Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver

Features: GyroFlex 2D System:  Contour-following system adjusts easily to the curves of the face, minimizing pressure and irritation   Dual Precision Heads: Ultra thin heads with slots to shave long hairs and holes to shave even the shortest stubble   Patented Super Lift and Cut System : Dual blade system lifts hairs to cut comfortably below skin level   SkinGlide System: The low-friction SkinGlide shaving surface slides smoothly along your skin for an extra-close shave   Aquatec Wet and Dry: Aquatec seal for a comfortable dry or refreshing wet shave with shaving gel or foam   Skin friendly precision trimmer   Seamless foil handle with anti-slip grip   Hair collection chamber Power System: Rechargeable cordless: use anywhere!   1-Hour full charge for up to 50 minutes of cordless shaving   3-minute quick charge for 1 cordless shave   Worldwide voltage adjusts automatically from 100V to 240V AC power Accessories: Protective razor head cap   Charging stand   Precision trimmer   Storage pouch   Power cord   Cleaning brush   Extra RQ11 shaving head For further product information please call Philips at 1-800-243-3050 Model: 1165X/45
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
24 of 28(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Review 21 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Foster City, CA
Date:November 27, 2011

Lousy electric razor

Cons: everything
"I have been using norelco razors for 30 years. This one is really bad. The blades are so far in from the sides of the head that it is impossible to shave close to the nose. I practically have to contort my face, pull my skin thight and rub hard to get a close shave. And forget about traveling with the charger. Why did they replace a simple cord with a bulky stand charger?! If my last norelco hadn't stopped holding the charge I never would have replaced it. Sorry I bought this!"
Review 22 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edgewater, FL
Date:September 21, 2011

Another great Norelco shaver

Pros: great shave on and under the chin.
Cons: none for my usage
Model Number: 1165X/45
"At first shave I was a little disappointed with this razor but from the next use on I was sold. I've been a Norelco user all my life (66 yrs) and this new style is a big improvement expecially under the chin. The only drawback I notice is the missing ability to use the shaver with the cord attached when the battery is low. This is covered by the three minute quick charger and the visible warning lights when the battery is getting low. Excellent product at a super price. Thanx Costco and Norelco."
Review 23 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Assonet, MA
Date:September 22, 2011

Fantastic Shave!

Pros: charging light goes out when fully charged., light weight makes shaving a pleasure, added bonus of additional shaving heads
Model Number: Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
"Bought this razor for a few good reasons.
1) Costco's great reputation.
2) Costco’s price.
3) Norelco’s electric razors reputation.
4) Excellent reviews from Costco’s clientele
I was first hesitant about the design. Then, after reading the reviews, I went ahead and purchased this razor. Made a good decision. The razor trims close and the flexible head contours to my entire beard. No razor burns on my neck with the pivoting head, just a smooth comfortable shave. Would recommend this razor to anybody who wants a clean close shave."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 11, 2011

You have to try it to believe it.

"I have used Norelco shavers for many years. I didn't buy one of the senso Touch's because they were too expensive for me. When Costco got this model Tlhey priced it more reaonable and I bougth one. I can't believe the difference. They look similar so I didn't think the difference would be great. I was surprised. If is great. I would not have believed it. But Costco is one of the finest companies with the products they sell. If it didn't work like the mfg says it is supposed to They will willingly allow you to return it. This is one of the reasons we have been a Costco member since 85."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:September 7, 2011

Outstanding Electric Razor

Model Number: 1160X
"Have used several other electric razors over the years the last being a Remington. This razor by far is the best. Also has a lot of features that I find useful compared with others. Thus far I prefer in cleaning, to pull the shaving head unit straight off the razor and then separating the shaving head holder from the bottom and then rinsing both. Confusing huh?
As mentioned in another review, I too have a problem with rinsing the shaving head while still on the razor ...
Again, best electric razor I have ever used. Additionally, I find the folks at Customer Service ... Philips, very accommodating and pleasant to work with."
Review 26 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:September 26, 2011

Great shaver, the best Norelco yet

Pros: closest shave yet, conforms to face well, best design so far, quick recharging
Cons: don't know how sturdy it is. some reviews complain
Model Number: 1160x
"I've owned several Norelco shavers. I like both them and Remingtons. This one is, from my experience, the best one yet and is the first one to actually provide a "blade close" shave. It works as both a wet and dry razor. Using it in a wet environment (the shower, for instance) provides the "blade close" shave, something I never experienced with an electric shaver before. Dry shaves are also quite good, but not quite as close.
The design of a tilting head and a blade surface that conforms to your face's topography results in a very good shave in just a few minutes. You don't need to press hard. Simply let the razor glide over your face, and it will do the job.
I'm glad I bought this and plan to buy another for my son, who is 16 and shaving."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:November 12, 2012

A good shave...not a great shave

Pros: no nicks or cuts
Cons: not a super close shave
Model Number: 1165x/45
"I've always shaved with a blade, but recently needed to switch to an electric due to taking blood thinners. The Costco price was the best I could find and you can never go wrong with their return policy if needed. I've used this Norelco for about 3 weeks and I use Lectric Shave to lubricate my face before each use. It will never shave as close as a blade, but it does a pretty good job if you keep going over areas several times. It takes much longer to shave with an electric shaver. I haven't had any problem with irritation or with it heating up. Because it doesn't shave as close as a blade I've found that I sometimes need to shave again in the evening if I'm going out somewhere. Overall I'm satisfied with it, but can't wait to get back to a blade."
Review 28 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:June 24, 2011

Good improvements over previous models

Pros: better than previous designs, fast quality shave
Model Number: 1160X
"This razor gave me the best electric shave yet. I’ve never been able to shave my entire face and neck so quickly, and the new blade design is excellent. The new charging process has done away with plugs and is elegant in both implementation and design.
I have some concerns, though.
The instruction booklet says this about wet cleaning: “While rinsing razors, water may drip out of the base of the razor. This is a normal occurrence.”
It may be “normal” but it’s not good. That’s why my last Norelco didn’t last as long as it should have, because water leaked inside, corroding the circuitry to the point that the razor wouldn’t work even if I tried shaving with it plugged in.
I recommend detaching and disassembling the shaving block. Which brings me to my next concern. The new design requires you to unplug the shaving block to clean or if you want to trim sideburns, this last requiring you to plug in the trimming attachment. This new design means that there’s no flip-out trimmer, an improvement because it removed another entry for water, hair, and shaving powder.
I like this new design, but you must be very careful when unplugging or plugging in the shaving block. Since I unplug it after every shave to clean the head, I am concerned about wearing out the connection between the motor and the shaving block. But that “transmission” zone has always been the weak point in electric razors, so this model remains an improvement over previous designs.
I also recommend disassembling the shaving block into its two main components of base and shaving heads when cleaning. Along with unplugging the shaving block from the razor, this procedure ensures the best shave by always beginning with clean shaving heads.
The Norelco triple-head rotary system is a venerable design that has seen some great improvements in this new version. I hope Philips continues to improve it."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2