Customer Reviews for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System

The DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier's patented heavy-duty pump system automatically removes moisture from collection tank so you never have to empty a bucket. The easy to set and read, soft-touch controls and large LCD display allow you to monitor relative humidity and temperature. Ideal for use in the basement, living room, bedroom, office or anywhere excess humidity is present.   Patented worry-free pump system: Automatically removes moisture from collection tank; just attach the 16-foot hose (included) and the unit can be drained upward through a window; Dehumidifier function can be operated with or without pump   LCD electronic controls: Soft-touch controls and large LCD display; functions are easy to set and read; electronic humidistat, room thermostat, 24-h timer, anti-frost device, and fan speed functions allow you to easily set your desired level of comfort   Visible water level: Frontally located tank and transparent water level window allows one to easily monitor water levels   Tank control system with alarm: Special safety system prevents water overflow due to a full, improperly positioned or missing tank. Also, if the pump hose is missing or not correctly positioned the “PUMP” symbol will flash and the unit will not turn on   Ideal for basement use: Low temperature operation; designed to function at temperatures as low as 41°F   3 operation modes: Features 2 functions; a fan only control with 2 speeds and dehumidification   Air filtration technology: Permanent, washable air filter traps bothersome dust particles and extends the life of the unit   Empty water tank 3 ways: Continuously through patented pump system via 16' drainage hose (included) Passively through 3' drainage hose (included) Directly into the 6.0 liter capacity tank; no assembly or plumbing necessary Features: Fully portable with durable casters and handles   Quiet operation   UL listed   Weight: 41.23 lbs   Dimensions: 14.9" W x 11.81"D x 24.02" H   1 year warranty   For product related questions please call DeLonghi toll-free at (800) 322-3848. Model: DD50PC
Average Customer Rating:
2.973 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
12
20 of 37(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Review 1 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:July 13, 2011

Great product, not as energy efficient as thought

Pros: good quality works well pump feature
Cons: fan always on energy use blower location
Model Number: DD50PC
"Purchased this model because in process of replacing appliances in home that are not "Energy Star" rated. It is a great operating product and takes the humidity out. The humidistat feature seems accurate. What I dislike about this product is that the air output is located on top and blows up instead of from the side like most dehumidifiers. The second is there is no timer function that will run on a 2 hour on / 2 hour off or a 4 hour on or 4 hour off cycle, like my LG model. The DeLonghi has a timer - set it for so long and it turns off. No automatic cycle function. The third item I do not like about this is it will run all the time. Even though the compressor may not be, the fan will always blow. Figuring it is an Energy Star appliance it will be efficient. My electric bill jumped. I purchased a "kill-o-watt" device that measures the electricity usage for a product and projects the cost for a month and this was costing $35 to operate. This uses more electricity than the LG model it was to replace."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Hampshire
Date:June 7, 2011

CAUTION: Won't Last

Pros: features, pump, humidity control, quiet
Cons: expensive, early failure: 12-18 months
"I have owned 3 [from COSTCO] of the high-end DeLonghi dehumidifiers in the past 4 years. Slow learner!! Initially I was blown away with how great it worked and the features were everything I needed. Unfortunately, each one quit during its 2nd year. $200+/year is starting to get expensive!! I will NOT BUY another one by this manufacturer. Interestingly, research would lead me to believe this early failure rate is common amongst most dehumidifiers since the industry was forced to cease using Freon as its refrigerant. The replacement coolant lacks the lubricating qualities of Freon."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central NJ
Date:June 27, 2011

GREAT FEATURES

Pros: great features
Cons: if you lose power be sure to turn the pump on.
"Several months ago I was involved in setting up a DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System in a rental property I manage. I was quite impressed with the pump feature. Just recently I had to decide on a new dehumidifier for my own home. Immediately I remembered my experience with DeLonghi and made the purchase through Costco's website. The product arrived very quickly and in good condition. The setup only took a few minutes. I chose to use the pump feature because it eliminates the necessity to constantly check if the canister is full.and then to empty it. [If you are especially GREEN CONSCIOUS, you could use the collected water on your flowers and plants.] The only issue I have had was when we lost power in a storm; when I checked the dehumidifier, I forgot to click the PUMP button on and the water collected in the canister. The product is efficient, relatively quiet, attractive in design, and would fit nicely in many parts of a house. Mine is used in a basement area. A very good product at a reasonable cost. The best dehumidifier we have ever owned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:August 1, 2011

