Customer Reviews for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™

NVIDIA® Tegra™ 2 Dual Core Mobile Processor
Average Customer Rating:
3.488 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
24 of 43(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Review 1 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:December 16, 2011

Hard to Find But Happy I Did

Pros: solid and tabket is rootable, great buy for the money next to comparable ite
Cons: power cord way too short
Model Number: A500
"After much research I decided to get the Acer Iconia A500 Tablet. For the money, it was in my view the best product and made even better by the (just about) promise of the ability to upgrade to Ice Cream Sandwich. Solid hardware though I am noticing a small crack forming on the bottom of the tablet. Software is about what you'd expect with Android."
Review 2 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Good Tablet at a Great Price

Pros: price, full size usb, orientation lock, micro hdmi out
Cons: battery life is weak, speaker output is low, webcam is not placed in the center
"Great tablet, cross shopped this with Samsung Galaxy and the IPad. For the feature set and the price, this beats both of them hands down.
Very convenient Micro HDMI out and i have fed this to a 55" TV with good result. I can watch online videos. I also use this as a remote to my desktop which is connected to the TV. I can browse and use this as a keyboard if i need to.
Also has a hard button for orientation lock, which is awesome, so you don't have to dig into the menu to change orientation, something n ice to have.
Has a full size USB port, not many tablets have this and this was important for me as 8 GB is not going to be enough and having a EXT Hard drive was important.
Negatives i can think off is the weight, but the features do add a little bit of bulk. Speaker volume is quite low when skyping or video chatting. For music it seems to be fine, Video quality is sketchy too, when skyping.
Other than that battery life if good, no complaints yet, would definitely recommend to cross shop this against the bigger players."
Review 3 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:November 26, 2011

Do NOT buy... or buy somewhere with a warranty

Pros: functional some of the time
Cons: horrible warranty
Model Number: A500-10S32U
"While concierge services is nice, this tablet has absolutely NO warranty so 2 years of no warranty is no warranty at all. I suggest if you buy a tablet, buy it somewhere where there is an additional warranty, not an extension of a non-existent warranty. Costco should have never carried this product to begin with."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dublin, CA
Date:October 30, 2011

HDMI port is not working

"HDMI port is not working immediately out of box with different HDMI cable (D to A and an adapter).
This one is going back to Costco and will try the Samsung Galaxy Tab instead!!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 18, 2011

Travelers Friend

Pros: external connectors usb & usb micro, hdmi connector, micro sd slot to add more memory, true gps that doesnt need data connectivity, many android phone apps work, not an apple product
Cons: not a lot of apps specifically for honeycomb, very short power cord
Model Number: Acer Iconia A500
"Bought the Acer Iconia A500 tab for a European trip that we took last month.
The GPS function worked perfectly so when the tourist map failed us we were able to get to the hotel in Rome. It does take a minute or two to lock up to the satellites but once it did there were no problems using it as a map with a you are here indicator. You do have to have a data connection if you want to get turn by turn directions but after the directions are loaded you can go. If you need connectivity outside a wi-fi zone there is an app that lets you connect to your android phone wirelessly thru bluetooth to use your phones data.
We were able to copy all the pictures from our camera thru the USB port into the internal memory in folders each night so after the trip we didn't have a thousand pictures all jumbled up. My wife uploaded some each night to facebook thru the wi-fi at the hotels so our friends and family could keep up with our travels and we were able to keep in touch by email.
We kept all our travel documents subway maps, bus routes, travel ebooks, info about our hotels, reservation numbers etc on the Iconia and there were no problems with battery life. Even had a few movies to watch on the plane & train and on tv using the HDMI port directly into the hotel tv when the Italian tv got boring (I don't speak Italian).
I did bring a short 3 foot extension cord because the power cord is very short, about 3 feet.
The cover that comes with it from Costco is great and works as a convenient stand as well.
As this is our first experience with a tablet we felt it was a good size and not to heavy.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 16, 2011

