Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven

Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:May 5, 2011

Excellent Cast Iron Oven

Pros: high quality
Cons: none so far.
"I have owned this item for close to a year and I am very please. This was a replacement for a "Top-Of-The-Line" Dutch Oven that cost a small mint, and which met it's demise when dropped. The Kirkland Signature Oven is of the same quality as the Top of the line, having smooth surfaces and a quality enamel finish, and has withstood constant use for about a year and it looks the same as the day I bought it."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:central coast, CA
Date:June 23, 2011

Wonderful!

"I own several pieces of another popular, but expensive, French cookware. I love it, but it is pricey. I saw this cookware on line and decided after reading the reviews, I would give it a try. I must say, I am impressed. It's HUGE and holds a whole chicken easily. Cooks evenly, cleans up well and isn't as heavy as some of my cast iron cookware. Plus it's priced less! I just wish they would offer more pieces and in different colors! Great piece of cookware, you won't be dissapointed!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:October 14, 2011

very impressed.

Pros: very even cooking uses very low heat., can sear meat quickly, quality product
Cons: not too fond of the dark interior, the spots on the bottom kind of concern me
"I ordered this pan, with reservation. It did not state if it was a double layer of enamel, which most of the others on line did. But, i just didn't want to buy a Chinese product, and this item was made in France. I went under the assumption that it would be somewhat close to LC. I have a cast iron Lodge Dutch oven but wanted one that would allow me to use wine and tomato. My first impression was very positive. The dark interior kind of was a disappointment, but that was the only way it came. My first meal was a beef stew. I never made one really don't like the stuff, but my wife and kids do. I have to say that it worked really great. It cooked very evenly and i had the heat on as low as it would go and it worked perfectly. But, here is the part i didn't like. It seemed the bottom of the pan is kind of stained. There are some kind of spots. they look like water spots. I soaked the pan overnight in soap, but they were still there. I cooked a batch of soup and they seemed to have cleared up. I really like the way you can sear the meat and then add the vegetables and liquid, bring it to a boil and then lower the heat, and i mean lower, and let the cooking process continue. I cook a lot and have many pans of every style, but i think i will like this one the best. Now i have to find some good recipes. I was disappointed that the pan came with very limited instructions and not a single recipe. I think Costco could have put a little more effort into it. One thing for sure, you can buy with confidence with Costco. i was just glad to see that they got rid of the previous model which was made in China."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:October 2, 2011

Great dutch oven!

"What a great purchase! I bought it just this week and used it to make a double batch of vegetarian chili for a party on Saturday. The stew cooked up beautifully and the pot moved right from stovetop to buffet table effortlessly. It really has the look and feel of the high-priced brands, but at a way better price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2011

Great Gift

Pros: great price for great quality
"When my husband brought this home I wasn't so sure since it wasn't THE popular (and very expensive) brand. Tried it out with Coq Au Vin recipe, which not only cooked perfectly but also was a beautiful presentation in the same pot. Great for winter stews, chilies,etc. Would love to see more sizes."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chino Hills, CA
Date:May 18, 2011

Love it!

Pros: works on induction cook top
Cons: heavy
"I have recently upgrade my cook top to induction and love using this pan! Although it is on the heavy side, food stays warm longer than stainless cookware. I wish Costco offered this in different sizes/types of cookware."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:September 25, 2011

No need to pay more

"My husband convinced me to give this one a try and I'm so glad he did--it's fantastic! Browns and braises like a dream. Gives the same results as name-brand versions that cost 4x as much. Highly recommended!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:November 18, 2011

Everything cooked in here tastes delicious!

"And I am not kidding! I never owned cast iron french or dutch over until now because they are so expensive. When I saw this at Costco I thought I'd give it a try. It looks beautiful, I love the color, and it cooks everything perfectly. It is however a rather heavy hot and I find that I have to be very careful when I am washing it so as not to drop it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:September 27, 2011

GOOD DEAL!

Pros: good looking
Cons: the lid doesn't fit properly
"It looks VERY nice and very good price but the lid is moved to the side a little bit. So I wonder if it's supposed to be that way? If not, I will return it and get the new one since this is the real DEAL!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater New Orleans Area
Date:August 16, 2011

A real deal!

Pros: slow cooks food to perfection., able to withstand higher heat than other products, ability to control the temperatures for dishes
Cons: have to wait till it is cool enough to clean.
Model Number: 6.5 Qt Oven
"As compared to other enameled cast iron it is as good as the best and better than the rest!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westport, Washington
Date:November 7, 2011

Best Deal

"Kirkland Cast Iorn Cook Ware is very compareable with the more expensive brand at 1/4 of the price, I love it. I like the red but different sizes and colors would be nice."
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ 6.5-quart Enameled Cast Iron Round French Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2011

Excellent!

"My husband and I cook meals in this piece all the time! Superb, high quality!"