Customer Reviews for Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses

2.0MP Webcam 9-in-1 Card Reader JBL 2.1 Speakers
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
11 of 15(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses
Review 1 for Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:July 16, 2011

Bestest Laptop Deal EVER!!!

Pros: fast, great components, well configured, dell customer service!
Cons: no backlit keyboard - dell can exchange keyboard
Model Number: XPS 17 3D
"I needed to buy a laptop for a friend who does graphic design and music production (Pro Tools 9). I already owned a fantastic Dell Studio XPS16 and had al ready received outstanding service and support. So, while I knew I wouldn't be able to get a 4 yr warranty with accidental damage protection (I knew I could upgrade that via Dell) what this computer offered for the price is truly unbeatable!
I have read the dismay of others that this laptop does NOT come with a backlit keyboard. I even read the review from the gentleman in Burbank, CA (I live in Westchester near LAX) ... but when I called Dell (and maybe this is because I had just bought a NEW XPS17 direct from them as well - my XPS16 was stolen last month) they told me they would take care of the backlit keyboard for me and come to my home on Monday and install it ... NO CHARGE! I was sitting here thinking, "ARE YOU KIDDING???" Unbelievable! But this is what I have come to know about Dell and their commitment to customer satisfaction. I don't guarantee that anyone who calls them and makes this request will get offered the same support but this is the second time in a year I have called Dell and can atest that they do bed over backwards to make customers happy - regardless of direct purchase of via Costco. In fact, I got the impression as a marketing person that ordering through Costco is important to them and keeping Costco customers satisfied is essential to their ongoing relationship.
The only correction I would like to make to what the gentleman from Burbank posted is that the non-backlit keyboard cannot be made to be backlit over the phone. It literally must be replaced with a true backlit keyboard.
Lastly, for those who live in LA, Dell has a service center/parts distribution location in Hawthorne ... and I do believe that affords us quicker response.
If you can afford it, this is truly a dream machine! Go for it!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:June 29, 2011

Very Disappointed

Model Number: Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics
"I’d like to share the information I found after one month of use, this Dell XPS Laptop. There is no video card inside this laptop, just a video chipset built on a motherboard. So, if your video will die in a few years, then you have to replace the whole motherboard and it will cost you a lot. Also the video chip on mother board is not as powerful as the video card. This way manufactures are making low cost laptops. Guys, this is Dell XPS, top of the line of Dell laptops. There is no back lid keyboard as many others complained. Two hard drives and there is no RAID option. I got a problem with my laptop on first day of use. Any time my laptop is going to the sleep mode and I try to wake it up and the laptops screen goes black, crashing and going to the restart mode. I called Dell customer service and after a few hours after their work, my laptop was still having the same problem. I called them the next day and Dell customer support offered me to replace motherboard on my laptop. I asked them why to replace motherboard and if I had a problem with the video card. That’s how I found out there is no video card and just a video chipset on motherboard. I cancelled all my tickets for repair service and this laptop is going back to Costco the same day I get back from my vacation. Thanks to Costco for a good return option."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Califorina , LA
Date:June 25, 2011