Best Table Hardware on the Market Today

Pros: invidia hd tegra graphics card, many accessories including, docking station available, bluetooth keyboard available, eaisly overclockable cpu, all binaries compatible w\xoom & asus tab, considered by pros as #1 andriod tablet for 2011, xda developers can support tablet better than acer, works well with skype & netflix after upgrading, 250000 apps available form andriod market
Cons: must be upgrade with custom non acer honeycomb rom, flashing rom voids warranty, needs a 32 gb external sdhd to be truly useful., costco doesn't sell most accessories.
Model Number: A500 Iconia Tab
"As owner of a software company that develops in the Android Market we have seen and owned every Android 3.x tablet on the market as well as the every version of iPad. The Acer Iconia Tab is currently the hottest tablet on the market as of early Oct 2011. If you are not technical we do not recommend this tablet. As previous posts indicated the Acer stock ROM is rather limited and buggy. However for those a bit more technical we have found that Taboonay 2.2 Custom ROM flashed onto this tablet will out perform any other Android tablet available. It run circles around the iPad 4.
The Taboonay flash will bring to your Iconia Tab fixes of all known WiFi connectivity problems. It will also adds many new working applications to your desktop including Netflix, the ability to stream movies and music from your Windows computer connected to the same WiFi network. The complete Polaris Office Suite which is 99% compatible with Microsoft Office 2008 and Office 2010 and the user interface is almost like the Microsoft Office Interface, the free version of AVG anti-virus. Firefox Browser, DirecTV Remote Control that works, Speed Test.net local app. The flash overclocks the processor to 1.5Mhz and roots the tablet. Other features are 1080p HDTV support through the mini-HDMI port using the provided cable, and fixes the long unresolved, with GPS inaccuracies. It is now accurate to within 10 meters. It also fixes the Tabs inability to connect to ad hoc WiFi networks such as those created by a cell phone router. If you have already bought this table and are considering returning it, I suggest you first flash a copy of Taboonay 2.2 onto it and suddenly you will have a table that will outperform the latest iPad and can become mobile if your cell phone has WiFi routing capability. Whatever you decide to do, don't allow Acre's 3.2 stock Android push to update your tablet. It fixed none of the common problems and it locks down your tab so that it can't be easily rooted. It took 3 people 3 days in my office to re-root the table after this flash. Be sure to backup your tablet's stock ROM before flashing it with Taboonay. If you are still unhappy with the results you will need to flash it back to the original stock Acer ROM before returning it, as Acer will not allow Costco to refund you money if you have flashed the tablet. For more information Google search Taboonay 2.2 download and join xda Inconia Tab forum (not the same as the Acer sponsored Acer Iconia Tablet Forum) to learn how to flash a ROM, where to get it free and many other technical details about this tablet. Don't just dismiss it because Acer doesn't understand Android yet. If you have Windows or Apple X OS be sure to download the free Google Android SDK kit. It contains the device drivers that will allow you to connect the USB cable that came with the Tablet and have full access to its internal file system from your PC or Apple OS.. Also allows copying of files to the Android from you PC or Apple. Be sure to purchase an sd micro 32 GB SDHD from Costco (lowest price I've found) as you will need this to backup stock ROM and to flash new ROM from. Don't format the sd with Windows or Apple. Iconia Tab has no format program so put it in an Android phone to format it properly,. If one is not available there is a free 3rd party format program for Windows and Apple but you need to have a micro SD R/W drive on your computer to run the program. Learn much more, go to the xda mobile device forum. Search Google for xda. I can't put a link here, that would be unfair to Costco.
NOTE: Please understand that flashing a new ROM, which is really quite easily done. will void any warranty with Acer. So you assume all risks.Neither Acer, Costco or my company will assume any responsibility for your outcome. But at the price of this item it is a throw away device anyway, so should you not be able to follow simple instructions you could possible brick the tablet. Know what you are doing, become educated on Android before attempting a ROM flash. If you do brick it, it can be recovered. Again go to xta.developer forum. The last thing you should do it you brick it call Acer support. Post a HELP! message on xda instead. Someone will generally help you within a a day, sometime within an hour.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:October 15, 2011

iconia meets and exceeds

Pros: price, quality, ports, screen resolution
Cons: slightly heavier than ipad and galaxy
Model Number: a500
"This tablet has been a welcome surprise. I purchased a few weeks ago and have had plenty of opportunity to test fly the device. Looking at the negative reviews I am surprised. First of all I had no trouble hooking up to my networks. From office to home it hooks in and is only limited by the speed of my network. When hooking up to a pc one has to make sure to download the USB adapter hardware from the Acer website just like it says in the directions. I have uploaded movies without a hitch to the device. In comparison to the ipad yes this is heavier but has ports and expandable memory both of which make adding movies for travel a huge benefit, not to mention better pricing. Also I like the number of free apps. I do think one has to decide whether they are android or apple people. It makes far more sense to stay within one medium. I find that android is less restrictive. Overall if your in to android and you need a tablet I think this device is a great way to go and I intend on getting one for my wife."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2011

