Customer Reviews for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets

1 Waterproof Handset Handset Speakerphone
Average Customer Rating:
1.735 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
25
6 of 34(18%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Review 1 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Traverse City, MI
Date:August 31, 2011

Worst Phone Set Ever

Pros: it looks better than it functions., display is readable
Cons: terrible quality, junk technology, poor engineering, horrible design
Model Number: D1680-4XT
"This phone boast a number of tech features that would seem to offer advantages over other phones. However they actually don't add anything useful and the defects render this system useless.
That may seem a bit harsh but the simple truth is that is product is junk. It drops calls constantly. When you answer the phone no one can hear you so you have to repeat until the caller can hear anything. You miss parts of the call as the phone dies in and out and ultimately dies completely..
The functions are laid out like no other wireless system on the planet - so bad there's not enough room here to list the idiotic design and convoluted features that simply make no sense. It's useless. It's embarrassing and annoying to use this phone and try to rely on it.
A major step backward in technology.
First time I have purchased anything from Costco that was of such poor quality that it had to be returned.
Uniden is a brand to be avoided since this is what they offer - junk.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2011

Always Returning to Panasonic

"Tried the Vtech (Model LS6225-4), which was awful, then this Uniden (Model D1680-4XT) to replace my old Panasonic.
For a few days I thought the other reviews had abnormal circumstances with audio cut outs and out of range disconnections.
Then they began during an important call.
These phones are built well, look nice and the waterproof one is sturdy as a rock, but this is about talking on a phone. And if I can't stay connected, it fails.
Others have occasionally said my voice drops out after about 20 seconds of talking, confirming what others have also said.
The ringtones are terrible and way too quiet.
Moral of the story, every time I venture away from Panasonic to try something different I end up back buying Panasonic again because there's nothing better.
Found the KX-TG6644B at my local Costco and it's been rock solid."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:July 1, 2011

Worse cordless phone system

Pros: large display
Cons: poor range, unstable, unreliable
Model Number: D1680-4XT
"I mistakenly purchased 2 of these systems to put in my home and my parents home. Both systems have experienced the same problem so this is no a case of one faulty handset or system or base..
Any handset will randomly drop connection to the base with the display showing searching. This happens randomly even when in a call. The handset appears unable to re-establish a connection to the base if it loses connection during a call leaving the other party on hold while you race to find another working handset."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:August 25, 2011

cutting out, static

Pros: i like the outdoor handset
Cons: poor performance for simple indoor use
Model Number: D1680
"I bought this set with the outdoor phone to replace my older Uniden system that had faithfully performed years of service and simply locked up and was holding the line open one morning.
Four issues with the newer model: not compatible with older model handsets which I had replaced batteries in earlier this year; No ear/handset jack; prone to noise/static for the other end; Unacceptable delays synching to teh base station - and even occasionally just cutting out altogether in the middle of a call and connecting again. Not sure it was distance related or specific to a handset. Not my worry to trouble shoot, but I am taking back to the store for exchanging with another product. Set up was easy and the phones are easy to use, and look nice.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2011

Great for a while, then lousy. No cust service.

"Worked great for a while, then started getting dropped calls. Phones will say "out of range" even when right next to the handset.
Have tried to contact Uniden 3 times - no response. I give up. Switching brands.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cottonwood, UT
Date:July 19, 2011

Don't Buy!

Pros: great looking, easy to set up, waterproof phone, 4 phones for a great price, great price with rebate
Cons: phone cuts out and you cannot hear
Model Number: Uniden DECT
"Although this phone looks awsome, and is a great deal, its not worth the headache! We bought this set of phones and with in the first few calls we noticed that people couldn't hear us. The phone would cute out, and either we couldn't hear, or the person on the phone couldn't hear us. I am pretty relaxed about issues and having people not hear me was extremly frustrating. If you are on an important phone call you wouldn't want these phones! This phone will be returned ASAP!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:June 30, 2011

NO customer service

Pros: none
Model Number: D1680
"The instruction manual clearly states that if caller ID displays briefly then disappears, the line mode may need to be changed, and to contact Customer Service. They give two numbers for customer service, I have tried both numbers daily (M-F), several times at day at all hours for almost 3 weeks and have yet to talk to a person. They don't even give you an option for talking to a real person. I'm returning it tomorrow!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Hyde Park, NY
Date:July 25, 2011

Save time and money. Do not buy.

