Customer Reviews for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets

Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets

Average Customer Rating:
3.29 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
(out of 62 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
22
36 of 62(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Review 1 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Near Sacramento, CA
Date:June 17, 2015

This works great for me

Pros: pills are easy to break in half for a lower dose
" I have used Schiff Melatonin Ultra for several years with great results. I do not need 3mg, so I simply break the pills in half. For me 1.5mg works best. The older we get, the more melatonin we can use, so maybe 3mg will work for me in a few years (I'm 63 now). "
Review 2 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:oro valley, az
Date:May 24, 2015

Doesn't work

Pros: price
" I have taken several brands of Melatonin in the past. All have worked, except this one. I even upped the dosage to a larger amount and nothing worked with this brand. "
Review 3 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 21, 2015

Has always worked well for me

Pros: works well for most people
Cons: possible minor side effects for some
" This product has always worked well for me. Many reviews mention that they have excessive dreams during the night when they take this this product. But if you're dreaming, doesn't that mean you're sleeping - which is the reason to take it in the first place. That's never been a problem for me nor do I wake up with any side effects in the morning. If you read the reviews, it does work for most people but not all. I think it comes down to individual situations and the underlying reason why they might have trouble sleeping. If you haven't tried it, then buy a bottle, it's cheap. If it doesn't work, then don't use it. But if you have minor sleep issues, you might be glad you did. "
Review 4 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:April 2, 2015

Works Great!

" A family member suggested I try this product to help me sleep. I started by taking one tablet before bed. I didn't notice any difference! Then I tried two tabs, nothing! I told my family member that it wasn't working. She explained that some people need to take up to three tablets. I've been happily taking three tabs ever since and it works wonders. I sleep really well and I don't wake up groggy. I would highly recommend this product. "
Review 5 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon City, Oregon
Date:March 30, 2015

Very happy to have found these!!!

Pros: easier to sleep
Cons: none
" As I got older, I suffer from insomnia. With these, I take 1 before bedtime and I go to sleep. "
Review 6 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:January 16, 2015

Not for me or wife

Pros: price per serving
Cons: low melatonin dosage
" My wife and I both tried this and it was ineffective at helping us get to sleep. I believe the Melatonin content is too low for us, we usually fall right asleep within one hour with 5mg, but since this is 3mg, it is not as potent. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:January 15, 2015

Works great IF...

Pros: helps me sleep, reduces migrains, much safer than prescription aids, best if taken w/ a large glass of pineapple juice, diphenhydramine and ibuprofen or naprox also help, cheapest of the melatonin products, also contains 25 mg theanine = 1 cup of green tea, and can be slightly addictive
Cons: only good for few days unless taken with pinapple, potential interactions with blood thinners, diabetes medication birth control pills etc., can disrupt sleep if taken at different times, will not help reduce brain activity, won't replace good sleep habits, can magnify the effects of alcohol, and shouldn't be taken by pregnant women
" This product works for me by itself but only for a few days as after that it tends to then make things worse by perhaps causing my body to make less Melatonin (and maybe why some studies found it to be physically addictive). Thus, I would only use this product alone (and this is far cheaper than other Melatonin products) say when jumping time zones during travel (I've found sites that suggest taking up to 3-4 such capsules should be safe). I find a good night's sleep is more important than exercise and eating well (and I would expect the 87% of Americans spending over $3 Billion a year on prescription sleep aids in 2007 might just agree with me).
For longer use I need to add a natural Melatonin supplement to my diet (which in the long run doesn't help enough by itself either). The cheapest way is pineapple juice, which has been shown to raise natural Melatonin levels by 288% (which naturally decline as we age). Other options include tart cherry juice (which also helps remove uric acid from your joints but aspirin, ibuprofen, or naproxen works wonders for me). Then, peanut butter is rich in tryptophan (as are bananas), which the brain uses to make serotonin and melatonin. And, carbohydrates, like toast, help make tryptophan more available to the brain. Finally, Green tea also contains Thiamine (providing the distinctive flavor), an amino acid shown to help reduce stress and promote relaxation (and why is in this product).
But, the cheapest and simplest solution is to take a large glass of pineapple juice with the Melatonin. Common side effects include morning grogginess, headaches (at the beginning), and vivid dreams (all of which I have experienced). It also has potential interactions with blood thinners, diabetes medication, birth control pills, etc. and should not be used for more than two months at a time. Sites say some find it helps their migraines (like L-theanine) if taken 30 minutes before sleeping (and and I agree). It can, however, disrupt sleep if taken at different times of the day (so, don't do this). Of course, this will not help someone needing brain activity reduced (what the prescription stuff is for). And, it won't replace good sleep habits (like going to bed at the same time each night, even on weekends, going to bed early enough as to not need an alarm to get up, etc). I find Nature Made makes it easier for me to fall asleep, stay asleep, and get back to sleep (alas, with a headache after the first few uses).
This also includes L-theanine (an amino acid contributing to the unique flavor of green tea, which you don't want to drink because it contains caffeine) has been shown to boost one's immune system but can also magnify the effects of alcohol (and shouldn't be taken by pregnant women). But, most importantly, L-theanine has been shown to reduce mental and physical stress (in other words, untwisting twisted thinking) thusly helping people both to concentrate (potentially improving cognition and mood) as well as to relax. Thus, it can be found in both sleep aids and daytime power drinks.
I have also had success (as others have) with a cheap generic Diphenhydramine (the active ingredient in Benadryl and ZzzQuil Nighttime Sleep-Aid) and often take a couple of these with a couple of the Melatonin (and an Advil). Finally, a cool humidifier and Breathe Right nasal strips can also help (especially now in the winter). "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:January 5, 2015

Works well and is great value.

