Customer Reviews for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet

When it comes to Food Storage, Chef's Banquet has set a new standard for quality and taste. You won't believe food storage can taste this good. All of the meals have been developed with the finest quality ingredients possible. The ARK (All-purpose Readiness Kit) is great for long term storage or for daily meals. With a full 2100 calories per day for one adult for 30 days, the ARK can be your stand alone food storage solution. Each of the meals takes less than 20 minutes to prepare (just add water).   Delicious just-add-water meals   Easy to Open zip-seal mylar foil pouches   Oxygen absorber in every pouch   Easily Transportable   6 gallon weather proof bucket   Shelf Life - Up to 20 years - if stored in a dry, cool environment   No High Fructose Corn-Syrup   Net Weight:  23 lb 13 oz No MSG    Each ARK contains the following:    330 Total Servings   2,100 calories/day for 30 days   Oatmeal - 60 Servings   Hearty Potato Soup - 60 Servings   Chicken Vegetable Stew - 30 Servings   Mixed Vegetables - 30 Servings   Instant Potatoes - 60 Servings   Pasta - 30 Servings  (includes 30 Servings of Cheddar Cheese Sauce) Beef Flavored Vegetable Stew - 30 Servings   Cheddar Broccoli Rice - 30 Servings For best taste and nutritional value, use product before: 20 years of manufacturing date when stored at 60 F (16.6 C) 10 years of manufacturing date when stored at 70 F (21.1 C) For questions or additional information please email costco@thereadyproject.com.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 99
(out of 99 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
4
88 of 99(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Review 1 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:November 26, 2013

Very Pleased!!!!

"The product came in a timely manner. The boxes were beat up from shipping, but the food containers were in great shape!"
Review 2 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2013

So far so good

Pros: easy to store last several years
Cons: 25 gallons of water needed for entire contents
Model Number: ARK1
"Everything looks like they said . Haven't tried the food yet. Got it for an emergency. Hope I never need it."
Review 3 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2013

Good Price; Lack of Convenience

Pros: good price for the amount of food.
Cons: bulk packages; not practical for individual use.
"I was looking for a supplement to our home food storage and found this to be a good price.
However, it is lacking in the convenience department.
For anyone considering this product, you should be aware that the food is in 30-serving packages. So if you have a need to try just one serving, you have to open the whole 30-serving package and then the storage life on the remaining 29 servings is compromised. Also, it is inconvenient to have large packages.
I realize the product would have cost more with individual serving packages, but if they had at least done packages of, say, 3-4 servings, instead of 30, then you could realistically use some servings (either in an emergency, to try out at home, for camping, etc.) without compromising the whole point of long-term storage on the remaining servings.
A good price, for the amount of food you get, but poorly thought out on the packaging side."
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:July 24, 2013

Done in 20 minutes!

Pros: i found this super quick and a good tasting soup.
"So far we tried the potato soup and loved it. It really was a quick process to make. This is the thickest shelf staple soup we have had yet. I've had some seriously runny just-add-water meals, and to make those good, it usually takes a lot longer than 20 minutes. I buy food storage for emergencies and just to save time and money whenever I can, so this bucket is ideal for me and my family. But I usually add fresh vegetables to most of the meals for variety sake and it keeps it healthy for the family."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington County Oregon
Date:June 11, 2013

Extremely disappointed!

