Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe

240 lbs., 20 Minute Fire Protection Safe w/Electronic Lock, 11.2 Cu. Ft.
Average Customer Rating:
4.404 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
44 of 47(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Review 1 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2011

Most Compact Fire Rated Gunsafe

Pros: compact, fireproof, well built
Cons: paint was thin in spots
"I've looked around quite a while to find a compact gun safe that was fire rated and this appears to alone in it's class. Overall the quality is quite good for the price. Several points that aren't apparent in the information online: * Although it is advertised as a Cannon safe, it is not branded Cannon. The brand is "Safari Safe Company" by Cannon. It does not have the same warrantee as the Cannon branded safes. * Not shown in the picture is a cylinder keylock override with two keys. Some may like this feature, others not. It is convenient but makes it a less secure safe. * You will need to bolt this safe down - because it has a small footprint it is also unstable. It is not a good idea to leave it freestanding. * The fire rating is for 20 minutes which is on the very low end for fire safes - just take this into consideration. * The washers used with the lag screws that attach the safe to the pallet are inadequate and should be replaced by decent heavy grade 5 or better washers when bolting to floor."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:July 26, 2011

Excellent purchase

Pros: small light (for a safe) and inexpensive
Cons: documentation on lock could be better.
"This is exactly what I wanted when I purchased it, an inexpensive, small safe. It is exactly as advertised, if anything the build quality is better than I expected. At 240lbs you don't >have< to hire professionals to move it upstairs (though, it is quite a chore). It even came with a small bottle of touch up paint and an external battery pack you can plug in to the electronic lock if the batteries inside the safe die. The only con I can give it is the documentation is a bit sparse on the electronic lock, but it is adequate."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2011

Just what I needed

"The inside door panel was not attached when it arrived and the wires to the lock mechanism became detached. Unbelievably they had live chat support on the cannon website that was able to go though how to fix it at Sat. night at 10pm.
We were able to get it into the basement with just two guys, although movers would have been easier. The directions were good enough to set the code, which is all you really CAN do.
All in all, an adequate safe for what I was looking for."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:August 29, 2011

Good product

Pros: great value
Cons: questionable lock
Model Number: 11.2 cf Safari Executive Gun Safe
"Safe was as advertised. Good price for a good safe. Safe is actually very good except the key lock. That may be better than I'm giving it credit for. It has a back-up/manual lock that requires a key. The lock requires a round key. Everything works fine but this type of lock was found to be very easy to pick. It was so easy to pick that lock makers for bicycles, motorcycles and others "recalled " them. Actually because they were so "pickable" they provided replacements of the locks for free or for about 10% of the original price. Since I am unaware of any later improvements, I believe these locks to still be very, very "pickable." Would have rather seen a 5 or 6 tumbler flat key type lock."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaver, PA
Date:August 5, 2011

Great entry-level fire-resistant safe

Pros: great price, well constructed, nice features
Model Number: S5521F
"We wanted a decent safe to secure a couple of long guns and a couple of pistols, and a fair amount of ammo. This safe certainly met that requirement, with a full-width upper shelf and a couple of adjustable half-width shelves. We're happy about the 20-minute fire resistance because we placed the safe on an outside wall in a brick garage. The 4 included lag bolts can be used in pre-drilled holes in the base of the safe to secure it to the floor. A bonus was that we were able to transfer all of our important permanent papers into the safe to protect them from fire. The quality is good the combination key is easy to set and change, and delivery is reasonably quick. If the batteries in the safe go dead, you can use one of the 2 override keys or plug an included battery pack into the door keypad to open the safe. Not for a big gun collection, but works well for a couple of long guns and a couple of handguns."
Review 6 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:August 5, 2011

Inexpensive piece of mind

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: thin metal
Model Number: S5521
"Let's face it, this is the least expensive safe like this on the market. Unless you spend $3,000 you really haven't secured your guns. A professional would be able to crack this thing in less than 2 minutes. I store the tools he would need to get into it 8 feet away in the garage anyhow. However, you're better off to buy the cheap safe than blow an additional $400 on something with a better fire rating.
This safe is good looking and quality is fair (it arrived dirty from the factory, otherwise I would say good quality). I also agree with the other commentor, there is now way that seal is going to keep 1,200deg out for 20 minutes.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2011

Good for certain needs

Pros: price
Cons: not big enough to store 18 guns as advertised
"It's an easy purchase and a good price delivered. However, there's no way it will hold 18 long guns as advertised. I was able to fit about 12 and they are banging into each other if I'm not careful. It will probably end up being used to store handguns, much better suited to that.
Also, it's pretty light, 240lbs so I was able to move it into the house by myself on a hand truck. But because it's so light someone could easily carry it off so be sure to bolt it to the floor.
Not a high security safe but a safe nonetheless."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:September 9, 2011

Cannon Safe ...Not Too Bad 4 the $$$

Pros: auxillary delocking mechanisms
Cons: rather short for long-barreled guns. the top shelf
"The safe arrived later than expected and I had trouble with the delivery company claiming missed delivery. It took two days to straighten that out. The safe was as advertized, secure, well-made and blemish free. The lock mechanism (electronic) had two features new to me: a keyed over-ride and an external auxillary battery back to activate the lock combo should the internal batteries fail. That's a nice and unexpected touch."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Ana CA
Date:August 17, 2011

opening instructions

Model Number: safari executive safe
"received safe today in good condition. Need to open to remove from pallet, but no instruction in manual for the electric lock. Fortunately key works- requires minimal movement. Battery compartment on inside door. Pop out circular plastic ring on inside door to expose program button. #123456# to unlock. Program new code by depressing program button and entering new code. Very simple, but info is not supplied with safe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, CA
Date:August 5, 2011

Just what I needed......