Pros: lighted handset, low cost
Cons: dropped calls, unreliable connections, not worth any amount of $
Model Number: D1680-4XT
"It seems like a good deal, and the features listed are nice. I purchased the set because the handsets are backlit, something missing from my previous phone system handsets.
However, the phones constantly disconnect from the base system, and phone calls are extremely unreliable. Unless you want to continuously hang up and redial phone numbers, do not buy this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, CO
Date:August 30, 2011

Worst phones ever

Pros: outdoor phone is great
Cons: phones frequently cut out
Model Number: D1680
"Our original Uniden phone set (5 years old) was great. This set was to supplement that set, since all the handsets would work together. Unfortunately, we had the same problem with phones cutting out as other reviewers and have decided to return the new set. Uniden definitely cheapened the phones and perhaps the batteries. They've now lost our business."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:August 15, 2011

Poor Quality Phone

Model Number: D1680
"We bought this to replace another Uniden phone. This phone has quality issues. We experienced numerous dropped calls even when the handset was close to the base station. One handset had a nonfunctioning number pad. We returned the phone and got a different brand after reading other reviews that described the same dropped call issue."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:June 24, 2011

Good but not perfect.

Pros: great waterproof phone
Cons: uniden system has less range than panasonic
"I purchased this system for the waterproof handset which works well, as advertised.
The less than perfect rating relates to the Uniden Phone System's range which is not as good as similar Panasonic systems.
Since Uniden makes the best waterproof phone, there's no choice but to use a Uniden system to support it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 29, 2011

Worst of the worsts

Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Model Number: Uniden DECT 6.0 D1680-4xt
"This phone drops calls and goes to searching mood frequently, even the phone is next to the base unit. Amazingly, it knows which calls are important and it will drop them for sure :)
Uniden support is also the worst. Good luck to you. You will never talk to a real person."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:September 12, 2011

GOES SILENT ON CALLS!

Cons: unreliable
"This phone is horrible!! It randomly goes silent in the middle of a call and you have to scramble to find another handset before the call is dropped. It also will says that you are out of range when sitting right next to the base! Definitely going back!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Racine, WI
Date:October 4, 2011

Total Waste of Money

Cons: goes silent in middle of conversation, can't just hit call id and redial for local calls
"Wish I had seen these reviews before I spend the money on this phone!
I agree with the other reviewers about the phone going silent in the middle of a conversation. Thought it was just me!
Phone is going back!
Hopefully Costco will pull this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:August 27, 2011

Don't buy!

Pros: none
Cons: everything
Model Number: Uniden DECT 6.0
"Worst cordless phone system that I ever bought. Cuts in and out even if you are next to the base. Even relocated the base and still the same."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, Nevada
Date:June 24, 2011

Wireless Phone Set

"Good product good value for the price. Especially the waterproof exterior phone include. Great for workshop and gardening"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:October 1, 2011

Uniden D1680-4XT

Model Number: D1680-4XT
"Phone will disconnect - search for signal and drop your calls. I will be returning this system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 9, 2011

I agree...back to the store!`

Pros: waterproof phone works great.
Cons: reliability, range, battery life
"Thank you to Costco and their liberal return policy!
Bought this phone set in the store about 6 months ago. Within 1 week of use we had issues with "out of range" messages while standing right next to the base. We also experienced the mysterious call muting that others have described here. You will be in the middle of a call and both the microphone and speaker will mute. It doesn't disconnect the call just mutes everything. If both parties stay on the phone long enough the call will resume. Unacceptable!
Read the Uniden support page and this is a known problem. We even did the "system reset" procedure they described with no luck.
The waterproof phone works great. Its the only phone we have been using for weeks.
Back to the store with you!
"
Review 19 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver WA
Date:October 10, 2011

Worse Uniden purchased -previous model

Pros: like the lit display easy to see
Cons: see msg...buttons quit working can' scroll etc
"I have been a faithful Uniden customer....but after my most recent purchase, I decided that this brand is not the quality it used to be.....so no more wasting my money on this company 's products. Think twice or three times before you waste your hard earned $$.
The model I purchased has 3 handset + base....TWO of the THREE units still work, but the Up/down/side directional buttons quit working..can still use th units but cannot use my address book or scroll thru the callerID log....can't do any functions that require scrolling!!
Since the batteries don't hold a charge for very long, I will br buying another brand very soon! The replacement batteries are too costly too!!!
"
Review 20 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2011

gurgle gurgle gurgle

Pros: like the number of handsets
Cons: too many to list
"Not every day but at least every other day people would say "hello, are you there? you sound like you are under water" - after trying different places in the house to use the phone or even switching handsets around etc. nothing really helped. So after 2 months we took it back. What we do like is CostCo's return policy. Easily returned and money given back. Search is on for another new phone. This one though is not up to Uniden standards of old. Last Uniden we bought was 10 years ago and loved it, not this one. So unless your friends, Dr.'s and other important people can speak "water" language I would skip this phone for sure - skip it right out to sea!"
1 2 next>>