Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver

Features: GyroFlex 2D System:  Contour-following system adjusts easily to the curves of the face, minimizing pressure and irritation   Dual Precision Heads: Ultra thin heads with slots to shave long hairs and holes to shave even the shortest stubble   Patented Super Lift and Cut System : Dual blade system lifts hairs to cut comfortably below skin level   SkinGlide System: The low-friction SkinGlide shaving surface slides smoothly along your skin for an extra-close shave   Aquatec Wet and Dry: Aquatec seal for a comfortable dry or refreshing wet shave with shaving gel or foam   Skin friendly precision trimmer   Seamless foil handle with anti-slip grip   Hair collection chamber Power System: Rechargeable cordless: use anywhere!   1-Hour full charge for up to 50 minutes of cordless shaving   3-minute quick charge for 1 cordless shave   Worldwide voltage adjusts automatically from 100V to 240V AC power Accessories: Protective razor head cap   Charging stand   Precision trimmer   Storage pouch   Power cord   Cleaning brush   Extra RQ11 shaving head For further product information please call Philips at 1-800-243-3050 Model: 1165X/45
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
24 of 28(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Review 1 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:November 12, 2012

A good shave...not a great shave

Pros: no nicks or cuts
Cons: not a super close shave
Model Number: 1165x/45
"I've always shaved with a blade, but recently needed to switch to an electric due to taking blood thinners. The Costco price was the best I could find and you can never go wrong with their return policy if needed. I've used this Norelco for about 3 weeks and I use Lectric Shave to lubricate my face before each use. It will never shave as close as a blade, but it does a pretty good job if you keep going over areas several times. It takes much longer to shave with an electric shaver. I haven't had any problem with irritation or with it heating up. Because it doesn't shave as close as a blade I've found that I sometimes need to shave again in the evening if I'm going out somewhere. Overall I'm satisfied with it, but can't wait to get back to a blade."
Review 2 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Belmont, California
Date:February 7, 2012

Good tool

Model Number: 1160X
"This saver is better than any I had before: easier to use, shaving time is shorter and no any problem with skin. I recommend it to others."
Review 3 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tonasket, WA
Date:December 17, 2011

Decent purchase

Model Number: 1165X/45
"The shave isn't quite as close as my previous shaver."
Review 4 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Foster City, CA
Date:November 27, 2011

Lousy electric razor

Cons: everything
"I have been using norelco razors for 30 years. This one is really bad. The blades are so far in from the sides of the head that it is impossible to shave close to the nose. I practically have to contort my face, pull my skin thight and rub hard to get a close shave. And forget about traveling with the charger. Why did they replace a simple cord with a bulky stand charger?! If my last norelco hadn't stopped holding the charge I never would have replaced it. Sorry I bought this!"
Review 5 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wakefield, MA
Date:September 23, 2011

Close shave

Pros: fast charge
"Have used Norelco 20 years. This has been the best razor yet.Very good shave and quiet."
Review 6 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Ca.
Date:September 21, 2011

Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver

Pros: no missed hairs
Cons: no pop-up trimmer
Model Number: Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
"Best electric shaver I have ever used. Does not shave as close as a blade, but you will not bleed either!
I like the pop up side burn trimmer on my old razor better, only because of the convienence. My old razor would miss the loger hairs, this one gets them all.
"
Review 7 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Date:September 21, 2011

Shaver is AWSOME

Pros: easy to clean!
Model Number: 1160XCC
"I have used Norelco shavers for years. This one out does all thier prior shavers. Great to use on your face, cuts better than older styles as well you can use it with shaveing cream and water. Very easy yo keep clean useing hot water. The stand is also the chrager! The trimer is easier than older styles as well just pop the entire head off and exchange the shaver for a trimer head.
AWSOME shaver for the price!!!
"
Review 8 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:September 21, 2011
Model Number: 1245
"It is pretty smooth. But the noise is bigger than my expectation.
It is great for use at home, but not travel.
"
Review 9 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cumming, Ga
Date:September 21, 2011

Best Electric Shaver

Pros: very close shave
Cons: none
Model Number: 1160X
"I have tried electric shavers over the years and always had to go back to a razor. This is the closest shave to a razor I have ever had and at the Costco price, you can't beat it."
Review 10 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edgewater, FL
Date:September 21, 2011

Another great Norelco shaver

Pros: great shave on and under the chin.
Cons: none for my usage
Model Number: 1165X/45
"At first shave I was a little disappointed with this razor but from the next use on I was sold. I've been a Norelco user all my life (66 yrs) and this new style is a big improvement expecially under the chin. The only drawback I notice is the missing ability to use the shaver with the cord attached when the battery is low. This is covered by the three minute quick charger and the visible warning lights when the battery is getting low. Excellent product at a super price. Thanx Costco and Norelco."
Review 11 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oak Grove, MO
Date:September 19, 2011

