Customer Reviews for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™

NVIDIA® Tegra™ 2 Dual Core Mobile Processor
Average Customer Rating:
3.488 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
24 of 43(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Review 1 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Modesto, CA
Date:June 18, 2011

great value for the money

Pros: great battery life, easy set up, great value from costco
Cons: os needs updated, acers lack of car charger on the market
Model Number: A500-10S32U
"I did not have an issue loading the flash such as noted by one reviewer, I do feel the operating system needs to be updated but that is true of many if not all Honeycomb OS on other tablets. The Costco model comes with 32gb and a sleeve case and the warranty Costco offers on this device alone. The only issue I have is after loading the Acer usb driver and Acer sync software I could not get the tablet to be recognized as an external hard drive with a drive letter, but it did show up as a mobile device attached, thus I just copied and pasted the files I wanted on the tablet that way under the "my computer screen" and it did fine. I loaded about 6gb of pdfs for work and I was able to read it just fine. I did have issues with the screen lock function and the time of lockout feature, but it was nothing that I would not expected to be addressed in the OS update. I can only hope Acer makes available a car-charger and as I understand it they are doing os updates by the end of June."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:October 15, 2011

iconia meets and exceeds

Pros: price, quality, ports, screen resolution
Cons: slightly heavier than ipad and galaxy
Model Number: a500
"This tablet has been a welcome surprise. I purchased a few weeks ago and have had plenty of opportunity to test fly the device. Looking at the negative reviews I am surprised. First of all I had no trouble hooking up to my networks. From office to home it hooks in and is only limited by the speed of my network. When hooking up to a pc one has to make sure to download the USB adapter hardware from the Acer website just like it says in the directions. I have uploaded movies without a hitch to the device. In comparison to the ipad yes this is heavier but has ports and expandable memory both of which make adding movies for travel a huge benefit, not to mention better pricing. Also I like the number of free apps. I do think one has to decide whether they are android or apple people. It makes far more sense to stay within one medium. I find that android is less restrictive. Overall if your in to android and you need a tablet I think this device is a great way to go and I intend on getting one for my wife."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 2, 2011

Outstanding battery life

Model Number: Acer Iconia A-500
"I was ready to return the tablet the end of the first month. After using a mouse and computers for 30 years, a touch tablet was completely foreign to this 66-year-old. The more I played with it, and learned to use the different features (including my finger instead of a mouse) I wouldn't give this tablet up for anything. I go once a week for a five-hour chemo session, and used to load the bag up with all sorts of toys to keep me occupied. The last two times I carried the tablet and it did everything that I needed. It replaced my B&N Nook, and my netbook that I use for movies, music, and the Internet. After 4 1/2 to 5 hours the tablet only used 40% of the battery life. I can't wait for my granddaughter to visit and show me everything else I can do with the tablet."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2011

Best android tablet yet!

Pros: usb, micro usb, gps, micro hdmi, micro sd, awesome touchscreen, flash 10.3, sound is better than expected, android os
Model Number: A500-10S32
"Vary happy with this tablet and it is a great value at Costco! Included is the 32gig model with the acer case.
Costco rocks!
There is so much more that you can do with and android OS that you can't do with the competition, you might have to learn a bit in the process but it is well worth it. I am able to get content to it so much faster than any other product I have and I am not tied to iTunes to get that content."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:June 6, 2011

