Customer Reviews for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System

The DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier's patented heavy-duty pump system automatically removes moisture from collection tank so you never have to empty a bucket. The easy to set and read, soft-touch controls and large LCD display allow you to monitor relative humidity and temperature. Ideal for use in the basement, living room, bedroom, office or anywhere excess humidity is present.   Patented worry-free pump system: Automatically removes moisture from collection tank; just attach the 16-foot hose (included) and the unit can be drained upward through a window; Dehumidifier function can be operated with or without pump   LCD electronic controls: Soft-touch controls and large LCD display; functions are easy to set and read; electronic humidistat, room thermostat, 24-h timer, anti-frost device, and fan speed functions allow you to easily set your desired level of comfort   Visible water level: Frontally located tank and transparent water level window allows one to easily monitor water levels   Tank control system with alarm: Special safety system prevents water overflow due to a full, improperly positioned or missing tank. Also, if the pump hose is missing or not correctly positioned the “PUMP” symbol will flash and the unit will not turn on   Ideal for basement use: Low temperature operation; designed to function at temperatures as low as 41°F   3 operation modes: Features 2 functions; a fan only control with 2 speeds and dehumidification   Air filtration technology: Permanent, washable air filter traps bothersome dust particles and extends the life of the unit   Empty water tank 3 ways: Continuously through patented pump system via 16' drainage hose (included) Passively through 3' drainage hose (included) Directly into the 6.0 liter capacity tank; no assembly or plumbing necessary Features: Fully portable with durable casters and handles   Quiet operation   UL listed   Weight: 41.23 lbs   Dimensions: 14.9" W x 11.81"D x 24.02" H   1 year warranty   For product related questions please call DeLonghi toll-free at (800) 322-3848. Model: DD50PC
Average Customer Rating:
2.973 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
12
20 of 37(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Review 1 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier

Pros: cheap to run
Cons: instructions are hard to understand
"After figuring out how to work it.... we love it - the instructions are the hardest part of this system. So far, the DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier is working great. We have it at our cabin, and the last check all was well. I would buy another one. Cheers, Dewey"
Review 2 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2012

Not a great choice

Pros: having a pump
Cons: instruction manual, usability, doesn't turn off when humidity reaches set level
Model Number: 50 pint pump model
"The unit has instructions that are hard to understand. I had to figure it out by trying different things. If you use the pump (one of the biggest reasons I bought the unit), you have to remember to press the PUMP button each time you turn the unit on. Otherwise, it will fill up and turn itself off."
Review 3 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2011

1st dehumidifier

"Purchased the unit on 10/3 and it worked really nice. The machines is a bit loud when its on but overall worked well. However, it started leaking around the wheels on 11/30 so I had to return it back to Costco."
Review 4 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:November 30, 2011

great product

Pros: has a pump, takes alot of water out of the air
Cons: pump stoped working after two years
"great unit, love the pump, takes alot of water out of the air, Only problem i had was the pump stopped working after two years. just the pump broke, i just took it back to Costco and returned it for a new one"
Review 5 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:September 29, 2011

Just didn't work out of the box!

"Poorly written instructions adds to the confusion. Left it on for 2 days and it did nothing to lower the humidity of the basement. Silly poorly designed control panel. Costco's return policy protects you as always. It went back."
Review 6 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:September 22, 2011

Do Not Buy This Product

Model Number: 50 PInt
"Bought one it worked for 4 days and then would not go on. Called customer service they could not get it to work. Returned it. Ordered another one and it came damaged. Had enough."
Review 7 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:atlanta,ga
Date:September 21, 2011
"Too nosy. The fen works contentiously regardless the humility level.It probably will not last more then a year or two.They claimed it to be efficient but my add about $35 to the electric bill !! I'll return it back to Costco."
Review 8 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:September 20, 2011

Temporarily Good; Permanently Dead

"Worked well for 2 years then completely stopped dehumidifying. Who builds a product that lasts only 2 years? I saw the other reviews, so I'm not the only one with this problem. It's amazing the manufacturer just ignores this giant defect, and that Costco would continue to carry this product (or other dehumidifiers by DeLonghi)."
Review 9 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ridgefield, CT
Date:September 16, 2011

