Customer Reviews for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones

Ideal for the traveler, student or music lover. The latest technology and convenient foldable size. The NC180 features an adjustable headband, superior sound quality and clarity, patented LINX AUDIO technology, in-line volume control for easy adjustment to safe listening levels (no more hunting for the volume control) and state-of-the-art active noise cancelation (ANC). Features: Featuring Award-Winning Patented LINX AUDIO® a Hear the Difference® technology In-Line Volume Control for Easy Adjustment to Safe Listening Levels Lightweight and Comfortable fit State-of-the-art active noise cancelation (ANC) Small and compact foldable design perfect for travel Specifications: Frequency Response: 20 Hz - 20,000 Hz Sensitivity at 1 kHz: 115 dB (Off); 121 dB (On) Plug: 3.5 mm Included: 1/4" Home Stereo Adaptor AAA Battery (1) Soft carrying pouch Model: NC 180B
Average Customer Rating:
3.162 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 99
(out of 99 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
30
57 of 99(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Review 21 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:May 14, 2012

fair at best.

Pros: very inexpensive
Cons: hurt my head
"The headphones made my head feal like it was in a vice. They gave me a headache.
The noise cancelling wasn't that good, and the headphones emmitted a hiss when they were turned on. I returned them when they developed a crack near the hinge at the top.
On a good note, they do a good job of blocking out the noise of your co-workers as long as you are listening to some music.
"
Review 22 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoma County, California
Date:May 1, 2012

GOD SOUNDS

Pros: good buy
"Great fit very contifable and the sound is wonderful,. noise cancelling heah phone are very very good"
Review 23 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:April 30, 2012

Not Quite

Pros: comfortable
Cons: does not block outside sounds completely
"Headphones are very comfortable but do not block outside sounds as well as others I have used.
Good for the price.
"
Review 24 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:April 18, 2012

good for the price

Pros: cheap, sound, battery life
Cons: hot
"I have had these for about a year now and love them. The battery life is pretty good as long as you remember to turn them off (forget from time to time). Noise canceling on them is pretty good and it works well on a plane or train. I do think they start getting a bit hot after prolonged use, however, other than that I like what you get for the price. Beats buying the Bose model for 250 more."
Review 25 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:April 3, 2012

Don't know yet

Pros: very comfortable, adjusts easily
Cons: do not work
"Have not been able to get them to work yet. One of the biggest drawbacks so far is the limited information that comes with the headphones. It is necessary to go online to get any further information and that is so limited that it is of no value to me. I am looking to find a product that will let me watch TV at night without disturbing my wife. If this product fits that bill, it may be OK. I am going to take them back to Costco to see if anyone can get them to work and if they will do what I want with such a short cord. If I am able to get them to work, I would like to rate them again"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2012

Depends on what you want

"The noise canceling works pretty well--though I haven't tried other brands--but the overall sound quality is really poor. So if you're mostly looking to block sound, they're a bargain. But buying non-noise-canceling headphones at this price (or even half this price) would be a whole different listening experience. So if you listen at really loud volumes, which tend to drown out outside noises anyway, these may not be for you. Audiophiles also need not apply."
Review 27 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North, NJ
Date:March 23, 2012