Best Tablet Deal Right Now

Pros: price features functionality., it's not an apple product.
Cons: weight not as light as an ipad.
Model Number: Acer Iconia A500
"I my articles were published in a magazine, on tablets, which to look for, features that are must-haves, etc.
Without going into detail I can tell you that the Acer Iconia from Costco, the 32GB model, is that best deal going right now.
What you want to look for in a tablet, and that the Iconia has, includes:
microSD slot, to insert microSD chips containing files.
micro USB port - to connect the tablet to a PC, for syncing files, etc.
USB port - The Iconia has the additional bonus of a "full-sized" USB 2.0 port. I connected a USB thumb drive to that port and the Acer file manager was able to read and transfer those files, from the drive on to the Acer. So cool, IMHO.
HDMI Out - Not many tablets have this feature. It means that you can connect your Iconia to an external TV or monitor and what's playing on your Iconia will project on to the display.
And as an added bonus, Acer includes in the box a mini HDMI to HDMI cable!
Honeycomb - IMHO this is CRITICAL since Google said this year that Android 2.x is NOT a tablet OS, it is meant for cell phones. So that why Android 2.2, for example, does not run well on tablets.
Ever since Google said that I stopped considering any tablet that did NOT have Android Honeycomb on it, an OS that Google said is for tablets ONLY.
Performance and functionality: All I can say is that since Thursday (four days ago) I have been using the Iconia to surf the Net, read online newspapers, download files and games from Market, and used many of the features on the Iconia.
I have NEVER been so pleased with an initial purchase as I was with this device.
Acer put a lot thought into the design of the Iconia and it shows. Quality drips from this device since it overflows with it.
And Honeycomb is as Google advertises, intuitive to use and FUN.
I have followed tablets in detail since 2005 when I bought a $2000 IBM tablet COMPUTER. (Keep in mind that these newer tablets are not computers, they are more what I call "multi-media viewing devices.")
I then closely followed developments after Apple's iPad was announced and then went on sale in April 2010.
So if after all of the above (following things, writing two published articles about tablets) that I would buy the Acer says a lot.
Of course others will have their own preferences, but I am pleased with the Acer Iconia. (Lest you think I'm biased or paid by Acer, I have owned computers since 1985. Out of the thousands of computers I have used over the years, the Acer Iconia is my first Acer purchase.)"
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:June 6, 2011

Amazing Tablet!!!

Cons: nothing so far
Model Number: Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
"I've had the thing for a few days now. Some might say it is a bit premature to write a review well here is the deal. I purchased the ipad2 when it came out, returned it after a week. The ipad is good for those that want a basic tablet. I'm not a basic tablet kinda guy so I went to Costco and purchased the Motorola Xoom. I was happy with the Xoom until I recently came across the Acer Iconia A500 10S32U. So far it is everything I wanted the Xoom to be. The Iconia has ALL the hardware that the Xoom has and more. Such as the usb drive and an actual working microSD card slot. I also enjoy the additional software you receive with the Iconia. I have never purchased an Acer product in my life let alone a Motorola product. I’m not partial to either brand. Overall, this Iconia tablet has it all. Even with all of the extra cables like an HDMI cable, usb cable and cool case (similar to the ipad2 case) really take it to the next level. The 8 hour battery life has yet to be tried and tested but I have used it all day today and I am only down to 71%. Which is good compared to the 10 hour battery from the Xoom with similar performance. Battery life also depends what you use it for. Today I mainly used it to surf the web. If your Wi-Fi is off then the battery will last for quite some time. So I turn the Wi-Fi on and off when I do not use the tablet.
Ipad2 vs. Acer Iconia A500 10S32U:
Overall, the ipad2 limits you and what you can do. For example if you want to transfer files you have to use itunes. On the Iconia you simply plug it in to your pc or mac, drag and drop and you are done. Another option is to use an usb jump drive or blue tooth to transfer your files. I also enjoy being able to customize my tablet the way I want it to look and run. You can customize everything from the moving background to positioning each app or running widget on each of the 5 huge screens. There is just more you can do with this thing overall compared to the ipad2. I'm not saying the ipad is a bad product. To me the Ipad is just a basic version of the Android Iconia, plain and simple.
Xoom vs. Iconia:
Both have 32gigs, Honeycomb OS. The difference will be the Xoom quotes a 10 hour battery life which I have yet to see vs. the 8 hour battery life that I am still testing. Another major difference is the case that comes with the Iconia (lets you view it standing up vs. Xoom gel case that covers the back of the tablet), usb drive, included HDMI cable, locations of the buttons and charging pins are more ergonomic. Finally the price difference is another huge selling point. More for less....
I will not get into all the things you can do regarding the android honeycomb software because we would be here for days.
Just overall, a well designed tablet that I think kills the ipad2 and its android competition so far. With all the extra items you get purchasing it from Costco, 2 year warranty if you use your Costco AMEX, I think it is a no brainer! What works for me might not work for you so test all three of these tablets out and decide what works for you."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:July 11, 2011

Excellent product.

