Customer Reviews for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Highway Lane Assist Spoken Street Names RoadSide Assistance & AAA Tourbook
Average Customer Rating:
2.087 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
(out of 46 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
23
11 of 46(24%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Review 1 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington, TX
Date:November 28, 2011

The 7" Magellan GPS

Pros: easy use, clear voice and easy and correct directions, 7" size, life time maps upgrade, traffic alert
Cons: not wall charger, not carrying case
Model Number: Magellan RoadMate 9020T-LM
"Before I buy the device I do read many of reviews. Most from the users was not too happy. But I like the 7" size and also the lifetime maps upgrade and traffic alerts. All others was similar like my before GPS from DeLorme. I do just risk it and buy this.
Today I can tell that my shopping was a good deal. Easy use. Clear voice and easy and correct directions. Maps and traffic was upgraded easy (not quickly). This items is working perfect, exactly like manufacture advertisements say.
And from COSTCO a good price.
Only my suggestion: I will be like it if this device have include also carrying case and wall charger.
"
Review 2 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:November 27, 2011

not good.

Cons: it stops when it decided to
Model Number: Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
"I should have waited to see all those reviews before I purchased this item. I gave it to my husband and he returned it to me, he had same problem, it shuts itself off in the middle of driving, even it's still plugged in. I am thinking of returning it but couldn't find the box for it. However, we are happy with smaller ones, like 4" version. Sorry Costco, this one is not a good buy for me, I have to let other customers know."
Review 3 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:November 18, 2011

Shuts itself off!

"Our unit worked well (ie. as expected) for about 3 months. It then started complaining about being "low on battery" and started shutting itself off, even after being plugged in and presumably charging for hours. It rapidly became unusable and we were forced to return it to Costco."
Review 4 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:S/W IDaho
Date:November 5, 2011

Disappointing - Stay Away!

"Bought for the large screen size. Actually was too big to easily mount in my car. Limited functionality. Battery life was very poor. Had to have it connected to car power to be able to program. The final straw was when the touchscreen quit working. Very poor product - returned it for a Garmin which is way better functionally and easier to use."
Review 5 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:October 3, 2011

2 UNITS 2 DAYS

Pros: screen size
Cons: poor performer
Model Number: 9020T-LM
"KEEP LOOKING
1ST UNIT WORKED FOR 2 DAYS THEN WENT COMPLETELY DEAD, RETURNED TO COSTCO- HAD TO REBUY ONE NOT ON SALE - 2ND UNIT WAS PROGRAMED FOR MID WEST TOWN AND DIED THAT DAY. I WOULD NOT BUY FROM COSTCO.
LIKED THE 7 INCH SCREEN - MADE PUNCHING IN ADDRESS EASY. SKIP THIS MODEL AND THIS STORE.
"
Review 6 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Havre de Grace, MD
Date:October 2, 2011

horrible power cord for car

Model Number: Magellan Roadmate #9020LM (7" screen)
"I purchased this GPS first in July, to only have it stop working 2 weeks later. it had something to do w/the power cord that kept on falling out while driving and then it completely stopped working. I returned it for a new one to then have the same thing happen again. I don't understand why the cord to charge the GPS in the car would not stay in the GPS and why it then stopped working? I had purchased a charger for inside the home that you plug in and that works, so it can be charged, but not in the car. I emailed Magellan requesting a new car charger for the GPS but haven''t heard back from them. I've always had Magellan GPS's, but I'm really disappointed in this one. I hope that Magellan has the decency to give a new car charger for the GPS since it's been only 35 days since I had purchased this GPS."
Review 7 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, NJ
Date:August 25, 2011

Awesome GPS

Model Number: 9020T-LM
"I have been using a Tomtom One XL for the last 4 years or so and decided it was time for a new GPS. I chose the Magellan based primarily on its screen size. Plus the live traffic and lifetime maps helped the cause. I have used the unit twice so far and am very happy with it. It reroutes wrong turns very fast and the speech is quite clear. Comparing it against the Tomtom I like the Magellan better. If I could change some minor things with this Magellan they would be:
Make the screen a softer touch
Make all of the GPS info available for onscreen all the time (speed, distance remaining, time remaining, etc)
That's about it. If you want a GPS to just get from point A to point B this unit is awesome. If you want a GPS to also do bluetooth, MP3, etc. then you will be disappointed."
Review 8 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Modesto,CA
Date:August 24, 2011

Garbage

Cons: its garbage
Model Number: Magellan 9020T-LM
"Registering product online with the COntent Manager is tedious and time consuming, Then trying to update the maps is impossible. Several emails with Tech support, getting several different people all telling me the same thing which doesn't work. Still cant update. Unit tells me the longest way when i selected the shortest route, and POI are out of date and inaccurate. Cannot rely on this unit to get me to where i need to go, GOing to return to Costco, its sad that Costco can represent this company, I would drop Magellans products from their inventroy."
Review 9 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:White Plains, NY
Date:August 22, 2011