I liked it so much & its so cheap I want one more

Pros: great buy and unbelievable price thanks to costco, good construction and sleek design
Cons: clicking sound in very loud sounds like explosions, slightly bulky on very long flights, not suitable in very hot weather conditions
Model Number: NC180B
"I bought these at the warehouse for an unbelievable price. When I got home I checked online if there was any other retailer selling it for less than Costco. Not surprisingly, I couldn't find it for less any where else. On the contrary, it is almost double the price everywhere else.
The sound quality is great with rich bass, clear speech, crisp sounds. As with most products sold in Costco, these headphones came with a nice bundle of accessories like the soft carry bag, a decent sized cable with in-line volume control, different adapters for airline and amplifier use, and a AAA battery.
I used these in a very long flight and the noise cancellation did it's magic. Like most Boeing airplanes, Boeing 777 airplanes have some engine noise in the cabin. But these headphones makes this constant background noise disappear. As soon as I turned on the Active Noise Cancellation switch, the Red LED indicator light came on and the noise disappeared and it felt serene and super quiet. There is a tiny background hiss which is understandably from the electronics of the system but nothing compared to any noise.
I used to think my bedroom is a quietest room I have every lived in. But when I turned on the Active Noise Canceling in my bedroom, I realized that there was still a little background noise (without the headphones), even in the most quietest room.
I think this is especially useful while reading, studying, meditating, air-travel, train-travel, bus-travel, or any other place including quiet areas.
Another amazing thing that I discovered is while watching videos in airplanes, it is much better with the ANC on. I tried watching with the ANC off and its such a huge difference. Also, the volume gets boosted with the ANC on so if a particular music or video file has inherent low sound volume, the ANC will boost it up. Yes it will use the battery but that is not a problem because I have used this for more than 8 hours and the battery is still working.
Please note that these headphones work on their own without battery power by just plugging them into a TV, Music System, MP3 Player, Cellular Phone, Smart Phone etc. By turning ON the Active Noise Cancellation switch, all outside noise gets canceled and the audio volume gets louder.
Overall I am very satisfied with this headphone. I liked it so much that I want one more as a spare.
These headphones fold very easily and can be packed safely into a hand bag in the soft carry pouch.
You cannot break it unless you are careless and don't know how to unlock the center lock on the headband. You have to use the fingertip of your thumb to push the lock release button in, and twist it at the same time to unlock it and fold it. Please read the instruction before trying to unlock the headband."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:March 14, 2012

Much needed Relief

Pros: great quality sound, great value, comfortable, compact/convenient, lightweight material, warranty, noise cancelling feature works great, includes battery
Cons: lightweight material-fragile, noise cancelling feature requires battery, noise canceling feature causes wierd frequency mod
Model Number: NC180B
"I needed to get away from ear buds. I didn't want to got $20-30 cheap, but I didn't want to go $80. There were not too many options in between. These were the right price, but were they the right fit and quality? I was sceptical, but they turned out great! And I chose Costco.com because the return policy is unmatched. I purchased another set for a friend and they love them also!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:March 5, 2012

Best I've ever heard

Pros: sound quality
Model Number: NC 180B
"I've been an audiophile my entire life and I've used some exrtremely expensive equipment at times. I've never heard such rich bass sounds from a headset. I priced these all over the internet and found them for as much as $107 so it was a real bargain at half that price."
Review 30 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:February 28, 2012

Good for awhile, but...

Pros: price, good fit, nice sound quality
Cons: breaks too easily if unfolded, on/off switch broke-less than one year old, quality of materials is poor
"I had these for about 8 months before the middle section at the top of the headphones simply snapped. I never could fix it so I had to tape it, and then four months later the on/off switch totally stopped working! I was thrilled with the sound quality and the fit, but the poor quality of the materials and the fact that they ultimately broke in two places really disappointed me. I returned them to costco no questions asked, and who should be returning another pair but the woman right in front of me! Hers had broken in a different place and the switch also had stopped working. SO BAD. Costco doesn't even carry them in the stores anymore. DO NOT BUY THEM. Go with the Bose on-ear headphones instead. You'll pay about twice as much, but it will totally be worth it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Il
Date:February 27, 2012

Good sound, fit a problem

Model Number: NC18B0
"The sound is good. Fit at the ear is not as good. More sound is heard by people nearby than was true with my older cheaper set. They are somewhat uncomfortable after a while. But I realize these are not very expensive."
Review 32 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Date:February 19, 2012

