Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco wholesale for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Kirkland Signature™ products are designed and produced with only the finest quality materials and workmanship available. We are confident that you will appreciate the high level of value and excellence that have become the benchmark for all Kirkland Signature™ products. Features: Professional quality: Constructed of 18/10 stainless steel, the copper-bonded 5-ply base is manufactured to allow even and efficient transfer of heat. Each pot and pan provides perfect cooking performance every time. 18/10 stainless steel lids: Heavy-gauge lids fit precisely for heat and nutrient retention. The snug fit promotes self-basting. 18/10 stainless steel handles: Handcrafted and hand-polished hollow cast handles are ergonomically designed to assist in natural wrist position and comfort. Handles are securely riveted for long life. Induction suitable: Magnetic stainless steel cap on 5-ply base allows cookware to be used on induction cooktops, as well as all other cooktops including ceramic glass. 5-ply base: Pans are manufactured with a 5-ply base construction consisting of two layers of stainless steel, two layers of aluminum and a copper core. The impact-bonded, encapsulated base enables pans to reach and maintain desired cooking temperature quickly and evenly, allowing heat settings to be reduced. NSF Certified Not recommended for dishwasher use   Set Includes: 8-quart Covered Stockpot 4-quart Covered Saucepot 3-quart Covered Saucepan Multi-Steamer Insert (fits both 4-quart Saucepot and 3-quart Saucepan) 1.5-quart Covered Saucepan 3.5-quart Covered Sauté Pan 8.75-inch Skillet 10.25-inch Skillet Model: 559728
Average Customer Rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
(out of 49 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
42 of 49(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:suburban Mass.
Date:May 7, 2012

Excellent Quality, But ...

Pros: heavy professional quality, excellent handles
Cons: sides are not multi-clad
"I own the previous version of this set of cookware. It's excellent. I have one (very expensive) All-Clad pot, and this cookware is much better, largely because the handles are more comfortable.
Two caveats ...
One, cleanup is generally just as easy as a non-stick pan, if you use a stainless steel scouring pad. But ... don't try to cook eggs in them! Cleanup of eggs is a nightmare. Save a non-stick pan for when you're making eggs.
Two, these pots and pans are multi-ply on the bottom, but NOT multi-ply on the sides. So, on a gas range, the sides will heat more quickly then the bottom. That means that food won't burn on the bottom of the pots, but it will burn on the sides. (That obviously isn't a problem on an electric or induction range.)
Some manufacturers, like All-Clad, make multi-clad cookware that is multi-clad on the sides, too. But one pot can cost as much as this entire set. So, all in all, this set is a terrific value. Just be aware that the sides will heat up faster than the bottom, and don't use them for eggs."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2011

Great for the Money!!

"So, like many of you who love to cook I asked around for advice on cookware. I knew the price of All clad and Scanpan (which, granted, is pricey but worth it if you have the money) so I was ready to pay -no big deal. Then one day, a friend of mind was shopping at Costco and called me about this set; he said: I would NOT drop the money for the set I own (he got it as a wedding gift) but would get this set. It is great -great both for the money and just because it is great. I cook a wide variety of cuisines and so far I have had a great time playing with this cookware. I am -at this very moment- making a pot roast (stove top to oven) in the 3-qt. chef's pan and found braising and deglazing simply wonderful. There is NO aftertaste in the food from any kind of reaction, the handles are great (they don't get too hot to hold), the weight is balanced and full. I am tough of cookware, but this set seems as though it will last and withstand the many adventures that I will put it through. One thing I would recommend however: get yourself some Barkeeper's Friend -plain soap and water don't always do the trick to get that beautiful shine."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Date:June 10, 2012

... Well Beyond Expectation

Pros: heats evenly does not stick cleans easily.
Cons: none
"I had been eyeing this set at my Costco warehouse for several months after cooking with my cousin's All-Clad set at his vacation home and falling in love with his pots. Had not taken the plunge for All-Clad or even this set because my Kirkland hard anodized set was still in great shape and was feeling guilty. However, with this set's such reasonable price, and Costco's willingness to take anything back that is not to your satisfaction, last week, on an impulse, I went ahead and loaded it on my cart while debating whether to take it home or not as I wandered through the warehouse. I am delighted that I did and the only regret is not having done it sooner.
I have tested the new set with all types of cooking and each time it has performed and cleaned beautifully. Heats quickly and evenly. Retains the heat. Can't think of any criticism other than wishing that Costco had included, or would sell separately, a Kirkland 5ply saute saucepan larger than the 3.5 Qt that came with this set.
This set now sits happily with my priced Le Creuset pots and assortment of well loved old cast iron pieces. I will never cook on anything but 5-ply SS or cast iron!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fremont, Ca
Date:May 11, 2012

