Customer Reviews for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets

1 Waterproof Handset Handset Speakerphone
Average Customer Rating:
1.735 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
25
6 of 34(18%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Review 1 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Livermore, CA
Date:November 2, 2011

Terrible Quality Phone

Pros: batteries lasted over a year
Cons: replacement batteries were $16 each at radioshack
"We've had this set for a couple of years - we didn't return them because we switched to Vonage at the same time and thought Vonage was the problem. But after recently trying a corded handset, we now realized it is the Uniden. We had the same dropped calls and poor sound quality issues as other reviewers. We "fixed" the lack of scrolling by removing the rubber cover in order to press the buttons directly with a pencil eraser. Nice, huh? We only did one phone but at least now if we really need to see who called we can do it. Why can't we find a good quality phone, like we had in the old days?"
Review 2 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2011

Uniden set with Waterproof phone

Cons: cuts out
"This is a terrible phone. While talking, the phone will cut out mid-conversation. I can pick up another phone and click over to continue conversation or I lose the call. This is terrible. DO NOT GET THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 3 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:October 24, 2011

Poor Quality

Pros: includes one waterproof handset, nice design
Cons: dropped calls, poor quality speaker phone on handsets, overall poor user experience
Model Number: UNIDEN DECT 6.0 Cordless phone
"Bought the system and was impressed with the waterproof handset it comes with. After using it for about 5 weeks, I struggled with dropped calls, cracking voice of speaker phone and overall poor voice quality, that the benefit of having one waterproof handset just faded away. Many thanks for Costco return policy, took it back. I wish I had read the reviews before I bought the system."
Review 4 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2011

Cool design but, poor performance

Pros: cool rugged waterproof handset, 4 handsets
Cons: poor reception, flimsy handhelds-dropped once and broke!
"Cool look and feel but, horrible. Calls cut out frequently.
Previous unidens (had 2 different ones over the last 10 years) were good but, arguably could have lasted longer. This unit is useless and will be returned."
Review 5 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:October 11, 2011

satisfied

Pros: waterproof handset
Cons: having to wait for the replacement base
Model Number: D1680 w/ DWX337
"I had the phone only for two days and just as all the reviews have said,, I got dropped. I am a long time Uniden user and I really never had a problem with the products or customer service. This time I thought I really had a lemon in my hand and thank god for Costco's return policy. I did call customer service, they knew about the problem. It seems to be the base unit. They sent me a new base and an additional two handsets for my troubles. I guess it pays to stay on hold till someone actually gets on the phone. I have not had any problems since... knock on wood."
Review 6 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver WA
Date:October 10, 2011

Worse Uniden purchased -previous model

Pros: like the lit display easy to see
Cons: see msg...buttons quit working can' scroll etc
"I have been a faithful Uniden customer....but after my most recent purchase, I decided that this brand is not the quality it used to be.....so no more wasting my money on this company 's products. Think twice or three times before you waste your hard earned $$.
The model I purchased has 3 handset + base....TWO of the THREE units still work, but the Up/down/side directional buttons quit working..can still use th units but cannot use my address book or scroll thru the callerID log....can't do any functions that require scrolling!!
Since the batteries don't hold a charge for very long, I will br buying another brand very soon! The replacement batteries are too costly too!!!
"
Review 7 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 9, 2011

I agree...back to the store!`

Pros: waterproof phone works great.
Cons: reliability, range, battery life
"Thank you to Costco and their liberal return policy!
Bought this phone set in the store about 6 months ago. Within 1 week of use we had issues with "out of range" messages while standing right next to the base. We also experienced the mysterious call muting that others have described here. You will be in the middle of a call and both the microphone and speaker will mute. It doesn't disconnect the call just mutes everything. If both parties stay on the phone long enough the call will resume. Unacceptable!
Read the Uniden support page and this is a known problem. We even did the "system reset" procedure they described with no luck.
The waterproof phone works great. Its the only phone we have been using for weeks.
Back to the store with you!
"
Review 8 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:October 6, 2011

Disappointed

Model Number: D1680-4XT
"They're going back to the store. Like the others, I had dropped calls, going silent in the middle of a call or battery charge not holding. Waterproof handset was nice, best part."
Review 9 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2011

gurgle gurgle gurgle

Pros: like the number of handsets
Cons: too many to list
"Not every day but at least every other day people would say "hello, are you there? you sound like you are under water" - after trying different places in the house to use the phone or even switching handsets around etc. nothing really helped. So after 2 months we took it back. What we do like is CostCo's return policy. Easily returned and money given back. Search is on for another new phone. This one though is not up to Uniden standards of old. Last Uniden we bought was 10 years ago and loved it, not this one. So unless your friends, Dr.'s and other important people can speak "water" language I would skip this phone for sure - skip it right out to sea!"
Review 10 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Racine, WI
Date:October 4, 2011

