Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe

Meets or exceeds the California Department of Justice requirement for an approved firearm safety device under CA Penal Code section 12087, et seq. Cannon Safes CH2 will help protect your valuables through the most extreme environments. Standard features include an impressive 2 HOUR FIRE rating, 3-way bolt work, and an internal compartment with a separate key lock. Its roomy interior is perfect for cash, checks, gold, jewelry and other valuables. This feature packed safe will make a great addition to any Home or office. Security Features:   Electronic lock   Key override allows opening of safe using a key   4.25” Composite door   1” Steel Locking Bolts   Designed for use in home or office environment      Weight: 320 lbs   Interior Features:   Internal locking drawer provides additional privacy and security   Adjustable shelf can be raised or removed   Interior dimensions: 13 1/4” H x 13 ¼ “ W x 14 ½” D   Pre drilled with 2 holes for bolting to floor Exterior Features:   4.9 Cubic Ft.   Hammer Black paint finish   Exterior dimensions: 23.5" H x 19” W x 19” D depth includes handle   Weight: 320 lbs   External heavy duty hinges   Chrome plated accents   Fire Protection:   2 Hour UL 72 Fire Rated by ETL Labs   Passed UL 72 Explosion test   Warranty:   1 year    Model: CH2
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Review 1 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:July 22, 2013

Should have headed Warnings

Cons: delivered locked and will not open, no tech support contact information provided
Model Number: CH2 Fire Safe
"Safe arrived today locked and will not open not open. Carton not damaged. No apparent damage to the outside of the safe. My problem seems to be identical to other one star reviews. No Cannon Service phone or contact information provided! I finally found a number I will try tomorrow. Wish I listened and had not purchased the safe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 15, 2013

Safe is a piece of JUNK

Pros: there are no pros
Cons: you name it it's wrong!!
Model Number: CH2
"Today is 7/15/13, safe was delivered on 6/21/13 and I still cannot open it. Cannon Safe Co. customer service clearly has no interest, has not helped, shipped wrong parts. Initially, I spoke with a C/S female at Cannon Safe who sounded like she was 12 years old and had never seen a safe before (she shipped me the wrong parts). I have sent my Costco receipt to them twice but they insist they never received it. Presently, I have a 320 pound paper weight and I am truly sorry I ever bothered to buy the darn thing. The good news for me is that American Express has given me a temp. credit and I don't have to pay them."
Review 3 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:WY
Date:November 21, 2011

Missing essential keys

Pros: small enough to get into a discrete spot, feels solid and heavy
Cons: really flaky touch pad, shipped without essential components, laid back support
Model Number: CH2
"The build quality of the safe looks okay which is why am giving it 2 stars, however when I consider that this unit was shipped without the tool required to open the safe for the very first time and without other essential bits perhaps 1 star would be a fairer rating.
A week after initial delivery, the tool required to change the safe from a 320lb dead weight to a safe arrives, after much fiddling I was able to open the safe, the pin for the external power plug fits well but for some reason the keypad would not respond consistently when pressed, even after the initial setup, I don't know why this is the case, it just happens to be with the unit I have.
As if this is not enough, it turns out the manufacturer sent out the safe not only without tools for initial opening, but also without the keys required to open the safe in event of a complete malfunction of the electronic keypad and without the key for the inner shelf, which of course is locked. Given the flaky keypad on arrival am not sure am brave enough to lock my documents in that safe without the backup key being around. So after some more email I am told that am looking at a wait of an additional 3 weeks or longer before the missing keys get to the supplier before being shipped to me.
What I find most interesting though is that the instruction sheet start with " remove the key and do not lock the key in the safe", perhaps they should have added a line " do not ship this products without the keys.
So as the unit I have stands, it is more a 320lb metal document trap than a true safe. Granted it may just be that I got shipped the worst unit in the warehouse.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:November 9, 2011

Great Buy!

