Customer Reviews for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV

Full HD 1080p 600hz Max Sub Field Driving TruSlim Frame 2nd Year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
16 of 19(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Review 1 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2011

Amazing

Pros: beats led hands down, no it's not hot like previous years, within 30 days refund on price dif if the price do
Cons: costco ppl have no idea what the techknologies are
"Ok, lets start off with the fact that last year I spent 3800 on a 46 inch Samsung LED, I got this LG Plasma yesterday and set it in my livingroom right next to my LED, and The LG was identical to my LED, I put on Ultraviolet to see the difference in fast paced motion and the LG had a clearer picture then my LED, I was amazed to say the least, I can't believe how far Plasmas have come, my parents have a 1.5 year old 65 inch plasma hanging and it sucks but with the new plasmas and the 600hz drive it's crazy, I was put off at first cuz the store modle was a little dim, but the sales guy said it was cuz of LG's autosensing light techknology that was causing it, and he was right when I got it home I turned that feature off and it was brighter then my LED I just can't say enough Im so impressed this is my first review of anything ever but i had to do it. way to go LG and for those who don't know the difference between techknologies please goole LCD vs LED vs Plasma and you will see why plasma is still the leader in picutre quality it's science ppl not magic like the LED comercials who have you to belive oh and please get a plasma thats 600hz cuz that rating is what makes action and sports look so good, LED is only good at the moment for pictures and non moving objects"
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 2, 2011

Buy this TV!

Model Number: 50PV400
"My husband and thought our 6 year old 40" Sony LCD was going out so we began looking for a new, slightly larger LCD to replace it. In reading online reviews for multiple LCD/LED sets the one consistent I kept finding was "Buy Plasma". The only unfortunate part is that we wanted to buy the TV from Costco and they do not have many Plasma TV’s to choose from. We just happened to read some of the reviews on Costco for this TV and thought it was worth a look. We took one look at it in the store and bought it. This TV is gorgeous! Set up took about 10 minutes. I was surprised that the TV is lighter than I had expected and the TruSlim frame really does keep it from looking bulky. The 600 Hz refresh rate is amazing, especially when watching the recent World Series. Every time we watch one of our Blu Ray movies on this TV we can't believe the difference in picture compared to our once top of the line Sony LCD. Good news is our Sony is not going out but when it does we will buy another LG Plasma, 60 inches maybe?
Don’t forget to use your Costco AMEX for the extra warranty and we also picked up the new extended plan through Square Trade."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane WA
Date:October 12, 2011

Great Picture - Easy set-up

Pros: easy setup, lots of connections easy to reach, good intuitive remote
Cons: remote not lighted
Model Number: 50PV400
"Last TV I purchased in 1988, a 46 inch Mitsubishi big screen projection and it was finally time to upgrade.
After a lot of online research
I purchased a Costco 55 inch "valued leader" priced company LCD tv initially and was very impressed with the picture and the semi mat screen but had auxiliary wiring problems with it and disliked the hard to reach connections underneath and flimsy remote control. Brought home this LG 50 Plasma since it had such a good rating and what a nice difference in all areas. Easy to reach connections, many hookups, good easy to use remote and ability to make as bright and crisp as I want to see it. Turned off energy saving mode and brightness increased incredibly.
Easy to setup, Less screen glare then the semi-mat LCD screen which was surprising. Amazing real colors. This TV actually cost less than the first LCD bought home but appears better quality in all areas. Waiting for the Satellite company to deliver my Hi Def receiver to really enjoy the picture !
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orem, UT
Date:November 8, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: incredible value, plenty of inputs, stunning picture, very thin
Cons: defective pixels, wobbly stand, glare on screen, heavier than an lcd
"All the reviews were great, and this was an incredible value. I purchased the television and brought it home. The stand was rather difficult to assemble. The screws wouldn't tighten, and I didn't want to strip them trying to tighten. The television wobbled.
Next, I turned the tv on, and setup was easy. Picture was stunning. However, as I watched I noticed a bright spot almost dead center. After research online I found out it was a stuck pixel. I ran a test with my computer. Found 4 more in the peripheral areas of the screen. LG considers some pixel defect acceptable -- stated right there in the manual. In my somewhat smaller living room I couldn't take my eyes off that one defective pixel dead center. Returned it easily the next day for a Vizio -- all the pixels work great. If you can tolerate a few flawed pixels viewing in a larger room where you won't notice them, this is a great tv.
"
Review 5 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 1, 2011

Great Picture Quality, Poor Sound Quality

Pros: picture quality
Cons: poor sound quality, problem with buzzing
Model Number: 50PV400
"We had to rent a truck to get this massive TV home. Once unpacked you must attach "ferrite cores" to the cord... What is a ferrite core? They are little fasteners that go on the power cord and reduce interference from other electrical sources, such as a blender in the kitchen... Anyway the ferrite cores buzz all the time unless the TV is unplugged. We will have to call LG tomorrow and figure out why the cores are making a loud buzzing noise. I really don't want to have someone come over to service a power cord but the buzzing is loud! The speakers for the TV are small and we ended up going back to Costco and bought a sound bar system to match the picture quality, ugh more $$ spent!"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 18, 2011

