Customer Reviews for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets

Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets

Average Customer Rating:
3.078 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
(out of 51 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
20
27 of 51(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Review 1 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Harbor, FL
Date:August 13, 2011

Not really melatonin

Cons: not the supplement that they are promoting
"I have been using melatonin for the past 10 years as a sleep pattern regulator, not as a sleeping pill. But now that they added so many additional things to this tablets, it is no longer melatonin. Not as the melatonin that we should use for our sleep patterns, it is not fair to change the active ingredients of a supplement used regularly for so many years. If you want to introduce something new, please change its name! As I told before, I have been using it for many years, and suddenly I felt a kind of hangover, I couldn't wake up as I usually did, and at first I didn't know who or what to blame, I was really worried, because I usually don't take other kind of pills, until I don't know why, I read the label of what I thought was my usual supplement, just to find a lot of other ingredients added. Of course I returned it, and as usual, I believe in Costco's customer service and return policy, but anyway, it wasn't fair.
I WANT MY SUPPLEMENT BACK!
Please Costco, do something about it.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2011

Reverse Effect - HORRIBLE!

Cons: could not fall asleep or stay asleep.
"My husband and I are big fans of Melatonin to assist as a sleeping aid when needed. I am speaking for both of us as this product had the exact same effect on both of us. Everyone is different, so take this review for what it is worth... Not only were we not able to fall asleep while using this product, when we finally did fall asleep (hours later), it was not a "sound" sleep, as we woke up through the night and extremely early in the mornings. We tried the product consistently for one full week. Once we stopped using the product, and switched to regular melatonin, we had not sleep issues. We have no issues with regular melatonin (minus the other junk they put in this particular product). Melatonin works great. However, our costco does not sell plain melatonin (3mg). They only carry this product. We are very disappointed in the product and will not buy it in the future."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
Pros: b vitamins
"When I take this, I don't only go to sleep and sleep restfully, I wake up easily and without being groggy. I have taken other melatonin, but I believe this mix is ideal. It's definitely ideal for me, a night owl, who thought she'd "never" sleep!"
Review 4 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA
Date:March 30, 2014

Ineffective or at best poor dosage advice

Pros: none
Cons: doesn't have any noticible effect.
"I tried one cap as advised. It had no discernible effect. Next I tried 2 caps and again had no better effects and perhaps even worse with a headache next morning. Maybe if you take enough of this it will work but that gets a little scary and as far as my experience goes it was just a waste of money. Not recommended."
Review 5 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spring Hill, TN
Date:March 27, 2014

What's the deal?

Pros: fair price, good product - it works
Cons: i am not sure what the b-6 is for.
"I have read some of the other reviews, and am not sure where they are coming from. To be honest, I am not crazy about the B-6, but the product works great and I love it. I ran out for a few days and had to borrow some from my wife afterward.. I was once again back in sleep land. It's an excellant product as far as I am concerned."
Review 6 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:January 11, 2014

Not always immediate relief/effect

Pros: low cost
"As all of you know, sleeplessness is very frustrating & prescription sleep medications are fraught with undesired effects. For those who did not see the results hoped for, perhaps you need to take this supplement for a period of time - not just a night or two. As with anything of this nature, what works for some does not work for others. I have found that if I do "all the right things" prior to going to bed, this supplement works well. For those of us with sleep issues, we have to be diligent in practicing excellent sleep hygiene. Good luck & pleasant dreams."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 12, 2011

Good Product

Pros: inexpensive, easy to take
Cons: gaba might keep you awake
"I think the gap in reviews is due to the Gaba. I think Gaba is great, but I could see how it might keep some people up. Of course all of these herbal remedies are not fully researched and there is some room to wonder what effects they may or may not have. The attendant "herbalist" at a natural foods store told me to take the Gaba to handle my baby blues (with 5 htp) because I am fearful of taking antidepressants with my current medication.
This, with the 5 HTP which you can also get at costco, has elevated my mood noticeably and has also reduced my anxiety because I think I get more sleep now. I used to take the melatonin and Gaba separately and now I don't have to AND this is SO much cheaper. I never wake up feeling groggy with this either, I sort of felt out of it taking them separately. I think herbs don't get their due respect because the FDA doesn't evaluate them. This should be taken with caution, if you don't have depression or anxiety problems, the Gaba might not be right for you. It has some qualities that an anti-depressant or anti-anxiety medicine may have, imo, and if you don't have these issues it might keep you up."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, California
Date:August 10, 2013

Plan Well, Sleep Well!

Pros: to sleep in 15-20 mins guaranteed!
Cons: short half-life may require redosing if awoken.
"Have been using this for about 6 months. Pretty much guaranteed to fall asleep within 15-20 mins. Once asleep, I sleep right through the night. If woken up by anything, the effects are gone and sometimes I need to repeat the dose. But like clockwork, right back to sleep in 15-20 mins. So time your sleep well!
NO Hang Over Effects in the morning! I get up at 0400 and I feel refreshed every morning.
Absolutely NO rebound insomnia effects should you forget to take it for a night.
None of the anxiety effects as one other reviewer mentioned, that is an individual side effect for them alone not the general consumer.
Yes, I am a Doctor, and I recommend it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mojave Desert, California
Date:February 5, 2014

Doesn't Work

Pros: so far there do not seem to be any side effects.
Cons: doesn't work.
"This product does not make me sleepy after I take it. It does not help me sleep through the night either. I have upped the dose to 2 pills. I've used about 1/2 of the 300 pills in the bottle. Really a waste of money."
Review 10 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011