puzzled

Pros: good looking, easy to install, easy to use, not very noisy
Cons: does not switch off when wanted humidity reached, 2 units of of three stop working after few min
"I installed my first DeLonghi dehumidifier over 1 year ago, and I loved the ease in setting it up and operating. The only con was that the dehumidifier would not switch off once the desired humidity was reached, but not a big deal, as I would switch it off manually every now and then. It worked very effectively for over one year. I purchased a second one, same model, and this one too would not switch off automatically at the desired humidity level. But this one I connected to the outside of the basement via the pump, and that frees me from having to empty the tank. The only drawback is that I need to switch it off when the humidity is low, otherwise it keeps pumping.
The first dehumidifier stopped working one month ago, as it would operate for a few minutes regardless of temperature and humidity conditions, and stop. I would get barely half an inch of water collected in the tank. I tried switching off, on, disconnecting, programming the timer, nothing would make it run for more than a few minutes. I decided to return it to Costco for a swap, but as it was no longer for sale in the store, I could only give it back and I got refunded for the original amount. Then I found it still available in the online store, so I ordered a new one. The new one arrived, installed it as usual, but this one stops working after a few minutes, again regardless of temperature and humidity settings. The only way I got it to work (occasionally) is to repeatedly press the Minus button (desired humidity level) until it reaches "--" on the display, which forces it to work constantly, ignoring temperature and humidity settings. But even this mode, completely manual, only works after many attempts. Most of the time the unit goes to sleep after a few minutes, without collecting a significant amount of water in the tank. Room temperature is around 70-74F and humidity is about 75%, so definitely within the specifications of the device. If I cannot get it to work better I will have to return this one too. I feel puzzled by the reliability of a device, that otherwise has a nice design, and a nice user interface
"
Review 10 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2011

Excellent machine

Pros: covers a lot of space, it's quick
Cons: a little noisy
Model Number: DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
"It does the job great. In a very short time goes to 50% humidity and the unit turns off. It's a must if you live in NY."
Review 11 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:August 21, 2011

Broke down after 2 seasons - costly repairs

"This product worked good for 2 seasons. Now the pump does not work. the Drain pan does not work and the unit runs but does not collect water or remove humidity.
Runs Very Loud also.
"
Review 12 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pacifica, CA
Date:August 14, 2011

Recommended to anyone who has humidity issues.

Pros: extracts a lot of water
Cons: the fan is noisy even with 2 speeds., so i turn it on during daytime.
Model Number: DD50PC
"I purchased this product on 8/2/11 and used it the day it arrived. It extracted a lot of water from a bedroom with extended living area outside the bedroom. This living space is located on bottom floor of a 2 story home. We live in a city that is 1.5 miles from the ocean and this definitely takes care of the humidity in the large room. I will be using this on top floor of the house to see how effective it is. So far, I like this product and will keep using it for as long as it continues extracting water everywhere in my house."
Review 13 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lenexa, Kansas
Date:August 11, 2011

Does not last

Model Number: DEN 500 P
"I had this product for 3 seasons. After first season pump failed. I then used front drain which then failed. In third season unit runs constantly but does not dehumidify. Warranty is up and only option is to send to distant site for repair at our cost. Not worth the headache. Would not buy from this manufacturer again."
Review 14 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:August 5, 2011

disappointed

"If you suffer even a brief power outage, the unit basically doesn't turn itself back on when the power is restored. I am going to return it."
Review 15 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Francisco CA
Date:July 29, 2011

Works as advertised, but fan is very noisy

Pros: removes water from the air effectively, pump eliminates need for any manual intervention, pump powerful enough to get water up to13 feet, easy to clean dust filter, optional gravity drain if you have a floor drain, built in temp/humidity gauge seems accurate
Cons: much too noisy for a living area, if power is interrupted defaults to fully off
"Will handle a humid room of modest size, but I required a second unit to maintain low humidity in a larger storage room in the basement. Included hose (can be extended with connector and hose you buy on your own) and pump allows water to be force drained to any height in a normal room. The fan noise will make it unuseable in living areas."
Review 16 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:July 29, 2011

Disappointed

"It dehumidifies well. Controls are obtuse. It forgets everything if the power goes out. If set to run, fan runs constantly on either loud or very loud settings until humidity goes to start level. No noisier when running than when waiting. Timer not tied to clock - daily operation uses percentage humidity only.
Doesn't come on if you put it on external timer because it forgot settings when power went away.
Haven't used pump.
Easy to connect to drain but hose supplied is short.
"
Review 17 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:July 28, 2011

Unbelievably noisy

Pros: was in stock at local warehouse
Cons: noisy!
"We were very happy with our previous model by this brand but this one is just noisy like we can't even start to believe.
Will most likely be returned if I can't find a solution in the next few days. Had it for about 3 weeks.
"
Review 18 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:July 23, 2011

Good for a while

Pros: works well when it works
Cons: doesn't last very long
Model Number: DE500P
"It ran very nicely for four years and then failed. The four years was exactly the warranty time. It also was a pain that it turned off every time there was a power bump. It we went on vacation, it could turn itself off the first day and not come back on again."
Review 19 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvne, ca
Date:July 21, 2011

From socal its great

"Here in Socal near the Beach area, it really works great. Seems to be less stress on the A/C that we run it at 78 now . Without the Dehumidifier we would have to run it at 76 just to feel comfortable."
Review 20 for DeLonghi 50-pint Dehumidifier with Patented Pump System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mountains of NC
Date:July 14, 2011

Great machine

Cons: keeps running when it reaches set humitity level., but at least it keeps the air circulated
"Does a great job in removing humidity.
works great with floor drain or in other parts of home with pumping system.
"
1 2 next>>