Good Purchase

Pros: additional shaving head
Cons: mfg rebate after purchase listed in offer;, mfg rebate info was included with del'd package
Model Number: 1165X/45
"My husband really likes his new shaver. The additional shaving head is a real bonus."
Review 12 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2011

Excellent shaver

"Very impressed. I stopped using electric shavers after using one of them 4 years ago. One of my friends recommended this to me & it has changed my perception of electric shavers. This one is very good. Go for it without any second thoughts."
Review 13 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:September 7, 2011

Outstanding Electric Razor

Model Number: 1160X
"Have used several other electric razors over the years the last being a Remington. This razor by far is the best. Also has a lot of features that I find useful compared with others. Thus far I prefer in cleaning, to pull the shaving head unit straight off the razor and then separating the shaving head holder from the bottom and then rinsing both. Confusing huh?
As mentioned in another review, I too have a problem with rinsing the shaving head while still on the razor ...
Again, best electric razor I have ever used. Additionally, I find the folks at Customer Service ... Philips, very accommodating and pleasant to work with."
Review 14 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Date:July 20, 2011

Nice Electric Shaver

Pros: good battery life, easy to use
Cons: not as clear shave as a razor
Model Number: 1065
"Used it for couple of weeks now and I think it is good product. Shaves well and cleaning is as simple as it can get. Like the additional head and a trimmer. Thanks to Costco for providing unique products and accessories."
Review 15 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2011

No comparison, King of Electrics

Pros: buy buy buy
Model Number: 1160x
"Incredibly smooth and comfortable shave, no effort required. I have used electrics my entire shaving life, Norelco's never cease to impress.."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:June 24, 2011

Good improvements over previous models

Pros: better than previous designs, fast quality shave
Model Number: 1160X
"This razor gave me the best electric shave yet. I’ve never been able to shave my entire face and neck so quickly, and the new blade design is excellent. The new charging process has done away with plugs and is elegant in both implementation and design.
I have some concerns, though.
The instruction booklet says this about wet cleaning: “While rinsing razors, water may drip out of the base of the razor. This is a normal occurrence.”
It may be “normal” but it’s not good. That’s why my last Norelco didn’t last as long as it should have, because water leaked inside, corroding the circuitry to the point that the razor wouldn’t work even if I tried shaving with it plugged in.
I recommend detaching and disassembling the shaving block. Which brings me to my next concern. The new design requires you to unplug the shaving block to clean or if you want to trim sideburns, this last requiring you to plug in the trimming attachment. This new design means that there’s no flip-out trimmer, an improvement because it removed another entry for water, hair, and shaving powder.
I like this new design, but you must be very careful when unplugging or plugging in the shaving block. Since I unplug it after every shave to clean the head, I am concerned about wearing out the connection between the motor and the shaving block. But that “transmission” zone has always been the weak point in electric razors, so this model remains an improvement over previous designs.
I also recommend disassembling the shaving block into its two main components of base and shaving heads when cleaning. Along with unplugging the shaving block from the razor, this procedure ensures the best shave by always beginning with clean shaving heads.
The Norelco triple-head rotary system is a venerable design that has seen some great improvements in this new version. I hope Philips continues to improve it."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:nyc
Date:January 6, 2012

Not Good

Cons: bad shave
Model Number: 1165x/45
"been using norelco shavers for 40 years. this one does not shave well. seems heads dont let hair in or something but takes 3 times as long and then it's a not a good shave overall - i've started to finish the shaves with my old razor - until i decided this is a shaver to return - Not Good-"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 30, 2011

Great Shaver

Pros: can use it in the shower
"After having an older Norelco, the 2D shaver out performs my older one by leaps and bounds. The shave is razor close when you use it as a wet shaver and for dry shaves it is less irritating on the skin."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Assonet, MA
Date:September 22, 2011

Fantastic Shave!

Pros: charging light goes out when fully charged., light weight makes shaving a pleasure, added bonus of additional shaving heads
Model Number: Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
"Bought this razor for a few good reasons.
1) Costco's great reputation.
2) Costco’s price.
3) Norelco’s electric razors reputation.
4) Excellent reviews from Costco’s clientele
I was first hesitant about the design. Then, after reading the reviews, I went ahead and purchased this razor. Made a good decision. The razor trims close and the flexible head contours to my entire beard. No razor burns on my neck with the pivoting head, just a smooth comfortable shave. Would recommend this razor to anybody who wants a clean close shave."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:September 2, 2011

Philips Norelco SensoTouch 2D Shaver

"Very good and close shave.
Excellent price point for this product.
Highly recommended
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>