Customer Reviews for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System

32 Linear Feet per Carton
Average Customer Rating:
3.121 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
12
19 of 33(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Review 1 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:July 8, 2012

Best Gutter Protection

Model Number: Rain Gutters
"I had gutter guards and when it rained hard the water would just run over the top and look like a water fall onto the ground. I tried a couple of boxes of Rain Filters for a year and they caught all of the rain and didn't allow any leaves or trash get into the gutters. Now I only use rain Filters and love them. Two of my neighbors are. Changing to them also."
Review 2 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:May 25, 2012

Worked Perfectly

"I installed the filters about 4 months ago. So far so good!"
Review 3 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Date:May 23, 2012

Great product

Pros: easy to install
Cons: none
"Needed to find a fix to quiet the rain hitting the aluminum gutters. This product was easy to install and did just what I was hoping, now we can enjoy the relaxing sound of the rain hitting the roof."
Review 4 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:April 12, 2012

Green Gutter Filtration System

Pros: easy installation, easy to handle sections, they work
"Easy to install and they work great. We have a tile roof so it is somewhat difficult to install gutter guards. Not wanting to invest in new fancy gutters with attached guards, this filtration system is the next BEST thing. The first set I purchased are still in use and functioning well a year later."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 22, 2012

Only Product that Actually Works

Pros: easy installation, works
Cons: not exactly self-cleaning
"I live under many evergreen trees, and several deciduous as well. I tried helmet-type covers (with the bullnose a la Gutter Guard) and coarse and fine-type gutter mesh products, and they all clog with debris and allow water to flow out. I've had these installed for 3 months now, and no leakage yet. I was cleaning my gutters every 3 weeks before to avoid total overflow, so even if I have to clean them twice a year it's still a total deal.
Really easy to install (especially because they don't go up underneath the shingles), good value for the money.
I agree that I'd be surprised if these things lasted 25 years. But still a good value."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lavonia, MI
Date:October 21, 2011

Good buy

"I purchased the product recently. It is very reasonably priced compared to alternatives It was easy to install and is completely hidden from view at street level. We just had about 2 inches of rain and they performed well. I'm looking forward to staying off the roof when spring rains arrive."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upstate South Carolina
Date:October 15, 2011

Very Pleased

Pros: very pleased with not clogging
Cons: price for amount i need
Model Number: 5" Rain Filter
"I have been Very Pleased with my purchase, I had only put the system on my front gutters to see how they worked with the Pecan and Oak Pollen Sacs I get once a year, They did fine and did not clog, we have rain but once the sun comes out the material will dry and blow off with a slight wind. Since I have been thru two seasons I have to Sadly purchase 10 more boxes for the amount of gutters I have, I say sadly because of the overall cost, not because I have concern of installing them on the rest of my house."
Review 8 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:October 5, 2011

Works great!

Pros: good price and it works-
Cons: none given the functionality for the price
"I installed this product three years ago (bought it at a hardware store paying twice Costco's price) on a 30' run of gutter located beneath a very dirty tree. That gutter historically has required unclogging at least 4 times each season. Now, other than using a blower to clean off the pile of leaves once per season, nothing is required to keep the water flowing. I realize the product will need to be replaced every 4-5 years but at this price that's not an issue."
Review 9 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:September 13, 2011

Helpful product

"I initially purchased the more expensive Rain Filter product, which is supposed to be curved in order to divert debris. It was not worth the extra money and I did not even know that it was curved when it came in the mail. This product is $20 less with no difference in performance. Occasionally you may have to brush leaves off of the top of the filters, but at least you do not have to clean out gutters or dig out screens that have collapsed under the weight of debris. This product hands down better than anything else that we have tried."
Review 10 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:July 16, 2011

Green Gutter

Pros: it works
Cons: none at this time
"Great product and easy to install. We installed the Green Gutter Filtration System on 17 condo garage/decks raingutters. The debris is deverted from the downspouts and the water flows smooth."
Review 11 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City - on the Mo. side.
Date:June 14, 2011

IT WORKS!

Pros: effective w/o replacing gutters, stays in place
Cons: you have to climb the ladder one last time.
"We bought one package last year and installed it on our garage as a test. We'd tried another brand, an arched foam insert but the squirrels gleefuly pulled it out. The Rain Filter brand is easier to install, requires no glue yet stays in place and is effective. This year we bought enough for the house and installed it last weekend. I'm now looking forward to NOT climbing a ladder again for several years! Tried other DIY gutter guards but this one works."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2011

Great Product Incredible Value

Pros: clean and green, easy installation
"Purchased 4 cartons to do my gutters at my local Costco. Installation was easy. Product cuts easily with a utility knife or dry wall saw. Soon after I installed we had fairly heavy rains. My gutters were silent! No more water sounds, no overflow from the gutters. I am so looking forward to the fall and next spring when I won't have to climb a ladder and clean out tons of wet leaves and debris. And to think a well known gutter cover company wanted 4 digits to the left of the decimal point to install covers on my gutters......."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scarsdale NY
Date:December 25, 2011

