Customer Reviews for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Review 1 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Absolutely Beautiful San Diego, CA
Date:April 22, 2011

Great Deal!!

Pros: gives you great storage capability!, great price!, you'll be one of the few that is prepared!
Cons: your neighbors might find out u have food storage, and ask for hand-outs, every single day
"This is a GREAT DEAL and exactly what everyone needs if you are interested in EFFECTIVE food storage! This is the best/cheapest way to handle this important issue, especially if you can't afford the already canned foods.
These buckets are 6 gallon and come with the GAMA lids. If you've never seen them, they are fantastic, you could fill one of these buckets with water, turn it over and they would not leak a drop!
I've used these for my food storage (paid more than this!).
Besides some of the Shelf Reliance products, my wife and I go to Costco and natural foods stores and purchase 25 or 50 lb bags (much cheaper in big bulk!) of dried beans, rice, pasta, sugar (white, brown), Coffee, spices, Splenda, etc. If you buy a little each paycheck, things will start looking good fast. We've found that the best way to go is to break down the large bags of foods into 1 gallon freezer bags (thicker), pushing out the air and putting a oxygen absorber in each one. In each bucket put in a gal bag of each type of beans, rice, pasta, barley, lentils, split peas, etc. and close it up with a larger oxygen absorber & date it with it's contents. Now you only have to open one of the buckets at a time, use that up then move on. Give your family a variety. Have other GAMA buckets with spices separated into baggies, sugars, flour, baking powder/soda, chick 'n beef bullion, etc., another with coffees, teas, coffee filters, dried creamer, powdered honey, sugar etc, Think of everything! Have a folder with recipes that will work with your emergency foods. Don't count on meat, cheese, eggs, sour cream or butter unless you buy them freeze dried. These & similar products like alcohol and tobacco will, most likely, be too costly or not available.
Try to think of everything. Imagine that the grocery store is closed. Think in the abstract. Can you care for your family? If not, start preparing now. Do you have everything to make soups, stews, rice dishes, pasta dishes, pancake mix, oats, dried milk, dried drinks, etc.?
AND KEEP YOUR FOODS COOL! Most of what I described above will last 25 years if you keep it cool & oxygen free (we have a 7,000 btu air cond in our food room set on 62F).
These GAMA buckets/lids are a fantastic start to your family's survival. Believe me!
Please take advantage of this great deal and start before it's too late, we don't want our loved ones to be "dependent" on anyone for our family's survival! WE CAN DO IT!
What's the worst thing that can happen folks? Eat the food when there's no emergency; it won't go to waste! Then use the GAMA buckets to store nicknacks in.
"
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California's Bread Basket
Date:November 1, 2011

Mikie likes it

Pros: does the job!!
Cons: can't just buy the lids
"This item is all that other reviewer's have said it is.
COSTCO--- I would like to see you package and sell just the GAMMA SEAL lids in a 10 pack (just plain white would be my preference). I have purchased several buckets of your foods. Once opened I would like to replace the original (hard to remove and/or reseals poorly) lid with a GAMMA SEAL lid. Before storing the lids, I would coat the gasket with a little Vaseline to keep it pliable over time and store the lids with my other supplies. At some point I open a sealed bucket and replace the lid with a GAMMA SEAL to close it up tight (maybe even throw in another O2 absorber if I plan to store the item a while). Although I can get these lids I imagine that, should you offer this item, the price would be the typically COSTCO phenomenal!! Keep up the great work in selection and price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Marcos, CA
Date:October 24, 2011

