Customer Reviews for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum

SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum

The stylish FELIX offers all the flexibility of a canister vacuum in an upright configuration!  It has a "flex" neck with amazing 180 steering ability, an ultra-modern filtration system, a detachable suction unit that becomes a hand-held vacuum, and an instant-use suction hose.  The power head deep cleans carpets, or its spinning brush roller can be shut off to clean delicate rugs and hard floors with straight suction. It also has easy brush roller removal, and an orange warning light illuminates when brush height is set too high for optimal cleaning, the bristles are worn, or automatic shut-off occurs due to a brush obstruction. The FELIX also has a parquet brush, which is perfectly designed for cleaning hard floors.      Includes:    Felix 1 Premium Vacuum   Power Head   Hand-held Turbo Brush   8 Filter Bags   Crevice Tool   Upholstery Nozzle    Parquet Brush     Dusting Brush   9 ft. Extension hose   20 in. Extension wand   Features:   Designed and Manufactured in Germany - Legendary quality, reliability and performance make SEBO vacuums the choice of cleaning professionals and household users throughout the world.   SEBO's Last for Years and Extend Carpet Life! - If properly maintained, SEBO vacuums save ordinary residential users hundreds of dollars by providing excellent performance for ten to fifteen years or more, and their deep-cleaning power-brush technology extends the life of carpets. Typical vacuums perform poorly, even when new, and usually do not last beyond two years. So six or seven “disposable vacuums” must be purchased during the average life expectancy of just one SEBO machine.   Five-year Warranty Coverage - All SEBO models include a five-year warranty on the motor and all non-wear parts and a five-year warranty on labor charges.   Effective Pet Hair Removal - All SEBO vacuums easily remove pet hair! Remarkably Quiet Operation – Intelligent design and high-quality motors combine to provide amazingly quiet vacuums.   Protective Rubber-coated Wheels – SEBO's wheels protect all floor surfaces and provide smooth maneuverability. Changing Bags is Easy and Clean – SEBO bags take just a few seconds to change, and a cap keeps dust sealed inside.   SEBO Microfilters Ensure Continuously Strong Suction Performance – They are also long lasting, inexpensive and easy to change in seconds.   Effective Filtration Requires a Tightly Sealed Vacuum – Dirty air, which flows through a vacuum, can only be filtered completely if it does not escape into the room through seams or seals in the machine. This is why all SEBO vacuums have tight seals throughout. Many vacuum companies with high-filtration claims are actually quoting specifications made by the manufacturer of the filter material, as measured in the laboratory, not the filtration effectiveness of the vacuum itself while operating. Whether or not dirty air can escape through leaks in the body of the machine is not considered. The filtration effectiveness of SEBO vacuums is tested while they operate.   S-class filters come standard on SEBO vacuums.  These filters remove more than 99.9% of particles down to 0.3 microns in size and 100% of particles of one micron and above. For comparison, 100 microns is the diameter of a human hair.   Excellent for Users With Allergies or Asthma - The British Allergy Foundation recommends SEBO filters.   Variable Suction Control   Bare Floor Cleaning   Cord Length: 31 ft.   Onboard Hose Length: 6 ft.    Total Hose Length: 15 ft. Including Extension 4 Brush-height Settings   Suction Motor: 1300 Watts   Height Adjustment: Manual   Weight: 15.4 lbs.   UL Listed Model: Felix 1 / 11649749
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
22 of 30(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Altos CA
Date:September 2, 2014

nice lightweight vacuum

Pros: relatively quiet, lightweight;good maneuvering around/undr & stairs, good head design 4 under tight spaces and swivels, has a bag!-who would want a bagless?cough..., came with extra hw floor head pet hair head, extra long stretchy pipe. but too many can't carry, why not extra wand?
Cons: price, onboard attachments is flimsy allows only 2 tools, topples over sometimes kind of wobbly, onboard attachment clumsytools fall off, need 2 wandscan't carry it around while vacuuming, cord wrap around is clumsy and makes it unbalanced
Model Number: white color
"Relatively low noise and easy to maneuver and suction is very good. though expensive, 3x a hoover wind tunnel which is what I used to have and love it but the beater brush always broke down after a year or so. I've had to buy 3-4 hoovers over the last 10 years so if Sebo lasts 10 years then we're ahead."
Review 2 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:USA
Date:June 20, 2014