Great cookware

Pros: very easy to clean, heats up very quickly, doesn't stick that much
Cons: little heavy
"I've owned this set for almost a year. Before making the purchase, I was thinking to purchase other famous brand cookwares, but they are all super expensive. Read the reviews here and they were all very positive so I decided to give it a try. After all the whole set is only under $170 (the time I purchased) and I love Costco's return policy. So I have nothing to lose.
After almost a year of using the product, I just love it! It heats up very quickly, and it doesn't stick that much even though this is not a nonstick set. Sometimes when I stir fry meat, it does stick a little but it's very easy to clean up. It comes off very easily with a little water when cooking. No problem when frying eggs, and I only use a tiny bit of oil. The only cons I can think of for this product is that it's little heavy but this is common with all quality cookwares.
Love Costco and their products!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 24, 2011

First time use, almost ruined it but love it!

Pros: sturdy well built construction, weight feels great, beautiful professional finish, cooks evenly, costco warranty, unbeatable value against other brands
Cons: teflon users need to learn how to cook again
Model Number: 13 piece / 18/10 stainless steel
"My wife and I love cooking. I wanted to get rid of the tasty & crunchy teflon we had eaten up already from some cheap cookware (I hate to accept it). After some research and knowing it doesn't behave as teflon, I decided that stainless was going to be part of the family for the first time as a healthier cooking tool.
Considering Costco's return policy, I ignored all other brands and bought the Kirkland from the store a couple of weeks ago. The in-store samples made me fall in love with it.
After reading advise after advise in the web, I was also terrorized about how I would do without screwing it up. Be aware that stainless needs some special attention and care, it's not teflon.
Today was the big day so I first bought the Barkeepers Friend cleaner (as many stainless users advised) just in case. Came home and washed the big pan with a sponge and dish soap, dried it out with a paper towel and put that well built and a bit heavy beauty on the electric burner.
I threw some olive oil and some butter in it (stainless is not teflon, food stick to it) and let it heat up in medium while I was seasoning some fresh salmon. But I got distracted (one thing I knew I couldn't do) and the oil + butter started to burn a bit and some dark stains started to appear on the bottom of the pan. "I just ruined it" - I said to my stainless inexperienced self. That pan was very hot and felt like it was in high heat!!! Terrorized I lowered the heat and threw my salmon in and cooked it. I loved the way it cooked! Very even and medium heat was all I needed! Loved it! The salmon even looked more beautiful! But was still worried about the stains.
I remembered the advices I read, so after serving, I quickly boiled some water in it (it was still not washed) and using a Nylon (plastic) spoon I started to softly scratch the stains off. It took me some 10 minutes to get rid of the darkest ones. Then washed the pan with dish soap, sponge and warm water. Rinsed it. Some light stains were still visible so I brought in the Barkeepers cleaner into play and buffed the pan with a paper towel for 1 minute. Rinsed and dried, it looked phenomenal again! Whehew!
A lot of work? Don't get distracted until you learn how it cooks and enjoy your stainless cookware for years!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missoula, Montana
Date:September 19, 2011

Amazing Deal

Pros: set includes all common sizes
"We had been looking at replacing our cookware for some time so we knew what we wanted. This set is clearly a knockoff of the $1,500 copper core set by All Clad but it is NOT a cheap replica. Fit and finish is flawless, the pots do an excellent job of spreading the heat on a gas range and cooks very evenly.
Highly Recommended!
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kalispell, MT
Date:October 18, 2012

So far so good!

Pros: great price picked them up for one sixty nine!, heavy duty construction!, they look so purdy!
Cons: really wish they came with glass lids... =(
Model Number: Kirkland Signature 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
"Just picked up this set of cookware last night, before this morning I have never cooked in a SS pan - only cast iron & non-stick.
First up - Eggs! Following the recommendations in other reviews here, I lowered the temp from what I would normally cook eggs at, waited for the pan to get hot and gave it a spritz of pam. Dropped in 2 eggs and covered them for a couple min, gave the pan a shake back & forth when the bottom had set up and they slid around as if it were non-stick, flipped em' and then slid them onto a plate, no sticking AT ALL.
Next up - scrambled!
Heated the pan, spritzed with pam and dropped in 3 beaten eggs, allowed them to start setting up and then began stirring, no sticking whatsoever!
Clean up - Hot water and a nylon scrubber brush easily removed anything that had clung to the inside of the pan.
My best guess - folks that are having problems with stuff sticking are prolly cooking at too high heat and possibly afraid to use a little bit of oil (gasp!).
I'm looking forward to trying out the rest of the cookware! I think it's gonna work out great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Texas
Date:December 13, 2011

