Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco wholesale for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Kirkland Signature™ products are designed and produced with only the finest quality materials and workmanship available. We are confident that you will appreciate the high level of value and excellence that have become the benchmark for all Kirkland Signature™ products. Features: Professional quality: Constructed of 18/10 stainless steel, the copper-bonded 5-ply base is manufactured to allow even and efficient transfer of heat. Each pot and pan provides perfect cooking performance every time. 18/10 stainless steel lids: Heavy-gauge lids fit precisely for heat and nutrient retention. The snug fit promotes self-basting. 18/10 stainless steel handles: Handcrafted and hand-polished hollow cast handles are ergonomically designed to assist in natural wrist position and comfort. Handles are securely riveted for long life. Induction suitable: Magnetic stainless steel cap on 5-ply base allows cookware to be used on induction cooktops, as well as all other cooktops including ceramic glass. 5-ply base: Pans are manufactured with a 5-ply base construction consisting of two layers of stainless steel, two layers of aluminum and a copper core. The impact-bonded, encapsulated base enables pans to reach and maintain desired cooking temperature quickly and evenly, allowing heat settings to be reduced. NSF Certified Not recommended for dishwasher use   Set Includes: 8-quart Covered Stockpot 4-quart Covered Saucepot 3-quart Covered Saucepan Multi-Steamer Insert (fits both 4-quart Saucepot and 3-quart Saucepan) 1.5-quart Covered Saucepan 3.5-quart Covered Sauté Pan 8.75-inch Skillet 10.25-inch Skillet Model: 559728
Average Customer Rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
(out of 49 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
42 of 49(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:IND, IN
Date:January 1, 2013

Super Value

Pros: even heat ease of cleaning attractive
Cons: hard water leaves water spots - just wipe them aft
Model Number: 559728
"I've cooked for years on everything from gourmet cookware to cast iron with varying degrees of satisfaction. These Kirkland pots / pans passed on all accounts. Love to cook in them and am thrilled on how easy it is to clean them. Aesthetically pleasing too; I have them hanging from a pot rack in my kitchen and even after a goodly amount of use, the outside sparkles. I goofed yesterday after I made French toast by putting the empty pan back on the burner that I had inadvertently failed to turn off.. I came back to a black mess later and started planning how I could replace the large skillet – but – for good measures still soaked the pan. Lo and behold, the pan cleaned beautifully. I especially like the weight of the pans – and my grown kids who all cook were impressed when they used them over the holiday. As another reviewer said: read the instructions and follow them!"
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Alabama
Date:December 25, 2012

Love this cookware

Pros: well constructed and looks nice
Cons: none
Model Number: 18-10 stainless 13 piece cookware set
"I followed the directions that were in the box. Very little food sticking.Easy to clean with very little effort. Well pleased with the cookware. Looks almost like All-Clad cookware at a fraction of the cost. I would buy this cookware again"
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Overland Park, KS
Date:December 11, 2012

So far so good

Pros: stylish functional and well priced
Cons: none
"I have to admit I was a little hesitant when purchaseing this set as some of the reviews suggested an issue with food sticking and difficulty with cleaning. I did a little more research on how to use this product and followed the suggestions on line. Pre-heat pan then add cooking spray turn down heat to medium. In my cases I sautéed ground beef and onions and happy to report there was almost zero sticking and clean up couldn't have been easier. Very satisfying purchase and the low price point makes this a no brainier."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Rafael, CA
Date:December 2, 2012

Great Looking Pots, But Too Heavy

Pros: good quality stainless steel, comfortable handles, beautiful design
Cons: very heavy and awkward to lift and manipulate.
Model Number: 559728
"I purchased these pots online and the arrived in good condition and they are beautiful; they appear to be good quality and the handles were large and round enough to be very comfortable. Although I did not try them out, it appears that the rough interior finish would make them hard to clean. They are so heavy that they would be very hard for me to use and I had to return them to Costco for this reason."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 27, 2012

