Customer Reviews for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System

The DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier's patented heavy-duty pump system automatically removes moisture from collection tank so you never have to empty a bucket. The easy to set and read, soft-touch controls and large LCD display allow you to monitor relative humidity and temperature. Ideal for use in the basement, living room, bedroom, office or anywhere excess humidity is present.   Patented worry-free pump system: Automatically removes moisture from collection tank; just attach the 16-foot hose (included) and the unit can be drained upward through a window; Dehumidifier function can be operated with or without pump   LCD electronic controls: Soft-touch controls and large LCD display; functions are easy to set and read; electronic humidistat, room thermostat, 24-h timer, anti-frost device, and fan speed functions allow you to easily set your desired level of comfort   Visible water level: Frontally located tank and transparent water level window allows one to easily monitor water levels   Tank control system with alarm: Special safety system prevents water overflow due to a full, improperly positioned or missing tank. Also, if the pump hose is missing or not correctly positioned the “PUMP” symbol will flash and the unit will not turn on   Ideal for basement use: Low temperature operation; designed to function at temperatures as low as 41°F   3 operation modes: Features 2 functions; a fan only control with 2 speeds and dehumidification   Air filtration technology: Permanent, washable air filter traps bothersome dust particles and extends the life of the unit   Empty water tank 3 ways: Continuously through patented pump system via 16' drainage hose (included) Passively through 3' drainage hose (included) Directly into the 6.0 liter capacity tank; no assembly or plumbing necessary Features: Fully portable with durable casters and handles   Quiet operation   UL listed   Weight: 41.23 lbs   Dimensions: 14.9" W x 11.81"D x 24.02" H   1 year warranty   For product related questions please call DeLonghi toll-free at (800) 322-3848. Model: DD50PC
Average Customer Rating:
2.973 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
12
20 of 37(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Review 1 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier

Pros: cheap to run
Cons: instructions are hard to understand
"After figuring out how to work it.... we love it - the instructions are the hardest part of this system. So far, the DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier is working great. We have it at our cabin, and the last check all was well. I would buy another one. Cheers, Dewey"
Review 2 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2012

Not a great choice

Pros: having a pump
Cons: instruction manual, usability, doesn't turn off when humidity reaches set level
Model Number: 50 pint pump model
"The unit has instructions that are hard to understand. I had to figure it out by trying different things. If you use the pump (one of the biggest reasons I bought the unit), you have to remember to press the PUMP button each time you turn the unit on. Otherwise, it will fill up and turn itself off."
Review 3 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2011

1st dehumidifier

"Purchased the unit on 10/3 and it worked really nice. The machines is a bit loud when its on but overall worked well. However, it started leaking around the wheels on 11/30 so I had to return it back to Costco."
Review 4 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:November 30, 2011

great product

Pros: has a pump, takes alot of water out of the air
Cons: pump stoped working after two years
"great unit, love the pump, takes alot of water out of the air, Only problem i had was the pump stopped working after two years. just the pump broke, i just took it back to Costco and returned it for a new one"
Review 5 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:October 9, 2011

Works Great

Pros: works and drains well.
Cons: fan is always on.
Model Number: DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
"After some little difficulty setting the dehumidifier up, it has worked fine. It immediately brought the humidity down to the % I set. And, its pump drains the water as advertised. I have one complaint. The dehumidifier is “Energy Start” compliant, but the fan is always on. I would expect even greater energy savings if the fan came on when needed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: fan runs constantly
Cons: when ever there is a power failure or glitch the u
"I am returning this product. When ever there is a power failure or glitch the unit has to be reset for level and pump function.
The fan runs all the time unless you use the timer. It does note auto shut off."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:September 29, 2011

Just didn't work out of the box!

"Poorly written instructions adds to the confusion. Left it on for 2 days and it did nothing to lower the humidity of the basement. Silly poorly designed control panel. Costco's return policy protects you as always. It went back."
Review 8 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Byron Center, MI
Date:September 22, 2011

Heats as it pulls water from the air!

Pros: heats as it dehumidifies!
Cons: oddly shaped water bucket awkward to empty.
"We are using this in our basement between two bedrooms. It is the quietest dehumidifier we've ever had. The warm air it throws, when it's being run regularly, raises the basement temperature very nicely (and we have a large basement) so the furnace doesn't need to run as much."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:September 22, 2011

Do Not Buy This Product

Model Number: 50 PInt
"Bought one it worked for 4 days and then would not go on. Called customer service they could not get it to work. Returned it. Ordered another one and it came damaged. Had enough."
Review 10 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:atlanta,ga
Date:September 21, 2011
"Too nosy. The fen works contentiously regardless the humility level.It probably will not last more then a year or two.They claimed it to be efficient but my add about $35 to the electric bill !! I'll return it back to Costco."
Review 11 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:September 20, 2011

Temporarily Good; Permanently Dead

"Worked well for 2 years then completely stopped dehumidifying. Who builds a product that lasts only 2 years? I saw the other reviews, so I'm not the only one with this problem. It's amazing the manufacturer just ignores this giant defect, and that Costco would continue to carry this product (or other dehumidifiers by DeLonghi)."
Review 12 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Newark, Delaware
Date:September 18, 2011