Great Vacuum

Pros: doesn't release dust & dirt back into the air, light & easy to use, works great on pet hair
Cons: expensive, should come with two wand extensions
Model Number: Sebo Felix 1 / 11649749
"I recommend the Sebo Felix to folks who have respiratory/sinus/allergy problems that are aggravated by the dust that most vacuums put back into the air. This vacuum lives up to its claims for keeping the dirt inside. It does an excellent job on pet hair and surface dirt and debris, but it doesn't seem to pick up as much deep dirt as our Rainbow vacuum. The hose is very convenient to detach for running around table legs and into corners where the vacuum won't go, however, there is only one wand with the vacuum. It needs two for getting to high places or to do a bare floor. The bags are a joy to change out. They have a cap that closes over the top before you remove the bag from the vacuum so no dust escapes when replacing the bag. There's a handy bag-full gauge on top of the canister so you know when you need to change it out. The vacuum is light and very easy to move over the carpet. Just be sure that you have the height adjustment set correctly. If you have it set too low for your carpet, it will be hard to push. Set it as high as possible without the yellow light coming on. The yellow light tells you that you don't have a good suction because the vacuum is set too high. Some reviewers have complained of the vacuum tipping over. If you have that problem, try moving the handle around until you hear a click. That sound tells you that you have it in the upright and locked position. I've never had it fall over once I click it into place. Overall, this is a great vacuum that seems to live up to its claims. It appears to be sturdy and very well made. Yes, it is expensive, but so are doctors' visits and medication to treat the health problems caused by dust and dirt in the air. A worthwhile trade off, in my opinion."
Review 3 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:April 17, 2014

Nice vacuum, stinky bags

Pros: suction, brush roll
Cons: smells no light loud
"Not great bags on this vacuum, and no better available. I used to have an electrolux canister that took clinique bags. Nothing got through those. This one on the very first use the doggy smell gets through. Not happy :(. Other than that- great vacuum. Lays flat and fits under the bed. Attachments are nice. Great suction."
Review 4 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:snohomish county
Date:April 5, 2014

Picks up husky dog hair with ease.

Pros: picks up dog hair with ease., hose is easy to operate for tight spaces
Cons: no light on vac to show whats ahead.
"I have had this vacuum for over 1 year now. It still is working wonderfully. I have 2 very large husky mix dogs that shed twice a year. This is the only vacuum that can handle the hair. My old vacuum, I would change the bag maybe every 6 months. My Sebo vacuum is so efficient. I have full bags about every 1 1/2 months with weekly/daily vacuuming. Thank you Sebo!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elkton, MD
Date:February 15, 2014

Solid Product

Pros: construction design
Cons: power head could be wider
Model Number: Felix Premium
"Just used my Sebo Felix for the first time. Previously I have purchased "top rated" domestic vacuums and they lasted a few years. The Sebo brand attracted me because of the reviews and the fact it is designed and constructed in Germany. Now that I have used the Sebo I am not dissapointed in the solid design of the product. For those who own a German made automobile I would compare it to that solid "clunk" you hear when you close a German made auto door. Only time will tell if the Sebo wil last 10+ years as the manufacturer suggests but with a five year initial warranty there is limited risk. The vacuum does produce some heat as described by others, but until I am told there is a safety hazard I am not concerned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lexington,Ky
Date:January 13, 2014

Good for dog hair

Pros: great suction, 5 yr warrenty, filtration system
Model Number: Felix1
"I have four dogs so I bought this because of the research my husband did on line for all of the major brands. I have had a Dyson Animal (Not Ball) for several years and really like it but do not like the ball. I really like this vacuum especially that you can change the suction and the brush roller can be cleaned easily."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Date:August 27, 2013

