet and were able to watch TV with no problems. Turbo is another story - only to be used when you are away from the house or room as it can be very loud and tiring to hear on a constant basis.
Now for the big problem: If you dig deep enough into the online reviews, searches and comments you find that the Plasma Wave Technology can become problematic. We began turning off the Plasma Wave and noticed a difference in the odor of the rooms air. With the PlasmaWave on it had an odd odor - almost chemical in nature. We cannot say with certainty what the odor was but it was irritating. Please note that I called the customer service and they stated the unit does not create any ozone. However, I caution everyone to read the statement on the front of the Winix Box "ARB Certified. This air cleaner complies with the federal ozone emissions limit" It does not say Ozone Free it says "limit".
If we never used the PlasmaWave then the machine would be acceptable as a pure HEPA air cleaner but we were attracted to the new technology offered by this machine. The strange odor became a deal killer and we returned the Winix 9500 and are now pursuing a new Air Purifier.
"
21 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2013

Just what I was looking for.

Pros: quiet auto feature
"While my experience is minimal on this topic, I have been very satisfied. After my allergist recommended this for my bedroom, I have noticed a difference in my nighttime allergy attacks. The auto function works great, helping maintain a very quiet performance. The only setting that really produces an undesirable noise level is the high settings, which is understandable. The only time it kicks into high is when there is something in the air that sets it off. My mother in-law, who owns a much more outdated model marveled at how quiet it performed. It has been almost a month and so far so good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2013

A very good buy

"This is a very quiet machine, much, much quieter than the old HEPA technology. Also effective. We used a furniture polish with a lemon scent without thinking too much and the HEPA came on and noticed an increase in 'fumes.' Nice machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:February 4, 2013

Better Than Expected

Pros: quiet / sleek / works as advertised
Cons: have not found one yet.
"First off, it looks a lot better than the pics show. It's very contemporary and sleek.
The reviews stating how quiet it is are right-on. I can turn it on "high" and go to sleep with it on. It sits 5 feet from my bed. It's got a great motor on it that is very pleasing to the ear.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:November 1, 2012

So far so good...

Pros: quiet
Model Number: WAC9500
"Bought 2 in May. Immediately seemed to improve air in a newly renovated and dusty house."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:May 10, 2012

It Works!!

Pros: quiet low energy use
Model Number: WAC 9500
"Purchased the unit on March 14. I just cleaned the inner washable filters. The outer washable filter was covered in a fine dust that balled under the water. I keep my house clean and clearly this unit picked up dust I didn't see/get. The unit detects an increase in odors and dust instantly. I use Listerine in the master bath and the unit at the other end of the master bedroom picks up the odor within minutes of my using it. I took the sheets off my bed and the unit noticed that it was more dusty in the room. (Note this is dust that you couldn't see, but it makes sense that fluffing the sheets would put particles in the air. ) Finally, my roommate was really sick for a week with a bad upper resp. infection. I stuck the unit in front of her when she was in the living room. While I can't say this was the reason I didn't get sick myself, I'm still pleased I didn't pick up her cold given her nasty cough. I am completely pleased with the unit and I would recommend this to others, especially those with allergies. I find I wake up without being as stuffy as I had been before using the unit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Millbrae, CA
Date:February 22, 2012

Worthless piece of junk

Pros: quiet
Cons: everything
"I got this for my parents in December 2011 and it didn't help a bit. The air quality was just as bad. Stay away from this thing; not worth your time and money. The Whirlpool one is a bit loud but at least it works like it should be .. clean the air. Totally disappointed and all those positives reviews just make me wonder if the buyers actually tested their air quality at home at all. It's not what you smell sometime .. the mind can affect your sense .. only real testings will tell you if the machine is working at all. If not, they should. Anyway .. this one failed horribly."
4 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 30, 2011

Great if you have pets

Pros: great for homes with multiple pets
Cons: box states its is best for up to mid 200 sq ft
"It is a great at getting rid of any oder from pets (i.e. litter boxes) as well as bet dander. I have allergies and notice a difference after the first day."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:November 28, 2011

Med free!

Pros: quiet very effective
Cons: none that i know of
Model Number: WAC9500
"My son was waking up in the middle of the night with asthma attacks despite all of my efforts to keep his room dust mite free. I was very bothered by the fact I had to keep giving him medication to keep him breathing regularly. After purchasing this product and installing it his room, he has not had an attack since then and it's been 4 months. I am thrilled!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:October 11, 2011

Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner w

Pros: it works!!!
Cons: none
Model Number: WAC9500
"The BEST air cleaner I have ever used.
I am terribly allergic to dustmites and pollens and have used a number of air cleaners the last being a Honeywell. Even if I dusted daily I still woke up with a horrible sinus headache.
NOT with the Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave.
The night mode is wonderful, it dimms the lights and lowers the fan speed. I have left it on auto all night and the fan noise was never an issue as the fan is ultra-quiet.
The odor sensor monitors detected shaving cream odor from the master bath before I even smelled it!
You can not go wrong with the Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave. It is worth EVERY PENNY (dollar) we spent on it!!!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:AURORA CO
Date:September 28, 2011

GREAT FOR THE MONEY

Pros: price, med. size, dust and odor sensor, remote, replace filter not based on days but usage, light-up panel, free shipping, looks nice, plasmawave kills bacteria and germs, energy star rated
Cons: when turned on plasma comes on, when turned on sleep comes on, won't come out of sleep with low energy bulbs, sensors not sensative enough
Model Number: 9500
"I'VE USED THIS NOW FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS AND I LOVE IT FOR THE PRICE . THERE IS BETTER IF YOU HAVE $100-$500 EXTRA IN YOUR ACCT, BUT I DON'T SO THIS ONE IS A WINNER . I HAVE SEVERE ALLERGIES AND ASTHMA AND IT WORKS JUST GREAT . I HAVE TO SAY AT FIRST I HAD PROBLEMS WITH IT UNTIL I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE THE PLASMAWAVE FUNCTION , COME TO FIND OUT IT'S ATTRACTED TO CELLS WHICH WE ARE MADE OF " OOP'S " . IT WILL IRRATATE EYE'S AND NOSE IF ON , I FOUND OUT THAT THE PLASMA FUNCTION SHOULD BE ON WHEN YOUR OUT OF THE HOUSE AND YEA PROBLEM SOLVED . '' TURN ON WHEN GONE , TURN OFF WHEN HOME"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:August 19, 2011

Terrific Air Cleaner

Pros: quiet, gets rid of odors and dust
Model Number: WAC 9500
"This is the quietest and most efficient air cleaner I have ever owned."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvne, ca
Date:July 21, 2011

Smells GREAT NOW

"4 Cats. 1 Room just for them.
Its quiet, and works like a charm
any and all offensive smells are gone."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:July 13, 2011

Excellent

Model Number: WAC9500
"I returned BlueAir and got this one. It has a remote control and light control.
It is quiet yet powerful."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winix WAC9500 Ultimate Pet True HEPA Air Cleaner with PlasmaWave™ Technology
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:July 12, 2011

Awesome

Pros: good for pet smell / cigarette / cooking odor
Cons: very expensive
"I am using this for two weeks pet odor thing of the past !!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.