Customer Reviews for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet

When it comes to Food Storage, Chef's Banquet has set a new standard for quality and taste. You won't believe food storage can taste this good. All of the meals have been developed with the finest quality ingredients possible. The ARK (All-purpose Readiness Kit) is great for long term storage or for daily meals. With a full 2100 calories per day for one adult for 30 days, the ARK can be your stand alone food storage solution. Each of the meals takes less than 20 minutes to prepare (just add water).   Delicious just-add-water meals   Easy to Open zip-seal mylar foil pouches   Oxygen absorber in every pouch   Easily Transportable   6 gallon weather proof bucket   Shelf Life - Up to 20 years - if stored in a dry, cool environment   No High Fructose Corn-Syrup   Net Weight:  23 lb 13 oz No MSG    Each ARK contains the following:    330 Total Servings   2,100 calories/day for 30 days   Oatmeal - 60 Servings   Hearty Potato Soup - 60 Servings   Chicken Vegetable Stew - 30 Servings   Mixed Vegetables - 30 Servings   Instant Potatoes - 60 Servings   Pasta - 30 Servings  (includes 30 Servings of Cheddar Cheese Sauce) Beef Flavored Vegetable Stew - 30 Servings   Cheddar Broccoli Rice - 30 Servings For best taste and nutritional value, use product before: 20 years of manufacturing date when stored at 60 F (16.6 C) 10 years of manufacturing date when stored at 70 F (21.1 C) For questions or additional information please email costco@thereadyproject.com.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 99
(out of 99 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
4
88 of 99(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Review 21 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:western wa.
Date:September 7, 2012
"some reveiws mention dust in the bucket and some inner packages are not fully sealed, my order has neither of these problems. I think they should spend a few extra pennies for a WATER PROOF LID, lid is described as weather proof but it doesn't fit that tight"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:August 24, 2012

Good Start

"Opened upon arrival and no internal damage to packaging. Stores easily. No taste test as yet but I am sure in an emergency this will do nicely."
Review 23 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:August 17, 2012

Missing some vital information

"I live on top of the Wasatch Fault, and am setting up an emergency preparedness store in my house. This food pail is an excellent addition, and it was delivered quickly, with all the packages in perfect condition. But what would be really helpful in the product description would be some indication of the amount of water needed for cooking. After an earthquake, access to water is likely to be extremely difficult. So knowing how much has to be stored (in total, not per serving) in order to "survive in place" is basic information. For example if I need 1 pint on average for each of 330 servings I need to be sure to have access to 40 gallons of water..."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton, CA
Date:July 31, 2012

Good value for money

"I ordered the emergency entree bucket along with the meats ones as a measure for earthquake preparedness. They arrived quickly. I'd read about others discovering burst foil packages so I did open my bucket to inspect the contents and sure enough, I had powder from broccoli rice all over the inside of the container. However, I contacted Costco and they were able to replace my burst package in under a week."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Date:July 30, 2012

OUTSATNDING FOOD STORAGE PURCHASE

Pros: all around value!
"I purchased this product for the first time and recieved it within 3 days!Upon arrival I inspected all the bags and found them in PERFECT shape! I just purchased a second emergency food storage container with a different variety. With the uncertain times we live in why wouldn't you have at least a 30 day supply of food on hand? It's a no brainer and a 15-20 year life span! Life is good! 5 STARS to Costco!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:June 20, 2012

Good basics

"Plenty of information here already. My 2c:
When the Beef Vegetable Soup says "shake before using" and you think you'll be okay without because the bag's too full to shake, DUMP IT INTO SOMETHING ELSE AND MIX BEFORE USING. Unless you like "beefy salt pancakes".
With most of the mix items we were happiest using about 75-85% of the recommended water. The recommended amount left things too thin."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, PA
Date:May 24, 2012

This is what I needed.

"First thing I did when I opened the box was to look for powder. Either I was lucky or they have gotten better in quality. All looked good. Bucket looks quite durable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Farmington, NM
Date:April 26, 2012

Good on Calories and Taste, Little Variety

"Love Costco. Item arrive fast! I gave it 4 starts instead of 5 because I would want a bigger variety in a one month supply bucket... not just soups, stews, and pastas. Having said that, the meals that are included look pretty good and nutritious... maybe a little high in sodium for me but overall I'm pretty happy with my purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:April 23, 2012

Wonderful purchase, Fast Shipping

"Item arrive quickly and I opened it immediately. I didn't try any yet but wanted to make sure they were what I expected, and they were. Glad to have them on hand. I only wish there was a little more variety but the meals they have look pretty good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:April 23, 2012

Simple and easy... what I like

"This is about as simple as it gets which is what I need. I tried one meal and was pleasantly surprised. I don't think I'd have time for preparing meals in an emergency so this is perfect for me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Canton, Oh
Date:April 18, 2012

Busted Bags

Cons: busted bags
"It came with a busted bag of cheddar cheese sauce. Read the reviews this is very common for this product"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:April 15, 2012

