Customer Reviews for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System

32 Linear Feet per Carton
Average Customer Rating:
3.121 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
12
19 of 33(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Review 1 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:July 21, 2012

Waste of time and money

"Pine needles got stuck, root system went through the product..horrible, wish I could get my money back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:July 8, 2012

Best Gutter Protection

Model Number: Rain Gutters
"I had gutter guards and when it rained hard the water would just run over the top and look like a water fall onto the ground. I tried a couple of boxes of Rain Filters for a year and they caught all of the rain and didn't allow any leaves or trash get into the gutters. Now I only use rain Filters and love them. Two of my neighbors are. Changing to them also."
Review 3 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2012

Rain Filters clog

"I agree with the other reviewers. Contrary to what is claimed on the packaging, these rain filters do clog easily."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rainy Washington
Date:June 30, 2012

Don't bother

Pros: might be okay if you don't have any pine needles
Cons: pine needles get stuck in product
"needles, etc. get caught in this product and lay wet under the roofing overlap and house siding instead of "blowing away with the wind" (that just can't be good...). We still have to go out and clean the needles from the product, and it is easier to just scoop out your gutters than it is to try and remove all the needles. Concept is good, but product just doesn't work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 14, 2012

Foam Gutter Junk

Cons: junk
"Small things from trees clogged up all the holes and it's impossible to get it out!. Water now overflows my cutters and I've only had them for 6 months!. Customer service from the manufacturer is unavaiable because they know their product is junk! I will be pulling them out and returning them to Costco this week."
Review 6 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Antonio Texas
Date:June 5, 2012

Lasted a little longer than it took to install

Pros: easy to install
Cons: does not work in the texas sun., material was inadequately treated with uv material
Model Number: 5" Rain Filter
"Installed in my In-Laws gutters 2 year ago. Installation was easy and worked perfectly 1st year. Middle of 2nd year noticed rain running over edge of gutter. Closer inspection revealed the product had deteriorated and had formed a solid sheet of white/tan material in bottom of gutter. Suspect Product was not UV protected and the south Texas sun caused foam to melt. In parts that were not melted the surface had deteriorated and was catching all the small debree degrading the ability to let water pass thru."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Asheville, NC
Date:May 30, 2012

Doesn't Work Big Surprise

Model Number: 5" Rain Filter Green Gutter Filtration System
"I installed the product last fall, 2011, and my first indication that it might be a questionable purchase was when I tried to contact their customer service number. I called and left two messages but no one has yet to return that call. A year later, May 2012, I noticed rain pouring over the sides of the gutters. When I went up to look at the gutters they were packed with debris laying on top of the foam filter which has caused the rain water to backup into my home and run over the side of the gutter. I have called Costco to see who is going to be responsible for the damage to my home and also to return this useless product. Save your money, don't buy this product."
Review 8 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:May 25, 2012

Worked Perfectly

"I installed the filters about 4 months ago. So far so good!"
Review 9 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Date:May 23, 2012

Great product

Pros: easy to install
Cons: none
"Needed to find a fix to quiet the rain hitting the aluminum gutters. This product was easy to install and did just what I was hoping, now we can enjoy the relaxing sound of the rain hitting the roof."
Review 10 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:April 12, 2012

Green Gutter Filtration System

Pros: easy installation, easy to handle sections, they work
"Easy to install and they work great. We have a tile roof so it is somewhat difficult to install gutter guards. Not wanting to invest in new fancy gutters with attached guards, this filtration system is the next BEST thing. The first set I purchased are still in use and functioning well a year later."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:March 17, 2012

Worthless

"Installed this product a year ago. I live in TX, under several oak trees. The leaves and debris sit on top of the product, and decompose into about 1 inch of sludge, which blocks the gutters. And one day I watched the squirrels shred it..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 22, 2012

