Customer Reviews for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System

32 Linear Feet per Carton
Average Customer Rating:
3.121 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
12
19 of 33(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Review 1 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2011

Warning

"Let me start by saying that I have just had to remove these gutter "guards" from my gutters and return them to Costco. As you can imagine, this wasn't fun. I will have to pay someone (in addition to the original cost of installation) to remove the ones from the higher roof levels. I thought this would be a great way to keep out the debris until, one day, I was home during a large storm. All the water was flooding over the gutters and not going down the downspout. I got on the roof the next day and realized that each gutter guard was covered in a thick layer of debris preventing any water from even going into the gutters. In addition, when I removed the product, there was standing water in one gutter and a thick layer of "cakey" debris further preventing water to go in. Definitely do NOT recommend this product.. If you installed it, you better climb on your roof and check. Also, go out during a storm and make sure rain water is going down the downspouts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scarsdale NY
Date:December 25, 2011

Excellent, but more expensive, product

Pros: performs very well including under conifers, installation is fairly simple
Cons: 30% more expensive in 2011 than in 2010, no product for 6" gutters, may not last as long as indicated on the box
Model Number: Rain Filter
"After reading some of the "cons" (in reviews) I must say that installation is simple but takes some time - but no more than any other after-market gutter filter.
I bought a box last year and it performed very well, including under conifers (white pines), which are messy. A light cleaning of the surface of the foam in these gutters is needed, but could probably be done every 2 years.
I bought 4 more boxes this year, and the price/box was roughly 30% higher, but I still believe it is worth the money for the convenience alone..
I will buy more this year (in spring of '12).
I wish Costco still carried the foam for 6" gutters (the site says this size is no longer available), which I recently installed to replace the 5" ones.
Finally, I believe the foam will not last 25 years, like the box says. But even if it lasts 1/2 as long it is still worth the money in terms of convenience.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:East Coast, Mid Atlantic
Date:July 15, 2011

Does not work

Model Number: Item # 576458
"Debris from trees (particulalry in the spring) will clog this filter causing gutters to overflow. The manufacturer claims this debris will eventually decompose, which is true. But until that decompostiion occurs, the gutters will overflow.
What makes the product totally unacceptable, is that the debris being evenly destirbuted accross the entire gutter length, is almost impossbile to remove. Prior to installing this filter, the debris collected at the downspouts, making it relatively easy to unclog the gutters.
I suggested to Costco that they discontinue offering this product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2011

Great Product Incredible Value

Pros: clean and green, easy installation
"Purchased 4 cartons to do my gutters at my local Costco. Installation was easy. Product cuts easily with a utility knife or dry wall saw. Soon after I installed we had fairly heavy rains. My gutters were silent! No more water sounds, no overflow from the gutters. I am so looking forward to the fall and next spring when I won't have to climb a ladder and clean out tons of wet leaves and debris. And to think a well known gutter cover company wanted 4 digits to the left of the decimal point to install covers on my gutters......."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Antonio Texas
Date:June 5, 2012

Lasted a little longer than it took to install

Pros: easy to install
Cons: does not work in the texas sun., material was inadequately treated with uv material
Model Number: 5" Rain Filter
"Installed in my In-Laws gutters 2 year ago. Installation was easy and worked perfectly 1st year. Middle of 2nd year noticed rain running over edge of gutter. Closer inspection revealed the product had deteriorated and had formed a solid sheet of white/tan material in bottom of gutter. Suspect Product was not UV protected and the south Texas sun caused foam to melt. In parts that were not melted the surface had deteriorated and was catching all the small debree degrading the ability to let water pass thru."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City - on the Mo. side.
Date:June 14, 2011

IT WORKS!

Pros: effective w/o replacing gutters, stays in place
Cons: you have to climb the ladder one last time.
"We bought one package last year and installed it on our garage as a test. We'd tried another brand, an arched foam insert but the squirrels gleefuly pulled it out. The Rain Filter brand is easier to install, requires no glue yet stays in place and is effective. This year we bought enough for the house and installed it last weekend. I'm now looking forward to NOT climbing a ladder again for several years! Tried other DIY gutter guards but this one works."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:March 17, 2012

Worthless

"Installed this product a year ago. I live in TX, under several oak trees. The leaves and debris sit on top of the product, and decompose into about 1 inch of sludge, which blocks the gutters. And one day I watched the squirrels shred it..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hudson, OH
Date:June 19, 2011

Clogged with small debris

Pros: installs easily
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
"Small things like pine needles and the seed pods from nearby trees clogged up all the holes. Water now overflows my cutters. I will be pulling them out and returning them this week."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 22, 2012

Only Product that Actually Works

Pros: easy installation, works
Cons: not exactly self-cleaning
"I live under many evergreen trees, and several deciduous as well. I tried helmet-type covers (with the bullnose a la Gutter Guard) and coarse and fine-type gutter mesh products, and they all clog with debris and allow water to flow out. I've had these installed for 3 months now, and no leakage yet. I was cleaning my gutters every 3 weeks before to avoid total overflow, so even if I have to clean them twice a year it's still a total deal.
Really easy to install (especially because they don't go up underneath the shingles), good value for the money.
I agree that I'd be surprised if these things lasted 25 years. But still a good value."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:December 2, 2011