Just OK, not worth the price

Pros: solid well built, looks nice, easy to access hose for spot cleaning
Cons: very heavy hard to push around, isn't worth the premium price
"This vacuum is okay. It seems well built. It's heavier than other vacuums and does not glide very easily across carpet or hard floors. I got this to replace a Dyson that broke.
I wouldn't buy this again. It's a $250 vacuum with a $500+ price tag. I might return this, I might not, but either way I'm not really happy with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:August 19, 2013

Near Perfect

Pros: solid and well build machine, vacuum carpet and tiles floor very well, carpet feels puff and soft after vacuuming, easy to push, it fits under the cabinet, speed slide control is a plus, the bag lasts for two months, i don't need to wear a mask when i vacuum
Cons: it is heavy for me, the bag has smell after 1.5 month, expensive
Model Number: Felix 1 / 11649749
"It is a near perfect vacuum for me. The bag can hold a lot and last for two months. I vacuum the whole house about every two weeks and vacuum the small areas whenever they are dirty. It is also a problem because it has smell after 1.5 month. It is amazing how it can fit so much garbage into that little bag. I have to empty the cup for 3-5 times after I vacuum the whole house with the Electrolux bagless Nimble vacuum."
Review 9 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SANTA CRUZ CA
Date:July 27, 2013

not worth the money

Pros: small nice color
Cons: you need muscles to drag the vacuum., it is not worth the price you pay for this vacuum
"Even with adjustable controls, I still had to drag the vacuum around. My carpet still felt very dirty after vacuuming."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:April 11, 2013

I can breathe! Highly recommended.

Pros: easy to use in every way., allergen filters work amazingly well.
Cons: pricey.
Model Number: Sebo Felix Premium 1
"You get what you pay for is usually a true statement. I didn't want to pay this much but certain things shouldn't be skimped on, if you can help it.
I literally threw a Hoover out of my house. I have tried 3 styles of Dyson. The Shark and the list goes on.
This vacuum was designed beautifully. I don't feel like I have a cat in my throat and need to blow my nose while I'm vacuuming. The allergen filters work tremendously well. Very, very pleased. The tools that Costco send with it are perfect for all uses. Maneuvers well, dusts easily w/brush, pet hair is gone and it edges well. Set up is easy. The motor adjusts from low to high for suction control, it's like having a little jet powered sports car!
Overall a great deal considering this costs about the same as the horrible Dyson that I had to buy extra attachments for and now have nowhere to use them."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mercer Island, WA
Date:March 23, 2013

Wow what a difference!

Pros: quiet lightweight highly maneuveable well-built
Cons: none
Model Number: Felix 1
"This vacuum replaced a Hoover Wind Tunnel that was heavy, noisy, poorly maneuverable and had cheap plastic parts that broke. You can't take as gospel Consumer Report reviews. This is an excellent value from Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:March 8, 2013

Love my Felix!

Pros: well made, great suction
Cons: pricey, a little heavy
"Our last vacuum was a Sharp upright and has served us well for over 15 years. I''d been searching for a replacement for a long time and just couldn't bring myself to try the bagless units. Like other reviewers I initially had Sebo sticker shock. I found the Costco package pricing could not be beat anywhere. After reading the glowing reviews and knowing Costco's no risk policies and the included 5 year warranty, I decided to give the Felix a try. So glad I did!
I ordered the red model on-line and rec'd in less than 1 week. For the first time ever, I read a manual and other included instructions. This unit has some interesting and unfamiliar features so I recommend doing the same before plunging into the work of vacuuming. Had some problems keeping the brush button engaged on the head. I called US customer service and spoke with a very helpful tech. He determined there was a problem and promptly sent a replacement which I rec'd in 2 days. Once I rec'd a working head, Felix has worked like a charm ever since.
I like the swivel action that allows a lot of flexibility in cleaning under and around things. The parquet attachment is fabulous for tile floors, works close to the edge and does a terrific job removing cat hair. The power cord is extra long and winds up nicely for storage. I haven't had to replace a bag yet but the Costco deal included 8 bags so it will be awhile before I have to buy them. This is a quality product thoughtfully engineered. I love the red color and know I'm going to enjoy my Felix for a long time to come."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis
Date:February 15, 2013

