Customer Reviews for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet

When it comes to Food Storage, Chef's Banquet has set a new standard for quality and taste. You won't believe food storage can taste this good. All of the meals have been developed with the finest quality ingredients possible. The ARK (All-purpose Readiness Kit) is great for long term storage or for daily meals. With a full 2100 calories per day for one adult for 30 days, the ARK can be your stand alone food storage solution. Each of the meals takes less than 20 minutes to prepare (just add water).   Delicious just-add-water meals   Easy to Open zip-seal mylar foil pouches   Oxygen absorber in every pouch   Easily Transportable   6 gallon weather proof bucket   Shelf Life - Up to 20 years - if stored in a dry, cool environment   No High Fructose Corn-Syrup   Net Weight:  23 lb 13 oz No MSG    Each ARK contains the following:    330 Total Servings   2,100 calories/day for 30 days   Oatmeal - 60 Servings   Hearty Potato Soup - 60 Servings   Chicken Vegetable Stew - 30 Servings   Mixed Vegetables - 30 Servings   Instant Potatoes - 60 Servings   Pasta - 30 Servings  (includes 30 Servings of Cheddar Cheese Sauce) Beef Flavored Vegetable Stew - 30 Servings   Cheddar Broccoli Rice - 30 Servings For best taste and nutritional value, use product before: 20 years of manufacturing date when stored at 60 F (16.6 C) 10 years of manufacturing date when stored at 70 F (21.1 C) For questions or additional information please email costco@thereadyproject.com.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 99
(out of 99 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
4
88 of 99(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Review 1 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Buffalo, NY
Date:December 15, 2012

Mostly potatoes & little nutrition

Pros: mostly potato product & lots of calories.
Cons: mostly potato product., very little vitamins & minerals.
"Keep in mind people that if you eat 3 of most of these meals per day, you'll get lest than 15% the minimum adult requirements of vitamins & minerals. 120 meals are just potato product. Both stews (60 of them) are mostly potato product too (taste like potato, flour & salt).
You may be getting calories you need, but you can get that from a bag of sugar too. If you try to survive on just these for more than just a few days, you will die of malnutrition, because there's very little of anything you'd need to survive in them but calories.
Be sure to stock op on nutritious foods to eat with these or put in them, or at least store plenty of vitamins with them. Don't forget to store some protiens to keep up your strength too.
By the way folks, you are NOT qualified to give it a 4 or 5 star review for food if you didn't taste & eat it. That's like giving a good review for a light bulb without screwing it in just because it didn't arrive shattered.
If you didn't taste & eat the food, do not review the food."
25 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2013

Good Price; Lack of Convenience

Pros: good price for the amount of food.
Cons: bulk packages; not practical for individual use.
"I was looking for a supplement to our home food storage and found this to be a good price.
However, it is lacking in the convenience department.
For anyone considering this product, you should be aware that the food is in 30-serving packages. So if you have a need to try just one serving, you have to open the whole 30-serving package and then the storage life on the remaining 29 servings is compromised. Also, it is inconvenient to have large packages.
I realize the product would have cost more with individual serving packages, but if they had at least done packages of, say, 3-4 servings, instead of 30, then you could realistically use some servings (either in an emergency, to try out at home, for camping, etc.) without compromising the whole point of long-term storage on the remaining servings.
A good price, for the amount of food you get, but poorly thought out on the packaging side."
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:July 2, 2011

Wonderful Food Storage Item

Pros: resealable mylar pouch, good taste, easily stored
Cons: loaded with sodium, all cooking directions are not included
"I started purchasing the ARK's back in March 2011 when we decided it was a good idea to stock up on some food reserves. This new bucket is slightly different from the first two buckets I ordered. The first one had more drink mixes and slightly different food selection.
I light the new ARK better.
I have only cooked one item: The gourmet hashbrowns, which is not in the current bucket, and that's not necessarily a bad thing! We like the gourmet hashbrowns but the instructions were unclear on how to reconstitute the pototoes, so I had to research that on the internet. There is also more "mix sauce" than potatoes, so it's a good thing the new ARK doesn't have any "mix sauce" with it, so I'll be able to use it up.
Love the resealable mylar packs...that is a big reason why we ordered the ARK. I opened the first one back in March and we're still eating out of it in July (almost done, but still fresh.)
So far, the food is very good, but if you are looking for a "just add water and eat" this is not it. You have to cook with this one.
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa
Date:September 13, 2012

How do I eat all this?

