Customer Reviews for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light

900 Low Voltage LED Lights, Dual lit - Switch from Soft White and Multi-color
Average Customer Rating:
3.55 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
13 of 20(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Review 1 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 2, 2011

Just what we wanted and for the right price!

Pros: led lights, switch between white and colored lights, foot pedal to turn on/off or switch to color, soft white led lights
Cons: somewhat heavy/awkward for one person to assemble
"Ordered online (never seen in a Costco store) and with only one bad review, but the price was really good (especially for LED lights and being able to switch between white and colored!), so we figured "why not?" especially since Costco has a great return policy.
Well, unless this tree suddenly stops working or shows some sign of defects, we are not taking it back! We have experience with fake trees (this one is replacing one we used for several years), so we had an easy time assembling it and knew what to expect, in terms of connecting lights and "fluffing" the branches to make the tree look filled out.
For our tree, all the pieces were included, everything is working and is very simple (step button to turn on to white, to color, and then off). I was surprised that the lights did not look like typical LED lights, but like normal Christmas tree lights. However, the paperwork in the box says LED, so I have no complaints, but it did initially surprise me and I had wondered if I ordered or received the wrong tree. Package also came with extra bulbs, if needed. Also, the white is a soft white, not the standard bluish harsh LED white. The colored lights tend a little too much toward the blues and greens (which are brighter than the reds and yellows) for my taste (when I think of colored Christmas lights, I expect almost a rainbow effect), but I still think it's nice to be able to have color and white, so I'm not complaining!
"Fluffing" all of the branches to fill the tree out did take several hours, but I found it to be the same as with my previous artificial tree. If anything, I feel that the "needles" on this tree look and feel more authentic than others I've seen and the branches bend nicely to allow you to position them where needed.
All in all, this tree is absolutely amazing for the price, quality, and features. I would have expected to spend a lot more for a tree like this. Highly recommend if you're looking for a pre-lit artificial tree!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Duvall, WA
Date:October 30, 2011

Great Tree for the Price :)

Pros: easy to setup, full natural look, color changing led lights, dual needle feel
"I just bought my first house and was looking for a good articial tree to put in my great room. After much looking I found this one and was intrigued by the LED multi changing lights.
First off, for an Artificial Tree - this one ROCKS! I've had others in the past and the "professional" ones always require a lot of shaping, but thats what give them the natural look.
What's great about these LED lights is they aren't that super harsh unnatural looking LED that you see on cheap strings. I want to agree with the other reviewer that the setup is a bit confusing when connecting the different sections together to the foot switch.
Where they said they had a defective tree, they must have made the same mistake I made on one section. If you don't put the string sections in the right way (its two male prongs to a female end with a twist to hold together) then that section will be opposite what it's supposed to be (One section multi when the rest is clear). One of the things to note here is the screw coupling that holds the strings together will only fully screw together as long as the two ends are correctly connected.
After about an hour of fluffing the tree, it looked amazing and fit the room perfectly. The inner branches are one type of material (a lil rougher) while the otter tips are a softer "Real touch" material, adding to the natrual look of the tree.
Please do not let the negative review sway you from this amazing tree. It's durable quality and multi color change abailities are worth he price and this tree can last you and your family many seasons of joy. :)"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:October 25, 2011