excellent choice

Pros: variable suction power is nice to have
Cons: pricey
Model Number: Sebo Felix 1
"Whenever an article is available through Costco, I assume it is superior in its class, and that assumption is usually confirmed by research and experience. I did a lot of research and showroom shopping before this purchase. Our Dyson needed to be replaced; I had always liked it and never thought I'd go back to a bag vaccuum, but my husband never liked the Dyson. Now I see why - the Sebo Felix does an amazing job, far superior to anything I've ever used before. I wanted to buy from a local dealer, but no one could match the Costco bundled deal, and it's great to have the accessories - especially the turbo brush for stairs and upholstery. The parquet brush cleans the hard surface flooring infinitely better than the previous vaccuum. The portability of the machine is awesome."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:September 24, 2012

GREAT VACUUM!

Pros: bag is easy and dust/dirt free to change., not as loud as other vacuums., enjoy using this vacuum!
Cons: canister gets warm.
Model Number: Felix 1 Premium
"This vacuum replaced a 25 year old Electrolux canister that was terrific. And I also have a Royal upright that I used for quick vacuuming. I have not used the Royal since I purchased the SEBO in August 2011."
Review 15 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA, USA
Date:August 14, 2012

Finally: a vacuum to keep

Pros: suction, efficiency, clears away hair, attachments, petite size
Cons: cost, runs hot
Model Number: Sebo Felix
"I've tried out nearly every vacuum out there. And I mean every--including many models within each. Bag-less "lifetime" filters require too much filter cleaning. Plus, bag-less vacuums are not so clean to empty (the air around gets dusty with all those floor germs). Anyway, this vacuum rocks. Not only does the bag hold a tremendous amount of dirt (etc), it functions as tho the bag is empty until the bag is completely full. There's no "near the end of the bag" loss of suction. Once the bag is full, you'll know it immediately. But until then, this vacuum does a GREAT job. It is a hefty investment ($$$$$), but if you are the type that buys a vacuum every time the current one lets you down, this one will last!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CO
Date:January 21, 2012

Difficult to push on plush carpet

Pros: well designed, quality materials, great functionality, good suction
Cons: difficult to push on moderate pile carpet, canister builds up heat quickly
Model Number: Sebo Felix 1 Premium
"Although I like the design, flexibility and build quality, I had to return this product as it was exceptionally challenging to push this vacuum on our carpeting. At first I though my wife was simply being a wimp about it, but she made me vacuum a single room and it was a real workout (yes - I even adjusted the setting to the highest level and it was still a workout to push).
Vacuum works great on hardwood floors and very low pile carpet. Our carpet really isn't that plush or high of a pile, so I would think it would be next to impossible to operate on truly high pile or plush carpet.
Other reviews complaining about the canister heat build up are also true - but I would have lived with this flaw, as I liked just about everything else about the machine. Larger wheels probably would help quite a bit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane WA
Date:January 12, 2012

Costco does it again!

Pros: the bag holds a lot., 12inch head gets in a lot of places., attachments work like you expect or better., well made and designed., easy to rebag., sebo isn't made in china.
Cons: they don't give them away:-)
Model Number: Sebo Felix 1 Premium White
"This vac is performing excellent. It is not heavy. If you think this is heavy get to the gym. We have two cats and a Golden Retriever. The hand vac attachment is the best I have ever used. This vac sucks. Costco's add ons and discount complete the machine and make this a no brain-er long-term investment. I am tired of buying vacuums every two years. The bag-less are too messy and require constant filter washes."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:January 10, 2012

Actually Pretty Good!