Good - sometimes needs a new fuse

Pros: pump works well, easy to use
Cons: fuse may need to be replaced, bit noisy, hard to get at the fuse location
Model Number: DEN500P
"I have had this Costco purchased product for about 3 years. It does go out when the power fails and needs to be turned back on manually. Mine also went out and after taking it apart I found a blown fuse. The manual states nothing about this and I too thought the unit was completely dead. The fuse is hard to reach and hard to find a replacement but once I did, it was back and running. I would suggest using a power strip to prevent a blown fuse. New fuses can be found at Grainger for a few bucks. They are Buss part number GMA 15A. 15 amp 125V fuses not available at your local stores or Radio Shack"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Enfield, CT
Date:September 17, 2011

Great when it works, better w/ Costco warranty

"I am ordering my 3rd one of these.
I have discovered that the problem with dehumidifiers is that they only last 2 years and then die. If bought at Costco there is no issue, just take it back and get your money back and a new one.
My 1st one died after 2 years. Took it back to Costco and got another. NO Hassels.
The 2nd one just died after a yr and a half (it does come with a 2yr warranty anyway). Returned it to Costco today and now I am orderring my third.
You may wonder why. As long as Costco takes them back what do I care. I've had Kenmores do the same, but here I don't need a service contract and don't see a repair bill.
The only issue Ihave had is mold build up in the drain hose. I can usually clean it out with bleach and hot water in 30 minutes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Zionsville, IN
Date:May 27, 2011

TOP OF THE LINE...

Pros: super quiet, pump, continuous drain, ability to run pump drain or bucket
Cons: short hose that comes with unit
"I've tried a couple other brands, and overall they perform well too. However, the reason I say this is the top of the line is, it is very quite. There are two fan settings, and even at the high fan setting, it is much quieter than any other brand we've owned. The humidity goes up and down in 5 degrees. There is a timer as well. The only downfall of the unit is the hose attachment. We are not using the pump, we use the hose out the back. The one that comes with the unit is ''very'' short. We hooked up a garden hose to run to our sump pump. Other than the small hose, I would highly recommend this product. It's also at our Costco as a cash and carry."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:June 9, 2011

stopped working after two seasons

Cons: worked for only 10 months in 2 year period, mfr was not responsive to the problem, mfr delayed responding, mfr gave misleading responses, mfr gave unhelpful diversionary information
Model Number: don't remember, it was purchased 3 years ago
"We used a similar DeLonghi dehumidifier from Costco for two short seasons. Since we run a woodstove in the basement, we used the humidifier from roughly June to November for 2 seasons. We cleaned and packed it away carefully each time. It would not run after the second season. I would not even call it "two years". DeLonghi was NOT responsive to requests for assistance after several months of being yanked around by the mfr Costco was gracious."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Newark, Delaware
Date:September 18, 2011

Good product but needs improvement

Pros: pumpease of use
Cons: no re-start after power loss
Model Number: DD50PC
"Unit works well and was easy to setup.
The biggest problem is the unit will not re-start after a power failure. Not a big deal if you are always home, but a big deal if you are away from the installed location and count on the unit to control the humidity. Also, the unit fan runs continuously, even when the compressor cycles off when the humidity level is reached. Plusses are the pump works well and the unit is attractive.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:October 9, 2011

Works Great

Pros: works and drains well.
Cons: fan is always on.
Model Number: DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
"After some little difficulty setting the dehumidifier up, it has worked fine. It immediately brought the humidity down to the % I set. And, its pump drains the water as advertised. I have one complaint. The dehumidifier is “Energy Start” compliant, but the fan is always on. I would expect even greater energy savings if the fan came on when needed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Byron Center, MI
Date:September 22, 2011

Heats as it pulls water from the air!

Pros: heats as it dehumidifies!
Cons: oddly shaped water bucket awkward to empty.
"We are using this in our basement between two bedrooms. It is the quietest dehumidifier we've ever had. The warm air it throws, when it's being run regularly, raises the basement temperature very nicely (and we have a large basement) so the furnace doesn't need to run as much."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: fan runs constantly
Cons: when ever there is a power failure or glitch the u
"I am returning this product. When ever there is a power failure or glitch the unit has to be reset for level and pump function.
The fan runs all the time unless you use the timer. It does note auto shut off."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Hampshire
Date:May 30, 2011

Extracts moisture from the air quickly

Pros: built-in pump and long hose, quiet and efficient
Cons: if the unit loses power it forgets all settings, only 2 fan settings
Model Number: DD50P
"Works well, including the built-in pump.
One consideration if you have unreliable electric supply -- if the unit loses power, it forgets all settings and when the power comes back, unit will be in standby mode with pump turned off.
You'll want to use the pump or drain hose (all included), as this pulls a lot of moisture from the air very quickly. I had to empty the tank twice a day when I first hooked it up, until I got smart and plumbed the hose outdoors."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Date:June 27, 2011

So far so good!

