Customer Reviews for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS

Lifetime Traffic Updates Lifetime Map Updates Includes Case
Average Customer Rating:
2.618 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
(out of 68 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
28
27 of 68(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Review 1 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 23, 2012

TomTom Support = Fail

Pros: priced right
Cons: no product support
"Appeared to be a decent enough product for the money. Works fine out of the box except for the voice command item which has been useless from Day 1 unless you're parked with windows up, A/C off and hold the thing to your face.
But eventually you'll need to update the map and maybe update the software. Buckle up. Comes with a free lifetime map update but the web interface is an obstacle course. Updates should take about 5 minutes + download time per TomTom. 57 minutes and 3 attempts the one successful time I was able to use it.
A couple days ago we received emails with an urgent tone indicating a mandatory software update was needed to fix a GPS satellite acquisition problem on this and other models. A problem I didn't have but mandatory is mandatory, wot?
The update downloaded then bricked the device. After multiple restarts it tossed an error message: "Something's wrong!" That's it. Nothing more. Y'think?
After 2 restarts the device came back with a "No maps on your device" error. It had deleted the existing map. Great. Not only couldn't get the update but no I got no map at all. And this is better off than I was an hour ago when I thought nothing was wrong with it?
Not possible to download another map from the website without paying $49.95. Lifetime updates don't apply if there's no map on the device.
2 more restarts and it turned into a brick. No welcome screen, nothing. There's no hard reset button on it ... one has to get into the program to reset factory settings, which this one will not do.
Online support is useless. And I should spend a couple hours researching to fix a problem that didn't exist until they got their tentacles on it? Nah.
Worthless product and has taken an inordinate amount of my time to deal with it."
Review 2 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:April 13, 2012

I am returning this product

"Really don't like it that you cannot remove the device without removing the mount. Voice recognition is so-so. Several of the directions were not correct. We plan to return this to Costco."
Review 3 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

Very poor product

"While I am writting the review, the TomTom has been returned. Didn't want to make a big deal, but Costco.com asks for a review, so here it is.
We bought two Megarmingalle, but both of them got stuck somewhere at I-287 and couldn't get out there, no matter how did we change our location and turned them off, etc. We also have two Garmin. I like mine, but my wife didn't like hers, so we got this TomTom for a change. It is a very poor product.
The touch screen was not very sensitive. The unit response time to the touch command was very long. While you were using it, the signal got lost very frequently. The product was not designed use-friendly, and the interface was poorly designed and hard to use.
Thanks Costco for allowing me to have it returned. Costco really shouldn't have carried such a poor product. I don't want to buy it again and I don't want to recommend to anyone else, friend or not friend.
Honestly, I am a little surprise to find that TomTom was such a poor product. It has been on the Market for sometime. How is that possible it is so badly designed and survived for so long?"
Review 4 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 10, 2012

GREAT GPS

Model Number: VIA 1530TM 5"LCD
"This GPS is underrated: Excellent voice command with plenty of extras, you are able to set speed control warnings, easy access to POI's. All around this gps works fantastic. Have tried 3 different gps's this one is the best."
Review 5 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:April 10, 2012

Best GPS so far

Pros: excellent travel guide
Cons: clearer instructions would be helpful
Model Number: TomTom Via 1530TM
"After trying and testing numerous GPS systems, I find the TomTom VIA 1530TM reliable and superior for the following reasons:
-TM which stands for Lifetime traffic and maps makes this unit very affordable without having to renew yearly.
-Traffic light camera alerts are very effective and help in changing die hard habits of risking speeding at yellow lights
-Takes a little time to operate efficiently because of its numerous features, but works very well once figured out
-Once registered, TomTom sends alerts regarding updates for download
-Regardless of GPS, I always have an Atlas in the car, but generally feel confident that my TomTom will get us there.
"
Review 6 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:April 9, 2012

Useless! Save your money!