Maps outdated

Pros: aaa included
Cons: maps outdated; constantly tells you to turn around, wrong poi information
Model Number: 5120-LMTX
"After a just a weekend of use, I'm returning this Magellan today. It constantly tells you to turn around long after you have driven on a different route and even wants you to go back to your original starting point when you are near your new destination. Most important, it took me to three restaurants that simply weren't there and restaurants that actually were there didn't appear in the poi section. And two addresses were wrong or outdated. NOT AT ALL RELIABLE."
Review 10 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:August 21, 2011

No clue

Pros: big screen
Cons: maps inaccurate, routing not intuitive
"The "updated" maps are a joke -they have to give you lifetime updates because it will take that long to get it right.
My own neighborhood roads are wrong. I have dead-end roads that are shown as through road and the unit will actually route you that direction - road has been dead-end for more than 15 years so its not like a recent event. Roads built within the last 10 years do not appear on the maps. I have searched for 3 addresses and all 3 were wrong.
I contacted customer support and they emailed back requesting more information - when I replied I got a message that said my message was undeliverable."
Review 11 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:August 21, 2011

bought 2, had to return both for malfunction

Model Number: 9020T
"The first one worked fine for about 25 minutes until I made a stop. When I continued the trip the screen the screen froze at the stop location. It would not reprogram just came back to the same screen. The 2nd unit worked about 2 weeks but the street names were garbled and hard to understand. The spoken numbers were clear. Then on two separate days going to different destinations it took me to the wrong address several miles from the programmed address. I returned both to Costco."
Review 12 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 9, 2011

Where am I

Cons: price
"Magellan needs some serious help with their GPS devices. This thing was too expensive to fail so quickly. About 6-8 weeks into owning it the gps locked up and the device was useless."
Review 13 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:August 6, 2011

Clunky

Pros: large screen
Cons: megellan no longer has trip planner with optimize, window mount allows the gps to vibrate
Model Number: 9020T-LM
"The touch screen does not respond easily to touch, you have to press several time to get something to take.
The built in keyboard does not always react to key press and when you shift between numbers and letters not all the keys work.
Was given direction down Private roads twice in one week.
The lane assist goes away as you approach the area you need it most.
It is hot or miss wether it gives you exit numbers on major highways.
"
Review 14 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:July 21, 2011

Very disappointing

Pros: screen size
Cons: out-dated poi files, cannot use custom pois, poor traffic information, can not charge with usb, no a/c charger, micro sd card slot is non-functional, magellan's arrogant customer service
Model Number: Magellan Roadmate 9020T-LM
"This will be going back to Costco tomorrow ....... I'm very disappointed. It will not charge by USB as does my Magellan maestro 4040. The pre-loaded POIs are out dated and not accrate accurate. I did a search for RV parks in my area, which I already know how many and where they are but it only showed half of them. I did a second search for gas stations and it did not identify 2 stations that have been on the same corners for 30 years. The traffic feature is far from accurate. When I tapped the traffic icon, it came up with traffic problems from more than 50 miles away ..... in CANADA, I was in the parking lot at Costco in Burlington WA! The biggest disappointment of all is not being able to use my custom POIs from my Magellan Maestro 4040. Even though the 9020T-LM has a micro SD card slot, Magellan tech support told me it's non-functional and that the 9020T-LM does not support custom POIs. Now if they'd have put that information on the box, I would not have bought it in the first place."
Review 15 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2011

Get a Garmin

"I took this one back. Hard to use (not very sensitive on the touch screen). The larger screen is not any better than the smaller one and actually takes to much space. I got the Garmin to replace it and it is major cool, I am very impressed with it."
Review 16 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2011

Magellan 7" screen

"it was really big.......but.....the screen was hard to see in the sunlight. Also, the cord from the auto socket to the GPS during travel always came out when driving. It does not fit in securely."
Review 17 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:July 6, 2011

Not bad, but...

Model Number: 9020T-LM
"I agree with most of the reviewers here; both the pros and cons. The deal breaker for me was this model's inability to accept user POI files. There's a wealth of geo-referenced attractions available on the internet (e.g. forest service lookout towers, micro breweries, even Costco location, etc). Regrettably Magellan has chosen to disable this feature for this model. I returned this model and bought the Garmin 1490T."
Review 18 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NYC & Portland OR
Date:June 30, 2011

A problem

Model Number: 9020T-LM
"No MAC software upgrades and the display card touting it in the store did not say this. Got it today - going back tomorrow."
Review 19 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:June 29, 2011

Can't update with Mac Computer

Model Number: 9020T-LM
"Took it back without installing. Very unhappy with Magellan and Costco. Looked the product info over very carefully in the store. It said nothing about not supporting Mac. Magellan site didn't specify PC. Only after I download their software did I find out that it was PC only. Tech support said I should borrow someone's PC to update. Fat chance. THIS PRODUCT SHOULD BE CLEARLY MARKED "PC ONLY"."
Review 20 for Magellan 7" LCD Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2011

Boy is this big

"Wow, I was overwhelmed by the size of this GPS. Sounded good on paper but there was nowhere to mount it in my car. I am sure it was a good GPS but the physical size was just too much."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>