Horrible laptop

Pros: packaging box
Cons: read the review you will find out
Model Number: Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses
"Hi this is my second same Dell xps 3D laptop i got it From Costco, and here is the thing the first Dell XPS laptop came almost 3 weeks ago and when i tried to turn it on but it wouldn't and could see laptop is on and working but display was not working and it was totally black and by the way I'm computer technician and I'm working for CalTech university so i know about computers very well and after i see display was not working on same day i returned it to Costco for full refund and i said myself things happening and nothings is perfect and that's why ordered again the same model Dell xps 3D laptop from Costco again and today i got it after i wait 7 days for shipping process and you guys wont believe this i mean this laptop must have 1TB hard drive which means 2x 500gb and total 1TB and when i turn the laptop on and after create user-name and password its looks like everything was working and i was happy because you guys know The Dell xps packaging box is color black and on first sight it gives you excitement and joy anyway when i open My Computer folder its suppose to be have 1TB hard drive or 2x 500gb hard drive but unfortunately there was only 1 500gb hard drive not 2 and i was asking myself where is the other 500gb hard drive?!! and on i restart the computer and i do the BIO Boot mode and i could see there is 2 500gb hard drive installed in this computer but i can only access one and its looks like this model Dell XPS have Motherboard issue because it cannot read the second 500gb hard drive and i was very sad and i told myself let me do factory recover reset and that's why i create the recovery disk which it was 3 DVDs and i tried to recover my Dell xps to factory recovery mode and after 2 hours when recovery was done and i went to My computer folder again and it was same it was only show only 1 500gb hard drive instead of 2 and i told myself Dell laptop NEVER again . guys believe me don't waste your money on this laptop get something else from Costco and i am happy they have good return policy , so for me Dell laptop is over . i will stick to Sony , Hp or Asus. and today im going to return this junk to Costco again for refund and I'm very sad and disappointed."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles. CA
Date:June 16, 2011

No backlit keyboard

Model Number: Dell XPS-17 3d
"I already wrote a detailed review of this Dell Laptop, but it was not posted for some reason?
this XPS 17 has the best picture quality I have ever seen on a Laptop. The JBL speakers are so loud that I can play music for the whole apartment!
I originally had problems with 3D, but i figured out that I had to first setup the Nividia setup program. After that It worked great.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Smyrna, Ga,
Date:June 14, 2011
"excellent choice for a work laptop.
Best purchase i have made recently.
Love the extra warranty from Costco
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Burbank, CA
Date:June 14, 2011

BACKLIT upgrade info...

Model Number: DELL XPS 17.3 3D
"Thank you to the person in Santa Clarita, CA for their informative review of this Dell XPS 17.3 3D (i7-2630QM). I recently rec’d mine and I was also somewhat disappointed that such a higher-end laptop didn't have a backlit keyboard. BUT since it has everything else (and then some!!) I purchased anyway as that function is not a “deal breaker” for me. Glad I did because upon receipt and further visual examination of the keys....it “appeared” to me that the keyboard IS backlight-able but apparently that option was not "activated” or "connected." So, on a hunch I called COSTCO Concierge Services and inquired about upgrading to a backlit keyboard and the $$ / steps involved. The COSTCO rep got Dell on a 3-way conf. call with me and Dell rep said “no problem…you can upgrade to backlit for $44.99*” (*quote given). All I need to do is have my computer in front of me when calling Dell and they’ll walk me through the “steps” and payment, etc.. I don’t know what those “steps” entail as I haven’t had the chance to do that yet (I’m hoping it’s simply just a ‘driver’ thing). So if anyone is thinking of purchasing this particular XPS but also want a backlit keyboard…I’d suggest calling the COSTCO Concierge like I did and verifying that it’s possible (and easy, plus relatively inexpensive). I’d give perf. 5-stars here but shame on Dell for not incl. a backlit kb on this model. Good Luck!"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop Core i7-2630QM 2.00GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Blu-ray Writer 3D Glasses
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:June 8, 2011

Powerhouse!

Pros: performance, audio, hd led monitor, connections placement, solid build, usb 3.0 ports (2)
Cons: portability is limited due to size/weight, 6-cell battery life (understandable though), silver paint durability on otherwise solid chassis
Model Number: Dell XPS 17 3D Laptop
"Purchased form Costco for extra peace of mind. I do graphic design and video editing. This computer is pretty big and heavy, but makes up for it with impressive performance, so don't expect to get over 2 hours of battery life. The generously-sized monitor is obscenely bright and sharp, JBL audio is amazing (of course). Heat generated under load is tolerable considering the high-end components. Craftsmanship is good, mousepad and keyboard are well above average. Just wish it hay the backlit keyboard. Other than that, not much more you can ask for!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.