Pros: lifetime traffic & maps, easy to operate
Cons: can't get a gps signal, slow response
Model Number: TomTom VIA 1530TM
"We purchased this because it was a good price and it had lifetime traffic & maps. We've only used it a few times and are very disappointed. It freezes and takes FOREVER to get a GPS signal if you get one at all. We drove for 2 hours the other day and never got a signal. Weather was not a factor as there wasn't a cloud in the sky."
Review 7 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis
Date:April 9, 2012

Owned both the Garmin 3760 and the Via 1530

Pros: routing, re-routing if en route delay, numerous points of interest
Cons: takes 1 - 2 minutes to find satelites
Model Number: TomTom VIA 1530 TM
"We were happy with both VIA 530TMs until one unit was unable to access satellites. We returned it to Costco ready to buy another. but found it was no longer available in the store. We bought the Garmin 3760LMT which was available.
I used both side by side for several days, and have decided to return the Garmin and order the VIA from Costco's on line store. Here's how they stack up in my opinion.
Routing - Tom-Tom is better at finding shorter, quicker routes
Re-routing for traffic - we prefer the Tom-Tom interface to the Garmin. It is automatic and has a gets our attention with a voice
Posted speed drop - Garmin has a bell that gets our attention. Tom-Tom has no audible signal.
Points of interest - Tom-Tom has many more categories than Garmin. Also Tom Tom lets us put in a city which Garmin does not. Tom-Tom found points Garmin did not.
Voice commands - Garmin is amazing. TomTom is gimmicky, not that useful.
Auto-on - Last weekends TomTom software update added this feature, whereas Garmin always had it.
Map updates - Garmin took about an hour, TomTom took about 2
Screen visuals - Garmin is sharper
Screen info - TomTom can display current time, arrival time, miles to go, speed limite, current speed. Garmin can display current speed & speed limit, and one of arrival time or miles to go, or altitude, etc. We prefer having more info on screed.
Trip computer - Garmin has it, not sure about TomTom."
Review 8 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Truckee, CA
Date:April 6, 2012

Updating Software, customer support

Pros: none
Cons: poor customer service, poor quality assurance of software
Model Number: 1530tm
"A few days ago TomTom updated software and due to a bug in the third party supplied software, the unit would not capture satellites. They then issued a new fix and my TomTom froze. I have tried resets and contacted their customer service, but no help. The customer service wants me to jump through hoops with information about the purchase for a problem they caused."
Review 9 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ashburn, VA
Date:April 4, 2012

Returned after 1 month

Pros: suction cup mount, celebrity voices available
Cons: terrible text input, horrible text input, the worst ever text input, map update takes forever to download
Model Number: VIA 1530
"Aesthetically, this GPS is nice looking. However, I cannot express how frustrating I found the text input to be. While I can't comment on the voice input (because I never expect much from it anyway), the text input is terrible. Not that one should be programming a GPS while driving. But definitely don't even try it with the VIA. (Remember the Allstate commercial where 'Mayhem' pretends to be a GPS and the guy crashes?)
There were several issues with text input. It was s-l-o-w to recognize the input. If I typed to fast, it would substitute my input with the letter 'J'. This must have been a cruel developer joke. When it didn't substitute my input with 'J's it would simply not respond. One month of this was too much. The VIA has been returned and I'm on to my 2nd Garmin Nuvi. Love my Nuvi!"
Review 10 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South central Washington state
Date:April 2, 2012

Poor Updating

Pros: text input better than voice input
Cons: poor updating, voice input recognition poor
Model Number: TomTom 1350
"I bought one of these at the Costco store last July. We tried it locally to start with. The updating was non-existent. In one case, as an example, a major road had been renamed 20 years ago, but was in the TomTom database with the old name. In another case, the post office had been relocated 30 years ago, but TomTom didn't know it. Supposedly you could update. The updates never took. There were numerous cases of similar issues.
Voice recognition, while a neat feature, was extremely difficult to deal with. Text worked better
Fortunately, Costco took the unit back and I got a Garmin 1450LMT, which I am tremendously happy with...particularly the traffic feature with alternate routing.
In regard to the TomTom .. if you can't trust a GPS where you live, how can you expect to trust it when you are on a trip?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:March 26, 2012

Returned after the trip

"I bought this GPS before our Christmas trip. It worked for first couple of days. Then it always automatically reset to go home. We got lost of directions several times due to this automatically reset. Touch screen did not work well, did not response to what I touched most of time. Returned after the trip."
Review 12 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:March 26, 2012