Great Product Which I Improved

Pros: air tight with my improvements
Cons: none so far
"As usual, Costco has another excellent product at a great price. My order was filled within 3 days and I'm always amazed at the fast shipping of Costco.com.
I improved the product by vacuuming the contents after I put the lid on. This will extend the life of any product one puts into these pails. How did I do it?
1) Go to your local tire store or do a Google search and purchase Schrader valves. What are Schrader valves? They are the TUBELESS tire valves which you use to put air in your car or truck tires.
2) Although I have a specialized vacuum which I use for other purposes... there are $15 vacuums you can find on the Internet which are used to vacuum your vehicle's air conditioning system. For example, if your car has a leak of its air conditioning refrigerant one has to evacuate the coolant, find the leak and repair it, then vacuum out the lines prior to putting in new refrigerant. To do this, there are cheap and simple vacuums on the market which you can find with a simple Google search. Your vehicle's air conditioner lines have Schrader valves in them. And, these vacuums have a hose which connect to the Schrader valve.
3) Drill a small hole in the lid or upper portion of the pail.
4) Pull the Schrader valve through the hole.
5) Put your foodstuff into the pail (e.g. rice, beans, flour, pasta, etc).
6) Put on the air-tight lid which comes with these excellent pails. Note however, that just because the lid is air-tight doesn't mean there is no air INSIDE the pail. The air is in a small space above the food and it is in between the food. In other words, air will even be caught in between the grains of rice, beans, pasta, etc. You've got to get the air OUT. Think of the glass jar of pickles which Costco sells. The metal led is DOWN and if it has popped up, one shouldn't buy it as it has lost its vacuum. Got it?
7) Simply hook up your small air conditioner vacuum to the Schrader valve and let it run for a few minutes to get all the air out. You'll see that the center of the lid pulls slightly down. Now you know you've got an air-tight sealed pail which has had the air evacuated from it. And, this will substantially increase the life of the food inside by many years.
8) After disconnecting your vac, put the cap on the Schrader valve, place a label on the pail indicating its contents and the date you last opened it.
Note: Another benefit of using this vacuum system is that you can open the pail at any time, take out some product, and simply vacuum it again. Consider you've got a pail of rice or beans. You've filled the pail full and put on the air-tight seal. Now, for rotation purposes, you decide to use some of your rice or beans or pasta. The pail is now 2/3rds full or even half full. The rest of the pail is FULL OF OXYGEN. And its the oxygen which causes products to deteriorate. But with this simple vacuum system you can open the lid as many times as you want to remove or add product then pull a quick vacuum and you're guaranteed a LONG SHELF LIFE. And folks, this is what this is all about."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ft. Worth TX
Date:November 22, 2011

As Promised

Pros: good quality
Cons: little pricey
"Buckets arrived promptly and undamaged. The lids are overkill for food storage if you use mylar bags and O2 absorbers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Orange County, CA
Date:October 21, 2011

A Must for Earthquake Kits

Pros: best value, combo deal
"I had picked up a few of these from other merchants individually, and could find no sellers that sold both the bucket and the lid as a set (Weird, huh?) and at significantly higher prices. When I did find them at Costco.com, they were out of stock, so I was very happy when I found them restocked. Great for disaster kits, or just storage, as they are stackable, very durable, and built to last. If you bulk buy dry goods like Pasta or flower, this is an excelent alternative to keep the bugs and humidity off your food."
Review 6 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cashmere, Washington
Date:July 30, 2011

Great quality and price

Pros: great price and quality, excellent customer service
"I did not order these when they were first offered and then they sold out. Was so glad to see that they were offered again.
If you are thinking of ordering these, do it NOW!
The quality is excellent and so is the price. I was amazed that they were delivered in 2 business days.
Great quality and great service!
Please read the review from Slenzo on 4/22/2011 for great ideas on how to fully incorporate these buckets and lids with your food storage program.
Their review was a great help to me .
"
Review 7 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 25, 2011

Great lid design/good value

Pros: all good
Cons: none
"I have been looking for something just like this for short and long term bulk storage. Good place to keep 25+ lbs of dry dog food, too.
What took so long to create these clever and easy to open air tight lids and also for Costco to offer good containers for bulk storage? Get it now.
It is good to have some stores of food for disaster and these allow you to put your own together over time, which is far more economical. For longer term storage items, do your research on oxygen absorbers.
"
Review 8 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:May 31, 2011

The best!

