Customer Reviews for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Full HD 1080p Intelligent Sensor 4-pairs of 3D Glasses Included 2nd Year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 56
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
53 of 58(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Review 1 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:June 11, 2011

A perfect package

Pros: very thin light tv and good picture quality, passive lightweight glasses, very-well priced for the value, 2d>3d conversion
Model Number: 47LW5700
"I have got this TV for one week only and am still playing with various options. Overall, I am extremely happy with this purchase. 3D using passive glasses is really much less tiring than active shutter glasses in most other TVs. Glasses are lighter and no need for charging. Picture quality is great and audio is also good. Internet aps are cool. LG seems to be one of the first ones to bring passive glasses for 3D TV and I have no doubt that this most likely is going to be the technology of 3D TV to stay. I really feel lucky that I did not buy one of bulky and expensive active shutter glasses 3D TVs a few months earlier, and ended up with this really good TV in general and 3D TV in particular. 2D > 3D conversion gives somewhat an experimental feel but still with high definition pictures even 2D>3D conversion gives a pretty solid 3D depth in picture.
All this with very aggressive pricing is arguably the best overall buy for mid-sized 3D TV.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA
Date:February 1, 2012

Excellent Buy

Pros: 2d picture qualify, price
Cons: speakers
Model Number: LG 47LW5700
"I bought this LED LCD TV in August of 2011 (last year) after my other brand LCD took a dive into the unknown. I did a great deal of research to find a good 2D picture on an LED display (not really worrying about 3D due to lack of content) and found this model. For the quality of the 2D image, size of the screen, and the price, this is a true bargain.
As to the resilience of its excellent picture quality - after 6 months of continuous daily use (it is in the family room after all), I continue to be impressed by this model. The 3D feature; I was surprised with such an impressive feat - passing 3D rocks - I am so impressed in fact that I am now shopping for a 3D player. Recommend purchasing a warranty from Costco - well below the market value (see for yourself if you don't believe it). As a con, I have to mention the speakers - which could use a bit more power - but if you do your research, you will see that this is a persistent problem with all TVs in the market.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Wash DC
Date:November 11, 2011

Great TV, Except HDMI Audio

Pros: apps incl full internet., picture, 3d easy with passive 3d
Cons: hdmi audio
"Read and head the HDMI audio problem in other reviews. It exists! I would have absolutely rated this TV with 5 stars otherwise.
The apps are awesome. Much better than my poor Samsang BluRay player apps.
The picture is awesome. I have a 240Hz Vizio, and this one is better.
After doing LOTS of research on passive versus active 3D (incl unknown long term affects using active 3D), you are making the right choice with this passive version.
Now to the audio... lifting what someone else: "There is a fundamental HDMI issue with this TV. If you connect your digital cable box or satlelite box to this TV via HDMI and switching channels. Often, you will lose audio while still have video. Especially, if you switch channels that has different video resolution. For example, switch from a 1080i channel to 480i/p channel. To get audio back, you can either
a/ keep switching your channels until audio come back
b/ power cycle either the digital box or the tv."
I did not experience what he wrote about having the "the reverse happen.
That is losing video while still have audio."
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St.Louis
Date:October 16, 2011

LG5700 is a stripped down LG5600

Model Number: LG 47-5700
"While there is nothing wrong with the LG47-5700 model sold at Costco...it should be noted that it is a stripped down version of the 5600 model sold elsehwere. The 5700 has a lower contrast ratio,does NOT include the motion remote control,and most importantly does NOT have local dimming."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:December 15, 2011