Terrible

Cons: touchscreen
"I bought this and returned it the next day. Don't waste your time. The screen was extremely unresponsive, and the directions were hard to follow.
Spend a few more bucks and get the Garmin 3760LMT - its a dream!"
Review 13 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2011

Going back this week

Pros: none since it no longer works
Cons: silly interfaces, non-intuative, confusing software, see other reviews for more!
"Worked out of the box. But after connecting and downloading "updates", is is a brick."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:December 25, 2011

poor GPS

Model Number: Tom Tom Via 1530
"This GPS died after less than a month. Terrifble; don't waste your money."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, Ca
Date:December 17, 2011

Happy So Far! No Problems!

Pros: acquires satellites within 20 seconds or less, acquires my iphone 3gs even faster via bluetooth, shows speed limits on screen, voice recognition works fine, value
Cons: mixed feelings about the mounting system.
Model Number: Via 1530 TM
"Purchased this unit at the local Costco store.
Map and directions seem fine so far. I only had this unit for a short time so time will tell.
Have not used the website other than to check the status of the maps. Says mine is current.
I will reserve judgement on the 5th star if the website is a bust like so many other reviewers have mentioned."
Review 16 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2011

Lousey "free" map updates process

Pros: looks nice.
Cons: map update does not work, faulty software
Model Number: TomTom VIA 1530TM
"Software update does not work. Tried many times. If you like to watch little icons spinning around on your computer this might be for you!
But as others have said, the software is faulty, (TOMTOM acknowledges issues, but is not fixed) and you do NOT get what you pay for: Updates.
Wasted a LOT of tome finding this out. Save your time and do not buy one."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Germantown, TN
Date:December 6, 2011

Problematic GPS, Software problems

Pros: nice screen good maps
Cons: unfriendly user software
Model Number: VIA 1530TM
"I purchased a Via 1530TM at Costco less than two weeks ago. (I also own an earlier TomTom 335LM GPS without Bluetooth), The new one navigated OK but it would not install new maps nor would it Bluetooth pair with my Verizon cell phone. Newer TomTom GPS devices use MyTomTom software, which installs a driver, rather than using TomTom Home. All that went fine including registration and downloading updates and maps, but all attempts at installation after download failed with a message "There is Something Wrong with Your Navigation System. Contact TomTom Support", I did, but they were absolutely no help. I think they were using a prepared script. So, convinced it had an internal failure, I returned the unit for another, The second one would not allow me to register or update unless I created a new account. Apparently, My TomTom software allows only one GPS unit per e-mail address. I couldn't delete the first installation and couldn't proceed. Their software is cryptic. This is a ridiculous policy and I have no intention of establishing another account just to please TomTom.
I returned the second one and bought a more expensive Garmin 2460LMT which woks beautifully. The maps downloaded and installed and it instantly paired with my phone. It was well thought out and I am very well impressed with it and I would rate it at five stars. And guess what? I don't need to establish another account if I add another Garmin GPS device!
TomTom needs to get a better handle on their technology and software before rushing products to market."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern CA
Date:December 6, 2011

Awesome but...

Cons: lousy website where you have to update your device, tech support doesn't seem to know what to do
Model Number: TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
"I own a Magellian and this one. The TomTom is way better than the other. The traffic and maps are second to none, but you will have problems with their website. I purchased some extras on it, and for a week now, haven't been able to get the purchase on my device. Support has me doing all kinds of crazy things, all to no avail. Still working with them!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2011

Do not buy...

Model Number: TomTom VIA 1530TM
"Downloading the map update corrupted the unit. No map can be seen. The customer service was not helpful. Plan to return back to Costco after only one week."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" LCD Portable Automotive GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:December 4, 2011

Very Nice

"Good price.. As always Costco beats everyone's price. It's a very nice tool to have if you are not familiar to the area/city and with lifetime maps update, the voice recognition works well, even with foreign accent, TomTom VIA 1530TM 5" GPS have a lot of features the other GPS don't have. The attached folding mount is slick, no more where it is or did I left it in the other Vehicle, so easy to transfer from one vehicle to another. Don't forget to read the manual first, for all new purchased GPS, whether your a first time or already a GPS user, it helps..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>