Pros: you get a big bucket
Cons: packageing and lack of flavor
"We have had great tasty freeze dried survival food before, that was the reason for the large purchase. There is no real flavor to anything, you will be cooking a meal and needing some other food source to make this stuff bearable. The packaging is also bad. Once opened I do not beleive there is a 20 year self life."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF bay area
Date:June 8, 2013

Not as good as it looks

"31 cents a serving sounds good. Now if you compare the cost per 100 calories I doubt it competes as well with the bigger calorie count servings present in more nutritious canned/bottled/jarred foods(i.e. chili or tuna fish or peanut butter) and other non perishables. Plus these dehydrated foods require the use of water. Canned foods provide water along with the food. Lastly, I believe the majority of canned options probably taste better than dehydrated foods and offer more nutrition."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2013

It's ok. Just average

Pros: cheap and very convenient
Cons: very starchy with little to no protein.
"It will do in a pinch, but I would not want to have it as my sole food storage. Get some freeze dried meat and veggies to go with it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:careprovider in Los Angeles
Date:March 27, 2013

Its easy to store

"I have a residential facilily for disable people and state law requires me to have food incase of disasters. voila this serves the purpose. I have never found it cheaper than at Costco"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2013

Prepper

"I agree with many reviews, this may not be the very best tasting or even the most nutritional food on the market but my thoughts are this is a planning item My hopes are that I never have to survive on this alone, for the cost and for what you are getting this value is better than most other offers I have seen."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisiana
Date:February 9, 2013

great affordable products

"this was everything they said it was and they're very prompt ,love it and already in the process of ordering more"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2013

Really good!

"My husband and I have tried the food and really find that it makes a lot and is really good. I have bought a second bucket and plan to buy a bucket a month for some time--I am a "prepper" and think this is a great deal. The only thing I wish was that the box it comes in was without writing on it. It is no one's business that I am hoarding food for an emergency!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Buffalo, NY
Date:December 15, 2012

Mostly potatoes & little nutrition

Pros: mostly potato product & lots of calories.
Cons: mostly potato product., very little vitamins & minerals.
"Keep in mind people that if you eat 3 of most of these meals per day, you'll get lest than 15% the minimum adult requirements of vitamins & minerals. 120 meals are just potato product. Both stews (60 of them) are mostly potato product too (taste like potato, flour & salt).
You may be getting calories you need, but you can get that from a bag of sugar too. If you try to survive on just these for more than just a few days, you will die of malnutrition, because there's very little of anything you'd need to survive in them but calories.
Be sure to stock op on nutritious foods to eat with these or put in them, or at least store plenty of vitamins with them. Don't forget to store some protiens to keep up your strength too.
By the way folks, you are NOT qualified to give it a 4 or 5 star review for food if you didn't taste & eat it. That's like giving a good review for a light bulb without screwing it in just because it didn't arrive shattered.
If you didn't taste & eat the food, do not review the food."
25 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 13, 2012

Bags not sealed properly

Cons: poor quality control
Model Number: Item # 582275
"My question to the manufacturer is.. How do you expect this product to last 10 years or 20 years if the packages are not sealed properly?
This item did arrive quickly.. two days after I placed the order it was outside of my door. Based on previous reviews, we opened the lid and checked all 8 bags. Sadly, we found 2 bags are not sealed.. so it's not a rumor. We right away returned this item to our local Costco.
I wish the manufacturer could spend a little more time on quality control. . make sure they are all sealed property before sending them to us.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2012

A very sizable amount of food - well packed

Pros: good stuff (as expected)
Cons: arrives in a super conspicuous box
"I expected there to be a lot of food, and for the food to be of good quality. This is so far true.
!ONLY GRIPE! The box that these were shipped in has "PROJECT READY" and preparedness logos smattered across it in 30 pt type so people across the street can read it. I'd rather not freak out my neighbors; PLEASE invest in some plain subdued shipping boxes.
It's not exactly adult or taboo, but I wouldn't want ammo to be delivered in boxes labeled as "FIREARM DISCOUNTERS" or whatever, nor would I want weight loss products shipped in "YOUR NEIGHBOR IS TRYING TO LOSE FAT" boxes."
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 20, 2012