Model Number: ARK
"I previously bought a number of these especially since it was convenient to say 1 bucket, 1 month when figuring out how much food to have for how many months. I've been thinking about doing a trial run where I live off of a bucket for a month, using filtered/purified rainwater and cooking on a rocket stove. So I started working out a menu... Oatmeal for breakfast, this and that for lunch/dinner. Now, I'm not complaining but there seems to be too much food, lol. I totaled out at 2259 calories per day. I figured that after the month was over, I'd have to go on a diet. I like these buckets and the only improvement I would make is to replace some of the potato with at least 30 servings of fruit as there is none (would go good with the oatmeal)."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:August 17, 2012

Missing some vital information

"I live on top of the Wasatch Fault, and am setting up an emergency preparedness store in my house. This food pail is an excellent addition, and it was delivered quickly, with all the packages in perfect condition. But what would be really helpful in the product description would be some indication of the amount of water needed for cooking. After an earthquake, access to water is likely to be extremely difficult. So knowing how much has to be stored (in total, not per serving) in order to "survive in place" is basic information. For example if I need 1 pint on average for each of 330 servings I need to be sure to have access to 40 gallons of water..."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:December 23, 2011

FYI- You can open bucket w/o impacting shelf life

"I ordered several of the Chef's Banquet buckets for emergency long term storage. Before stashing them away I was curious if all of the contents had arrived undamaged. However, I didn't want to open the bucket if it was going to compromise the shelf life of the food. I e-mailed the company and they said that the buckets were just used to protect the packets. Opening the bucket would not reduce the shelf life of the product since each packet is individually sealed with its own oxygen absorber.
These buckets are durable, easy to store and could be the difference between life and death in an emergency situation. Hopefully I won't ever need to use them for an emergency situation but its good to know they are there."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2012

A very sizable amount of food - well packed

Pros: good stuff (as expected)
Cons: arrives in a super conspicuous box
"I expected there to be a lot of food, and for the food to be of good quality. This is so far true.
!ONLY GRIPE! The box that these were shipped in has "PROJECT READY" and preparedness logos smattered across it in 30 pt type so people across the street can read it. I'd rather not freak out my neighbors; PLEASE invest in some plain subdued shipping boxes.
It's not exactly adult or taboo, but I wouldn't want ammo to be delivered in boxes labeled as "FIREARM DISCOUNTERS" or whatever, nor would I want weight loss products shipped in "YOUR NEIGHBOR IS TRYING TO LOSE FAT" boxes."
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:March 11, 2012

No Instructions

Pros: the food and vegetable barrels make a good variety
Cons: no instructions for preparation
"While this appears to be a reasonable product for emergency needs, there are absolutely no instructions. This type of food can be very good or terrible depending on how much water is used, how long it is exposed to water to rehydrate it, etc. I have experience with backpacking food, all of which has instructions on optimal preparation. It is hard to understand why a company providing emergency food which is likely to be prepared by people who aren't familiar with dehydrated or lyophilized products doesn't provide instructions. I have requested instructions from the manufacturer (The Ready Project), but if they cannot provide them, I will return the products I purchased and buy from another supplier."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:phoenix arizona
Date:February 22, 2012

Check to packages!!!!!

"The order came super fast!! ZOOM!! BUT...I'm glad I didn't wait 5 years to open the bucket. One of the package seals was busted and got powder over everything. The bucket is crammed with packages which is ok...no wasted space....BUT....you would think they would thicken the seal to 1/4 inch to prevent accidental seal breaks. How much more can that really cost? I had to return the entire bucket....the factory does not replace individual packages....seems cost ineffective to do that....good thing I live near a Costco and didn't have to drive 50 miles to return the whole bucket!!!!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Great Northwest
Date:February 11, 2012