Pros: powerful, quiet, easy to use, easy bag & filter change, long power cable, brush stop function, 4 height setting., brush bar comes out via touch button., lifetime protected belt., hospital grade filters.
Cons: too big in canister mode., no small brush tool
"What a deal! I've not been keen on the canister design that comes off the floor head - but then it's not a main canister vacuum - but rather better performance as a compact upright vacuum. After years of owning a bagged vacuum and one which doesn't have additional filters, my eyes and breathing has definitely improved with the Felix.
It cleans corners with ease, gets under low furniture and has a life time belt fitted. Replaces an old Oreck which I hated for noise and lack of tools. Love, love, love the brush shut off function for hard floors and the bags and filters are both easy to change. There's even a trapdoor on the base that allows you to check for any clogs - with the Oreck you had to take the whole plate off the bottom with screws.
Compared to traditional push-pull uprights, the Felix is much quicker as it goes under and around corners just like a canister floor head and the variable suction control means you don't need to put it in the highest power to get the best clean. The brush roll also grooms the carpet really well and entire brush can be taken out to clean it. I can even order another brush roll type to deal with delicate carpets as well as a long extension hose extender if I want - I like that idea of extra cleaning tools if I need them.
This vacuum will get very hot because the main exhaust is the wrap around fabric skirt at the front - but it won't get hot if you put it to the middle or lowest suction setting. You won't always need high power on this vacuum either and it comes with additional peace of mind hospital grade filters compared to the Oreck which had none.
As for noise - the electric floor head can be noisy but it is a dream compared to the Oreck. No comparison where the Oreck is much lighter to lift but the Felix can be super light to glide dependent on the manual height setting you dial the vacuum to - and unlike the Oreck you won't have to replace any side brushes - or lift the Felix to hide it away when cleaning is finished - the Felix has wheels on the back where you just tip the machine back and wheel it back.
The 3 metre hose on the Felix is quite short, but at least there is one. I go around all my work surfaces and kitchen tops with the Felix and the hose in the other hand - the power cable is really long too so there's no need to worry about changing sockets all the time.
Two cleaning tools and another floor head is included - a Parquet brush floor head for delicate floors - and a long crevice tool with a T-upholstery tool. I use the crevice tool to clean the filter out of my compact electric dryer - the shape and length of it easily fits into the filter space and I can even get the whole hose and tool down there without getting stuck.
A very professional machine with few drawbacks."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh
Date:January 6, 2012

Dissapointed

Pros: easy to assemble & cleans well
Cons: heavy akward runs hot
"We will be retuning our Sebo Felix. While I do believe that it cleans well, there are some major design issues with this vacuum. 1) It runs very hot; 2) It is little heavy to push; 3) it is very akward to carry around as a canister. Thought this would be a good light weight alternative and I liked that it can be used on hardwood floors, but in my view this vacuum tries to serve many functions but is truly exceptional at none. For a premium vaccum I'm very disspointed."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SEBO FELIX 1 Premium Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:December 12, 2011

Decent Vacuum

Pros: turbo upholstery brush is great, vacuums hard floor the best i have seen
Cons: runs hot, awkward to carry, will not vacuum shag rugs with deep pile, no place to put attachments
Model Number: Felix 1
"The Sebo works good on hard floors with the regular attachment; but the Parquet floor attachment is not worth having if you have pets. It will not vacuum high or thick shag rugs and this is an issue for me. It is a little awkward to carry up steps; but I think that may be because I am left handed. It does run hot when it is close to your body. The upholstery turbo brush is the best I have ever seen in a vacuum. This brush will remove dog hair in a snap. There is not a good way to keep your attachments on the vacuum, so this is a little inconvenient. I have a Kirby that is over 20 years old and it is really heavy, so I was looking to replace it. The Kirby has "power" drive which makes it earier to push on the carpet. The Sebo is hard to push; but I think I need the workout. I just received and have not decided if I am going to keep it or not due to the shag carpet issue"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>