Excellent value for the price

Pros: brilliant picture out-of-the box, good feature set that works, includes wifi adapter, sale price was the deal maker
Cons: speakers - like all the thin tvs, can't adjust bass/treb for headphones
Model Number: 47LW5700
"Bought this TV about a month ago and we are very pleased with the purchase. Picture is excellent! Setup was easy. I have it connected to our home network (wireless) and have been able to access YouTube as well as my own home videos (digital) using open-source DLNA server software. Sound was an issue so consider buying a sound bar, home theater speakers or what we did - added desktop speakers with sub-woofer.
The 3D is great! I have about six titles on 3D Blu-ray and have watched a couple so far. Also watched the 3D sports channel (X-Games was amazing)! Played with the 2D-3D conversion as well and it looks OK.
I researched Flat Panel TVs and have researched LG in the past (extensively). I find their products to be top notch (have TV and Washer/Dryer combo). I highly recommend this unit for it's size, features, and quality picture."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:May 27, 2011

impressive TV

Pros: impressive 2d and 3d picture, wifi ready to go, uses standard non-charged 3d glasses3d, sound quality is good for such a thin tv
Cons: none so far
Model Number: LW5700
"impressive TV with sharp clear HD. the audio is stronger and better than I expected for such a thin TV. it utilizes teh next generation #D technology which does not require expensive charged glasses that run out of battery and require charging so often. Instead it uses cinema like technology and simple standard 3D glasses similar to what you get when you go to a movie theater. it comes with four glasses and you can buy two for $24, if you need extra. The picture is so clear and the 3D is very impressive. I forgot to tell you - this is not the blurry plasma. it is LED with super sharp images and no blur at all. it is WIFI ready and comes with the WiFi USB adapter. So, it is ready to go and connect to your home wireless giving you the full power. The price is very competitive."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marlton, NJ
Date:July 11, 2011

Stunning picture quality

Model Number: LG 47lw5700
"I have been doing my research and was going to settle for Vizio even after the subpar quality issues with the brand. After a store visit and side by side comparis it was a no brainer to shell out the extra 250bucks for a FAR superior set. The picture (with Fios) is phenomenal, wifi adapter included, 4 pair of 3d glasses (excellent 3d rendering - we watched Ice Age 3 on HBO 3d vod and it was quite awesome)! The sound is excellent for such a thin tv.....Couldn't be happier...By the way I replaced a Sony rear projection 46" 720p which had a good picture by the ever blowing bulbs became a headache....No comparison of sets, LED is truly amazing. Great price and 2 year warranty!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2011

HDMI issue -- Losing audio when switching channels

"There is a fundamental HDMI issue with this TV.
If you connect your digital cable box or satlelite box to this TV via HDMI and switching channels. Often, you will lose audio while still have video. Especially, if you switch channels that has different video resolution. For example, switch from a 1080i channel to 480i/p channel.
To get audio back, you can either
a/ keep switching your channels until audio come back
b/ power cycle either the digital box or the tv
There was one time, the reverse happen.
That is losing video while still have audio.
This is bad bad. I suspect this is an issue with LG core design. This may mean that the issue is there for all similar models. But I am not certain on this.
This TV went back to Costco. Got a Sony instead.
In general, korean brandt, samsung is a much better brandt than LG."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:January 18, 2012

Great TV with few flaws!

Pros: excellent picture quality
Cons: please read review
Model Number: 47LW5700
"Great picture quality regardless of what the source is coming from that you are watching. It did take me a little bit of understanding of how to get the ghost imaging eliminated while watching it in 3D with the glasses on. As it turns out, you must have your eyes cordinated at the center of the screen for sometime to get your eyes adjusted. For optimal veiwing, you must be within 2-3 meters away from tv, best seating at center of screen. Lg has some pretty neat apps that you can download from the on-screen menu as long as you are connected to your wifi. The tv set is bundle with a wifi thumb-drive in addition to 4 pairs of 3d glasses (2 pairs of whites and to 2 pairs of oranges)....set-up on wifi was a breeze! There are a few disappointing flaws that has been addressed to LG via chat. When connecting your laptop via hdmi, you can not adjust the screen to fill up the whole screen. There are just 2 sizes to choose from, small and regular which almost, but not entirely, will fill the screen. Another, when downloading a blu-ray 3d movie with split images, you can not convert the images to 3D playing from hdmi laptop to 3dtv. I have tried hitting the 3D button on the remote to make the adjustment.... the option of split screen does not highlight thus not allowing you to choose the feature to activate. LG says this is how the tv was made and that LG does recognizes it as a PC and is very limited to making any adjustments on the TV via from laptop hdmi. This is a big disappointment as my Sony LED allows me to do what LG can't as mentioned here in my review. Moreover, not importantly, is the closed caption. When activating, you can not choose where you want to display the caption. It actually captions all over the screen on it's own including the center of the screen on some channels. Hopefully, near future there will be an update addressing these issues. Other than that. You can't beat the price for a quality tv with high-end resolution and 3D technology!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012