Fair and Balanced

Pros: good taste, reasonable value
Cons: takes longer to prepare than advertised, actual food is not what is described in the name, where's the meat??, packages are too big
Model Number: Chef's Banquet ARK
"We purchased one bucket for comparison against other products as we are planning to get a one year supply and we want to know for sure what we are getting.
The advertised "just add water" is somewhat missleading. In the case of the chicken stew we had to add boiling water and "cook" the "stew" for 15 minutes or more stirring regularly. Even then, the peas were still hard. None the less, the food was in fact tasty. Speaking of the "Chicken Stew" this is a very loose use of the term "stew" and the only chicken in it is chicken fat. However, in defense of COSTO and the manufacturer, the ingredients are listed on the web page so.... "Let the buyer beware".
The amount of mashed potato flakes and water called for in the directions creates something more like potato soup. Incerasing the potato flakes to water mixture by 25 to 50% gives you a consistancy and texture that is more like instant mashed potatos.
All in all the food tastes good and is a fairly good value so we don't understand why the manufacturer and COSTCO can't be more forthwright about what the product really is and the level of effort required to prepare it.
We will now look at a few other brands but the ARK is still on our list."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 20, 2012

Good basics

"Plenty of information here already. My 2c:
When the Beef Vegetable Soup says "shake before using" and you think you'll be okay without because the bag's too full to shake, DUMP IT INTO SOMETHING ELSE AND MIX BEFORE USING. Unless you like "beefy salt pancakes".
With most of the mix items we were happiest using about 75-85% of the recommended water. The recommended amount left things too thin."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California's Bread Basket
Date:November 8, 2011

Yes, I tried it!