Top Value In Cookware

Pros: beautiful design., easy to clean., includes the most used cookware pieces., outstanding costco warranty., equal in quality to more expensive cookware sets.
Cons: wish it had a 12-inch skillet.
Model Number: 559728
"This is the second version of this cookware we've owned and we like this set even better than the first one.
The new design is beautiful to look at--makes it harder to actually want to use it for cooking. We also like the fact that the old bowl has been replaced by 4-quart covered saucepot.
The people who complain about the set being hard to clean don't know anything about stainless steel cookware. We heated up some really sticky stuff in a saucepan and while it wouldn't come off with just a sponge, all I needed to do was use a plastic scraper with warm water and then finish up with a soapy sponge. The saucepan came out looking like new.
As far as food sticking to a stainless steel skillet, any good cook knows that you have to heat it up first BEFORE putting food in; also helps to spray some cooking spray on the surface first. I fried an egg on the 10-inch skillet yesterday and it was like using non-stick cookware. A benefit of the five-ply base is that you can cook on lower temperatures with the same result. Lower cooking temps means the cookware will last even longer. The cookware can also be used inside the oven.
Kirkland has consistently been the best deal in cookware. My wife and I love this new set. No reason to buy more expensive sets when the Kirkland is the equal of any of them."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:El Paso, TX
Date:November 24, 2012

Great Deal

Pros: even heat distribution doesn't stick, no glass lids nice design
Cons: might be too heavy for people with arthritis.
Model Number: Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
"I purchased this set three months ago. When I first got it, I wasn't sure if I wanted to keep it because the pots and pans are considerably heavier than my old stainless steel set. Since Costo has a great return policy, I decided to use the set a couple of days to see if I was going to like it. When I cooked the first meal, I noticed right away a few good differences from my old pans. The food cooked evenly, didn't stick, and it tasted better. Three months later, I am still getting the same results. I also love the fact that the lids are not glass.
Recommendation for those having problems with food sticking to their pans: First, put the cooking oil in the pan. Let the oil get hot and then add the food. This will eliminate the need to cook with too much oil."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:November 19, 2012

The best deal out there by a mile

"I came to the realization that our expensive set of non-stick pans weren't making the food taste as good as they should have. Chemical non-stick coating results in chemicals on your food, and that is unarguable. The other problem is it tends to rubberize meat and eggs, and sometimes gives an odd taste to meals because it's a reactive set of pans. I decided that price would be no object, and I would invest in a new set of stainless pans, and did my research regarding what makes one stainless steel set better than another. It came down to 3 basic criterea: #1. 18/10 steel only. #2. At minimum, must be 3 ply, but ideally 5 or 7 ply, as the paper thin stainless is garbage that heats unevenly and loses shape which adds to the uneven heating problem. #3. Must have that heavy and durable feel to it.
I was looking at All-Clad, Viking, and Saladmaster which all meet that criteria, and I decided to go to Costco just to see if they had some big brand stainless cookware for a better price, and their world-beating return policy. All they had was cuisinart and Kirkland brand. At first I chuckled with Kirkland, but looked at the specs... 18/10 steel, 5 ply, copper ring, and it was actually nice looking, and sturdy. All for under $200 when the other brands were going to cost well over $600 for less pieces. I bought the Kirkland Brand, and actually take pride in hanging them in my potrack in my kitchen now, because I felt like I stole them. They cook the food so evenly, and everything comes out moist. Scrambled eggs are the best ever. The handles are strong and separately bolted on so with the exception of the pot for boiling water, I can always grab the handles directly with no mitt and feel no heat. They are easy to wash. Sometimes they get a cloudy look from cooking starchy foods, but a squirt of barkeepers friend puts them right back to new again. The best advice I can give is to buy these, and the 2nd best advice would be to keep the heat lower than in the past, you don't need extra heat with stainless, in fact it could damage the finish on the pans and burn the food to do so. The manual claims this is dishwasher safe even though the website doesn't. I won't put them in the dishwasher, it's too easy to use soap and a nylon brush to clean them, with the exception of Egg Beaters. I will never use those again in this pan. regular eggs, fine."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle wa
Date:November 17, 2012

Nice but sticks

Pros: top of the line look
Cons: needs lots of oil
"I bought this pot set to replace my 10 yr old circulon. I loved the look and the fact that it was 18/10 ss, with multi clad. When I started using these pots I noted food stuck to the pots. I thought I was doing something wrong. I followed directions online but that did not help. I was very disappointed the poor performance of these pots. Iwill be returning these pots."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Yelm, Wa
Date:November 13, 2012

Hate it!