Defective Tree

Pros: led lights, switching from multicolored lights to white
Cons: defective - had to return, cheap appearance, light cords very thin and flimsy
"I really wanted a tree with LED lights, and the option for switching from white to multi-colored lights sounded great!
I ordered the tree on Saturday, and it arrived on Tuesday. The tree looked great on the website, but not as good when we got it out of the box. It has three sections, which would seem straight-forward, but the instructions were not clear, and it took a while to figure out how to put this tree together. There were five or six light cords to attach, which was not explained in the instructions.
Once the three sections were together, the tree looked like a Charlie Brown tree.... a lot of "shaping" each branch is required to get a full look. But before we even got that far, we turned on the lights. While most of the tree was white, one small section was multicolored. Clicking the switch again changed most of the lights to multicolored, but the small section changed to white. No amount of unplugging, turning it on and off, or reattaching cords made any difference.
We called the tech support number from the box and they told us the tree was defective. I packed it up and returned it to COSTCO.
My overall impression was that this tree is cheaply made, and the lighting wires were flimsy. Although I'm sure the tree would have looked better after a few hours of shaping each branch by hand, I wouldn't want to re-order the same tree. I'll look for something else."
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2011
Pros: great light colors, good price for look
Cons: defective switch, questionable customer service of manufacterer
Model Number: 579889
"I bought this tree and decided to put it up to see how it looked. At first, I did the same thing and had one multi-colored section w/ the rest white lights. Turned around the plug and they all became white. Then after about 30 minutes on, the lights flickered then went out. Now my foot switch only turns on one color. So, in order to change the colors I have to go unplug and switch every cord. I have contacted customer service (which, by the way, is horrible). It appears that this switch problem is a known problem and they are working to fix it, but don't know when they'll receive the new switches. The tree is pretty and I believe I'm going to keep it b/c the LED lights are still changeable (so instead of taking 2 seconds, it'll take me a min to go from colored to white), but it aggravates me that I paid for the switch and it's faulty (though I am on the list to get a new switch when they arrive). Had it been perfect w/ no switch problems, I would've probably loved the tree."
Review 5 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moraga,CA
Date:November 30, 2011

Beautiful tree!

"This was the first year we have ever gotten a artificial Christmas tree. I usually love a real tree, but hate taking the lights down and breaking my vaccuum cleaning up the needles as I drag the old tree out. The end of Christmas is bad enough without all that angst, right? So I decided that this would be the year of the fake Xmas tree, and so far, we haven't been disappointed. The tree was easy to set up and works perfectly. The white lights look a little weird to me (it makes the tree look gray), but the colored lights are beautiful and very bright. They don't get warm at all, and we leave it on all the time. I have moved over to the dark side--and now see the wisdom of the fake Christmas tree. You will be next."
Review 6 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:October 27, 2011

Absolutely Best Artificial Tree Out There

Pros: full and natural look (dual materials), unique clear/multicolored lights., heavy duty storage box., easy set up and light string connection., good warranty can be returned to local warehouse.
Cons: patience required spreading out branches.
Model Number: 579889
"The artificial tree we had for about 10 years needed so many replacement bulbs we decided to replace it with a new tree with clear LED lights....a look we love. We searched locally and online, eventually purchasing one which looked cheap and skimpy when set up. It was a hassle to mail it back.
We found a beautiful tree at our local Costco warehouse but it only came with multicolored lights. We were pleased to find this similar dual lighted tree online. It arrived in 3 days, was easy to set up and looks very full and natural. There are a generous number of lights for its size. With a tap of your foot, the bulbs change from clear to color and you have a completely different look. Fun!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tehachapi, CA
Date:November 9, 2011
Pros: looks very real
Cons: takes quite a bit of time to "fluff"
"Love this tree. Before taking the time to arrange the branches we were worried it was a bad buy. The branches looked very sparse and nothing like advertised. BUT... After a few hours of "fluffing" the branches, it is beautiful!! Many people have commented how real it looks. I've always been one to want a real tree but I think this is even more beautiful. I highly recommend it and definitely think it's worth the money. And I love that you can switch between white and colored lights. As another reviewer said, although the lights are LED... their glow is not annoying and hard on the eyes. Beautiful tree for a decent price and I'm sure it'll last for years to come."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 1, 2011

Electrical issues

Pros: ability to change lights from white to color
Cons: one light going out can impact entire string!!
"Loved the fact you could change the lights from white to color. BUT not when there were issues with certain sections that wouldn't light up. Had one section on a branch not light up and then an entire section of around 75 lights went out. Frustrating since this was a brand new tree. Customer services response was to try changing out each light bulb one at a time to see if a bulb might be broken or out. Since that could impact an entire string. I said forget it and just returned it to Costco. Not wasting my time on a new tree changing out so many lights trying to find bulbs that might be out.
Oh well........"
Review 9 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Orchard, WA
Date:November 2, 2011