" This works well for me consistently and when it is on sale the price is unbeatable. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:November 15, 2014

Best melatonin formula I have ever used

Model Number: Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
" This is the best melatonin formula I have ever used. I use it fairly regularly just before bedtime to help me sleep thru the night. I sleep more soundly and wake up more rested after using it. I think the added ingredients help. I only take a half pill each time and it does the trick. I sometimes feel a little unbalanced with the first step out of bed in the morning, but once I am up I feel back to normal without any grogginess. "
Review 10 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2014

Continue to carry this excellent product.

Pros: cannot beat the price and quality
" Have used this product for years with excellent results. I hope you continue to carry this product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jersey Shore, NJ
Date:April 22, 2014

Very Effective and Safe

Pros: no hangover feeling in the morning, restful sleep
" I swear by this supplement. I have more restful sleep and there is no residual hangover feeling in the morning.
I suffered from hot flashes and insomnia for a long time before I tried this. I have also tried other melatonin supplements but this works the best by far. I believe it is because of the B vitamin and herb combination. Would recommend highly.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
Pros: b vitamins
" When I take this, I don't only go to sleep and sleep restfully, I wake up easily and without being groggy. I have taken other melatonin, but I believe this mix is ideal. It's definitely ideal for me, a night owl, who thought she'd "never" sleep! "
Review 13 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA
Date:March 30, 2014

Ineffective or at best poor dosage advice

Pros: none
Cons: doesn't have any noticible effect.
" I tried one cap as advised. It had no discernible effect. Next I tried 2 caps and again had no better effects and perhaps even worse with a headache next morning. Maybe if you take enough of this it will work but that gets a little scary and as far as my experience goes it was just a waste of money. Not recommended. "
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spring Hill, TN
Date:March 27, 2014

What's the deal?

Pros: fair price, good product - it works
Cons: i am not sure what the b-6 is for.
" I have read some of the other reviews, and am not sure where they are coming from. To be honest, I am not crazy about the B-6, but the product works great and I love it. I ran out for a few days and had to borrow some from my wife afterward.. I was once again back in sleep land. It's an excellant product as far as I am concerned. "
Review 15 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mojave Desert, California
Date:February 5, 2014

Doesn't Work

Pros: so far there do not seem to be any side effects.
Cons: doesn't work.
" This product does not make me sleepy after I take it. It does not help me sleep through the night either. I have upped the dose to 2 pills. I've used about 1/2 of the 300 pills in the bottle. Really a waste of money. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lynnwood, WA
Date:January 21, 2014

Works great for me

Pros: works great, no side effects
Cons: none
" For me Melatonin Ultra works great, I think even better than Plus. It really helps me sleep, and I don't have any side effects in the morning. "
Review 17 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor,
Date:January 13, 2014

Why the additives?

Pros: melatonin is an ingrediant
Cons: dozens of additives
Model Number: Schif Melatonin Ultra
" I take melatonin for its antioxidant properties and it doesn't seem to affect my sleep. However, with this product my wife and I could not get to sleep. At 1 AM we noticed that the other was awake and attributed it to this product. I would like a get a melatonin supplement without B6 and herbs etc. Something in there is a stimulant that kept us up. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:January 11, 2014

Not always immediate relief/effect

Pros: low cost
" As all of you know, sleeplessness is very frustrating & prescription sleep medications are fraught with undesired effects. For those who did not see the results hoped for, perhaps you need to take this supplement for a period of time - not just a night or two. As with anything of this nature, what works for some does not work for others. I have found that if I do "all the right things" prior to going to bed, this supplement works well. For those of us with sleep issues, we have to be diligent in practicing excellent sleep hygiene. Good luck & pleasant dreams. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 9, 2014

Melatonin Ultra

Pros: works - fall asleep immediately
Cons: none
" I have terrible trouble sleeping. My doctor recommended melatonin. I used just the melatonin and it was not working. I bought this combo and it is a miracle. I say that because I ran out 2 weeks ago and I had to resort to some plain ole melatonin that I had... and again...... I could not sleep. The combo in these pills really works. I fall asleep immediately. If I wake up I take it again. I just bought 3 more bottles. I can't live without it!!!!! "
Review 20 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Germantown MD
Date:November 19, 2013

did not work for me

Pros: none
Cons: did not work
" took it for two night and each night I had to use other sleeping aid medication like Motrin PM. I was very excited about natural remedies but I guess It does not work for everyone. It may work for less insomniacs but not for the hardcore ones like me. I will explore other remedies because Mortin PM is not a long term solution. "
1 2 3 4 next>>