Pros: nice to look at when you first get them
Cons: everything sticks!, have to wash them more than once!
"We bought this set a few weeks ago and I was very excited to get it home and start cooking with it. Everything I tried to cook stuck to the pans. Didn't matter what the temp was or if I used Pam, butter, or oil! And forget about cooking eggs or even fried potatoes! Even when I boiled noodles and nothing stuck to the bottom, I had to wash the pot twice because you could see where the noodles had sat at the bottom of the pan, Once with regular dish soap and again with bar keepers friend. I am returning this set and will get another one from some place else. Very disappointed! I have always loved their products."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fall Creek, OR
Date:November 8, 2012

Kirkland S.S. cooking set

Cons: none
"I bought this set years ago when it included 15 pieces for $199. Liked it so well I bought 2 for wedding gifts for nephews. They love, love them. Noticed that they lowered price and also went to 13 piece sets and decided to get some more for my three grandkids (who are teens) to save for them when they set up households someday. So have these 3 sets just waiting. These clean up easy. Use S.S. cleaner on copper bottoms and they clean up bright and shiny. Food does not stick if you cook on lower temps and you don't need to cook on high as these pans distribute heat evenly and quickly. I bought a total of six sets. Good value, best quality."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2012

Great Product

Pros: great quality, durable
Cons: glass lids would be nice
"We've had these pans for at least 4 or 5 years. They've held up beautifully. I don't have any trouble with food sticking, just soak them after use. They're not warped or worn in any way and look almost new."
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redding CA
Date:October 23, 2012

best value

Pros: value
Cons: none yet
"I've had this set about 2 weeks and have used it several times per day. I LOVE IT!!!
I have an all clad 18/10 stainless satue pan and I like theese better. If you season the pans your eggs don't stick.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kalispell, MT
Date:October 18, 2012

So far so good!

Pros: great price picked them up for one sixty nine!, heavy duty construction!, they look so purdy!
Cons: really wish they came with glass lids... =(
Model Number: Kirkland Signature 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
"Just picked up this set of cookware last night, before this morning I have never cooked in a SS pan - only cast iron & non-stick.
First up - Eggs! Following the recommendations in other reviews here, I lowered the temp from what I would normally cook eggs at, waited for the pan to get hot and gave it a spritz of pam. Dropped in 2 eggs and covered them for a couple min, gave the pan a shake back & forth when the bottom had set up and they slid around as if it were non-stick, flipped em' and then slid them onto a plate, no sticking AT ALL.
Next up - scrambled!
Heated the pan, spritzed with pam and dropped in 3 beaten eggs, allowed them to start setting up and then began stirring, no sticking whatsoever!
Clean up - Hot water and a nylon scrubber brush easily removed anything that had clung to the inside of the pan.
My best guess - folks that are having problems with stuff sticking are prolly cooking at too high heat and possibly afraid to use a little bit of oil (gasp!).
I'm looking forward to trying out the rest of the cookware! I think it's gonna work out great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2012

Good Value Cookware

"I bought the 5 Quart Covered Casserole item from one of the warehouse's. For the price it's an excellent piece of cookware. Anyone who has problems with sticking or burning may not be using it properly. You always want to heat the pan then add the oil. Also, it you do turn the heat up so that the flame goes over the sides of the pan, then the sides will burn. It's not necessary to turn the heat up that high, but you can get your heat nice and high for a good saute without burning. I get very even cooking with 5-ply base. I also love the shape of this paricular piece, it's halfway been a pot and a saute pan."
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockbridge, Ga.
Date:September 28, 2012