Pros: cover (they supplied one), usb host (with 3.1 update), fair video camera, included mini hdmi cable
Cons: no cut-out in the cover for sd card, weight
Model Number: A500
"I have been using this A500 tablet for about a month now. It has performed very well so far.
I would like to address some of the negative things which other fellow reviewers have noted.
I too had experienced the weak WiFi issue. The device for some reason would periodically disconnect with my WiFi router even if it was very close. Even when my WiFi stayed up and my laptop was connected (so no issue with the WiFi signal itself).
It was not a problem with the router itself or the device, but probably some conflict. An easy fix was to set it up with a static address and now it connects to it very quickly.
I agree that this is probably not optimal for some folks or those who are not very comfortable around setting up these things but trust me, it is not very difficult and once set up, it is actually quite robust.
The second issue was with the GPS receiver. The GPS was having an issue triangulating the position initially, but once the WiFi issue was resolved, it very soon found out the few satellites it needs to see.
Apparently it needs WiFi to speed up narrowing down the birds to see.
I am particularly thrilled with the USB host feature. Very few other tablets have it. It is just amazing. I have tested plugging in USB thumb drives and it recognizes them without a hitch.
Now a word about the customer service.
In one word - commendable.
I encountered an issue when it downloaded the next version of Android (v3.1).
It froze at a point when installing the update and I finally called Acer Customer Service.
After a few button prompts (not too many I think just 3 or 4), I got connected to a live person. That in itself is commendable ( I work in the IT industry and have very low expectations about these things!).
While the lady was trying to resolve the problem I dropped my phone line (I have VOIP at home and that is 0 marks for AT&T).
After about 5 minutes, I called the Acer cust supp and amazingly, the system immediately recognized that I had called earlier and informed me accordingly and redirected me to the Same person.
Now, that is a very neat feature in most automated IVR systems but many companies do not implement it. I know I am appreciating an obscure IVR feature implemented by Acer but it says something about their commitment.
The lady was unfortunately not successful in resolving the issue and advised me that I would have to call in again the next day for their Level 2 support which is from 8 - 8 central. I had decided to call them the next day but just on a whim, I went ahead and rebooted the device and re-download the update.
This time it went through without a hitch.
So basically even if Acer was not initially able to solve the problem in the first attempt, (and since I am a rather IT sympathetic geek), I would give good marks to the support just for being very accessible and not forcing me to plod through multi-level Interactive Voice Response prompts.
A small con is with the supplied cover for the device. The cover does not have a cut-out to access the SD-card slot on the top of the device. You would have to slide out the device out of the cover - which is a very frustrating experience. I am thinking of cutting a slot out. Will wait. It is not a deal breaker.
As for the lack of applications etc, there are enough for my needs. The numbers are improving and anyway I am not much into gimmicky apps and stupid games so that wipes out 90% of the apps on any market.
I will write a more detailed review (as if this was not enough) as and when I find good/bad features.
I am actually a software developer and this is also one of my test platforms for developing applications.
One more big pro ...the included mini-HDI cable!. In an age when most device providers almost be-grudgingly provide a power cable, Acer has included (or more likely their deal with Costco! - hats off to Costco again) a mini-HDMI cable for hooking up the device to an HD video screen.
Last I checked, you had to separately buy a silly SD card reader dongle and even the cover for the other products (other than the Motorola Xoom). Of course you can kiss any cables goodbye.
Since many people would be comparing this with Apple iPad, I can say that for a feature to feature comparison I found this tablet superior.
I like Apple products but hate their nickle and dime approach to even the basic accessories.
Of course it has a lot of apps etc but seriously do you need all those 250000 games. I could be biased though...I am not much of a gamer and am bad even at solitaire!
"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Poway, CA
Date:June 8, 2011