Pros: great items: great costco price
Cons: takes time utinsels and fuel to prepare
Model Number: Chef's Banquet Arc 1
"It always cracks me up when individuals purchase emergency supplies and do not try them before an emergency, then the individual will write a review based on speedy delivery and the lack or presence of dented cans (which Costco will replace anyway). I know we are all trying to help. We prepare for our families because we are a little bit unsure about the future and want our loved ones to be as comfortable as possible in uncertain times. Just like car, home and life insurance, we have them but hope to never need to use them. They are a safety net, just in case, even your life insurance, you will not need it but you plan for your family.
Other than water, which is THE most important resource to have access to, when storing food for uncertain times I like to group my items into three categories; Ready to eat (MREs for example); Needs little preparation (freeze dried items for example); Needs to be cooked (dehydrated items for example). Of course, if you are hungry enough, your could eat most any of the items with minimal or without preparation. For this article I am not discussing pantry, refrigerated or frozen items which are yet another layer that you might try to use up quickly or integrate into your short-medium term storage, depending on the item, like canned soup, etc..
In preparing for a worst case scenario, there may be no services, no electricity, gas or water. There may be no garbage pickup etc. If your house is intact, you are in business, if not you are relegated to the camper, tent, a friends or church, or any public gathering place (hopefully less dense than the superdome during Katrina. Do you REALLY trust that the government is fully capable of taking care of the masses after any event at any time? Really??). I am intentionally not discussing the idea of defense or security; this is leading to a review of this product and that is another subject. Any other scenario will obviously be less than worst case. The next item of concern is how long will the event last and how big (in geographical size) is it. Taking care of yourself, family and perhaps friends is different in an localized event that lasts a few days compared to one that lasts several weeks or into months or more and may be regional, national or greater in scope.
In my mind (simply my opinion, your mileage may vary..., please don't beat me up over it) immediately after an event we may each be very busy making sure our loved ones are accounted for and safe. We may be clearing the debris of a flood or storm, perhaps checking structures after an earthquake, assisting neighbors, etc. We will be on the move and burning calories that we may not normally burn. Here an MRE type item is ideal. It is complete, self contained, designed for the rigors of combat, needs no preparation (although you can heat with the included heater), easy to eat, lots of nutrients, but expensive per meal (we pay for convenience). No whining about their taste, I know soldiers who, after daily use, have gotten tired of MREs. I understand this. However, when you and your children are hungry you will find these very very good.
As things settle and stabilize, we move to layer two of your supplies, fast and easy to prepare, good variety and tastes good, saving MREs for daily outings. Here freeze dried items are an example of what might fit the bill, less expensive or convenient than MREs but more expensive and convenient than dehydrated.
As things return into some form of normalcy, we move the third layer of your supplies. Dehydrated items, needing preparation in terms of cooking abilities, utensils, heat source, ability to clean up, etc. These items are much more economical than the first levels of your preparations. Freeze dried items are easily incorporated into the meals of this category too.
So here is what this is all leading up to, the Chef's Banquet ARK 1 Month Food Storage Supply from Costco. I purchased this item try it out. It comes in a nice 6 gallon bucket and contains a number of sealed Mylar bags. Each bag has an O2 absorber and can be resealed like a zip lock bag. Most of the bags contain about 30 servings of the contained item. Chef's Banquet advertises 330 total servings and touts this as a one month supply for one at 2100 calories per day, working out to about 10 servings per day (the oatmeal throws off the ratio a bit). So far I have tried the soups and stews, the veggies and the potatoes (no mac and cheese, mine has pasta and Alfredo sauce instead). I have not tried the oatmeal or pasta although I can't imagine Chef's Choice messing these items up. I first tried each item simply following the directions.
For example:
I tried the Hearty Potato Soup I made 4 of the bag's 30 servings, 4 cups of water and 1 cup of mix. It does take about 20 minute time for all of the dehydrated items to become tender. This is nearly 40 ounces of prepared food, or roughly the volume of two 20 oz Mountain House entrees. A little salty but not bad at all. For the next test I added some of the dehydrated veggies. Those will plump up a lot when hydrated and they take a bit longer to all get soft so, after that experience, I put about a cup of veggies in hot water as I prepared the other items, giving veggies about 30 minutes of total hydration time; less salty and more interesting too. I took some chicken and diced it up, adding this to the mix (BTW each of these were separate batches). This added body and substance and now I did not notice the saltiness at all. Last, I added some cheese and pepper to taste, this was really getting good. I tried a batch with some diced ham too (yes from Costco) and it was great! In this example I was able to vary ingredients from the basic mix using almost a "stone soup" approach, varying the variety of the mix depending on what is on hand. This is a great base to build on. I had similar experiences with the other items.
Now for the costs:
A military MRE is a great and complete self contained meal. cost, about 100.00 per case of 12, or nearly 10.00 each after shipping. Life 3 to 10 years. I have stored MREs for up to 7 years in a closet near the floor with no problems at all.
Mountain House Freeze Dried Entree 20 oz prepared, cost from 6.00 to 9.00 per meal. They make a 16 oz package too. Easy to prepare, self contained (except a spoon), great variety, a tiny salty for me, 7 year shelf life.
Mountain House or Easy Meal Freeze Dried #10 cans. Shelf life about 30 years (hence you buy this item once!). One can contains about 10 or 11 servings that are about 8 oz each. This works out to just over 4 entrees that are 20 oz each. More expensive (about 1.2 to 1.5 times the aggregate pouch packaging depending on the item) than the entrees but packaged for long term storage. Not as convenient as the pouch as you now need a rehydration or cooking container (unless you prepare the entire can at once) spoon and bowls or plates, can't just eat from the convenient pouch.
Dehydrated Chef's Banquet (many other suppliers too with great individual variety), less variety, great base for adding other flavors, etc, compact storage, needs cooking time!! Two servings of the Hearty Potato Soup is about 20 oz prepared. Cost per 20 oz serving: about 60 cents (plus whatever you add), shelf life about 15-20 years. The oatmeal serving size is smaller and offsets the cost a bit higher from the 52 cents when calculating the cost of 330 equal servings. I know, it is actually about .26 cents, remember this is based on 20 oz servings prepared. (Hard to beat Costco's prices)
Final Thoughts:
While planning for each layer, they are easy to separate into a given category (we did not even speak about using up refrigerated, frozen or pantry items first), however, in practice, the layers will overlap considerably. You might use the freeze dried meat or veggies to add to a soup base, etc. You may need the convenience of ready to eat over not having the time or resources to prepare meals and clean up. Again, your mileage may vary. This item fits nicely into my planning and is at a bargain price. With a little planning and creativity it can be as nutritious, interesting and tasty as anything you might cook from scratch and certainly anything you buy in a can. If you are a Tabasco fan, well, it all tastes the same anyway...lol
Start preparing and stay ahead of the curve. Once disaster strikes, the time to prepare is over....."
69 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 20, 2012