Excellent set of cookware

Pros: excellent value
Cons: none whatsoever
"It is a shame that people buy this cookware and have no idea how to use it or care for it and give it a bad review. The quality of this cookware is outstanding, but stainless steel is not a nonstick product. Most of the problems are a result of turning up the heat to high. This cookware does not need to be used on high heat setting because of the way it is constructed it cooks very evenly at a much lower setting. Before I use the cookware for browning or searing I spray the inside surface with a non stick spray(PAM) and when I am finished I let the pan soak for 15 minutes (let it cool down) and most anything that was stuck to it comes off very easily. I have never had a problem with food sticking or a problem cleaning. If the outside surface gets any discoloration use Barkeeper's Stainless steel cleaner or good old BonAmi works fine. If you love to cook you gotta work at it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2012

Worst cookware set

"This set looks nice, but all food sticks to pans. I tried to like the set since it looks amazing , but I can't cook anything in it. I am surprised Costco had such a poor quality product!"
1 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 13, 2012

The Best Cookware!

Pros: heats evenly, easy to clean, affordable, beautifully made
Cons: none
"I bought this set at my local Costco store a year ago. It is my first set of stainless steel cookware. I did a lot of research before buying since the cooking method differs from non-stick. I absolutely love love love this set. It's actually easier to cook with compared to my previous set of non-stick cookware because of even heat distribution. Étouffée, red beans and rice, sauces, searing halibut steaks on the stove and straight to the oven to finish cooking. Everything comes out beautifully. I've never burned anything but soaking the pan gets the leftover bits out. Barkeeper's Friend keeps it looking like the day I took them out of the box."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Avon, OH
Date:September 12, 2012

Had to return it

Pros: look nice, inexpensive
Cons: food sticks
"I tried to like these, but ended up avoiding using them. Everything stuck to them and burned. Never had this happen with previous all-clad set, which I ruined with too abrasive of a scrub pad. Will be buying a new all-clad set."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2012

Key is knowing how to cook in these pans

Pros: great value, high quality
Cons: not for newbies
"I have yet to figure out how to properly cook in these pans. I tried cooking eggs several times and forget about it. The eggs burnt to the pan. I thought I had ruined my brand new pans. However, after some research I found a cleaning product that removes burnt food from stainless steel. This is a complete pain though because after using the product it's necessary to re-wash it do to the ingredients which are harmful if swallowed. If anyone can provide me with instructions on how to properly cook in these pans, I would highly appreciate it. The copper that wraps around the bottom sides and underneath the pan became spotted and discolored. I'm not sure if there is a way to prevent this? This has happened on all of my pans, including those I've had success cooking in. These are the cons. Now for the pros. Great value as with the majority of Kirkland Signature products. The pans have a nice weight to them and feel of high quality. They feel like they could last a life time. Brand new they are sharp-looking pans. Stainless steel is considered one of the safest types of cookware for those that are health conscious. Unfortunately, it's required to give an overall rating in order to post a review. If I gain the knowledge to cook properly in these pans, if it is truly my cooking skills, then I would give these pans five stars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ 18/10 Stainless Steel 13-piece Cookware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:August 28, 2012

I'm a lover not a fighter

Cons: headache
"I gave it a fair shot, that's for sure. Had this set for 6 months. Got tired of how precise I had to be in order for food not to stick or burn. If it does either, you're in for a world of hurt when it comes to cleanup. I found that I was always soaking, scouring (with Barkeepers), soaking again. The problem seems to be the uneven heat distribution due to the multi-layer not extending up the sides of the pan. This is common with most SS sets in this price range. After doing a TON of research, I found Cuisinart set MCP-12 for about $100 more, but performs amazingly...cooking AND cleanup. Read reviews for this set online. It is compared with All-Clad, which is WAY more $$$. I wish Costco could make a quality set like this available!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>