Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe

585 lbs., 30-minute Fire Protection Safe w/ Electric Lock, 33 Cubic Ft.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
15 of 18(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Review 1 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:April 21, 2012

Best bang for your buck. period.

Pros: size, finish, electrical pass through, peace of mind
Cons: none
"a ridiculous deal. I am extremely pleased. I recommend to put some lighting in it as i did. I used 3 undercabinet florescent lights from the hardware store and hooked up a micro switch that turns the lights on when i open it and off when i close it. I also plan on doing some custom shelving to suite my needs.
THANK YOU COSTCO!"
Review 2 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Colchester Vt.
Date:April 9, 2012

Poor Customer Service/Rude

Model Number: SC-6040
"Purchased this safe in December from Costco. Placed a light inside of unit.You can see light out of unit with door closed. Call customer service twice now about this problem don't feel this safe could be fire proof if you can see light from a bulb around the door when closed. Called customer service only to tell me to call back in two hours run around ,called back only to be told to call back again in two hours.Have called now three times to customer service still no answer on this problem. The last time the service rep. told me after I stated ythis was a run around ,he told me the complain to the BBB. Great Company don't you think ??"
Review 3 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:February 14, 2012

Great Product!

Model Number: Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
"Couldn't beat the price after a $200 rebate with delivery included in the price! Found the same safe online ranging up to $1,200. Deliver guy dropped it off in the garage for me. Overall a great product and experience. My only feedback would be the quality of the interior which could be slightly better; however, it wasn't an issue for me."
Review 4 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 2, 2012

Great Safe For The Price

Pros: cheap safe that will store guns from the kids, cheap safe that will keep guns from theives
"This is a great safe.
Yes the interior is cheap. and the craftsmanship not 100% but then again its a cheap safe. You pay for what you get. and for 800 dollars I got a huge safe that others pay close to 2000 for. So for all the other people that rated it down since the interior is not the best or doesnt seal as good as they wanted. go buy a liberty. I called customer support since there was a scratch on the side of my safe from shippers ya it took them about 15 mins to get on the phone but they shipped out paint with out questioning anything. They also upgraded my safe to the 40XL from the SC6040 since they were out of stock on the 6040 so it is about 6 inches deeper and is rated for 64 guns not that it will hold that. And at 615 lbs I don't even bother bolting it down since it takes about 10 people to move I don't think thieves are going to be moving it that quick
"
Review 5 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2012

Do Not Buy This Safe

Pros: safe looks nice
Cons: extremely poor customer service, the electronic locks do not last, cannon does not back up defective products
"This is a two-year old safe, and it will cost me over $300 to get it open and have the lock changed. I bought my Cannon gun safe almost exactly two years ago. From the beginniing the electronic lock has been finicky, I could almost never open it on the first try. About three weeks ago the lock would not open at all. I called Cannon customer support and it took over 1/2 hour to get someone who could help. I was told to only use a Duracel battery with an expiration date of 2016 or later. Amazingly this actually worked, for about a week. Again I cannot get the safe open, and this time, after another 1/2 hour wait on hold, I was told they would send me a new lock, but labor is no longer under warranty, so I will have to hire a lock smith to change the lock. What's worse, since I can't get into the safe, it will cost an extra $200+ for the locksmith to drill out the lock before he can replace it. Apparently Cannon's so called life time warranty is not really life time. I don't feel I should have to spend $300 to $400 to fix a two-year old safe. I will not buy another Cannon product again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:January 12, 2012

Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe

Pros: price / warranty / quality
Cons: gun rack design / not addddjustable
Model Number: SC6040
"I received the safe in perfect condition, no bumps or bruises. Pre-wired was a plus. Wish lighting kit was an option. Easy to anchor to concrete floor This safe is very spacious and warranted very well. I would recommend this safe in its price range as excellent.""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2011

Make sure it unlocks before signing freight bil...

Model Number: SC6040
"10/11/11 - Just received my Cannon Safe (SC6040) and it would not unlock. The 9v battery had to be replaced for it to work.
The price makes this safe attractive, but Cannon needs better quality control..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 7, 2011

great value

Pros: lots of storage space
Cons: better interior materials
Model Number: Cannon Safe SC6040
"For the price, you really can't beat this safe and it's warranty. I also own a Fort Knox safe of similar size. The quality of the Fort Knox is a little better, but I also paid twice as much. The locking mechanism is much smoother on the Cannon. Overall this safe is a great buy."
Review 9 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Urbandale, Iowa, The Hawkeye State
Date:August 15, 2011

value for the price

Pros: easy to anchor to concrete comes pre-wired
Cons: particle board shelving alittle weak
Model Number: SC6040
"I received the safe in perfect condition, no bumps or bruises. Pre-wired was a plus. Wish lighting kit was an option. Easy to anchor to concrete floor with 3/8 anchors. I added an interior one cubic foot one hour rated safe for important papers and valuables. Guns fit into rows just fine. This safe is very spacious and warranted very well. I would recommend this safe in its price range as excellent."
Review 10 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Selma, CA
Date:August 3, 2011

Nice safe Interior design needs work

Pros: lots of room, easy to use electric lock, heavy
Cons: gun rack design
Model Number: Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
"Over all it's a nice safe. The interior configuration that was sent to me has 3 rows for firearms. the middle 12 firearm slots in the front row are unusable, because if you put something in them you can't close the safe door. The other thing is the rack that holds the gun barrel is a few inches high. I have some carbines that are to short to rest in the rack and are leaning against the back of the safe. I may have to put something on the safe floor to raise the carbine rifles up."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kalifornia Republic
Date:July 26, 2011

Satisfied with the purchase!