Total Waste of Money

Cons: goes silent in middle of conversation, can't just hit call id and redial for local calls
"Wish I had seen these reviews before I spend the money on this phone!
I agree with the other reviewers about the phone going silent in the middle of a conversation. Thought it was just me!
Phone is going back!
Hopefully Costco will pull this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Beach area Ca.
Date:October 3, 2011

Don't buy this phone

Pros: like to waterproof unit
Cons: batteries go empty too fast, drops calls, no customer service
Model Number: D1680-4XT
"I have had Uniden products before with no problems. However, this kit is bad. I have the same problems as some of the other reviewers, drops call, goes silent, phone display goes blank and cuts off callers in mid conversation. I have to run for a land line to continue a call or I lose the call all together. Service is non-existent. Phone Customer Service is by the numbers and does not work, on hold for ever and they also will not call you back. ha... don't wait. They say don't return the phone but call us first... I did, but I'm going to return the phone. Thank goodness for CostCo Returns."
Review 12 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bozeman, Montana
Date:October 3, 2011

Love our new phone set!

Pros: waterproof handset, four handsets
Model Number: Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System
"We purchased our phone set at our local store because of the great price and especially the waterproof handset that is part of the four phone system. We told our daughter in Florida, who has a pool, about it and she had to have one too! We went back to the store but they were out, thanks to Costco.com we were able to purchase another one for her."
Review 13 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:October 1, 2011

Uniden D1680-4XT

Model Number: D1680-4XT
"Phone will disconnect - search for signal and drop your calls. I will be returning this system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:September 12, 2011

GOES SILENT ON CALLS!

Cons: unreliable
"This phone is horrible!! It randomly goes silent in the middle of a call and you have to scramble to find another handset before the call is dropped. It also will says that you are out of range when sitting right next to the base! Definitely going back!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2011

Bad Product

"Loved the price, but hate the phone. It goes into "hold" randomly and I end up disconnecting and calling back my party. The functions are hard to figure out. This phone is going back. Good thing I bought it at Costco! Great return policy ~"
Review 16 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:September 1, 2011

Great telephone for home

Pros: waterproof handset really waterproof and durable
"I do not understand where the bad reviews are coming from, but this phone system works great. Handsets are easy to understand and simple to use. No static, dropped calls or anything like that. The waterproof handset I put in my bathroom and have used it while showering. It is really durable. I have also easily mated two older uniden handsets with this system without a hitch.
Great product."
Review 17 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Traverse City, MI
Date:August 31, 2011

Worst Phone Set Ever

Pros: it looks better than it functions., display is readable
Cons: terrible quality, junk technology, poor engineering, horrible design
Model Number: D1680-4XT
"This phone boast a number of tech features that would seem to offer advantages over other phones. However they actually don't add anything useful and the defects render this system useless.
That may seem a bit harsh but the simple truth is that is product is junk. It drops calls constantly. When you answer the phone no one can hear you so you have to repeat until the caller can hear anything. You miss parts of the call as the phone dies in and out and ultimately dies completely..
The functions are laid out like no other wireless system on the planet - so bad there's not enough room here to list the idiotic design and convoluted features that simply make no sense. It's useless. It's embarrassing and annoying to use this phone and try to rely on it.
A major step backward in technology.
First time I have purchased anything from Costco that was of such poor quality that it had to be returned.
Uniden is a brand to be avoided since this is what they offer - junk.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Canton, GA
Date:August 31, 2011

Bad Phone

Model Number: Uniden D1680-4XT
"I bought this phone because I got it very cheap, but it was a worthless purchase.
This phone constantly drops calls, even if you are standing at the base. It locks up and says "searching"
I am taking it back today."
Review 19 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, CO
Date:August 30, 2011

Worst phones ever

Pros: outdoor phone is great
Cons: phones frequently cut out
Model Number: D1680
"Our original Uniden phone set (5 years old) was great. This set was to supplement that set, since all the handsets would work together. Unfortunately, we had the same problem with phones cutting out as other reviewers and have decided to return the new set. Uniden definitely cheapened the phones and perhaps the batteries. They've now lost our business."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Uniden DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone System w/ 4 Handsets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 29, 2011

Worst of the worsts

Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Model Number: Uniden DECT 6.0 D1680-4xt
"This phone drops calls and goes to searching mood frequently, even the phone is next to the base unit. Amazingly, it knows which calls are important and it will drop them for sure :)
Uniden support is also the worst. Good luck to you. You will never talk to a real person."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>