Best value for the money

Pros: has everything (well almost - see the cons)
Cons: exchange sync app missing
"Great purchase. I am very impressed with the amount of thought Acer put into this product. I have been using it for the last 2 days and things have been looking pretty good. Tegra2 dual core with 1GB RAM is really powerful for running the Honeycomb. Web browsing, video playing etc are pretty fast.
My only complaint is the the missing exchange sync app. I have no idea why Acer would skip this. I had to fork out $20 to buy the 3rd party app which is good but I find it odd to miss that out in a high end tablet which seems to have everything else. I removed a star for this.
Costco is great as usual. 2year warranty with a case and HDMI cable thrown in. Can't better this deal really."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Good Tablet at a Great Price

Pros: price, full size usb, orientation lock, micro hdmi out
Cons: battery life is weak, speaker output is low, webcam is not placed in the center
"Great tablet, cross shopped this with Samsung Galaxy and the IPad. For the feature set and the price, this beats both of them hands down.
Very convenient Micro HDMI out and i have fed this to a 55" TV with good result. I can watch online videos. I also use this as a remote to my desktop which is connected to the TV. I can browse and use this as a keyboard if i need to.
Also has a hard button for orientation lock, which is awesome, so you don't have to dig into the menu to change orientation, something n ice to have.
Has a full size USB port, not many tablets have this and this was important for me as 8 GB is not going to be enough and having a EXT Hard drive was important.
Negatives i can think off is the weight, but the features do add a little bit of bulk. Speaker volume is quite low when skyping or video chatting. For music it seems to be fine, Video quality is sketchy too, when skyping.
Other than that battery life if good, no complaints yet, would definitely recommend to cross shop this against the bigger players."
Review 10 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:July 29, 2011

Best in the market for now.

Model Number: A500
"I think overl all, this is best for your money if you want a tablet at the moment. I think iPad, iPhone are great, it's sexy, light and just beautiful. However, they're missing some key features such as Flash, SD card slot and USB port and the ability to save/store files in the internal memory.
It is not as thin as iPad or Galaxy because it's got USB port, so it's not even fair to compare A500 to other tablets which do not have USB port. But I thought it looks very nice.
There are rooms for improvement but for as I said, it's the best you can get at the moment with features no other tablets can match."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 16, 2011

