Customer Reviews for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier

Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
(out of 7 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 of 7(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Review 1 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 26, 2015

Works well

Model Number: Winix 5500
" I've had and used this item for about 6 months. It's hard to tell for sure how big a difference it's making, but today I used compressed air to blow a noisy fan in my PC; very little dust came out, yet a few minutes later, the Winix (which I have set to "Auto") detected a decrease in air quality and kicked the fan on for several minutes to clean it. We have all hardwood floors but I also haven't noticed a significant amount of dust accumulating either. Overall I do think the machine is working and doing a good job, and I was extremely impressed that the sensor actually detected dust in the air even though it looked like almost no dust came out of the computer! "
Review 2 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rocklin, CA
Date:March 18, 2015

Definitely A Keeper

Pros: cleans air well quiet
Cons: needs a handle for easy carrying
Model Number: Winix 5500
" I bought this Winix 5500 when it was on sale last year. It has been the best investment. Primarily got it for allergy season, the flus/colds season, kitchen cooking smells and wet dog smells (when we give our puppy a bath--not fond of the wet dog smell). I feel like this air purifier has worked really well. When I cook fish, it clears the bad smells (automatically turns on full blast when it detects this.) Otherwise, pretty quiet. Only negative is that it doesn't have a handle. When I need to move it room to room, I carry the machine. Kind of cumberson for a petite person. Otherwise, I will definitely buy another one or maybe the Winix Pet 9500 that I had been originally wanting for a long time, but for the money, you can't beat this one. "
Review 3 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia pa
Date:March 4, 2015

Very satisfied

" We use it in our bedroom where dust has been a problem. Now there is no dust. Would highly recommend it. The sleep mode is great! "
Review 4 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 4, 2015

Performs the job.

Pros: washable hepa filter., odor removal., quiet on normal fan speed.
Cons: odor sensor isn't sensitive.
Model Number: Winix 5500
" Easy to setup. Comes in with washable hepa filter and 4 carbon filter. Unit it self wasn't as large as i imagined.
Mainly use it in the bedroom and after waking up with it running on setting 2, Wife and I don't have the nasal congestion we usually have in the morning. Does a great job clearing the odor after we cook (Has to be on setting 3 or turbo).
Noise level of fan : Setting 1 cant hear. Setting 2 white noise. Setting 3 loud but tolerable. Turbo is loud we only use this when we are cooking.
Plasma can be turned off using the remote control or pressing the power button for 3 second.
Auto mode is a hit or miss. Sometimes it picks up the odor and will ramp up on the fan speed and a lot of times it doesn't do anything. So we normally run it in manual.
Maintenance : Every month vacuum the carbon filter. 3 months replace carbon filter and every 6 months wash hepa filter. You can buy cut to fit bulk carbon filter online, way cheaper then buying the winix brand works just as good and i can make 8 filters for just under $12 compared to $30 for only 4.
Mods : Installed a 1/4" washable foam prefilter and additional cut to fit carbon filter.
We are planning on getting another winix 5500 or the 9500 model just for the living room and kitchen.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2015

Auto mode does not work

Model Number: Winix 5500
" Just received this Winix 5500 and the auto mode does not work. I can blow cigarette smoke directly into the intake and it will still show perfect air quality. I "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, Arizona
Date:December 12, 2014

Great product!

Pros: excellent product, fair price
Cons: replacing the heppa filter is expensive.
Model Number: 5500
" I purchased the model 5500 about a year ago and it has been running ever since. It has cleaned the air in my living room, dinning area and kitchen so well I have not needed to dust the furniture in over 6 months. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winix 5500 PlasmaWave™ Air Purifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington Texas
Date:October 18, 2014

Great product

Pros: excellent
Model Number: Winix 5500 plasma wave
" I had purchased one and then I purchased another .that's how good it is I don't even hear it when I am sleeping. Winix5500 plasma wave air purifier.it is a good price and good sq.ft covers. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.