Customer Reviews for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones

Ideal for the traveler, student or music lover. The latest technology and convenient foldable size. The NC180 features an adjustable headband, superior sound quality and clarity, patented LINX AUDIO technology, in-line volume control for easy adjustment to safe listening levels (no more hunting for the volume control) and state-of-the-art active noise cancelation (ANC). Features: Featuring Award-Winning Patented LINX AUDIO® a Hear the Difference® technology In-Line Volume Control for Easy Adjustment to Safe Listening Levels Lightweight and Comfortable fit State-of-the-art active noise cancelation (ANC) Small and compact foldable design perfect for travel Specifications: Frequency Response: 20 Hz - 20,000 Hz Sensitivity at 1 kHz: 115 dB (Off); 121 dB (On) Plug: 3.5 mm Included: 1/4" Home Stereo Adaptor AAA Battery (1) Soft carrying pouch Model: NC 180B
Average Customer Rating:
3.162 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 99
(out of 99 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
30
57 of 99(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Review 1 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rural Colorado - 7 hours from the nearest Costco
Date:February 11, 2013

piece of junk

Pros: sound is ok until the next five minutes and breaks
Model Number: NC180B
"Broke nearly out of the box. The connection which goes into my ipod is defective and lost its connection."
Review 2 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2012

Design in poor quality

Pros: reasonably comfortable
Cons: very poorly designed so it wouldn't last long
"The headphone broke after I purchased it a few months later with very little use. The problem is the plastic joint (the part folding the phone) broke so the phone can not be held to the ears. Carefully examined the parts and the design. This piece requires strong material so it may held with certain strength. Unfortunately, it was made by plastic which can early be broken or just out of shape. I don't recommend this product at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:November 29, 2012

100% Satisfied

Pros: they do the job!
Model Number: NC180B
"I've had a pair of these for about 18 months and I love them. I'm a frequent traveler and I mainly use them on planes and in the airport. They are comfortable to wear for hours (I sleep with them on the plane), the noise cancellation really works well, the sound quality is good, and they have held up very well. I see people here complaining that their pair broke, but mine are going strong. And it's a steal at the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Mpls, MN
Date:November 22, 2012

Disappointed

Pros: decent noise canceling ability
Cons: they will break
"Same thing many are saying...I bought these about 5 months ago. I just used them at work to listen to music and for the noise canceling feature because our office can be noisy. They worked well. But I just put them on my head recently, and SNAP! They broke. There is thin plastic at the middle hinge."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Danville, CA
Date:October 31, 2012
"Like so many others, I bought these with high hopes. I had a pair of noise canceling headphones before, but they didn't travel well and I thought these would be better. But I was wrong. The hinge in the middle broke after only a couple of months and there is no way to fix it. I wouldn't recommend these to anybody who wants an everyday headphone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:October 30, 2012
"Top hinge just snapped after about 6 months of light use."
Review 7 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2012

Don't waste your money

"I purchased 2 pairs, both broke at the hinge. I was happy with their performance up until they broke. The first pair broke while traveling, so I purchased a 2nd pair (which I kept in the house), only to have the same problem."
Review 8 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Milford, MI
Date:October 4, 2012

2nd Pair, keep breaking at folding hinge

Pros: good sound, nice noise cancelling given price
Cons: folding hinge has broken on two separate headsets
"I was very happy with the performance of these headphones, especially given the price point. However, I use these for travel, the folding feature was important to me, and they have proven to not hold up well. First pair broke at folding hinge after 3 months, returned to store for replacement, and this time they lasted 4 months until the hinge broke. Too bad. I won't repurchase."
Review 9 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Carmel, IN
Date:October 4, 2012

Did not work

"Travel every week, purchased for noise canceling feature. Was defective out of the box, never worked, returned them."
Review 10 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:northridge, ca
Date:September 25, 2012

Great sound but broke after 3 months

Pros: sounds great good anr in drum booth
Cons: fragile hing at top
"I use these headphones as isolation monitors in a drumming booth. sounds great but broke at the hinge, I just bought my 2nd pair. stay tuned, I will let you know how they work out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego,CA
Date:September 8, 2012

AMAZING

Pros: great sound, soft pads
Cons: a little to small, no bluetooth
Model Number: NC180B
"I found these headphones amazing.The sound is great but its a little too small.Even if it has sizing, the sizing it is still a little too big or small.It has amazing pads.They are so soft.Unlike the beets it has no bluetooth.
."
Review 12 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ABQ, NM
Date:August 20, 2012

Unfair Reviews

Pros: several
Model Number: Able Planet NC180B
"Some reviewers are complete morons. I just bought a pair and plugged them into my iPhone. Initially there was to much bass, BUT THAT IS WHAT AN EQ IS FOR. I adjusted the EQ for my taste and I absolutely love them. To give this product an unfair review because the reviewer has no clue, in my humble opinion is completely unfair. Also, I have owned a pair of wireless Able Planet headphones for years and recently had a problem with the transmitter. Customer service was excellent and they promptly shipped out a new one a no cost."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:August 16, 2012

Don't waste your money

Pros: are returnable
Cons: do not work
"These will go back. Did not ever work right. Short in connection so that only right ear works. Noise cancelling on cuts off sound totally."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2012

DITTO on other poor reviews

"Mine broke at the hinge also. The power would intermittenly come on and off. I'm not one for writing reviews, but this is a very dissapointing product"
Review 15 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose,CA
Date:July 30, 2012

POOR Quality..Skip this one

Cons: poor quality
"After only 6 months of (careful) use, I along with many other users experienced the same poor quality. Mine broke a piece at the hinge and were no longer usable. Would not recommend or re-purchase these again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2012

Daughter likes

Pros: good noise canceling
Cons: first one broke
"This is the second pair of Headphones I got my daughter in college. She likes being able to use them in a group so she does not hear others. She needs the second pair because she broke the first."
Review 17 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver WA
Date:July 6, 2012

one headphone would squeal

Pros: looked nice foldable
Cons: squealed
"one of the two headphones would squeal every time you would put a hand or ear against the cushion"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Murrieta, CA
Date:July 6, 2012

Great Headphones

Pros: price, sound
Cons: a little large
Model Number: NC180B
"I bought these headphones for my wife. She wanted her own set for when she traveled especially when on an airplane. They are comfortable and work well. The best thing is you don't have to pay alot to get a good set of noise canceling headphones."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 29, 2012

Cheap plastic

Pros: price
Cons: cheap material poor durability sound quality
Model Number: Able Planet NC180B
"I bought these headphones because I do a lot of plane travel for business. After two trips, the hinge lock on the top of the head phone broke. Two more trips the hinge completely broke. This headphones are not very durable, poor design and cheap material won its one star rating. The noise cancelling is good but the sound quality it poor."
Review 20 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sherman Oaks, Ca.
Date:May 21, 2012

Will return these.

Model Number: NC 180B
"I've always relied on Costco to steer me right, but now ....?
These headphones are super in every way except sound wise !!!
Construction, portability, sound insulation all fine.
On the negative, snare drums sound like static electricity, background crackling and a steady hum from the noise cnx element.
I used these on I-Tunes on my Mac and compared the sound with cheaper phones. None of my headphones exhibited the same problems as the Able Planets.
"
1 2 3 4 5 next>>