Customer Reviews for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p BRAVIA® Sync™ Compatible LightSensor™ Technology 2nd Year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
13 of 19(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carson City, NV
Date:May 27, 2011

Excellent TV

Model Number: KDL-40BX421
"I returned a 40" Magnavox and bought this one. I have an 32" Sony in the bedroom, and am really happy with it. The set up is easy, and the sound and picture need hardly any adjustments.
HD programming is very impressive, especially spots. The Scene select makes the viewing experience better than seeing the game in person.
Buy the Sony and you will be satisfied."
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 13, 2011

Great Purchase

Pros: great screen imaging, quality feel
Cons: no complaints
Model Number: Sony 40-inch
"I got this to replace a Vizio 42-inch. I'm curious why Sony went with 40-inches when everyone is trending to 42, but I guess I won't miss the extra screen space.
I love this TV. The screen imaging is wonderful, even in 720p. Blu-Ray movies play great in 1080.
The sound is okay, but I wonder why Sony would have the speakers face down instead of forward toward the viewer? It might be an esthetics thing; the Vizio speakers faced forward, but added extra plastic around the screen, whereas the Sony is all screen with only a small amount of plastic frame all the way around. If one wants better sound there are options. I'm considering a sound bar, but not because of poor sound. It's just a "because it's there" thing.
If I have a negative, it's the lag between channels that I sometimes notice. Not all the time, but once in a while I'll flip to a channel and it seems to hang for a moment before showing the images.
Football preseason has arrived, and I have no complaint. The HDMI allows a vastly improved image over the screen you may see displayed in the store, so be sure to pick up an HDMI cable.
You'll love this screen for gaming. My son's PS3 is a blast on this TV."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:December 30, 2011

40" LCD Review

Pros: clear picture. price is reasonable
Cons: color could be better
"I bought this TV with slight hesitation because of the reviews saying colors were washed out and there was some wierd flickering across the screen. Well, sure enough when I took it out of the box, I had those problems. BUT, I didn't have my HD receiver hooked up yet. As soon as Dish installed my new receiver the problems went away. I have only had it a day since then but was wondering if those problems were all expericenced by people who didn't have HD service. The picture is fine and the screen is very clear. I am very happy with this purchase. The only reason it is 4*'s is I think the color could be a little richer. But for the price as a mid-level TV, I think it is pretty good."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:July 24, 2011

Excellent Value

Pros: good value, great picture quality, strong remote control
Cons: older model, weak audio
Model Number: KDL-40BX421
"I bought this TV over a month ago to replace a 36" CRT for a bedroom, and I couldn't be happier. The picture quality is outstanding with very true to life colors. I have mine mounted on the wall which was easy to install since it only weighs 30 lbs. The audio is a bit tinny sounding, but if you set the audio setting to standard and raise the bass and treble up, it helps. Most of the flat panel TV's I have heard sound this way because the speakers are very small. I understand that this is an older model of TV, and it is only 60 HZ and doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the newer TV's but I really did not care about that. It is 1080P which is full HD.
Overall, I don't see how anyone could go wrong with purchasing this TV, especially for the price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:October 3, 2011

Amazing Contrast, Black Levels

Pros: contrast, black levels
Cons: no apps
Model Number: BX421
"The BX421 (essentially the BX420 w/ an extra HDMI connection) is an amazing TV for the price, if you don't need internet connectivity.
The picture is crisp, with the 60hz handling motion reproduction extremely well, even in sports.
The set really shines in cinema viewing, with the black levels so good that one can notice small differences in dimly lit scenes.
The menus are simple and clean, and the set is sleek, without looking over conspicuous."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2011

Best Gift Ever

"got this as a Thank You gift....love it! It was very easy to set up and the picture is awesome. Coming from someone who is electronically challenged, the instructions were very easy to follow. My first Flat Screen and I love it!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 26, 2011

Great picture

Cons: little wobbly on provided stand
"I'm not a huge electronics person but this TV is a great deal for the brand/size/quality."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 23, 2011