Poor design

Pros: sound price
Cons: cheap plastic junk
Model Number: NC180B
"Great sound great idea compact but really poor construction. Right side bracket broke after one month normal use. Even the display model at Costco was broken when we returned them. Costco was wonderful full refund no hassle. Spent a lot more money but bought Skullcandy Aviators lifetime warranty. This was a great price but they do not hold up. Please start carrying Skullcandy or something that will last more than a month. Able Planet needs to work on a better product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:February 19, 2012

REALLY great product for the money

Pros: cheap, good noise cancellation, good sound quality, contains all typical accessories
Cons: cheap feeling, cheap boxing
"I've been reading many of the negative reviews and after buying the product and trying it out, I am very happy. For some reason people compare this product to the $ 300 Bose headphones so let me give you the bottom line:
This product is functioning as advertised, with good sound quality, good noise cancellation and even decent bass. If you are a frequent flyer like me, I highly recommend that you try it before you spend the extra $ 250 on the Bose. This is a classic case where good enough is just... good enough."
Review 34 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:February 11, 2012

broke

Cons: cheaply made
Model Number: NC 180B
"I used them for about 20-25 times over the last 8 months then the headband broke at the middle hinge. just light to normal use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:February 5, 2012

Good for the price

Pros: good bass, cancels noise pretty well
Cons: little buzz
"I bought these to use in my noisy work office and for travel. Just got back from my first trip with them, and they were great. They are not Bose, but then again, only Bose are Bose. My friend at work has Bose, and his are definitely better, but cost $300 bucks. Can't beat them for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rockville, MD
Date:February 4, 2012

An excellent buy

Pros: inexpensive good sound quality and noise cancelli
Cons: look fragile a hard carrying case would do good
Model Number: Able Planet NC 180B
"I saw it at Costco store selling at a $10 discount (2/4). The price is so good I have to try it out. The one on demo at the store is broken, confirming a major problem registered in the review. I have a Bose QC 15 and I compared them side by side. It is not a Bose (comfort, sound and noise cancelling) but it is definitely a keeper. The in-line volume adjustment is a big plus. I will treat with TLC. I will take QC 15 for out of town trips."
Review 37 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2012

very disappointing

Pros: inexpensive, noise cancelling, folds for travel
Cons: distorted sound, sound cuts out, hard to fold
"Used them once. Noticed that if I turned my head or bumped the cord, the sound would cut out on the left side. Returned them right away. When the sound worked, it was only fair sounding."
Review 38 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:January 31, 2012

SHOULD HAVE LISTENED TO THE 1 STARS

Cons: cheap plastic, sound is okay at best
"Bought this to replace my previous over-ear Sony's that I had used for 5 years. In just over 3 months, so past the return date, it snapped in half. First the snap mechanism broke, and then an hour later, taking the headphones off, the entire thing cracked in half. Cheap construction, not what I expected at all"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, CA
Date:January 30, 2012

What's the Matter with Instructions?

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: no manual, doesn't filter out all noise
Model Number: LinxAudio
"So what’s so bad about providing information to your buyers? I got these headphones to “hear the difference”, but what’s different is that I can’t figure out how to unlock the head piece and put it back in the box. There are absolutely no instructions involved—nor any help in figuring out which way the battery fits into the device. Etc., etc.
Might be great for technological people, but for the average consumer—whom I expect they’d like to keep attracting—there’s nothing there. I even tried e-mailing them, but the address provided bounced back, so apparently they're not too interested in helping any customer with a problem they can't figure out on their own. And then by reading the reviews I realized that others had difficulty in unlocking the folding device as well.
"
Review 40 for Able Planet NC180B Foldable Noise Canceling Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2012

Decent sound, but flimsy

Pros: price
Cons: flimsy
Model Number: NC180B
"I bought these earphones in the store and used them for about three months, including a trip to Thailand. The sound quality and noise cancelling were passable, but not great. First the plastic snap lock broke because, basically, it's just a little piece of plastic that bends every time you fold and unfold them. Soon after that, the whole hinge broke because it wasn't locked tight when in use. Returned to the store for refund."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>