A Good Starting Point

Pros: quality ingredients, relatively high calories per day provided, serving sizes are realistic, mylar bags reseal and include pack 4 freshness
Cons: need a gamma lid once pail opened., food quite bland. need to plan accordingly., limited menu choices. need an ark 2 (+3).
Model Number: ARK 1 Pail of Emergency Food
"Serving sizes are accurate, we were not hungry after a dinner of 1 serving each of mixed veg, mashed potatoes and beef stew, per person.
In our pail (purchased last week) each packet has the directions for the preparation of its contents on it.
Bucket needs a gamma lid to seal properly after it has been opened but contains 1 or 2 resealable mylar pouches for each item provided. Each mylar pouch also includes a dessicant or oxygen consuming pouch to keep its contents fresh.
Mashed potatoes are good but if you like them fluffy you'll want to use a little less water than recommended on the packet.
Mixed veg also good though next time we'll likely add them to one of the stews to cook and retain their stock.
Beef stew is too salty for our taste at full strength. Easilly fixed by including a pealed potatoe to soak up the extra salt or by making up at half strength. At full strength this stew is more a thick soup than a stew.
Oats are what you'd expect and need something to "spice" them up a bit.
Basically there's good nutrition here but its unlikely you'll win any cooking competitions unless you supplement the menu and experiment with the contents.
The overall quality of the ingredients is good. We purchased this pail for testing and based on what we've found to date have ordered the pails of freeze dried fruit, vegetables and the pails of pasta and cheese & alfredo sauce from the same manufacturer to test those and add some variety to our emergency food stores. Based on the contents of the ARK 1 the pail dedicated to vegetables is not strictly necessary but the fruit is, to spice up the oats a bit. Honey would be an excellent alternative.
Considering the quality of the ingredients and the number of calories provided per person per day we think the ARK 1 is a good value but a little bland. It will be a central component of our energency food stocks but supplemented with other items to provide more variety, treats, hot beverages, eggs, etcetera.
Overall we're quite pleased with this purchase."
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:April 15, 2012

Disappointing

Cons: systemic packaging problem
"I received the first bucket and opened it up per the previous reviews. Most of the mylar bags had some food residue on the outside. I called the manufacturer and they told me to unpack the entire contents and find the bag that was leaking and they would replace the individual mylar bag. I told them this was unacceptable and they agreed to send me another bucket. I mentioned to them that most bags had food residue on the outside and their bucket is not air tight, thus I was concerned about bugs over time. They told me that their processing plant sometimes has "dust". I commented on the problems associated with a food processing plant having "dust" and wondered how much dust gets into the food. Still, I tasted the dust on the outside of the bag and think it's food residue, so I am under the impression they have a systemic error in their packaging process.
Most of the mylar bags in the second bucket also had food residue on the outside. For instance, the cheddar cheese bag has yellow residue all the way into the creases and folds of the bag. So, still concerned with bugs being attracted to the residue I have now over-sealed all of the individual mylar bags using my Foodsaver vacuum sealer. This should prevent any infestation problems. I also got all the contents back into the original buckets.
Also concerning, not all of the mylar bags seemed to be equally sealed. Some felt tighter and more compact (between bags containing the same product), so there may also be an issue with the original seal. I did not find any open leaks on any of the mylar bags. I'm hoping that the vacuum over-seal will help keep the food over a long period of time, but I am not as confident it will last the up to 15 years the website suggests (or the up to 20 years the label on the bucket suggests).
I am giving this two stars instead of one, since they did send me another bucket (and a lid with a rubber gasket, which I did not use after I vacuum sealed) and I am going to store both buckets. I would note that I spent about $15 dollars in vacuum bags to over-seal all of the mylar bags, so there went the $15 dollar discount. I am noting that I would not recommend this product to a friend, unless maybe I knew they had a vacuum sealer or wanted to over-seal all of the mylar bags with a second mylar bag (and go through all that extra effort).
I am disappointed that there appears to be a systemic error in their packaging that many reviewers note, but Costco does not appear to be making the manufacturer correct. This is in conflict with Costco's usual high quality, and I hope this is not evidence that Costco is lowering their standards.
This is definitely not a turn-key solution to buying and storing!"
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By Costco BuyerGrocery and FloralApril 25, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding the 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet, we appreciate your feedback. As a result of the information on the 'dust' found on the outside of the sealed packages, we have worked with our vendor to implement additional steps to remove the 'dust' prior to shipment from their facility. Further, the packages do not incur cross-contamination from the different content types and are still sealed for long-term storage. Ultimately, we feel that the updated process will provide the quality of product our members expect. Thank you again for your support.
Review 15 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 13, 2012