Only Product that Actually Works

Pros: easy installation, works
Cons: not exactly self-cleaning
"I live under many evergreen trees, and several deciduous as well. I tried helmet-type covers (with the bullnose a la Gutter Guard) and coarse and fine-type gutter mesh products, and they all clog with debris and allow water to flow out. I've had these installed for 3 months now, and no leakage yet. I was cleaning my gutters every 3 weeks before to avoid total overflow, so even if I have to clean them twice a year it's still a total deal.
Really easy to install (especially because they don't go up underneath the shingles), good value for the money.
I agree that I'd be surprised if these things lasted 25 years. But still a good value."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scarsdale NY
Date:December 25, 2011

Excellent, but more expensive, product

Pros: performs very well including under conifers, installation is fairly simple
Cons: 30% more expensive in 2011 than in 2010, no product for 6" gutters, may not last as long as indicated on the box
Model Number: Rain Filter
"After reading some of the "cons" (in reviews) I must say that installation is simple but takes some time - but no more than any other after-market gutter filter.
I bought a box last year and it performed very well, including under conifers (white pines), which are messy. A light cleaning of the surface of the foam in these gutters is needed, but could probably be done every 2 years.
I bought 4 more boxes this year, and the price/box was roughly 30% higher, but I still believe it is worth the money for the convenience alone..
I will buy more this year (in spring of '12).
I wish Costco still carried the foam for 6" gutters (the site says this size is no longer available), which I recently installed to replace the 5" ones.
Finally, I believe the foam will not last 25 years, like the box says. But even if it lasts 1/2 as long it is still worth the money in terms of convenience.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:December 7, 2011

Keeps leaves and debris out!

Pros: keeps leaves out of your gutters.
Cons: leaves still collect on top of product.
Model Number: Rain Filter
"Works as described...better than not having it at all or even better than the more expensive options."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:December 2, 2011

Doesn't work

Pros: easy to install
Cons: worthless for me
Model Number: 5" Rain Filter
"Purchased and installed in Oct'10 throughout the house. Still need to climb the roof and clean this filter in Spring and Fall. it defeats the whole purpose of having purchased and installed it in the first place. It might work with large leaves, but pine needles collect on the top layer of the filter, block the water flow, and don't leave for nothing. Not even strong winds take the needles out. Need to climb the roof again and clean all the extension where this filter was installed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Olney, MD
Date:November 29, 2011

Performs Well

Pros: no more clogged gutters
Cons: hard to pull under gutter hangers, just increased price 25%
"I first purchased this product for a 20" gutter section on my home two years ago. That particular section was continually clogged with leaves and debris. Since I installed the Rain Filter, I have had no problems whatsoever. The Rain Filter has been through both heavy rain and snow. The leaves eventually blow right off. I just purchased 5 more boxes to complete all my gutters. These filters can be difficult to install and pull through the hidden gutter hanger systems. Make sure you wear gloves and install right side up the first time."
Review 17 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa.
Date:November 21, 2011

Gutter Filter

"I purchased product about a month ago and working so far. Waiting to see what happens when the snow and ice arrive. Looks like they raised the price about $11.00 a box since I bought mine"
Review 18 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lavonia, MI
Date:October 21, 2011

Good buy

"I purchased the product recently. It is very reasonably priced compared to alternatives It was easy to install and is completely hidden from view at street level. We just had about 2 inches of rain and they performed well. I'm looking forward to staying off the roof when spring rains arrive."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:October 21, 2011

Green Gutter filter

Pros: fairly easy to install
Cons: i am short about two feet and i have to buy a box., difficult to get agood fit by the hangers.
Model Number: 5"
"I installed this product two weeks ago and we have had heavy rain twice so far. Right now I would say I am happy with the results. I will need to see how it handles the leaves before I would give it a 100% thumbs up."
Review 20 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upstate South Carolina
Date:October 15, 2011

Very Pleased

Pros: very pleased with not clogging
Cons: price for amount i need
Model Number: 5" Rain Filter
"I have been Very Pleased with my purchase, I had only put the system on my front gutters to see how they worked with the Pecan and Oak Pollen Sacs I get once a year, They did fine and did not clog, we have rain but once the sun comes out the material will dry and blow off with a slight wind. Since I have been thru two seasons I have to Sadly purchase 10 more boxes for the amount of gutters I have, I say sadly because of the overall cost, not because I have concern of installing them on the rest of my house."
1 2 next>>