A Good Starting Point

Pros: quality ingredients, relatively high calories per day provided, serving sizes are realistic, mylar bags reseal and include pack 4 freshness
Cons: need a gamma lid once pail opened., food quite bland. need to plan accordingly., limited menu choices. need an ark 2 (+3).
Model Number: ARK 1 Pail of Emergency Food
"Serving sizes are accurate, we were not hungry after a dinner of 1 serving each of mixed veg, mashed potatoes and beef stew, per person.
In our pail (purchased last week) each packet has the directions for the preparation of its contents on it.
Bucket needs a gamma lid to seal properly after it has been opened but contains 1 or 2 resealable mylar pouches for each item provided. Each mylar pouch also includes a dessicant or oxygen consuming pouch to keep its contents fresh.
Mashed potatoes are good but if you like them fluffy you'll want to use a little less water than recommended on the packet.
Mixed veg also good though next time we'll likely add them to one of the stews to cook and retain their stock.
Beef stew is too salty for our taste at full strength. Easilly fixed by including a pealed potatoe to soak up the extra salt or by making up at half strength. At full strength this stew is more a thick soup than a stew.
Oats are what you'd expect and need something to "spice" them up a bit.
Basically there's good nutrition here but its unlikely you'll win any cooking competitions unless you supplement the menu and experiment with the contents.
The overall quality of the ingredients is good. We purchased this pail for testing and based on what we've found to date have ordered the pails of freeze dried fruit, vegetables and the pails of pasta and cheese & alfredo sauce from the same manufacturer to test those and add some variety to our emergency food stores. Based on the contents of the ARK 1 the pail dedicated to vegetables is not strictly necessary but the fruit is, to spice up the oats a bit. Honey would be an excellent alternative.
Considering the quality of the ingredients and the number of calories provided per person per day we think the ARK 1 is a good value but a little bland. It will be a central component of our energency food stocks but supplemented with other items to provide more variety, treats, hot beverages, eggs, etcetera.
Overall we're quite pleased with this purchase."
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 7, 2012

A Nice, Adequate, Emergency Food Supply

Pros: a good supply of emergency food
Cons: the storage bucket could have been better designed
Model Number: ARK 330 Serving Bucket, Item # 582275
"So far, by all indications, a nice product. However, I would strongly suggest, along with the bucket of dried food product, making provisions for adequate stored water to prepare the food and a small camp stove with an adequate fuel supply to heat the food.
At the moment, the only thing I would complain about is the bucket. They could have done better. I am presently looking for a replacement bucket, with a tight, positive sealing lid, to transfer the food packets to."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:September 18, 2012

Possible cause of burst bags

"Am considering this as an addition to my food storage stategy. I do have several Food for Health food buckets, and after received several deformed buckets, I realized that the buckets are packed at a high elevation. When they get delivered to my house at sea level, the change in air pressure deforms buckets and pops some bags. Worth checking your order when received..."
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:September 17, 2012

Hopefully never needed

Pros: peace of mind
Cons: plastic container should have screw on lid
"Product arrived today. Shipping container torn and taped backed together by UPS. Food contents appear sealed"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:September 14, 2012

Sleeping better at night

Pros: good value for peace of mind, good variety
Cons: lid is not air tight
Model Number: ARK 330
"Bucket arrived in just a few days. Packets were in great condition with no leaks. Haven't tried any meals yet, but looking forward to testing some out. I just wish the lid was air tight."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa
Date:September 13, 2012

How do I eat all this?

Model Number: ARK
"I previously bought a number of these especially since it was convenient to say 1 bucket, 1 month when figuring out how much food to have for how many months. I've been thinking about doing a trial run where I live off of a bucket for a month, using filtered/purified rainwater and cooking on a rocket stove. So I started working out a menu... Oatmeal for breakfast, this and that for lunch/dinner. Now, I'm not complaining but there seems to be too much food, lol. I totaled out at 2259 calories per day. I figured that after the month was over, I'd have to go on a diet. I like these buckets and the only improvement I would make is to replace some of the potato with at least 30 servings of fruit as there is none (would go good with the oatmeal)."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>