Model Number: Cannon Safe S5521F
"I was shopping around for nice mid-range gun safe at the right price, well I found it. It's moble enough to be moved around as needed but not so small and light so it can be taken, bolts to the ground and has a fail safe key if the batteries die in the lock. Very happy with my new gun safe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So California
Date:August 2, 2011

Safari Exective Safe

Pros: looks good, easy access
Cons: fire proof seal?
Model Number: Safari Exective Safe 11.2 cu ft.
"I’m wondering about the door seal when the door is locked there seems seem to be a lot of play in the door would this be a adequate fire seal? Workmanship is good safe shows well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seaford, NY
Date:August 9, 2011

Nice looking safe

"Safe was ordered and delivered in a little over 2 weeks. Delivery guys brought it inside and the safe was in perfect condition, works well and has a nice finish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:August 10, 2011

Good Value

"Delivery within 3 weeks, easy to install. Like the key over-ride feature."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:August 2, 2011

Terrible Product

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: very cheap
Model Number: Canon, Safari
"Upon receiving this safe all seemed great. The delivery driver called me on his way and I was able to meet him at my home so I was not away from work for the 4 hour window they give you. First inspection of the safe seemed fine. No damage. It did seem to be a little on the light side for a safe. I then started programming the lock code, and the handle that is used to open and close the safe seemed to be jammed. A little muscle and working it back and forth seemed to help. However the safe door would never lock. No combination is needed to open the door. Simply turn the handle and it opens. This is real aggrevating. Returning the safe and would not recommend to a friend. Would not consider this safe overall as a good buy. Seems more like a closet than a safe."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pennsylvania
Date:August 19, 2011

Excellent Value

Pros: high features at a value price
Cons: poor rating as a fire safe - theft deterent only
Model Number: S521
"I own several gun safes, ranging from low end to very high end. My high end safes required a rigging company to get them into my house.
I purchased this safe for a townhouse that I rent that is 140 miles from home. I often shoot at a local gun club there and it became a hassle trucking guns and ammo back and forth.
This safe was easy to move with an appliance dolly, yet is heavy enough that the average buglar won't haul it off. The security locks/bolts are substaintial and wouidn't be easily bypassed.
The price is the same as a low end safe, but the features are clearly mid-range. I highly reccomend this unit for a beginner, renter, or like me, another in a range of safes.
"
Review 16 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:August 3, 2011

Better than expected !!!

Pros: flexible storage, great looking finish, decent weight
Model Number: Safari by Cannon Safe
"For the price, it's a great deal. Will work as intended. Someone previous mentioned the fire seal being questionable as there is play in the door when closed, it's actually a seal that expands in the event of a fire ( high heat activated ). Great looking finish along with many storage options. If you are in the market for an entry level safe, look no further as this is priced just slightly higher than some metal gun cabinets that offer ZERO security. The delivery was performed by ESTES Trucking and was professional, on-time. KUDO's !!"
Review 17 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Johns Island, SC
Date:September 4, 2011

Great Value

Pros: a lot of safe for the money
Cons: fire rating is not as high as pricier safes
Model Number: 5521
"Bought the safe to store guns and personal documents. Worried may not be as solid as we would like but it is perfect for us. Went into the idea of a gun safe to "keep honest people honest". We have a farm and sometimes have someone stay at the house to sit animals. Were very uncomfortable leaving personal papers and guns around. This safe is heavy enough and easily anchored, secure in locking so we now feel much better about having someone stay."
Review 18 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2011

fair at best

Pros: price
Cons: quality
"the safe is what you pay for. it is not heavy duty by any means. the fire rating comes from gypsum lining the inside of sheet metal. i am not a safe cracker, but i think with a crow bar i could get in this safe in 5 minutes. Its simple, you get what you pay for. i give it 3 because the price matches the quality. If you want a very strong safe with exceptional fire rating, this is not the safe for you."
Review 19 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Manhattan Beach CA
Date:November 8, 2011
Model Number: Safari Executive Safe Item #575640
"Evidently this is a gun safe.....who knew????
I wanted it for my papers and coins, etc.
It was advertised as an Executive safe and showed shelves with papers etc (did show rifles too though) I didn't see anything that said it was mostly for guns.Not enough shelf space, strange smell. If you need a gun safe, this would be a good one. If for anything else, look elsewhere.
"
Review 20 for Cannon Safe Security Products Safari Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 26, 2011

Good & Safe Safe

"Safe arrived in perfect condition. I moved it to it's permanent location and it took about 5 minutes to set up. Works flawlessly so far. Fits in a closet perfectly. Plenty of room for for 5 rifles on one side. I don't know how you fit that many stocks in to fill it completely. Shelves are all covered in good fabric to protect anything laid inside."
1 2 3 next>>