Pros: gets the job done
Cons: does not remember the pump setting
"Just moved into a new place that has had some dampness issues in the basement. The previous owner had been running a dehumidifier so we got this one as a replacement. We have made it through several heavy rains and the DeLonghi has worked well so far to take care of any moisture that has gotten in.
Word of advice for anyone depending on the pump - make sure to push the "Pump" button every time you turn the unit off and back on. It does not seem to remember how it was set up before it was powered down. I forgot to hit the "Pump" button and it defaulted to using the tank, but it quickly filled up so the system turned itself off until I drained it."
Review 14 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:September 1, 2011

Patented Worry Free Pump - Not Worry Free

Pros: pulled water out just fine
Cons: poor capacity pump
Model Number: DH50CP (?)
"Had the unit for two weeks. Pumping up about 8 feet then horizontal about 15 feet to a ceiling drain. Told that it was only designed to pump no more than the 16 foot hose (although rated to pump up to 13 feet verticle.
I returned it as the pump ceased to pump."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pacifica, CA
Date:August 14, 2011

Recommended to anyone who has humidity issues.

Pros: extracts a lot of water
Cons: the fan is noisy even with 2 speeds., so i turn it on during daytime.
Model Number: DD50PC
"I purchased this product on 8/2/11 and used it the day it arrived. It extracted a lot of water from a bedroom with extended living area outside the bedroom. This living space is located on bottom floor of a 2 story home. We live in a city that is 1.5 miles from the ocean and this definitely takes care of the humidity in the large room. I will be using this on top floor of the house to see how effective it is. So far, I like this product and will keep using it for as long as it continues extracting water everywhere in my house."
Review 16 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:July 29, 2011

Disappointed

"It dehumidifies well. Controls are obtuse. It forgets everything if the power goes out. If set to run, fan runs constantly on either loud or very loud settings until humidity goes to start level. No noisier when running than when waiting. Timer not tied to clock - daily operation uses percentage humidity only.
Doesn't come on if you put it on external timer because it forgot settings when power went away.
Haven't used pump.
Easy to connect to drain but hose supplied is short.
"
Review 17 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Francisco CA
Date:July 29, 2011

Works as advertised, but fan is very noisy

Pros: removes water from the air effectively, pump eliminates need for any manual intervention, pump powerful enough to get water up to13 feet, easy to clean dust filter, optional gravity drain if you have a floor drain, built in temp/humidity gauge seems accurate
Cons: much too noisy for a living area, if power is interrupted defaults to fully off
"Will handle a humid room of modest size, but I required a second unit to maintain low humidity in a larger storage room in the basement. Included hose (can be extended with connector and hose you buy on your own) and pump allows water to be force drained to any height in a normal room. The fan noise will make it unuseable in living areas."
Review 18 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:September 20, 2011

Temporarily Good; Permanently Dead

"Worked well for 2 years then completely stopped dehumidifying. Who builds a product that lasts only 2 years? I saw the other reviews, so I'm not the only one with this problem. It's amazing the manufacturer just ignores this giant defect, and that Costco would continue to carry this product (or other dehumidifiers by DeLonghi)."
Review 19 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lenexa, Kansas
Date:August 11, 2011

Does not last

Model Number: DEN 500 P
"I had this product for 3 seasons. After first season pump failed. I then used front drain which then failed. In third season unit runs constantly but does not dehumidify. Warranty is up and only option is to send to distant site for repair at our cost. Not worth the headache. Would not buy from this manufacturer again."
Review 20 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:July 3, 2011

Repeat Purchase

"This dehumidifier is the 2nd DeLonghi which I have purchased from Costco. My first one has run without problems for 4 years so I purchased a new one for other use. It was easy to set up and has been running flawlessly for two weeks. An additional plus was having door to door delivery saving me a long trip."
1 2 next>>