Pros: hidden hinges
Cons: not enough dead bolts
Model Number: Cannon Safe SC6040
"Over all for the price i paid and the product i received i am happy with quality of the work!
The safe meets all requirements as the place where i keep all my fireamrs away from kids and family , but not the intruders:))
Even if i paid a bigger buks for the thicker steel ( 6-8 gauge or less ) still would not be a big of the barrier for the thief with rotary diamonf disk to cut a window to get inside:))
"
Review 12 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thompson Falls Mt
Date:July 5, 2011

Cannon Safe SC6040

Pros: great wide boby safe
Cons: shelfs are thin
Model Number: SC 6040
"Great price,and a great Gun Safe. I didn't see any indication of were this safe was made. It was very clean. Shelves were a bit thin but work well. No rust and has a very good paint job. Lots of room in this safe."
Review 13 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:July 2, 2011

Good safe

Pros: price, storage space, cannon customer service, interior electric cat5e and usb outlets
Cons: interior finish
Model Number: SC6040 wide body
"Bought this safe for extra storage. Interior finishing quality is only fair, or I would have given it 5 stars. The delivery was within 5 weeks, and the driver put the safe in our garage. Cannon customer service is excellent. Overall I am quite pleased with this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:July 1, 2011

Pretty good

"Ordered on 6/3...delivered 6/30...Driver was nice and dropped into garage for me!
Safe arrived in perfect shape. No scratches, dents, or dings.
My door seals very well...no clank like the other reviewer said.
The shelves are upholstered in a very thin material. it is glued. Not the best, but seems to be on par with other safes I have looked at. I believe they should have used a heavier wood in making the shelves as well.
The safe was covered in metal shavings and sawdust.
My Ruger 10/22 Rifles barely, and I mean within 1/100, fit in the holder. My Ruger Mini 14 is 1/2 an inch longer and barely fits as well."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:June 29, 2011

cannon 48 gun safe

Pros: price
Cons: none
Model Number: SC6040
"I am overall very pleased with this purchase. It was about 4 weeks from the date of purchase to my garage as well, and the delivery driver even helped move it up the driveway and into place. The interior is large enough for us to put everything we need in it and still have room for all of my extra stuff. The dowels had broken off inside the placement holes for the vertical divider into the top shelf but I was able to go pick some up at the hardware store for 60 cents. Also some of the fabric covering one shelf had peeled back slightly but was able to re secure that with a dab of glue. Those two reasons are why it got a 4 out of 5, but quality is there as well as one heck of a warranty. Overall very happy with it."
Review 16 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:June 20, 2011

The price is the only good thing!

Pros: cheap price, lots of storage
Cons: very poor craftsmanship, gun holders too high in the safe, comes with rust at no extra cost, touch up paint will not match, cannon really does not care about your problems, poor door seal, made in mexico
Model Number: SC6040 Wide Body 48
"First this safe is made in Mexico (not happy about that). The safe arrived in good condition with only a few major scratches, I was missing parts from the inside of the safe. I though I would fix the scratches with the touch up paint.... haha it was not the same color not my safe looks bad.. great.
I called Cannon and that is the only touch-up paint they offer... nice right
The door seal is not good at all, when I type my combo the door clanks because the seal is not thick enough and it rocks back and forth.
The upholstery inside is very thin and glued very poorly. They only upholstered one side of the shelves so that looks bad as well. I had to do a very heavy cleaning in the safe as it was filled with metal shavings and sawdust.
The shelves are very flimsy and also too tall for the average .22 rifle so this will not work for any short rifles or shotguns.
Last but not least once I got this 600lb safe in my home, I realized the bottom has rust all around it??? Not acceptable, this safe will likely be returned to Costco.
If all you want is a safe that holds alot and locks this is for you, if you care anything about quality... DO NOT BUY THIS SAFE!!!"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Driftwood, Texas
Date:June 17, 2011

With a little work, this is a great safe

Pros: price, finish, operation, thru-wall electrical, capacity
Cons: shelves are thin particle board, center vertical divider is not anchored at bottom, felt tape was loose at delivery
Model Number: SC6040 Wide Body
"If you are looking for a great buy on a medium quality massive firearm safe, this is it. It is 500 lbs, so have a friend and a rolling work dolly handy if you want to move it around. The keypad style electric lock is handy, and the bolt action is smooth. The lock comes with batteries installed, but I recommend you replace them with fresh ones. The felt/velour tape that is used to line the gun-rack corrugations was loose on delivery, but adhered when pressed back into place. The shelves and dividers are made of 1/2" low density particle board with thin felt/velour glued onto just one face and an edge. They had to cut corners somewhere, I suppose. I plan to make some stiffer shelves since I use shelves on one side to store fairly heavy ammunition and pistols. The center divider is attached at the upper shelf, but is only stopped from moving side to side at the bottom when more shelves are installed to the left and right. This makes no sense when the safe is designed to store long guns. This divider can be knocked to one side or the other when getting out firearms. . A basic design flaw, but easily corrected with a couple L brackets added to the bottom. I'm also not crazy about the rubber gasket on the door (better gaskets use glass mesh similar to ovens), but it does seal tightly and must be able to meet the 1200 degree fire rating. With a bit of tuning up , this safe is easily equal in value to those costing 2 and 3 times as much."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cannon Safe SC6040 Wide Body 48 Firearm Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2011

Cannon SC6040

Model Number: SC 6040
"Very good response time on receiving this huge safe !! Almost 4 weeks to the date and delivered into my garage . Now for the safe Cannon does a nice on the building of this safe (beautiful, no flaws and craftsmanship all the way) A must buy at this price !! This safe is a big one"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.