Customer Reviews for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier

Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier

Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 9(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Review 1 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:June 11, 2015

Wonderfull Product

Pros: quiet
Cons: none
" This is my second purchase of this unit. Quiet and works great! Air is sweet and clean. Every time my wife cooks Bacon the unit senses the smell and goes to high speed and clears the air. "
Review 2 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:May 30, 2015

Excellent product until.......

Pros: fundtions very well until there's a problem
Cons: if a problem impossible to reach winix for help
Model Number: 5500
" This product did its job effectively until I had construction work done in my house. I did not use it for 2 months and, when I turned it on again, a bad smell was emitted. I read the manuel and did everything recommended to remedy the problem. Nothing worked so I tried to contact the Winix Company: it was impossible! Every number given had a full mailbox and there was no email address. No help available to correct the problem and I had to purchase another pruifier....never a Winix again. Costco was wonderful about returning it! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 26, 2015

Works well

Model Number: Winix 5500
" I've had and used this item for about 6 months. It's hard to tell for sure how big a difference it's making, but today I used compressed air to blow a noisy fan in my PC; very little dust came out, yet a few minutes later, the Winix (which I have set to "Auto") detected a decrease in air quality and kicked the fan on for several minutes to clean it. We have all hardwood floors but I also haven't noticed a significant amount of dust accumulating either. Overall I do think the machine is working and doing a good job, and I was extremely impressed that the sensor actually detected dust in the air even though it looked like almost no dust came out of the computer! "
Review 4 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rocklin, CA
Date:March 18, 2015

Definitely A Keeper

Pros: cleans air well quiet
Cons: needs a handle for easy carrying
Model Number: Winix 5500
" I bought this Winix 5500 when it was on sale last year. It has been the best investment. Primarily got it for allergy season, the flus/colds season, kitchen cooking smells and wet dog smells (when we give our puppy a bath--not fond of the wet dog smell). I feel like this air purifier has worked really well. When I cook fish, it clears the bad smells (automatically turns on full blast when it detects this.) Otherwise, pretty quiet. Only negative is that it doesn't have a handle. When I need to move it room to room, I carry the machine. Kind of cumberson for a petite person. Otherwise, I will definitely buy another one or maybe the Winix Pet 9500 that I had been originally wanting for a long time, but for the money, you can't beat this one. "
Review 5 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia pa
Date:March 4, 2015

Very satisfied

" We use it in our bedroom where dust has been a problem. Now there is no dust. Would highly recommend it. The sleep mode is great! "
Review 6 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 4, 2015

Performs the job.

Pros: washable hepa filter., odor removal., quiet on normal fan speed.
Cons: odor sensor isn't sensitive.
Model Number: Winix 5500
" Easy to setup. Comes in with washable hepa filter and 4 carbon filter. Unit it self wasn't as large as i imagined.
Mainly use it in the bedroom and after waking up with it running on setting 2, Wife and I don't have the nasal congestion we usually have in the morning. Does a great job clearing the odor after we cook (Has to be on setting 3 or turbo).
Noise level of fan : Setting 1 cant hear. Setting 2 white noise. Setting 3 loud but tolerable. Turbo is loud we only use this when we are cooking.
Plasma can be turned off using the remote control or pressing the power button for 3 second.
Auto mode is a hit or miss. Sometimes it picks up the odor and will ramp up on the fan speed and a lot of times it doesn't do anything. So we normally run it in manual.
Maintenance : Every month vacuum the carbon filter. 3 months replace carbon filter and every 6 months wash hepa filter. You can buy cut to fit bulk carbon filter online, way cheaper then buying the winix brand works just as good and i can make 8 filters for just under $12 compared to $30 for only 4.
Mods : Installed a 1/4" washable foam prefilter and additional cut to fit carbon filter.
We are planning on getting another winix 5500 or the 9500 model just for the living room and kitchen.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2015

Auto mode does not work

Model Number: Winix 5500
" Just received this Winix 5500 and the auto mode does not work. I can blow cigarette smoke directly into the intake and it will still show perfect air quality. I "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, Arizona
Date:December 12, 2014

Great product!

Pros: excellent product, fair price
Cons: replacing the heppa filter is expensive.
Model Number: 5500
" I purchased the model 5500 about a year ago and it has been running ever since. It has cleaned the air in my living room, dinning area and kitchen so well I have not needed to dust the furniture in over 6 months. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington Texas
Date:October 18, 2014

Great product

Pros: excellent
Model Number: Winix 5500 plasma wave
" I had purchased one and then I purchased another .that's how good it is I don't even hear it when I am sleeping. Winix5500 plasma wave air purifier.it is a good price and good sq.ft covers. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.