Doesn't work

Pros: easy to install
Cons: worthless for me
Model Number: 5" Rain Filter
"Purchased and installed in Oct'10 throughout the house. Still need to climb the roof and clean this filter in Spring and Fall. it defeats the whole purpose of having purchased and installed it in the first place. It might work with large leaves, but pine needles collect on the top layer of the filter, block the water flow, and don't leave for nothing. Not even strong winds take the needles out. Need to climb the roof again and clean all the extension where this filter was installed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rainy Washington
Date:June 30, 2012

Don't bother

Pros: might be okay if you don't have any pine needles
Cons: pine needles get stuck in product
"needles, etc. get caught in this product and lay wet under the roofing overlap and house siding instead of "blowing away with the wind" (that just can't be good...). We still have to go out and clean the needles from the product, and it is easier to just scoop out your gutters than it is to try and remove all the needles. Concept is good, but product just doesn't work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:September 30, 2011

Nearly perfect for two years...with one issue...

Pros: affordable, easy to install, works very well on cottonwood and alder leaves, makes gutters look nicer from above
Cons: gunk can still get into the filter in valleys, leaves can build up in valleys
"I didn't have the money to spend on leafguard or other systems, so, I decided to take the risk...and it's costco...I could always return it. :)
I installed over a year ago and they have worked really, really great. Keep in mind that I have all cottonwoods and alders surrounding my home...no conifers, so I don't know how it would work with those. But with broad leafed trees, this product has worked very, very well.
In the past, I would have to clean my gutters four times in the fall because of the amount of leaf debris, but no more. Another benefit is that our upstairs windows look down into the gutters...ick. The rain filter actually makes the gutter look "nicer" too.
Okay...the one drawback. In the valleys, leaves can get stuck there and water can go right over the top of the leaves and into your flower beds. Also, in the valleys, gunk over times can fill in the small holes in the filter and prevent water from flowing into it. So...it does require a little maintenance to go up, clean leaves off the valley and also clean out the filter. In my case, I just bought an extra box of the stuff to replace the valley filter once a year or so instead of having to hose it out and clean it as the gunk can get wedged in there pretty well. (note: my valley that I have is a BIG valley...the entire upper roof and half of my lower roof feeds into this roof valley...so it's a lot of roof gunk (shingle sand, organic material, etc.) that goes to one spot...so my situation may be unique)...
Anyway, with as many cottonwoods that I have, I am glad for this product and for Costco making this product so affordable. THANK YOU!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:April 12, 2012

Green Gutter Filtration System

Pros: easy installation, easy to handle sections, they work
"Easy to install and they work great. We have a tile roof so it is somewhat difficult to install gutter guards. Not wanting to invest in new fancy gutters with attached guards, this filtration system is the next BEST thing. The first set I purchased are still in use and functioning well a year later."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lavonia, MI
Date:October 21, 2011

Good buy

"I purchased the product recently. It is very reasonably priced compared to alternatives It was easy to install and is completely hidden from view at street level. We just had about 2 inches of rain and they performed well. I'm looking forward to staying off the roof when spring rains arrive."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2012

Rain Filters clog

"I agree with the other reviewers. Contrary to what is claimed on the packaging, these rain filters do clog easily."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:July 21, 2012

Waste of time and money

"Pine needles got stuck, root system went through the product..horrible, wish I could get my money back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:December 7, 2011

Keeps leaves and debris out!

Pros: keeps leaves out of your gutters.
Cons: leaves still collect on top of product.
Model Number: Rain Filter
"Works as described...better than not having it at all or even better than the more expensive options."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Asheville, NC
Date:May 30, 2012

Doesn't Work Big Surprise

Model Number: 5" Rain Filter Green Gutter Filtration System
"I installed the product last fall, 2011, and my first indication that it might be a questionable purchase was when I tried to contact their customer service number. I called and left two messages but no one has yet to return that call. A year later, May 2012, I noticed rain pouring over the sides of the gutters. When I went up to look at the gutters they were packed with debris laying on top of the foam filter which has caused the rain water to backup into my home and run over the side of the gutter. I have called Costco to see who is going to be responsible for the damage to my home and also to return this useless product. Save your money, don't buy this product."
Review 19 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:August 23, 2011

Customer Service non-existent

Cons: no customer service
"I installed this item in my gutters, but I wasn't clear which side faces up. If it is the dull side, then I would need to cut it. The photo show shows the top and right sides to be the same size, but they aren't. Anyway, I emailed and called the company three times. After two months, I have received no response. This item work great in the summer keeping leaves and dirt out. I am concerned whether they will work when it begins to rain after reading the reviews. Since I have a flat roof, it is easy for me to hose off the dirt periodically, so they may work for me."
Review 20 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Central Pensylvania
Date:August 14, 2011

Green Gutter

Pros: ease of installation, price
Cons: blockin water flow creating pools near foundation
"I installed these gutter inserts in all my gutters in the summer of 2010. The concept seemed great and the installation was fairly easy. In the past year, I have tried to observe the effectiveness and limitations of the system. They do prevent leaves from getting into gutters. During light or moderate storms, they are effective. My problem with the product is during significant rain events. They impede the water flow in the gutter and water sheets down, often near the foundation. I have now removed the guards from selected areas where the problem is the worst."
1 2 next>>