Disappointing

Cons: systemic packaging problem
"I received the first bucket and opened it up per the previous reviews. Most of the mylar bags had some food residue on the outside. I called the manufacturer and they told me to unpack the entire contents and find the bag that was leaking and they would replace the individual mylar bag. I told them this was unacceptable and they agreed to send me another bucket. I mentioned to them that most bags had food residue on the outside and their bucket is not air tight, thus I was concerned about bugs over time. They told me that their processing plant sometimes has "dust". I commented on the problems associated with a food processing plant having "dust" and wondered how much dust gets into the food. Still, I tasted the dust on the outside of the bag and think it's food residue, so I am under the impression they have a systemic error in their packaging process.
Most of the mylar bags in the second bucket also had food residue on the outside. For instance, the cheddar cheese bag has yellow residue all the way into the creases and folds of the bag. So, still concerned with bugs being attracted to the residue I have now over-sealed all of the individual mylar bags using my Foodsaver vacuum sealer. This should prevent any infestation problems. I also got all the contents back into the original buckets.
Also concerning, not all of the mylar bags seemed to be equally sealed. Some felt tighter and more compact (between bags containing the same product), so there may also be an issue with the original seal. I did not find any open leaks on any of the mylar bags. I'm hoping that the vacuum over-seal will help keep the food over a long period of time, but I am not as confident it will last the up to 15 years the website suggests (or the up to 20 years the label on the bucket suggests).
I am giving this two stars instead of one, since they did send me another bucket (and a lid with a rubber gasket, which I did not use after I vacuum sealed) and I am going to store both buckets. I would note that I spent about $15 dollars in vacuum bags to over-seal all of the mylar bags, so there went the $15 dollar discount. I am noting that I would not recommend this product to a friend, unless maybe I knew they had a vacuum sealer or wanted to over-seal all of the mylar bags with a second mylar bag (and go through all that extra effort).
I am disappointed that there appears to be a systemic error in their packaging that many reviewers note, but Costco does not appear to be making the manufacturer correct. This is in conflict with Costco's usual high quality, and I hope this is not evidence that Costco is lowering their standards.
This is definitely not a turn-key solution to buying and storing!"
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By Costco BuyerGrocery and FloralApril 25, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding the 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet, we appreciate your feedback. As a result of the information on the 'dust' found on the outside of the sealed packages, we have worked with our vendor to implement additional steps to remove the 'dust' prior to shipment from their facility. Further, the packages do not incur cross-contamination from the different content types and are still sealed for long-term storage. Ultimately, we feel that the updated process will provide the quality of product our members expect. Thank you again for your support.
Review 33 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cali
Date:March 27, 2012

Better have it than not

Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"Great looking product, have not eaten but looks like quality. Its worth it for the piece of mind, enough said."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:March 21, 2012
"I'm so glad Costco has this option since I don't know how to can food, etc.
And the shelf life time is awesome."
Review 35 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:March 19, 2012

Better the 2nd time around

Pros: great price fast/easy ordering, good way to get 3 months supply with little effort
Cons: quality control of packaging needs work
"When we received the product the first time, we opened it before storing it away because we had read previous reviews that the packages inside can sometimes be damaged during packaging. I'm so glad we read those reviews, because when we opened the bucket, we found that one of the dry-packs was not sealed properly and had leaked all over everything (a powdery mess!). Luckily, we had a Costco warehouse nearby so we simply returned it for full credit and re-ordered. The second time was the charm; when we opened the new bucket, all was fine. As a result, I would recommend this product completely but would also recommend that you open the bucket upon receipt and check to make sure it's all OK."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2012

Serves Its Purpose

"Item arrived in great condition. Opened it up to check the contents and all packages were closed and no leaks. There was a powdery residue on the packages of food but none were from leaking ones. It must have been something from the factory it was packed at I guess. I was disappointed that you have to ration your portions since everything is in a bulk package. I thought they were in going to be in individaul packages! Makes it easy to go through this is like 3 or 4 days if you aren't portioning right. Oh well, purchased it for this purpose anyhow. Its shelf life can't be beat."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Date:March 16, 2012

Open in case of emergency

"I purchased two Food Storage ARK because the price is right. Very affordable compared to other company products.
Frankly I won't know how good the food is until I find myself in need of food because of some kind of disaster and then depending on how long I need these rations. So until then I can't tell you if they are delicious but I do have peace of mind. Worth the cost.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:March 16, 2012

It's not food, it's insurance...

"In a world where people are usually concerned with protecting their homes, their cars, their money, their "stuff", with various forms of insurance and warranties, what about your food supply? If for whatever reason the supermarkets were to close, the land became contaminated, or the water supply tainted, how long would your family make it comfortably? If that answer is currently measured in days, you need to rethink a purchase such as this. Its cheap insurance."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Falls, ID
Date:March 15, 2012

Pretty good variety - need more options

"I like the meals that are included but I'd be more likely to buy more if Chef's Banquet introduced another bucket with different meals. The hearty potato took a bit longer to rehydrate than I thought but it was really good. The beef vegetable was a little bland but with some salt it got better. The cheddar broccoli was fantastic."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 330 Total Servings of Emergency Food Storage ARK 1 Month Supply By Chefs Banquet
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gilroy, ca
Date:March 13, 2012

Emergency Food

Model Number: 330
"Well I would have given it a higher rating, but I had watched a few Youtubes on this product and say a few that said to check packages inside the bucket as they may be unsealed. I bought 4 buckets and I had opened them all to only find one that had a broken seal. Now I am talking about the packages that are in the buckets. I look for ones that did not have all the air out of them. There were many that looked like they had air inside them, so tested by putting them in the sink with water and put pressure on the bag and if bubbles come out I knew it was open.
Not the buckets them self were not sealed at all, i really thought they should be for long term storage. I resealed the one that was open and bought new bucket lips for them that came with rubber seals. I put in 02 packets to protect the bucket.
Good Luck...Good price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>