Customer Reviews for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive

Automatically backup your entire Windows® computer
Average Customer Rating:
2.938 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
12
17 of 32(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Review 1 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:October 12, 2011

Computer Back-up

Model Number: Click Free Total Computer 1T C6 Backup
"My computer is 6 years old and has no problems - yet. I decided to back up all the information, programs, etc and this was a very easy process. It did take several hours for the initial back up but, well worth it."
Review 2 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Goode, VA
Date:October 10, 2011

Excellant device

Pros: quite and efficient?
Cons: no manual of instructions
Model Number: Not sure
"I received the unit and backed up both my desktop and laptop. It seemed to work fine but I have some questions as to the use. There was no manuel of instructions except to connect to the computer and let it run. There is no visable evidence of its progress or if there was any problem. It did not tell me when it was done or if I had to shut down programs etc.. I also do not have instructionas to restoring a drive if I need to."
Review 3 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Date:October 8, 2011

Quick and easy

Pros: simple to set up and easy to operate.
Cons: you have to disconnect the drive from the computer
"I have been looking for a straight forward backup method for my main computer and after trying many software programs all of which had some bug or another i saw Costoc advertizing this product. Knowing the return policy of Costco I decided to give it a try. After hooking up the drive it first advised i needed to download an update for the software which I did without a problem. I then set up to do a complete backup and left it to perform overnight. Next morning i was greeted with a screen advising the complet backup was succesful and a check of the drive properties showed there was indeed a about 200GB used. I then set the drive software to perform a weekly backup. I have now had the drive 3 weeks and it faithfully performs the weekly differential backup. I have done a test by noting what new documents I created and images I had saved during a week and checked they were on the Clickfree drive after the weekly backup.(They were). I recommend you print out the 23 page user guide it will help.
I haven't had the need to repair or restore my computer so I can't comment on these features but as long as my files are available (which they are) should I have a computer hard drive problem I am satisfied.
Computer used: ZT Systems, Intel i7-870 processor @2.93 GHz, 16GB DDR3 memory, 2TB primary HD.
"
Review 4 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:October 3, 2011

Clickfree needs to get their act together

Model Number: C6
"After reading the reviews on Costco it looked like I had a 50/50 chance of getting this to work. I had contacted their support earlier (only took them two weeks to email me back) and they said it would work with a fat32 system (which my computer is) and it was on sale so I gave it a shot. First try: the instructions were basic ("Just plug it in!!!!") though written in every language on the planet. It wanted me to reboot, did so. Then it wanted me to get their update. That took awhile and at the end it said, "We're sorry, you were unable to update, please try again later." I thought, "Why won't it work now if it will work later?" But I gave it a couple days and tried again. This time nothing: no reboot, no update, no automatic start. I found it on the control panel and played with every file they showed. Nothing would start it. Took it back."
Review 5 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:September 30, 2011

BEST EVER USED

Pros: recommended
"Was skeptical after reading so many poor reviews yet I wanted a simple one click unit and decided to take a chance. I thought this will take forever but 35 minutes later it was finished downing my whole system. All the outer fuctions go. Yesterday I up graded in 14 minutes. Can't beat COSTCO one click 1TBC6 Desk top back up drive Item 581276."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fresno
Date:September 30, 2011

not for average computer user

Pros: cannot think of any
Cons: did not do as i expected it
Model Number: CA3D10-BC
"The instruction manual did not address the issues I was having after I installed the device in my computer. For excample, the CF C6 was not able to restore all the files even after several tries. The instruction for deleting the files downloaded in CF C6 did not apply to my computer and did not work. I plan to return this purchase."
Review 7 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:September 29, 2011

3 times the charm

Pros: very easy to use
Cons: out of box failures
"I had already own a clickfree unit which I really liked but not a total backup drive so I ordered one. The first unit arrived and was an out of the box failure. I returned it and ordered another one. The second unit arrived with the same problem. The box the unit was enclosed in was ripped and you can hear pieces rolling inside. Again I returned it and ordered a 3rd one. The 3rd one worked great so I am keeping my fingers crossed."
Review 8 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis area
Date:September 29, 2011

Program bugs

"Problem initially encountered with opening file to run program. Tech Service helped resolve. Then loaded program and set to run system imagen--got error message and that Click Free would contact me within 24 hours . . .did not hear back the next day, so tried to restart and run system image and windows 7, 64 bit crashed to blue screen..Boxed up and returned to Costco."
Review 9 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pocatello, ID
Date:September 22, 2011

Great Idea but....