Best tablet for the price

Pros: great construction, gorilla glass, crisp screen
Cons: heavy? honestly it's not that heavy...for reals
"Had this tablet about a week now and can find no fault in the hardware itself. Sure Honeycomb has a few flaws, but overall it works well and gives you A TON more freedom than iOS. For $430 it really can't be beaten (plus it comes with the ACER case, which isn't super awesome, but protects the screen fine!)"
Review 9 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Date:October 10, 2011

Acer A500

Pros: run android 3.2 update, usb functionality, price
Cons: wireless range extremely low, many apps are not available for this device
Model Number: A500
"I bought this mainly because of the price and USB port. The USB port works great and for the price, this may be good for some. I will be returning it though due to the limited range of wifi. Other computers/iPads can pick up many other networks with twice the bars as the Acer A500. At hotels, the range continued to go in and out in every hotel I stayed at when my wifes iPad had no issues at all."
Review 10 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 8, 2011

Going to be returned

Pros: memory, ports
Cons: heavy heavy, apps crash, honeycomb going to be outdated
Model Number: a500
"I tried the product for 3 weeks and it is going to be returned.
Heavy. I didn't realize how much less than a pound difference makes. My hand and wrists get tired after 10 mins. Feels heavy on lap too.
Apps crash. Many of my apps crash or don't load. I am not talking about obscure apps. But like Marketwatch and other items. Many other apps don't even load too. This isn't Acer fault but I say it is Honeycomb.
Honeycomb. I like the layout but rather concerned with how quickly Android is coming out with new OS that make previous versions obsolete. I read that the new version named ice cream sandwich is coming out and I do not believe it can be loaded into existing tablets.
The good about this product. Well built. Many ports. Coming with 32mb standard with expandability.
Good machine. But it just doesn't work for me. It gets returned."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kent, WA
Date:October 5, 2011

If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is

Pros: supposedly killer hardware., 5mp autofocus led flash, 1280x800 10.1 inch
Cons: very poor performance, android/honeycomb usability, usb connectivity problems, no skype support, battery life disappointing (about 6 to 7 hours)
"Overall very disappointing. I was enticed by the supposed high-end hardware specs. Where do I begin? Well here goes
Even with moderate usage, and only 3 or 4 apps open, the performance lags a lot. Come across a site with flash content? forget it! It barely does 1 to 3 fps (and yes I know flash is buggy but come on it has a dual core, a dedicated GPU, and 1 GB of memory).
Adding insult to injury, Android 3.0 Honeycomb has a very bad UI. Switching back and forth between apps can be challenging to get used to.
Trying to transfer files/music to the tablet via USB? Think again. As many others have pointed out, this is very hit and miss and even when it does work, the connection drops forcing you to start all over. Making matters worse, the built in music player doesn't properly work with .pls or .m3u files (doesn't even detect them) UNLESS you put all the files on the root \music\ folder (meaning you cannot use subfolders).
Overall I would NOT recommend this tablet. Get an iPad and cough up the money (its only $500 plus tax for the 16GB model which should be satisfactory for most users)"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 5, 2011

Very flexible tablet that can replace laptop.

Pros: long battery life, great screen, full size usb, charges very quickly
Cons: the case is flimsy, charger cord is too short
Model Number: A500-10S32U
"This device has exceed my expectations from every angle. I own two laptops, a full size laptop and a netbook. Since I bought this, my wife and I rarely use the laptops. It’s just easier to browse the internet while using this than a laptop while we lay down in bed. The fact that this device plays flash means that my wife can watch her soap operas using this tablet.
Being able to plug a USB flash drive into the table to copy pictures so that we can share pictures has made sharing pictures with others very convenient. I am considering the Toshiba tablet to share pictures by simply inserting the SD card straight from the camera by not having to copy anything.
I can also plug this device directly to my TV using an HDMI cable but I have not done so.
In terms of stability; I have not had any issues. I am not sure why the review was not able to copy from his computer. I simply plug my tablet into my computer and copied 15 gigs worth of music."
Review 13 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Ramon, Calfornia
Date:September 18, 2011