Best Table Hardware on the Market Today

Pros: invidia hd tegra graphics card, many accessories including, docking station available, bluetooth keyboard available, eaisly overclockable cpu, all binaries compatible w\xoom & asus tab, considered by pros as #1 andriod tablet for 2011, xda developers can support tablet better than acer, works well with skype & netflix after upgrading, 250000 apps available form andriod market
Cons: must be upgrade with custom non acer honeycomb rom, flashing rom voids warranty, needs a 32 gb external sdhd to be truly useful., costco doesn't sell most accessories.
Model Number: A500 Iconia Tab
"As owner of a software company that develops in the Android Market we have seen and owned every Android 3.x tablet on the market as well as the every version of iPad. The Acer Iconia Tab is currently the hottest tablet on the market as of early Oct 2011. If you are not technical we do not recommend this tablet. As previous posts indicated the Acer stock ROM is rather limited and buggy. However for those a bit more technical we have found that Taboonay 2.2 Custom ROM flashed onto this tablet will out perform any other Android tablet available. It run circles around the iPad 4.
The Taboonay flash will bring to your Iconia Tab fixes of all known WiFi connectivity problems. It will also adds many new working applications to your desktop including Netflix, the ability to stream movies and music from your Windows computer connected to the same WiFi network. The complete Polaris Office Suite which is 99% compatible with Microsoft Office 2008 and Office 2010 and the user interface is almost like the Microsoft Office Interface, the free version of AVG anti-virus. Firefox Browser, DirecTV Remote Control that works, Speed Test.net local app. The flash overclocks the processor to 1.5Mhz and roots the tablet. Other features are 1080p HDTV support through the mini-HDMI port using the provided cable, and fixes the long unresolved, with GPS inaccuracies. It is now accurate to within 10 meters. It also fixes the Tabs inability to connect to ad hoc WiFi networks such as those created by a cell phone router. If you have already bought this table and are considering returning it, I suggest you first flash a copy of Taboonay 2.2 onto it and suddenly you will have a table that will outperform the latest iPad and can become mobile if your cell phone has WiFi routing capability. Whatever you decide to do, don't allow Acre's 3.2 stock Android push to update your tablet. It fixed none of the common problems and it locks down your tab so that it can't be easily rooted. It took 3 people 3 days in my office to re-root the table after this flash. Be sure to backup your tablet's stock ROM before flashing it with Taboonay. If you are still unhappy with the results you will need to flash it back to the original stock Acer ROM before returning it, as Acer will not allow Costco to refund you money if you have flashed the tablet. For more information Google search Taboonay 2.2 download and join xda Inconia Tab forum (not the same as the Acer sponsored Acer Iconia Tablet Forum) to learn how to flash a ROM, where to get it free and many other technical details about this tablet. Don't just dismiss it because Acer doesn't understand Android yet. If you have Windows or Apple X OS be sure to download the free Google Android SDK kit. It contains the device drivers that will allow you to connect the USB cable that came with the Tablet and have full access to its internal file system from your PC or Apple OS.. Also allows copying of files to the Android from you PC or Apple. Be sure to purchase an sd micro 32 GB SDHD from Costco (lowest price I've found) as you will need this to backup stock ROM and to flash new ROM from. Don't format the sd with Windows or Apple. Iconia Tab has no format program so put it in an Android phone to format it properly,. If one is not available there is a free 3rd party format program for Windows and Apple but you need to have a micro SD R/W drive on your computer to run the program. Learn much more, go to the xda mobile device forum. Search Google for xda. I can't put a link here, that would be unfair to Costco.
NOTE: Please understand that flashing a new ROM, which is really quite easily done. will void any warranty with Acer. So you assume all risks.Neither Acer, Costco or my company will assume any responsibility for your outcome. But at the price of this item it is a throw away device anyway, so should you not be able to follow simple instructions you could possible brick the tablet. Know what you are doing, become educated on Android before attempting a ROM flash. If you do brick it, it can be recovered. Again go to xta.developer forum. The last thing you should do it you brick it call Acer support. Post a HELP! message on xda instead. Someone will generally help you within a a day, sometime within an hour.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:July 20, 2011

Great laptop substitute

Pros: no adapters needed!, best value, battery life, gorgeous screen
Cons: capacitive type screen requires a fat stylus
Model Number: A500
"I'm a professional designer and looked into tablets to avoid carrying my desktop replacement laptop. I figured unless I needed to tackle things with Adobe or SW in 3D modeling, just about everything else could be covered by a tablet.
I was pleasantly surprised by how happy I am with this product!!! The battery life is incredible, I charge it overnight and keeps going on pandora and email and you name it, all day long. Biggest battery draw is the screen so if you are doing idle tasks (such as pandora) then tap the button to turn off the screen to save juice. I downloaded the Sketchbook Pro app (now available for android!! the full pro version) and since the 3.1 honeycomb update, it works fantastic. Only badside is you need to get used to this type of screen (can't use a typical pointy stylus, tablets require a capacitive stylus is pretty fat and spongy). After a while you get the feel for it if you want to sketch.
Anyhow, the online pricing was higher than my local Costco's for some reason, thank goodness i went in!!
And the included case, I thought it came with this product anyway had I bought it from another supplier, however it does not!! It's a $30 value there on its own and it fits great! Thank you costco for comming through again!!
This tablet is particularly good because although it's 1/8" thicker than others, you DONT NEED ANY ADAPTERS FOR PORTS! It even has a full size USB port. Buy any other tablet and have fun carrying around an adapter for this, an adapter for that.. particularly the extra thin ones like the ipad.
Only thing I would say about ANY tablet is because of how shiny the screens are, you either have to look at it from the right angle, or get yourself an anti glare film (online, 15 bucks).
Also, a tip: Get the tablet, update it, download and test any apps you want to use. Then jot down which ones you want to keep. Then proceed to do a factory reset, and the OS update will stay.. so you dont have to carry that extra little burden around. Redownload only the apps you want. Tablet is a lot zippier since then!
You can't go wrong with this product! Best value, great battery life, all included ports (USB, hdmi, etc), expandable storage, included case.. overall is a great experience and a happy purchase.
Thank you Costco."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 5, 2011

Very flexible tablet that can replace laptop.