"This safe is really heavy and it even hard for two heavy people carry it. I bolted to the concrete floor which makes more safer and very tough to detach it. We can simply have peace of mind. The lock system is really good. We can open either digital keyboard or the safe key which makes life easier. Overall its a great buy and definitely give me peace of mind."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Date:November 2, 2011

Good Quality

Pros: easy to program the combination, nice looking product
Model Number: CH2 Fire Safe
"The first safe that was delivered was rejected for a large dent in the top. Cosco was very good about accepting the return and sending a new one. No problems with the second one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:October 25, 2011

Exactly what I was looking for in a safe

Pros: give it strong recommendation
Model Number: CH2
"Very pleased that it was delivered within 1 1/2 weeks and with the friendliness of the delivery person. The safe appealed to me initially because not only was it aesthetically pleasing but solid, heavy (320 lbs), plenty of room inside, a 2 hour fire safety protection. Upon receipt, I was not disappointed. It really takes two people to move it around safely so it is difficult to position in confined places but I just see that as another theft deterrent feature. Instructions were very simple. I like the idea that it has a pull out drawer to store valuables as well as plenty of room to store important legal documents below and can be bolted to the floor. I definitely like the idea that it also has an audible alarm that can be set and is activated when the safe is moved or attacked (something I didn't realize when purchasing). Should you forget your digital code you can easily open with a key. This safe has everything that I needed and more."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 24, 2011

Wonder about this purchase

Cons: pkg tracking system not useful for buyer.
Model Number: CH-2 Fire Safe (not a number on Cannon internet)
"Still waiting for second delivery. First was defective in inputting new code. Safe carton was wet and inside was drenched. Electronic 'system' to input my code would not work at all. Called for return.
Surprised that (closed) FIRE safe was wet inside since much water is usually put on fire. But with feature to screw down to floor I guess it would have holes. Now I wonder if I have to waterproof/bag any papers I keep in safe?? I also wonder if fire/water would short out the door electronics and prevent my opening the door after a fire. After all the "warehouse" water caused it to fail. Damage to key hole would put me at the mercy of the manufacturer. (This is probably a problem with all fire safes with tie downs.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Federal Way, WA
Date:October 21, 2011

Cannon CH2 fire safe

Model Number: Cannon CH2 fire safe
"what a improvment over what we had before! We feel more comfortable about not loosing documents in a fire or thieft."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:FLORIDA
Date:October 18, 2011

just the right size

Pros: easy, size
Cons: digital numbers tend to stick be careful
"THIS SAFE IS NOT TO SMALL OR TO BIG. VERY EASY TO USE HAD IT INSTALLED BY A PROFESSIONAL,WHO BOLTED IT TO MY FLOOR AFTER HE MOVED IT INTO MY ROOM. NICE SIZE DRAWER INSIDE WITH A SPECIAL KEY. LOTS OF ROOM FOR DOCUMENTS OR WHAT EVER.DIGITAL KEY BOARD EASY TO USE , PLUS HAS A SEPARATE KEY FOR ENTRY IF YOU NEED.ALSO HAS AN ALARM IF NUMBERS PUT IN WRONG."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:October 18, 2011

Nice Safe

Pros: solid construction, 2 hour fire rating
Cons: instructions not great but not hard to figure out
Model Number: Cannon CH2
"This safe is a great deal for the money. It features full steel construction, both inside and out, and it has a nice textured feel to the outside. Some of the other fire safes you see don't do a lot to protect from theft (they can be sawn in half in just a few minutes with a circular saw). This safe protects well against both fire and theft, for not a whole lot more money than some of the hardware store safes. We're very happy with this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:October 17, 2011

Great Product!

Pros: well made, easy to program
Cons: none
Model Number: Cannon CH2
"This safe was a great purchase and Costco made it very easy! The delivery was within a week of ordering. Easy to program, well made and has a great gaurantee. I would recommend to everyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:October 17, 2011

No luck

"It took a month to deliver. The electronic lock did not work when I opened the box. I had to reurn it to buy another one."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cannon Safe CH2 Fire Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2011

Nice 2 hour fire safe

Pros: 2 hour fire rating, electronic lock with key override, internal drawer with keylock
Model Number: CH2
"This is a solid safe, personally I bought it for the 2 hour fire rating, I like the interior drawer, the key override and the lock is easy to use. All in all it was a great buy. Good looking and solid safe."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.