HIGHEST QUALITY

Model Number: Kirkland Signature
"I am so pleased with the pots & pans that I've bought 2 sets. (One for my daughter.) They COOK FASTER with NO HOT SPOTS, because of the THICK COPPER sandwiched between stainless steel. The HANDLE ATTACHMENT goes all the way through the pan... not spot welded. That's an important safety issue. The pan's FLARED LIP helps in carrying,"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Penngrove, CA
Date:September 22, 2011

Best cookware

"I had been contemplating purchasing a set of All Clad cookware with the copper core for $1500...then I saw this set at my Costco and was very impressed with the quality so I bought it...best decision ever! It cooks evenly,easy to clean...I am so glad I saved $1300. I have used this cookware daily for over 2 years and have no complaints."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:January 3, 2012

In love with this cookware!

"We had been searching for a good stainless steel cookware set. We researched for MANY weeks and had come to the conclusion that we were really going to have to invest some serious money into a great set. THEN, I got my Costco email and there it was...with ALL 5 STAR REVIEWS. And a savings of $1300 to the other set we were looking at. My confirmation came when a good friend of ours (who is also a restaurant owner) saw this set as I was unpacking it and was so impressed that it was NSF certified...and he couldn't believe the quality! We have had the set for 3 weeks now and I cook all the time. I read up on how to use stainless cookware correctly and purchased Bar Keeper's Friend and it is just as shiny as it was when I took it out of the box. Just went yesterday to purchase another set for my parents as a gift! LOVE IT!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 27, 2012

Top Value In Cookware

Pros: beautiful design., easy to clean., includes the most used cookware pieces., outstanding costco warranty., equal in quality to more expensive cookware sets.
Cons: wish it had a 12-inch skillet.
Model Number: 559728
"This is the second version of this cookware we've owned and we like this set even better than the first one.
The new design is beautiful to look at--makes it harder to actually want to use it for cooking. We also like the fact that the old bowl has been replaced by 4-quart covered saucepot.
The people who complain about the set being hard to clean don't know anything about stainless steel cookware. We heated up some really sticky stuff in a saucepan and while it wouldn't come off with just a sponge, all I needed to do was use a plastic scraper with warm water and then finish up with a soapy sponge. The saucepan came out looking like new.
As far as food sticking to a stainless steel skillet, any good cook knows that you have to heat it up first BEFORE putting food in; also helps to spray some cooking spray on the surface first. I fried an egg on the 10-inch skillet yesterday and it was like using non-stick cookware. A benefit of the five-ply base is that you can cook on lower temperatures with the same result. Lower cooking temps means the cookware will last even longer. The cookware can also be used inside the oven.
Kirkland has consistently been the best deal in cookware. My wife and I love this new set. No reason to buy more expensive sets when the Kirkland is the equal of any of them."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockbridge, Ga.
Date:September 28, 2012

Excellent set of cookware

Pros: excellent value
Cons: none whatsoever
"It is a shame that people buy this cookware and have no idea how to use it or care for it and give it a bad review. The quality of this cookware is outstanding, but stainless steel is not a nonstick product. Most of the problems are a result of turning up the heat to high. This cookware does not need to be used on high heat setting because of the way it is constructed it cooks very evenly at a much lower setting. Before I use the cookware for browning or searing I spray the inside surface with a non stick spray(PAM) and when I am finished I let the pan soak for 15 minutes (let it cool down) and most anything that was stuck to it comes off very easily. I have never had a problem with food sticking or a problem cleaning. If the outside surface gets any discoloration use Barkeeper's Stainless steel cleaner or good old BonAmi works fine. If you love to cook you gotta work at it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:August 28, 2012

I'm a lover not a fighter

Cons: headache
"I gave it a fair shot, that's for sure. Had this set for 6 months. Got tired of how precise I had to be in order for food not to stick or burn. If it does either, you're in for a world of hurt when it comes to cleanup. I found that I was always soaking, scouring (with Barkeepers), soaking again. The problem seems to be the uneven heat distribution due to the multi-layer not extending up the sides of the pan. This is common with most SS sets in this price range. After doing a TON of research, I found Cuisinart set MCP-12 for about $100 more, but performs amazingly...cooking AND cleanup. Read reviews for this set online. It is compared with All-Clad, which is WAY more $$$. I wish Costco could make a quality set like this available!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:November 5, 2011

Simply Awesome

Pros: handles feel great, cleans easy, cooks great
Cons: want more pieces
"I have wanted All-Clad d5 for sometime. Costco started carrying a set, and I was impressed with the price, but didn't like the handles. Sitting next to it at my Costco was the Kirkland Signature set. At less than 1/2 the price with more pieces, I went with the Kirkland set and haven't looked back. I love the way it cooks and cleans. Now let's hope for some extra pieces to come available to expand the set!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:November 19, 2012