No buyer's remorse

Pros: easy setup, led, foot pedal switch
"This is our first year going with an artificial tree. This one looks good for the money and easy to set up right out of the box. Pay close attention to light connections. I made the mistake of plugging them in the wrong way and had half colored lights and half white. Easy fix though. Just turn the connections around an it'll be working the way it's supposed to. Just have to adjust the branches a bit to make it look full. I would definitely recommend this tree."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011

Defective Again

Cons: defective, horrible service
"It is the day after Thanksgiving, we take our brand new tree out of the box, and it is defective. We call the manufacaturer and they want to send us replacement fittings and teach us to be electricians. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!! They completely altered our happy day and inconvienenced us, with no regard. This is the second year in a row that we bought a defective tree from Costco. We expect better quality items from one of our favorite stores."
Review 11 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:November 6, 2011

Good Value

Pros: easy set up, low energy use, web site set up video, good quality
Cons: no tree topper power outlet
Model Number: 579889
"The instructions should have a statement to go to their website for assembly for a video tutorial.
Basic set up takes a few minutes, the lower sections are heavy and it will take the average amount of time to adjust branches, but this is comparable with any other artificial tree.
Since the power leads are keyed,emphasis in the set up instructions would have prevented the mistake another purchaser made with the clear and colored sections.
"
Review 12 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:East Brunswick ,NJ
Date:November 29, 2011

Disappointment!!!!

Pros: aside from electrical glitches tree was beautiful
Cons: very heavy !
"Very excited about the concept of a dual function lit tree. Unfortunately I was very disappointed when plugging it in and half of the top section was not lit... I see other reviewers had the same issue.. I Would not recommend this purchase as Costco needs to remedy this defect... Very surprised Costco usually carries high quality merchandise ..."
Review 13 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2011

Beautiful Tree, Cheap Wiring

Pros: beautiful tree, nice shape
Cons: faulty wiring, branches are really low to ground
"We were really excited when we put up this tree. It is beautiful, and the LED lights are warm colors, not harsh like most LED. However, after about a week, none of the lights would come on. We tried checking all of the wires, outlets, etc. Had to return and purchased an LED multicolor tree in store. Too bad, really liked this tree."
Review 14 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2011

tree is dead after 2 days

"The tree is dead only after two days of use, 6 hours at most. After all the hours of setting it up, making it full, and put tingon the decorations, it is suddenly dead without any sign. We tried to all kinds of method and it just refuse to work. Have to return it."
Review 15 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:brooklyn ny
Date:November 24, 2011

can't go wrong the best

Model Number: 579889
"the warranty is the best , go & look at others . the price was right , amount of tips , amount of lights , set up was a snap, shaping takes practice, but also settled a point , i'm old fashion like color lights. my better half likes white. thank you so much ."
Review 16 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ashburn, Va
Date:November 30, 2011

Beyond Thrilled

"First. Year I've ever had an artificial tree. So pleased with this purchase. Easy to put together and it looks amazing. Only thing missing is the pine smell. I definitely won't miss the mess of needles. Very pleased and I think this was an amazing price."
Review 17 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Ca
Date:November 29, 2011

Great Tree!!

Pros: lots of lights!, super easy set up
Cons: has a strong plastic smell right out of the box
"This was a replacement tree for a 9' tree purchased 5 years ago. Loved the price for LED lights. So simple to put together with only 4 plugs! Took about 30 minutes to fluff up. I love the fact that I can choose the lights depending on my mood!"
Review 18 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 15, 2011

Great product

Pros: number of tips and lights, good price
"Once again great Costco product. Fast shipping, good price and easy set up. Looked at others and they looked Charlie Brownish. This tree looks real. Love the optional white or colored lights too."
Review 19 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:bellevue, wa
Date:November 22, 2011

baren and ugly

"it looks like charlie browns tree - so going back tomorrow - it is awful!"
Review 20 for 7.5' LED Pre-lit Artificial Bayberry Spruce Tree Dual Light
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 3, 2011

gorgeous tree, looks natural

"Best looking artificial tree, worth the investment."