An Excellent Product

"I expected a good picture. I got an excellent picture. What I did not expect was good sound. I got good sound. With my last flat screen (still own it) which is slightly larger, I had to purchase a sound system. That will not be needed with this product. Finally purchasing the T.V. on the internet was a breeze."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 1, 2011

On the Dark Side

Pros: crisp picture
Cons: dark overall picture quality, sound quality
Model Number: BX421
"I am a Sony guy and always try to buy Sony. I have a smaller Sony Bravura and the picture quality on it is just fine, but for some reason, the 40" model's picture is darker than most HDTV's. I've adjusted brightness, color, and many other options and it still looks too dark so I'll be returning it.
I thought it might just be a defective TV but then I went to a friend's house who has the same size and model Sony and his appeared on the dark side, too. Bummer."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2012

Excellent Sony HDTV!

Pros: accurate color, excellent contrast, solid black levels
Model Number: KDL40BX421
"As with all Sony HDTVs I've owned, this is another great TV. Accurate colors and exceptional contrast make for an excellent picture. I compared this TV against other popular brands--Panasonic, Vizio and Samsung, and I believe Sony offers the best performance and price. I highly recommend this TV, it's simply exceptional."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:November 27, 2011

Only worked three years

Model Number: Sony Brava 40" KDL-32L4000
"It was good as long as it lasted. But these expensive tv's are not worth buying Sony name. They do not live long enough. I would rather buy a cheaper brand and not be disappointed when the tv breaks. It has color strips and flackers. Just started doing that during a movie. Darn."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:August 29, 2011

a nice product

"As a techie klutz, I did not think I could set up this Sony (Bravia, 40"), and also add streaming video. But, no problem. The picture is lovely and the sound is ok. Also, the T V itself is light, so one person could do the whole setup job. It looks as though there are lots of places to add things."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 12, 2011

Amazing TV

"Amazing TV. Fabulous picture and sound. Love everything about it. The size is big for a small living room, but not too big. The colors are vivid and the picture sharp."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:September 28, 2011
Pros: none
Cons: total waste of money
Model Number: KDL-40S4100
"Ive had Sony BRAVIA KDL- 40S4100 since 2008. Did not work for more than three years! On the third year, vertical blurry lines started to appear on the left side and Sony did not care about that. That was only one purchase with Sony, and I am returning to Philips."
4 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Port Angeles, WA
Date:December 28, 2011

What A Lemon

Pros: worked great when we first bought it
Cons: picture quality only lasted 28 months
Model Number: KDL-46WL140
"After just 2 1/2 years, my 46" Sony Bravia HDtv has wavy, horizontal lines running thru the right half of the screen, and a black spot right in the center. After it has warmed up, (about 1 hour) it seems to snap out of it and a clear picture appears. I warn you to read up on Bravia before you buy. Works good for a few years then the picture quality goes south. My Mitsubishi TV was perfect for 12 years. I am so disappointed! Won't be spending alot on my next tv and it sure won't be a SONY!"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2011
"A good picture and easy set up, but one or both speakers has an annoying vibration. Thought we bought the very best when we got a Sony, but were wrong."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2011

Disappointed

"Picture is so so for analog. HD is okay.
This is third and worst sony tv so far."
2 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 18, 2011

Great TV

Pros: quality, price
Model Number: KDL 40BX421
"This is the second Sony I have purchased from Costco, now have two. My first is 46" and this is 40", the picture quality is as good as the 46". This is a great TV and I would highly recommend it. Simple set up, great color. Sound could be a bit better but does not take away from the overall value."
Review 19 for Sony BRAVIA® 40" Class 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:McMinnville, Oregon
Date:February 20, 2012

Very Happy with Purchase!

Pros: excellent picture
"This is our 2nd. Sony Television. We replaced our smaller one with this larger one. Excellent quality & color. We are so glad we purchased another Sony."