Customer Reviews for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier

Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier

Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Review 1 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 12, 2013

Excellent air cleaner

Pros: very quiet on lower speeds, excellent sensing odors/pollutants/smoke, filter easy to remove/clean
Cons: large size, no handles on sides
Model Number: 5500
"Bought this to help deal with downstairs neighbors that never seem to stop smoking or bbq-ing. Have been using for about a month now and definitely notice the difference compared to others I have had in the past. It does a great job sensing odors/pollutants/smoke. I use on automatic setting most of the time and it quickly adjusts when anything is sensed. I will use my hairspray in the morning and just walk by the unit on the way out the door and it will adjust to higher speed! Runs almost silently on low speeds. Filter is easy to clean. I vacuum the filter weekly to remove any accumulated dust. Manual says it emits safe ozone levels with it's plasmawave cleaning feature, but I just feel better turning that off when I am sitting in the same room and am glad the unit has the option to turn on/off. It is quite large and needs to be a few feet from walls, furniture etc. Wish it had handles on the sides to make it easier to move around."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Charles County, MO
Date:March 27, 2014

Nice, very nice

Cons: pricey
Model Number: 5500 plasma wave.
"I love how quite it is. Love the automatic feature. Just plain love this air purifier. Bought another one 2 weeks later.
I have had Honeywell cleaners for 15 years. They finally wore out. Hope these last as long.
"
Review 3 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011

Quite

"I bought this unit to replace a BlueAir 200 series that the motor bearing had become very loud.
This unit when on low, which is most of the time, is quieter than the Blue Air. The auto odor/pollution sensor works very well. The air is noticeably improved.
It has a plasma feature, and for the first couple of days this did make a bit of noise. This did subside and it not noticeable now.
The motor on this unit as well as the bearing seem to be quite quality. It is quiet and everything appears to be in balance. Filters provided last 1 year.
Overall would buy again, and will be to add one to another room."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:March 18, 2014

Quality Product

Pros: quality product at a fair price
Model Number: Winix 5500
"Well made, easy to operate, and seems to work well. It's a little loud on turbo speed, but quiet on low speed."
Review 5 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Date:November 13, 2013

Not What I Was Hoping For

Pros: quiet
Cons: doesn't eliminate odors very bulky needs handles
Model Number: Winix 5500 PlasmaWave Air Purifier
"I've had this for over a month, and haven't noticed any difference at all. It's currently sitting less than 2 feet in front of a litter box with very stinky kitty #2 in it. I have it set to Auto, yet it stays on the lowest setting. I had to manually set it to the highest setting, and it still does nothing to improve air quality. I don't think it's doing much else in terms of eliminating 'things' floating in the air, because I looked at the filter last night, and if anything is on the filter, it's hardly noticeable. I'm giving it 3 stars because it's very quiet on the lower settings, and it does seem to be built well. I, sadly, will probably return it though."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Date:November 28, 2011

Excellent unit

Pros: quiet, automatic
Cons: carbon filter stored
Model Number: 5500
"I have only had this unit for about 3 weeks, but I am very pleased with it.
I turn it on (it goes on automatic) and leave it alone. It is quiet and senses when there is an odor or dust in the room and increases the fan to handle it and when it is taken care of it goes back down to low automatically.
The only thing that was a little confusing is when putting the unit together (you have to put the filters in correctly) the carbon filter is delivered behind the hepa and I didn't notice this at first. You must remove the hepa and take the carbon behind it and move it in front. Other than that (and that the remote is in the top slot) it is very easy to get ready to use.
The hepa can be washed 6 times before being replaced which is also great.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:December 1, 2011

Great Air Purifier

Pros: works well., very quiet
"I've had this air purifier for over a month and so far this has been a great. I purchased this since my condo captures a lot of the smell when cooking and I thought this would help clean the air and it does exactly that. When I let it run for a couple of hours, all the smell from my cooking is completely gone and this is really helpful during the hot summers or cold winters when it's hard to open the windows. Also, as a bonus, it's super quiet for those who might put this in their bedroom."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:July 29, 2011

I can breath again

Pros: super quiet.
Cons: no sleep control from remote.
Model Number: Winix 5500 PlasmaWave
"I have bad allergies and usually have trouble breathing at night. I put the 5500 in my bedroom last week and have had great luck with it so far. It is quiet and does a good job of getting rid of dust in the air.
My only complaint is that you can't use the remote to place it in Sleep mode, but must press the Mode button 5 times on the face of the unit. If I forget to do this before going to sleep, it will usually wake me up sometime during the night as I keep the unit in Auto mode.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:November 24, 2013

Great purifier

"Love it. It truly helps my Mom with her breathing....she stopped snoring at night which was such a concern to her health. It came in especially handy with the home reno...paint, etc odors. Knocked out the odors in my room asap! I wish they had a smaller version as I'd love to get smaller ones for the smaller rooms. Still..considering buying another. A great buy for sure"
Review 10 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2011

this machine really does work!!!

Model Number: 5500
"bought this unit after reading all the product comparisons for a mid-price air cleaner. this unit has worked extremly well. after several months of use my wife and i do not seam to cough in bed anymore. I run the unit on high for an hour with the door closed before bedtime. The air feels and smells cleaner. would recommend this unit to anyone and everyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Valparaiso, IN
Date:October 12, 2013

Great Product

Model Number: 5500
"I purchased this to freshen the air in a room that has a Ferret and birds. It is wonderful!!! It does a good job removing the smell from the Ferret."