Very nice TV for the money

Pros: easy setup, picture is brilliant and easy on the eyes.
Cons: speakers are horrible, speaker output is digital only
"We spent many years thinking about upgrading our old JVC tube tv's. This is the 1st flat screen that we have owned and the brilliance of the picture left us stunned. We never knew watching TV could be so good. From the local news in HD to drag racing to basketball, so clear and so easy to see all of the detail. We have owned this for a week and it probably was the best purchase of a tv we ever made. Set up was a snap, connecting to Netflix was simple and connecting to our home network worked flawlessly. I can stream movies and audio from my p/c without any problems what so ever. The thing I really like is the well thought out screen menus. Everything is easy to see and use. We won't be buy another TV for at least 5 years as we also purchased the 3 year extended warranty which gives us a total of 5 years, this deal could not be beat. So far we really enjoy this purchase."
Review 11 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Miami, Fl
Date:November 16, 2011

Great TV, horrendous documentation

Pros: great picture, good non reflective screen.
Cons: little documentation on hardware functions., little documentation on remote.
Model Number: 47LW5700
"TV has great picture and looks good in place. Just the right size for my space and generally easy to use. The main setup was simple and straight forward. Sound is weak as usual but I hooked it up to my entertainment system. When I looked at the users manual to get some guidance on this I was surprised to find that there was almost none. There was a graphic that suggested looking at the speaker connection section of the manual, but there is no such section. Looking further through the manual revealed that there is very little in it regarding the TV. The manual is concentrated on the internet set up and apps. Checked the disc version as well but this the same. Able to hook it up anyway just from common sense and intuition, but I would have preferred some descriptions of inputs, outputs and onscreen menu selections for setup. I found my way around for the most part by searching all the menus and trial and error.
When I looked in the manual regarding the remote it spoke only to the "magic motion" remote, which is an option not in the product. Amazing.
I accidentally added some favorite channels and then tried to delete them but could not. I went online chat with LG tech support and they were stumped and could not direct me to the documentation. "Not documented." They said they would research and email an answer. Still waiting.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:June 18, 2011

THIS 3D TV IS AWESOME!

Pros: everything
Cons: no magic motion remote included
Model Number: 47LW5700
"Bought this TV after I had to return a Vizio that I had purchased in 12/10 because it would turn off by itself in the middle watching shows. This LG is sooo much better! The 3D is way better than I had anticipated, and it is the newer 3D which does not require the heavy glasses. These glasses are the lightweight ones like you use in the theater. I am very impressed. I also really like the dimming feature. If you are watching in a dark room, the TV picture will dim automatically so it is easier on your eyes. If you do not like the dimming feature, you can adjust it. Excellent in every way."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:September 25, 2011

Fantastic TV for the price

Pros: quality, easy to use, performance, connectivity, 2d to 3d conversion, value for money
Cons: hdmi outlets face out horizontally instead of down
Model Number: 47LW5700
"Have only had this TV for 3 days now but had to share my initial impressions. FIrst off setting it up, calibrating the picture, connecting it my home network via the wireless adapter, etc was a breeze. The menus and remote are very intuitively designed and I barely needed to use the manual to figure it all out. The picture is fantastic, with great contrast, excellent blacks and realistic skin tones. Considering this model is only 120 hertz and that I'm very picky about motion blurring, I was very impressed after watching some football.
The 2D to 3D setting is surprisingly effective, so much so that I will actually be utilizing this feature much more than I thought I would. The 3D glasses are light and comfortable.
The set's built in speakers are the best I've listened to in a slim design TV as the majority of the modern TVs have horrible speakers. I would still always advise having a surround sound system but for watching regular broadcast channels the TVs speakers are totally acceptable.
This TV definitely lives up to all it's positive reviews all over the internet. My hope is that it lasts longer than my Samsung did but that's another story.
"
Review 14 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:November 7, 2011

LG 47" 3D

"If I need another TV, I'd get this again. The remote is user-friendly, don't need to hunt buttons. It came with a wifi thumbdrive too.
I have a Samsung and Vizio tv, but I like this one better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:December 1, 2011

WHAT A TV!