Pros: long battery life, great screen, full size usb, charges very quickly
Cons: the case is flimsy, charger cord is too short
Model Number: A500-10S32U
"This device has exceed my expectations from every angle. I own two laptops, a full size laptop and a netbook. Since I bought this, my wife and I rarely use the laptops. It’s just easier to browse the internet while using this than a laptop while we lay down in bed. The fact that this device plays flash means that my wife can watch her soap operas using this tablet.
Being able to plug a USB flash drive into the table to copy pictures so that we can share pictures has made sharing pictures with others very convenient. I am considering the Toshiba tablet to share pictures by simply inserting the SD card straight from the camera by not having to copy anything.
I can also plug this device directly to my TV using an HDMI cable but I have not done so.
In terms of stability; I have not had any issues. I am not sure why the review was not able to copy from his computer. I simply plug my tablet into my computer and copied 15 gigs worth of music."
Review 14 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:July 18, 2011
Pros: price, included case
Cons: none
Model Number: A500-10S32U
"I’ve only had this tablet for 3 days but it is rock solid. Fit and form are excellent, screen is bright and clear, pre-loaded apps are good, supplied case from Costco is much appreciated added value. Wi-Fi is excellent, even with low bars I was able to register and download several apps and browse the internet for over an hour without a hiccup. Moving closer to my router and with full bars I only noticed a slight up tic in speed, so at least around my house the A500 performs flawlessly.
I downloaded the free app Moboplayer from the app store and even watched an avi movie I had loaded on a thumb drive. This Android tab is a terrific value. No reason to look elsewhere."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 18, 2011

Travelers Friend

Pros: external connectors usb & usb micro, hdmi connector, micro sd slot to add more memory, true gps that doesnt need data connectivity, many android phone apps work, not an apple product
Cons: not a lot of apps specifically for honeycomb, very short power cord
Model Number: Acer Iconia A500
"Bought the Acer Iconia A500 tab for a European trip that we took last month.
The GPS function worked perfectly so when the tourist map failed us we were able to get to the hotel in Rome. It does take a minute or two to lock up to the satellites but once it did there were no problems using it as a map with a you are here indicator. You do have to have a data connection if you want to get turn by turn directions but after the directions are loaded you can go. If you need connectivity outside a wi-fi zone there is an app that lets you connect to your android phone wirelessly thru bluetooth to use your phones data.
We were able to copy all the pictures from our camera thru the USB port into the internal memory in folders each night so after the trip we didn't have a thousand pictures all jumbled up. My wife uploaded some each night to facebook thru the wi-fi at the hotels so our friends and family could keep up with our travels and we were able to keep in touch by email.
We kept all our travel documents subway maps, bus routes, travel ebooks, info about our hotels, reservation numbers etc on the Iconia and there were no problems with battery life. Even had a few movies to watch on the plane & train and on tv using the HDMI port directly into the hotel tv when the Italian tv got boring (I don't speak Italian).
I did bring a short 3 foot extension cord because the power cord is very short, about 3 feet.
The cover that comes with it from Costco is great and works as a convenient stand as well.
As this is our first experience with a tablet we felt it was a good size and not to heavy.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, AZ
Date:August 20, 2011

Acer Icona A500

Pros: lowest price for the 32g version, ease of use
Cons: apps still need to be developed., included case not well built
Model Number: A500-10S32U
"Great Tablet for the money. Just take it and charge it up. It is ready to go. Lots of free apps on Market. Connected to my wireless router in just a couple of steps. USB port works great. I had no problems attaching a USB Drive. If you want to print from it you will need to go to the market for the apps. eMail program is ok, but needs to have more function. Battery life is good. I have to say the iPad has a longer battery life. Good news is that the battery on this tablet charges very quickly. This has all the ports and function you need. I believe that for most people the tablet will replace the laptop in the future.
How does it compare to the iPad? I own the iPad 1. If asked which I would prefer, it would be the Acer A500 and Android system."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:July 15, 2011