Good product but needs improvement

Pros: pumpease of use
Cons: no re-start after power loss
Model Number: DD50PC
"Unit works well and was easy to setup.
The biggest problem is the unit will not re-start after a power failure. Not a big deal if you are always home, but a big deal if you are away from the installed location and count on the unit to control the humidity. Also, the unit fan runs continuously, even when the compressor cycles off when the humidity level is reached. Plusses are the pump works well and the unit is attractive.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Enfield, CT
Date:September 17, 2011

Great when it works, better w/ Costco warranty

"I am ordering my 3rd one of these.
I have discovered that the problem with dehumidifiers is that they only last 2 years and then die. If bought at Costco there is no issue, just take it back and get your money back and a new one.
My 1st one died after 2 years. Took it back to Costco and got another. NO Hassels.
The 2nd one just died after a yr and a half (it does come with a 2yr warranty anyway). Returned it to Costco today and now I am orderring my third.
You may wonder why. As long as Costco takes them back what do I care. I've had Kenmores do the same, but here I don't need a service contract and don't see a repair bill.
The only issue Ihave had is mold build up in the drain hose. I can usually clean it out with bleach and hot water in 30 minutes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:September 16, 2011

Works Well

"I went with this one because it's a trusted brand name. Although I haven't tried the drain hose/pump yet, this thing is pulling a LOT of water out of the air."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ridgefield, CT
Date:September 16, 2011

puzzled

Pros: good looking, easy to install, easy to use, not very noisy
Cons: does not switch off when wanted humidity reached, 2 units of of three stop working after few min
"I installed my first DeLonghi dehumidifier over 1 year ago, and I loved the ease in setting it up and operating. The only con was that the dehumidifier would not switch off once the desired humidity was reached, but not a big deal, as I would switch it off manually every now and then. It worked very effectively for over one year. I purchased a second one, same model, and this one too would not switch off automatically at the desired humidity level. But this one I connected to the outside of the basement via the pump, and that frees me from having to empty the tank. The only drawback is that I need to switch it off when the humidity is low, otherwise it keeps pumping.
The first dehumidifier stopped working one month ago, as it would operate for a few minutes regardless of temperature and humidity conditions, and stop. I would get barely half an inch of water collected in the tank. I tried switching off, on, disconnecting, programming the timer, nothing would make it run for more than a few minutes. I decided to return it to Costco for a swap, but as it was no longer for sale in the store, I could only give it back and I got refunded for the original amount. Then I found it still available in the online store, so I ordered a new one. The new one arrived, installed it as usual, but this one stops working after a few minutes, again regardless of temperature and humidity settings. The only way I got it to work (occasionally) is to repeatedly press the Minus button (desired humidity level) until it reaches "--" on the display, which forces it to work constantly, ignoring temperature and humidity settings. But even this mode, completely manual, only works after many attempts. Most of the time the unit goes to sleep after a few minutes, without collecting a significant amount of water in the tank. Room temperature is around 70-74F and humidity is about 75%, so definitely within the specifications of the device. If I cannot get it to work better I will have to return this one too. I feel puzzled by the reliability of a device, that otherwise has a nice design, and a nice user interface
"
Review 16 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:September 13, 2011

very quiet, but don't suck water

"I like the quietness of the machine. But after running all day and night, very little water in the bucket, even the basement was quite damp; exchanged to another one, same problem. Chaning settings does not help. what a junk"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:September 1, 2011

Patented Worry Free Pump - Not Worry Free

Pros: pulled water out just fine
Cons: poor capacity pump
Model Number: DH50CP (?)
"Had the unit for two weeks. Pumping up about 8 feet then horizontal about 15 feet to a ceiling drain. Told that it was only designed to pump no more than the 16 foot hose (although rated to pump up to 13 feet verticle.
I returned it as the pump ceased to pump."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2011

Excellent machine

Pros: covers a lot of space, it's quick
Cons: a little noisy
Model Number: DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
"It does the job great. In a very short time goes to 50% humidity and the unit turns off. It's a must if you live in NY."
Review 19 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:August 21, 2011

Broke down after 2 seasons - costly repairs

"This product worked good for 2 seasons. Now the pump does not work. the Drain pan does not work and the unit runs but does not collect water or remove humidity.
Runs Very Loud also.
"
Review 20 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pacifica, CA
Date:August 14, 2011

Recommended to anyone who has humidity issues.

Pros: extracts a lot of water
Cons: the fan is noisy even with 2 speeds., so i turn it on during daytime.
Model Number: DD50PC
"I purchased this product on 8/2/11 and used it the day it arrived. It extracted a lot of water from a bedroom with extended living area outside the bedroom. This living space is located on bottom floor of a 2 story home. We live in a city that is 1.5 miles from the ocean and this definitely takes care of the humidity in the large room. I will be using this on top floor of the house to see how effective it is. So far, I like this product and will keep using it for as long as it continues extracting water everywhere in my house."
1 2 next>>