Bags not sealed properly

Cons: poor quality control
Model Number: Item # 582275
"My question to the manufacturer is.. How do you expect this product to last 10 years or 20 years if the packages are not sealed properly?
This item did arrive quickly.. two days after I placed the order it was outside of my door. Based on previous reviews, we opened the lid and checked all 8 bags. Sadly, we found 2 bags are not sealed.. so it's not a rumor. We right away returned this item to our local Costco.
I wish the manufacturer could spend a little more time on quality control. . make sure they are all sealed property before sending them to us.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:September 18, 2012

Possible cause of burst bags

"Am considering this as an addition to my food storage stategy. I do have several Food for Health food buckets, and after received several deformed buckets, I realized that the buckets are packed at a high elevation. When they get delivered to my house at sea level, the change in air pressure deforms buckets and pops some bags. Worth checking your order when received..."
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:February 8, 2012

a lot of room for improvement

"1. Pail arrived with a lid that does not have a rubber gasket to keep out air, water, insects, etc. I immediately ordered a gamma lid. -1 (btw: Costco should order gamma lids by bulk and pass on some of the savings to us)
2. Comes in large, multiple servings, pouches. I knew that going in, but you do get tired of eating the same meal over and over. -1 (the pouches do re-close like zip locks)(better suited for larger families with a lot of mouths to feed. Only reason I checked "not recommend". No third choice)
3. tried the "Chicken Vegetable Stew". Read the ingredients. NO Chicken listed! There was some chicken fat about halfway down the list. -1
4. Cooked the soup per directions. Did not thicken. -1
5. No chicken flavor. (what a surprise since there is no chicken in it) -1
6. Soup does taste good. Tastes like potato soup. If advertised as potato soup. would be excellent. +1 (people at the office liked it too. Then I told them it was dehydrated.
7. Cooked soup 2 more times. Third time, I boiled the soup for 15 minutes after it started a good boil. Finally started to thicken a little. But requires a lot of fuel to cook. Not good in an emergency when fuel is limited supply. -1 (should be advertised as soup, not stew.)
8. Does have a 15 year shelf life. (just realized, I have to live with this stuff longer than most marriages, lol) +1
Did not give it a one, since it does it's basic function. I will start trying the other meals once I finish this pouch.
"
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 7, 2012

A Nice, Adequate, Emergency Food Supply

Pros: a good supply of emergency food
Cons: the storage bucket could have been better designed
Model Number: ARK 330 Serving Bucket, Item # 582275
"So far, by all indications, a nice product. However, I would strongly suggest, along with the bucket of dried food product, making provisions for adequate stored water to prepare the food and a small camp stove with an adequate fuel supply to heat the food.
At the moment, the only thing I would complain about is the bucket. They could have done better. I am presently looking for a replacement bucket, with a tight, positive sealing lid, to transfer the food packets to."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Naperville IL
Date:August 9, 2011

Needs more description

"While the bucket is a pretty good deal I wish i had known the packaging is in bulk. There is a big bag of everything and they don't reseal. I wanted to split one of the buckets into backpacks (going to different people) but the way it's packed it was not possible. Ok assortment. You could survive on it."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:July 24, 2013

Done in 20 minutes!

Pros: i found this super quick and a good tasting soup.
"So far we tried the potato soup and loved it. It really was a quick process to make. This is the thickest shelf staple soup we have had yet. I've had some seriously runny just-add-water meals, and to make those good, it usually takes a lot longer than 20 minutes. I buy food storage for emergencies and just to save time and money whenever I can, so this bucket is ideal for me and my family. But I usually add fresh vegetables to most of the meals for variety sake and it keeps it healthy for the family."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>