"This is the best TV i've own so far.
i have a slow internet at 1.5 Mbps download....in my old lcd tv netflix appears to be in standard definition and has artifacts....but with this TV, the image is way sharper and has smoother motions. It's like watching HD.
Bluray image is Excellent and DVD's are Great, but movies appear to have that "soap opera effect". You can minimize it by changing the picture mode to cinema...or manually lower down the sharpness to your desire to reduce the "soap opera effect" and sometimes eliminate it at all.
Watched Jay Leno using the 2D to 3D and it's good enough..you can adjust the 3D depth to maximum to get a better result but i don't see any difference compared to the default 3d setting.
It didn't came with the Wii like controller but according to the LG website you can purchase it separately.
There is local dimming.
The intelligent Sensor option in picture mode does a lot of adjustment every 30 seconds or so..i would avoid it if possible and set your own picture specs or use the other presets.
Watch late night shows in HD via antenna...fox, nbc, abc looks good...cbs is still HD but not as sharp.
All in All a great TV with lots of manual controls to satisfy everyone. Highly recommended TV"
Review 16 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:October 15, 2011

Great TV, Even Better Value

Pros: picture, ease of setup, 3d, slim design
Model Number: LG 47LW5700
"After our 3 year old Samsung LCD went on the fritz this week, I started researching.
LG showed up consistently at the top of Consumer Report reviews.
Great TV, easy setup, AMAZING picture when compared to my old LCD. Sound from the built in speakers is better than I expected.
The 2D to 3D conversion feature is way better than I thought it would be.
Best of all is the value - I bought this in the warehouse for $899 after the $300 instant rebate. Seemed like a good price point between the Vizio (which is not a bad product) and the higher end Sony and Samsung (but I wouldn't buy another Samsung).
GO BUY IT, you won't regret it."
Review 17 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 3, 2011

NO DTS Sound

Pros: good picture quality
Cons: no dts
Model Number: 55LW5700
"Easy to play 3d. light glasses. thin.
Speaker sound very poor
mkv file No DTS support
"
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:June 14, 2011

Outstanding Product

Pros: picture quality, value, sleek design, software
Cons: none so far
Model Number: 47LW5700
"This TV is an amazing product and especially for what I paid at Costco. The 3D is great and it comes with four pairs of glasses in the box. The LG software is very user friendly and has lots of useful features. I was blown away by the picture quality, not just with 1080 blu-rays but even with lower resolution programming and older DVDs. Make sure to turn off the motion smoothing or you get the soap opera effect pretty bad."
Review 19 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:July 1, 2011

Stunning Images

Pros: beautiful images, easy network connection, 3d images, powerful tv tuner
Cons: no tv schedule table
Model Number: LG47LW5700
"This image quality is better than what I saw in store. CBS and MBC channels received over the antenna displayed the most vivid images. The network connetion was made with easy and I was able to view web pages and surf the internet. This has changed my idea about what a TV is.
So far only short coming is the missing TV schedule. I have not been able to view schedule table.
I recommed all to experience the TV once.
"
Review 20 for LG 47" Class 3D 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2012

Fantastic TV / Phenomenal Value (thanks Costco!)

Model Number: LG 47LW5700
"My family got this TV shortly after Christmas. It's an awesome tv -- best light/dark contrast i've seen in a flat screen tv. A breeze to set up via the wi-fi connection. I'd recommend this to everyone. 3D usually gives me headaches -- but since this is passive 3D there is no flicker whatsoever, no headaches.
The in-store price was even (much) better than the low price listed at costco.com!!"
1 2 next>>