the way I see it

Pros: price, features
Model Number: A500-10S32U
"I've tried iPad and now owns this Iconia and I am very happy. The first thing I did after opening the box was to update the software when prompted. This probably fixed some software bugs that caused issues other users experienced because I didn't have any crashes, freezes nor connection issues. Now, I think if you are in the market now for a decent tablet, this is a deal that I wouldn't want to miss. First, do I want an Apple or Android based system, for me, I don't like the way Apple controls everything so Android is what I choose. Next, what features I want to have in a tablet? I want ports to interface with other devices and I patiently waited till now, that leaves me Iconia and Thrive. (did I mention I can just plug in a regular keyboard and start typing away?) The one feature Thrive has better than Iconia is the user replaceable battery, for $150 more. So I thought, I shell out $150 more now just so I can replace the battery myself in a few years but I may want something else in a few years. Technology moves so fast who know what will be available in a few years! So I decided to save my $150 for the next one. Keep in mind that many "issues" are Android related so you'll have similar situation no matter which Android tablet you buy. So just choose your hardware and the software will get fixed over time. I wish the Iconia can be a little ligher and thinner but that's the trade off I get for the ports so no complain here."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:June 16, 2011

Not Ready for Prime Time

Pros: connectivity options
Cons: heavy for a tablet, inadequate screen brightness, battery life, poor tech support
Model Number: A500
"Android OS 3.0 seems only half baked. Not only do apps frequently crash, the OS itself also crashes far too often resulting in uncommanded reboots and loss of data. Screen brightness is inadequate for outdoor viewing and shows every fingerprint and swipe gesture in glare. Acer Tech Support has not been able to answer question regarding battery useage. Even though this is a WiFi only model, the battery useage monitor shows signifigant battery useage by "cell radio". Turning off GPS reduces cell radio useage somewhat, but 20%-30% battery useage seems way too high. Overall battery life only about 5 hours of use even with GPS off."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kent, WA
Date:October 5, 2011

If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is

Pros: supposedly killer hardware., 5mp autofocus led flash, 1280x800 10.1 inch
Cons: very poor performance, android/honeycomb usability, usb connectivity problems, no skype support, battery life disappointing (about 6 to 7 hours)
"Overall very disappointing. I was enticed by the supposed high-end hardware specs. Where do I begin? Well here goes
Even with moderate usage, and only 3 or 4 apps open, the performance lags a lot. Come across a site with flash content? forget it! It barely does 1 to 3 fps (and yes I know flash is buggy but come on it has a dual core, a dedicated GPU, and 1 GB of memory).
Adding insult to injury, Android 3.0 Honeycomb has a very bad UI. Switching back and forth between apps can be challenging to get used to.
Trying to transfer files/music to the tablet via USB? Think again. As many others have pointed out, this is very hit and miss and even when it does work, the connection drops forcing you to start all over. Making matters worse, the built in music player doesn't properly work with .pls or .m3u files (doesn't even detect them) UNLESS you put all the files on the root \music\ folder (meaning you cannot use subfolders).
Overall I would NOT recommend this tablet. Get an iPad and cough up the money (its only $500 plus tax for the 16GB model which should be satisfactory for most users)"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Ramon, Calfornia
Date:September 18, 2011

Terrible

"I Read all the reviews and it was made to look simple by just plugging in the USB to external harddrive, or desktop and documents would be downloaded. Not so, documents would not download, even after waisting a whole night downloading USB drivers from the ACER website, and all other Honeycomb updates to no avail. The desktop would not even recognize the USB. Desktop prompted me to install the ACER cd-rom to continue installation. Well the tablet does not come with any cd-roms. After searching for support, I managed to find the phone number to ACER support. I contacted them and a fellow with an Indian accent answered. After explaining the issue to him, he told me that there was going to be a charge to the support service. I explained to him that the Acer tablet was in my ownership less that twenty four hours, and that I had not even used it for anything. He explained to me that since it was a software issue, not hardware, there was going to be a charge. Problem still not resolved, nor do I have any more time to waste on a product that should work flawlessly from the start, I should not have to call customer support, or reconfigure a product which should automatically sync with a common operating systen like Windows 7. Needless to say, It's going back to Costco, within the next half hour."
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>