Ultra does not work as well as Plus

Pros: it isn't ambien
Cons: it isn't ambien
"I agree with a couple of the other reviewers who don't find the Ultra version to work as well as the previously carried Plus version. I hope that Costco returns to carrying the Plus version. I have written to Schiff to find out if they plan to discontinue the Plus version and if so, I plan to stock up from any other store that carries it. Melatonin Plus works well for me. Ultra ... not as well. For those of you who fall asleep well but wake up too early, try taking the Melatonin Plus in the middle of the night as long as you have four or five hours to sleep after that (it may keep you asleep longer than me so adjust accordingly)."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 9, 2014

Melatonin Ultra

Pros: works - fall asleep immediately
Cons: none
"I have terrible trouble sleeping. My doctor recommended melatonin. I used just the melatonin and it was not working. I bought this combo and it is a miracle. I say that because I ran out 2 weeks ago and I had to resort to some plain ole melatonin that I had... and again...... I could not sleep. The combo in these pills really works. I fall asleep immediately. If I wake up I take it again. I just bought 3 more bottles. I can't live without it!!!!!"
Review 12 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Coon Rapids, MN
Date:May 7, 2012

CAUTION Worked but Fatigue all next day

Pros: improved quality sleep throughout night
Cons: caution experienced fatigued all next day, too many add-ons to melatonin
"Doctor recommended 3mg Melatonin for my spouse. I decided to try also. We hadn't taken any before and stopped at Costco on our way home and bought this. It worked for a good night sleep with fewer wakeups and when did wake up fell back to sleep easier. For me it took a few nights of use before it was effective for sleep. For my spouse, it was immediately effective. So we were very pleased at that point. However we were very very fatigued the next day all day long for several days; we thought we were coming down with something or just tired out. When it wasn't going away we realized it must be the Melatonin Ultra, so we started taking a half tablet or 1 1/2 gm, which helped some with the fatigue the next day ...... but not completely. So we bought plain 3gm melatonin and now experience NO fatigue the next day ....we feel normal as we should."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lynnwood, WA
Date:January 21, 2014

Works great for me

Pros: works great, no side effects
Cons: none
"For me Melatonin Ultra works great, I think even better than Plus. It really helps me sleep, and I don't have any side effects in the morning."
Review 14 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor,
Date:January 13, 2014

Why the additives?

Pros: melatonin is an ingrediant
Cons: dozens of additives
Model Number: Schif Melatonin Ultra
"I take melatonin for its antioxidant properties and it doesn't seem to affect my sleep. However, with this product my wife and I could not get to sleep. At 1 AM we noticed that the other was awake and attributed it to this product. I would like a get a melatonin supplement without B6 and herbs etc. Something in there is a stimulant that kept us up."
Review 15 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:July 15, 2013

Anxious and not sleeping

Pros: price
"I do not recommend this product for someone that suffers from panic or anxiety. I had a bad experience my first dose...woke up 1 1/2 hour later after falling asleep with a lot of anxiety and feeling really disconnected. I couldn't focus to read and I was shaking a lot (anxiety). In approx. 2 hours I fell back to sleep and woke up again. When I did sleep I had very vivid and weird dreams. I am not saying that others will experience but this was my experience. I normally have no problem with Melatonin 5mg, even taking 10mg. I am thinking it was the other ingredients in this product. Also, I take Estroven as well so I am not sure if this was a factor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:August 19, 2011

Made Me Restless - Unlike Melanonin Plus

Pros: available at costco, not useful to me as a sleep aid
Model Number: Melatonin Ultra
"I recently picked up the new Melatonin Ultra at Costco planning to use it similarly to the Melatonin Plus I used to buy from Costco. I'd used Melatonin Plus once or twice a week for several years to improve my sleep. It worked very well for me. The new Melatonin Ultra has just the opposite effect. I was very uneasy in going to sleep, and I was extremely restless all night. I tried the new product three times with these same results and will not use it again. Please return to carrying Melatonin Plus!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Monterey, CA
Date:August 11, 2011

Not as good

"I went through an entire bottle of 300 Melatonin Plus over a two year period. Costco now has this Melatonin Ultra which does not seem to be working. It's almost like I'm not taking anything at all. Possibly what Schiff has added to the product may be the culprit. I'm now searching for Melatonin or Melatonin Plus so I can get back to having a good night's sleep."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:August 2, 2012

Don't like the GABA

Pros: no pros
Cons: the ultra makes you groggy in the morning
"I really had great results with the Schiff Melatonin PLUS and wish you would carry this again. The Melatonin ULTRA with the GABA causes weird dreams that wake me up and then I can't go back to sleep, which defeats the purpose of taking it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Germantown MD
Date:November 19, 2013

did not work for me

Pros: none
Cons: did not work
"took it for two night and each night I had to use other sleeping aid medication like Motrin PM. I was very excited about natural remedies but I guess It does not work for everyone. It may work for less insomniacs but not for the hardcore ones like me. I will explore other remedies because Mortin PM is not a long term solution."
Review 20 for Schiff® Melatonin Ultra, 300 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:April 10, 2012

Bring back Melatonin Plus

Cons: not condusive to a good sleep.
Model Number: Melatonin Ultra
"The problem with this is the addition of the GABA. I've tried GABA before standalone and had found it caused me to have very vivid dreams which were stressful and not very relaxing. The quality of my sleep worsened quite a bit as a result. I didn't realize upfront the change in this until I put 2 and 2 together as to why I was no longer feeling rested in the morning.
If anyone from Costco is reading this, please bring back the Melatonin Plus as at least an alternative please for those of us that GABA effects adversely. I'll have to get the Plus elsewhere for the time being now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>