The best deal out there by a mile

"I came to the realization that our expensive set of non-stick pans weren't making the food taste as good as they should have. Chemical non-stick coating results in chemicals on your food, and that is unarguable. The other problem is it tends to rubberize meat and eggs, and sometimes gives an odd taste to meals because it's a reactive set of pans. I decided that price would be no object, and I would invest in a new set of stainless pans, and did my research regarding what makes one stainless steel set better than another. It came down to 3 basic criterea: #1. 18/10 steel only. #2. At minimum, must be 3 ply, but ideally 5 or 7 ply, as the paper thin stainless is garbage that heats unevenly and loses shape which adds to the uneven heating problem. #3. Must have that heavy and durable feel to it.
I was looking at All-Clad, Viking, and Saladmaster which all meet that criteria, and I decided to go to Costco just to see if they had some big brand stainless cookware for a better price, and their world-beating return policy. All they had was cuisinart and Kirkland brand. At first I chuckled with Kirkland, but looked at the specs... 18/10 steel, 5 ply, copper ring, and it was actually nice looking, and sturdy. All for under $200 when the other brands were going to cost well over $600 for less pieces. I bought the Kirkland Brand, and actually take pride in hanging them in my potrack in my kitchen now, because I felt like I stole them. They cook the food so evenly, and everything comes out moist. Scrambled eggs are the best ever. The handles are strong and separately bolted on so with the exception of the pot for boiling water, I can always grab the handles directly with no mitt and feel no heat. They are easy to wash. Sometimes they get a cloudy look from cooking starchy foods, but a squirt of barkeepers friend puts them right back to new again. The best advice I can give is to buy these, and the 2nd best advice would be to keep the heat lower than in the past, you don't need extra heat with stainless, in fact it could damage the finish on the pans and burn the food to do so. The manual claims this is dishwasher safe even though the website doesn't. I won't put them in the dishwasher, it's too easy to use soap and a nylon brush to clean them, with the exception of Egg Beaters. I will never use those again in this pan. regular eggs, fine."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:May 13, 2012

Excellent Set

Pros: affordable, no teflon, easy to use/clean, use any utensils, stainless steel
Cons: messy cleanup
"This set of pots and pans is excellent. I have seen minor discoloration but they are easy to clean and held up very well. I have had these for a few months, and granted do not use most of the set, but the medium pot and skillet get used literally every day by my roommate and I and they have done well.
I originally received one of the less expensive teflon coated ones as a housewarming gift, but wanted Stainless Steel so that I could scrape all I wanted with metal and not eat teflon coating. Well worth the upgrade.
I have one, just one, complaint. The weird lip at the top (it like comes up and then curves over) looks nice, maybe its for a seal or something... But it makes it a little more difficult to clean. Only because this lip can result in water splashing all over. But once you know how to clean around its not a big deal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fall Creek, OR
Date:November 8, 2012

Kirkland S.S. cooking set

Cons: none
"I bought this set years ago when it included 15 pieces for $199. Liked it so well I bought 2 for wedding gifts for nephews. They love, love them. Noticed that they lowered price and also went to 13 piece sets and decided to get some more for my three grandkids (who are teens) to save for them when they set up households someday. So have these 3 sets just waiting. These clean up easy. Use S.S. cleaner on copper bottoms and they clean up bright and shiny. Food does not stick if you cook on lower temps and you don't need to cook on high as these pans distribute heat evenly and quickly. I bought a total of six sets. Good value, best quality."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delray Beach, Florida
Date:June 11, 2012

Best of the best!!!!

Pros: fantastic set
Cons: none at all
"The best cookware we have ever, and I mean ever, purchased. I love it! Not only is it a beautiful and professional looking set, but it cooks beautifully. It cleans great and believe me, we use it everyday because my husband and I love to cook....We are so glad we made this purchase. It is a set that will last forever because it is so well constructed."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 13, 2012

The Best Cookware!

Pros: heats evenly, easy to clean, affordable, beautifully made
Cons: none
"I bought this set at my local Costco store a year ago. It is my first set of stainless steel cookware. I did a lot of research before buying since the cooking method differs from non-stick. I absolutely love love love this set. It's actually easier to cook with compared to my previous set of non-stick cookware because of even heat distribution. Étouffée, red beans and rice, sauces, searing halibut steaks on the stove and straight to the oven to finish cooking. Everything comes out beautifully. I've never burned anything but soaking the pan gets the leftover bits out. Barkeeper's Friend keeps it looking like the day I took them out of the box."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverside CA
Date:December 18, 2011

Fantastic

"I looked at the Emeril set and this was very compatible and I got 3 more pieces for less money. They are a heavy bottom pan (which help reduce burning and heats evenly) and they clean up very easily."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>