Terrible

"I Read all the reviews and it was made to look simple by just plugging in the USB to external harddrive, or desktop and documents would be downloaded. Not so, documents would not download, even after waisting a whole night downloading USB drivers from the ACER website, and all other Honeycomb updates to no avail. The desktop would not even recognize the USB. Desktop prompted me to install the ACER cd-rom to continue installation. Well the tablet does not come with any cd-roms. After searching for support, I managed to find the phone number to ACER support. I contacted them and a fellow with an Indian accent answered. After explaining the issue to him, he told me that there was going to be a charge to the support service. I explained to him that the Acer tablet was in my ownership less that twenty four hours, and that I had not even used it for anything. He explained to me that since it was a software issue, not hardware, there was going to be a charge. Problem still not resolved, nor do I have any more time to waste on a product that should work flawlessly from the start, I should not have to call customer support, or reconfigure a product which should automatically sync with a common operating systen like Windows 7. Needless to say, It's going back to Costco, within the next half hour."
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:September 17, 2011

Does not support skype video

Pros: works out of the box
Cons: does not support skype video, facebook apps with animation run slow
Model Number: A500-10S32U
"bought this for my parents for the main purpose of them to run Skype video conferences with my kids. It's not support, as of yet. Other issue for my mom, she couldn't play Bejeweled Blitz fast enough with the touch screen. For the limited time I was able to use it before packing it back up, was happy it worked out of the box without the need to connect to a PC or Mac."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:September 13, 2011

great tab experience

Pros: full usb support, out of the box upgrade to 3.1, root able, reads thumb drives with astrofile manager, full generic keyboard support, 360 controller support, over clockable to 1600, nice case protector, 9 hrs heavy use battery
Cons: fingerprint magnet, case protector covers micro sd
Model Number: a500
"With a little root much is possible with this tablet. I love this device."
Review 16 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, AZ
Date:August 20, 2011

Acer Icona A500

Pros: lowest price for the 32g version, ease of use
Cons: apps still need to be developed., included case not well built
Model Number: A500-10S32U
"Great Tablet for the money. Just take it and charge it up. It is ready to go. Lots of free apps on Market. Connected to my wireless router in just a couple of steps. USB port works great. I had no problems attaching a USB Drive. If you want to print from it you will need to go to the market for the apps. eMail program is ok, but needs to have more function. Battery life is good. I have to say the iPad has a longer battery life. Good news is that the battery on this tablet charges very quickly. This has all the ports and function you need. I believe that for most people the tablet will replace the laptop in the future.
How does it compare to the iPad? I own the iPad 1. If asked which I would prefer, it would be the Acer A500 and Android system."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 2, 2011

Outstanding battery life

Model Number: Acer Iconia A-500
"I was ready to return the tablet the end of the first month. After using a mouse and computers for 30 years, a touch tablet was completely foreign to this 66-year-old. The more I played with it, and learned to use the different features (including my finger instead of a mouse) I wouldn't give this tablet up for anything. I go once a week for a five-hour chemo session, and used to load the bag up with all sorts of toys to keep me occupied. The last two times I carried the tablet and it did everything that I needed. It replaced my B&N Nook, and my netbook that I use for movies, music, and the Internet. After 4 1/2 to 5 hours the tablet only used 40% of the battery life. I can't wait for my granddaughter to visit and show me everything else I can do with the tablet."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, Texas
Date:July 29, 2011

Best in the market for now.

Model Number: A500
"I think overl all, this is best for your money if you want a tablet at the moment. I think iPad, iPhone are great, it's sexy, light and just beautiful. However, they're missing some key features such as Flash, SD card slot and USB port and the ability to save/store files in the internal memory.
It is not as thin as iPad or Galaxy because it's got USB port, so it's not even fair to compare A500 to other tablets which do not have USB port. But I thought it looks very nice.
There are rooms for improvement but for as I said, it's the best you can get at the moment with features no other tablets can match."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 29, 2011

Very nice Tablet (I have the 16GB)

Pros: cost, regular usb port
Model Number: A500 16GB
"I use the Documents to Go app and can view and edit my excel and word files, although if too complicated then it wont let me edit them. I also use the printershare app and print from it. I have yet to have it not execute as expected. Really like it and next is VPN..."
Review 20 for Acer Iconia A500-10S32U 10.1" 32GB Tablet Android™ 3.0 Honeycomb™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 28, 2011

Dont see a lot of use out of it

Pros: comes with a sleeve
Cons: still native app
"First of all this is only good when its near a wifi rest of the stuff its useless, i thought to download some of the cartoons or movies for my son so that he can watch while he is in car but what ever formet i try uploading it does not recognize, then i tried to watch it through acer's clear fi app which does network access through Home PC, it was able to detect the files but it does not play. we now only use this to access emails, and watch you tube video if that is the case then any old laptop can also do it, netflix does not work, HBO keeps on crashing"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>