It's good, for the price, but not great

Pros: solid price for the product, sound quality better than expected, plays games (world of warcraft) pretty well
Cons: glare white balance seems off, not meant for internet surfing, better in a darker room
"Picture quality is good. It is better in a darker room with no sunlight coming in from the outside (see above glare comments).
Sound quality is better than expected for a small profile screen. The controls are not difficult to understand and it talked nicely to the sony blu-ray home theater system.
if you are planning on surfing the internet, the colors are not good and there is some strange off white background. If you are into playing games from a computer using an hdmi cable, this screen works pretty well with some adjustment.
Very Important. Screw down the base of the stand tight or the screen will wobble."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:May 31, 2011

Very Happy

Pros: price, size, warranty, picture, sound
Cons: nope
Model Number: LG 50PV400
"We have had this TV for 30+ days and are very pleased with the purchase. We use it for local tv, dvd's, blu-ray, and stream on our roku. Great picture and sound for all formats it all depends on where you put it. If you put it oppisite a window you get glare, duh. I looked, and looked, reviewed and reviewed and ran into this deal. Stayed away from the tv's with all of the apps because they are on blu-ray also and besides a roku is light years better for a fraction of the cost. Great tv, and we have logged quite a few hours on it, nothing but great things to say from our house."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tri Valley, California
Date:May 12, 2011

Pleasantly surprised

Pros: slim, very clear / smooth picture, great color, simple input changes
Cons: little bit of glare
Model Number: PV50-400
"This is a great buy after trying out LCDs and other plasma televisions. The setup is almost too simple and the preset color/brightness settings are enough for any room. Still a bit hard to get rid of the "glass glare" but the picture and smooth movement action is very much worth the occasional glare. What a price too.
I'm not sure how they made this so slim. Looks like an LED TV. Don’t be fooled by the dark picture in the store usually shown on plasmas. It’s plenty bright once you pick the right preset. I find most LEDs to be too bright by default anyway.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2011

Great image quality...once tuned

Pros: image adjustability
Cons: default colors are off
"The tv has an ok default settings for color. I adjusted the color and brightness to my liking and was pleased with the results. It should be able to be adjusted to anybodies liking because there are rgb, rgb contrast, rgb brightness, white and dark points... It goes on. If you dont like the way the image looks take your time and make slow adjustments til you find what you like. HD is a must, hd baseball is a great place to find your green balance. Comercials are good for white balance...
Just my way of finding what i like. Not a pro way, just a way."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:May 9, 2011

LIKE IT

Pros: large screen with1080p at a value price., 3 year warranty with amex card.
Cons: slight screen glare.
Model Number: 50PV400
"Good TV for the price. Excellent value.
Nice slim bezel design. Thin front to back. Settings are pretty easy. Not overly heavy. Good, easy swivel base.
Colors are rich and vibrant. May not be truly perfect, but technically none are perfect. I've had it for about a week. Picture definetly varies with the source. Some are beautiful, some not so much. Not the fault of the TV."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SJ, CA
Date:July 5, 2011

Best value for money

"Not sure what the $1500+ TVs can get more than this other than network connectivity which is buggy on most TVs anyway. The picture quality in this TV is amazing. The colors and the picture are very lively and natural. The black color is also very deep which is very important for the crisp image. I think this product is sold as different model (50PZ450) on other stores."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pasco, WA
Date:June 28, 2011

Love it!

Pros: price picture sound and warranty
Cons: tv gets a little warm
"I researched this a lot. I wanted to make sure I was getting the best product for the money. Well, I did with this purchase! I watch a lot of sports and the 600htz refresh rate is AWESOME! I have friends with new LED TV's and there nice and a little brighter but they all perfer to watch the big games at my house on my TV."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 1, 2011

Great TV!

Pros: great picture- no glare
Cons: none so far
"I love this TV.! I have this tv in a room with a lot of light, was afraid of the glare of plasma tvs, but I don't see the glare, can watch it without any drapes. I would recomend it by all means. GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY! You will not be dissapointed at all!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2011

Awesome!

"We love this TV. Went from a projection to this one and we are so happy with it. I am glad our projection quit working. The HD is amazing. Even my husband that doesn't like new things can't get over how awesome this TV is!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Date:September 6, 2011

Great Picture, worth the price.

"I had my reservation about getting a Plasma, but I am hooked on it. It operates much cooler than I thought, illuminates better than what I hoped and hits the clarity and refresh rates at the level I had expected."
Review 16 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Yorktown, VA
Date:October 21, 2011

2 months & dead

"This TV was great for two months. Then I turned it on tonight, it made a popping noise and won't turn on. Now I have to pack it up and return it. At least Costco has a good return policy."
Review 17 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2011

We love it!

"The screen on our new LG 50" 1080p HDTV is crisp and clear. We bought it for such a fantastic price that I wasn't expecting the great quality that we got."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:July 3, 2011

don't let the price full you, best tv for price

Pros: best picture and price for size
Cons: none
"Would be again , read reviews, better picture that my two LCD TVs, super splim Plasma, thinner that LCD, Great picture , sound, extra ports. Love this TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG 50" Class 1080p Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Folsom, Ca.
Date:August 5, 2011
"Great product. Delivered to the house in just a few days and easy to set up. Beautiful picture."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.