Pros: good concept
Model Number: C6 1TB
"The initial backup occurred without a problem. I upgraded the computer to Windows 7 and tried to then restore all the files & programs. Not all of my music files or photos would restore. I have had several error messages & contacted tech support but not much assistance there. The company is sending a new unit as this one apparently is defective. Unfortunately I had hundreds of music files & thousands of family photos and now many are gone."
Review 10 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:September 20, 2011

Doesnt deliver on its promises

"I purchased this with the intent of having it be there in the case of a computer disaster such as a hard drive failure, etc. In testing the device, it does NOT live up to its claim of "Total Computer Protection". The one feature that it promised was the ability to move applications from one PC to another, which after testing this multiple times, reading the FAQ's AND contacting support, it plain didnt work.
Its too bad because I really like the other ClickFree products."
Review 11 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2011

Clickfree

Pros: device works-easy
Cons: you can get a lemon unit
Model Number: 6c Desktop backup
"The first unit that shipped was defective so I called Customer Service and spent an hour trying to fix- They shipped out another unit which was a charm to get working. Customer service is a little slow, however it could be worth the wait. Overall they back up their product. Easy to get working and back up"
Review 12 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dyer, IN
Date:September 9, 2011

You are taking a chance on losing everything

Pros: i can't give it any pro's
Cons: junk
Model Number: C6
"Purchased it , then just before I started to use it I got the email from Costco about downloading a file for it. Plugged it in, connected it to PC and nothing happened. Wouldn't turn on. All of a sudden while handling it, I squeezed the body and it turns on. Then I tried to download the file and it wouldn't do it. So I try and get it to backup my PC. It did it, but took a long time. After it was done, I checked it and it showed everything backed up. Today I tried to view some pictures on my PC and the files were empty. Went to Click Free and the backup was gone. Lost all my pictures. This baby is going right back to Costco."
Review 13 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, Arizona
Date:September 3, 2011

Did not work

Pros: looks nice
Cons: doesn't work on usb2 ports on a gateway computer, spent many hours trying to get this thing to work.
Model Number: 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
"The drive is supposed to work on USB 2 and USB 3. I only have USB 2. I have seven slots on my computer, tried them all, and the ClickFree would power up and then do nothing. I have 2 other Seagate USB2 drives that work great. This product was useless. I did some research and downloaded the latest software because the disc had software driver issues. Trouble is, the new software must be able to access the Clickfree drive. I spent several hours trying to get this thing to work to no avail. I was really looking forward to an automatic backup of my system. Too bad this did not work. I did not get a replacement, just a refund. I don't plan to buy another one. I don't like returning products twice."
Review 14 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 30, 2011

unuseable

"I plugged the device in according to the instructions, but got nothing. My computer is just not recognizing it. Now I have to either call the company to have them walk me through it (so far the phone just rings), or return it to Costco. What an inconvenience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2011

Simple and perfect

Model Number: ClickFree Auto Backup 1TB C6
"I purchase this clickfree backup unit after I read the costco comment of correcting the problems.
I trusted Costco's statement and purchased it. It works very simple and fine.
Backup take long time initially but after the first back up, it is done very quick and perfect including the window 7 OS.
"
Review 16 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:August 26, 2011

Horrible support

Pros: looks nice
Cons: miserable support
Model Number: C6
"Got hung up on twice while trying to install what was supposed to be "Plug and Play""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:silicon valley, ca
Date:August 24, 2011

So Far So Good

Pros: ease of use
Cons: none so far
"Have not had the issues that others have posted. Downloaded updates fine. Easy to use"
Review 18 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:White Marsh, MD
Date:August 24, 2011

"Nothing is easier"? "Nothing" is better.

Pros: i gave them 1 star. you can't give zero stars.
Cons: not even heavy enough to be a doorstop.
"The "Click-free" motto is "Nothing is easier." It should be "Nothing is better, so stick with nothing." That's just what I'm going to do after I return the 2 pieces of junk I bought - stick with nothing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:August 23, 2011

2nd Unit works great.

Model Number: Clickfree 1 TB C6 total computer backup drive
"Had to return first unit since it did not communicate with my computer despite help from Clickfree. Replacement unit worked as advertised and backed up entire 47GB on hard-drive; (90% was programs and apps which is what I wanted). Have not needed to use it for recovery yet!
This was replacement for Rebit drive which had a hard drive failure after 6 months.
Would have given Clickfree C6 5 stars except for first unit problem
"
Review 20 for ClickFree Automatic Backup Total Computer Protection 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 21, 2011

Great external hard drive

Pros: ease of setup, scheduled backups, ease of backup scheduling, appearance of the c6 unit, free email support, backs up emails, user interface
Cons: scant troubleshooting info, email support responsive but slow
Model Number: ClickFree 1TB C6 Desktop Backup Drive
"Easy to setup and easy to use. Emailed support for troubleshooting help. It took 8 days to receive a response but the fix for the glitch I was experiencing was simple and easily corrected. First backup took less than two hours. Subsequent backups are unobtrusive. I've already recommended to friends. Couldn't find useful troubleshooting information without emailing support."
1 2 next>>