Pros: large buckets
"The buckets are 6 gallon and the air tight lids make them perfect for emergency dry goods. Our goal is to be able to take good care of ourselves, including family and friends. If no emergency happens, we are well stocked for the next 6 months or so. The Gama lids are available at some hardware stores, but considering the large size containers - the purchase was a great value. We are considering buying another set."
Review 9 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brandon, Florida
Date:May 27, 2011

Great Product-Great Price

Pros: easier to handle than a 55 gal. drum
Cons: none
"Ordered these pails 5/16/11. They arrived Fri. 5/20/11. I don't think you will find a better price anywhere.
Three lids were missing. Contacted Costco customer service the same day of delivery. They contacted the manufacturer Mon. 5/23/11. No hastle what so ever. Received missing lids 5/27/11. Super service. Thanks Costco.
"
Review 10 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Medford, OR
Date:October 21, 2011

These are awesome

"Amazing! I have purchased similar pails locally for $55 each so I got a great deal here.
These seal really tight.
Great for "prepping" and stocking up on extra goods.
The lids are really easy to put on. Just unscrew the spinner top and put the ring on first. Then spin the top part on."
Review 11 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Tan Valley, AZ
Date:August 8, 2011

Great Product and Great Price

Pros: great price, awesome product
Cons: none
Model Number: 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
"Was looking all over the internet for these buckets but they were much more expensive than at Costco online. Just luck that I found them here. They are great for several uses, not just for food. I am using some in my RV to store hoses, electrical cords etc. They are great!"
Review 12 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfield, CA
Date:August 27, 2011

Best deal I can find

Pros: great price
Cons: doesn't hold as much odd shape packages, as would of the loose bulk items.
"Been shopping on the net for these storage units for awhile, I didn't purchase them because I was a bit confused on the description in most cases. I decided to purchase them from Costco, because if it is not what I want, I can just return them EASILY!"
Review 13 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missouri, USA
Date:September 14, 2011

Nice Addition to storage plan

Cons: you might be able to save on just gamma lids alone
"If you need good buckets this is a good deal. The 6 gallon size is perfect for LT storage of dry goods. Lids arrive not attached to the buckets but easy to just sit on the lid to lock it to the bucket. No need for a mallet!"
Review 14 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane WA
Date:October 21, 2011

Gamma Seal

Pros: high quality, easy storage
"These pails are of great quality and a great price. I had been looking for a container to keep my beer brewings grains in and these are just perfect. They are small enough to carry around full of grains and easy to stack."
Review 15 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Belgrade, Mt
Date:May 19, 2011

What a great idea!

"Best price I found and with shipping included. Durable. Definantly need to use a mallet to install the bottom ring on top of bucket as suggested. Great for extended food storage (with mylar bags & oxygen absorbers)."
Review 16 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tiberlake, NC
Date:June 2, 2011

Exactly as described

Pros: air and water tight
"I bought these buckets for various reasons. I just went primative camping and used the buckets to carry water. They worked perfectly. I love the seal. I also plan to use them for storage (my basement floods)."
Review 17 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Knoxville, TN
Date:October 11, 2011

Great choice!

Pros: a quality product, prompt & reliable service
Model Number: 576690
"I'm so thankful you carry this product. They arrived in a timely manner, the price was the best I've found, and I'm pleased I can shop at Costco even though there isn't a store nearby. Great job, Costco!"
Review 18 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2011

Gamma Seal lids work great

"The rim snaps onto the pail and then the lid screws in for a tight fit with a rubber o-ring seal. Very easy to use."
Review 19 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bloomingdale, Ohio
Date:June 29, 2011

Great Price

Pros: best quality, best price
Cons: none
"These buckets are the best at the best price I have found. I feel confident using them for storing my emergency food."
Review 20 for 6-gallon Pail with GAMMA SEAL® Air-tight Lids - 10-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2011

Great price

Pros: excellent quality
"These are the same Pail & Lids I have bought elsewhere for at least $4.50 more plus shipping"