Excellent, but more expensive, product

Pros: performs very well including under conifers, installation is fairly simple
Cons: 30% more expensive in 2011 than in 2010, no product for 6" gutters, may not last as long as indicated on the box
Model Number: Rain Filter
"After reading some of the "cons" (in reviews) I must say that installation is simple but takes some time - but no more than any other after-market gutter filter.
I bought a box last year and it performed very well, including under conifers (white pines), which are messy. A light cleaning of the surface of the foam in these gutters is needed, but could probably be done every 2 years.
I bought 4 more boxes this year, and the price/box was roughly 30% higher, but I still believe it is worth the money for the convenience alone..
I will buy more this year (in spring of '12).
I wish Costco still carried the foam for 6" gutters (the site says this size is no longer available), which I recently installed to replace the 5" ones.
Finally, I believe the foam will not last 25 years, like the box says. But even if it lasts 1/2 as long it is still worth the money in terms of convenience.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:December 7, 2011

Keeps leaves and debris out!

Pros: keeps leaves out of your gutters.
Cons: leaves still collect on top of product.
Model Number: Rain Filter
"Works as described...better than not having it at all or even better than the more expensive options."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Olney, MD
Date:November 29, 2011

Performs Well

Pros: no more clogged gutters
Cons: hard to pull under gutter hangers, just increased price 25%
"I first purchased this product for a 20" gutter section on my home two years ago. That particular section was continually clogged with leaves and debris. Since I installed the Rain Filter, I have had no problems whatsoever. The Rain Filter has been through both heavy rain and snow. The leaves eventually blow right off. I just purchased 5 more boxes to complete all my gutters. These filters can be difficult to install and pull through the hidden gutter hanger systems. Make sure you wear gloves and install right side up the first time."
Review 16 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa.
Date:November 21, 2011

Gutter Filter

"I purchased product about a month ago and working so far. Waiting to see what happens when the snow and ice arrive. Looks like they raised the price about $11.00 a box since I bought mine"
Review 17 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:October 21, 2011

Green Gutter filter

Pros: fairly easy to install
Cons: i am short about two feet and i have to buy a box., difficult to get agood fit by the hangers.
Model Number: 5"
"I installed this product two weeks ago and we have had heavy rain twice so far. Right now I would say I am happy with the results. I will need to see how it handles the leaves before I would give it a 100% thumbs up."
Review 18 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:September 30, 2011

Nearly perfect for two years...with one issue...

Pros: affordable, easy to install, works very well on cottonwood and alder leaves, makes gutters look nicer from above
Cons: gunk can still get into the filter in valleys, leaves can build up in valleys
"I didn't have the money to spend on leafguard or other systems, so, I decided to take the risk...and it's costco...I could always return it. :)
I installed over a year ago and they have worked really, really great. Keep in mind that I have all cottonwoods and alders surrounding my home...no conifers, so I don't know how it would work with those. But with broad leafed trees, this product has worked very, very well.
In the past, I would have to clean my gutters four times in the fall because of the amount of leaf debris, but no more. Another benefit is that our upstairs windows look down into the gutters...ick. The rain filter actually makes the gutter look "nicer" too.
Okay...the one drawback. In the valleys, leaves can get stuck there and water can go right over the top of the leaves and into your flower beds. Also, in the valleys, gunk over times can fill in the small holes in the filter and prevent water from flowing into it. So...it does require a little maintenance to go up, clean leaves off the valley and also clean out the filter. In my case, I just bought an extra box of the stuff to replace the valley filter once a year or so instead of having to hose it out and clean it as the gunk can get wedged in there pretty well. (note: my valley that I have is a BIG valley...the entire upper roof and half of my lower roof feeds into this roof valley...so it's a lot of roof gunk (shingle sand, organic material, etc.) that goes to one spot...so my situation may be unique)...
Anyway, with as many cottonwoods that I have, I am glad for this product and for Costco making this product so affordable. THANK YOU!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Date:September 6, 2011

Maybe

"I have ordered a total of 4 boxes of this product over a 4 week period. I noticed quite a bit of variation in the product - especially the amount of coating applied to the exposed surfaces. I am assuming this coating is to prevent the filter material from breaking down over time when exposed to sunlight. Seems to work OK so far but have not had a chance to check performance during a hard rain; I am a little concerned that the coating will tend to reduce water flow."
Review 20 for 5" Rain Filter™ Green Gutter Filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:August 23, 2011

Customer Service non-existent

Cons: no customer service
"I installed this item in my gutters, but I wasn't clear which side faces up. If it is the dull side, then I would need to cut it. The photo show shows the top and right sides to be the same size, but they aren't. Anyway, I emailed and called the company three times. After two months, I have received no response. This item work great in the summer keeping leaves and dirt out. I am concerned whether they will work when it begins to rain after reading the reviews. Since I have a flat roof, it is easy for me to hose off the dirt periodically, so they may work for me."
1 2 next>>