Customer Reviews for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive

USB 3.0 / 2.0 Compatible with Backup and Hardware Encryption
Average Customer Rating:
2.68 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
12
13 of 25(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Review 1 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 30, 2011

Fast, Secure, and Huge

Pros: fastest external drive, huge at 3tb, built-in security software locks the drive
"In order to get the benefits of the speed of this external drive, you have to have a USB 3.0 connection. I have one on my new motherboard, and I am reaching speeds in excess of 100 MB/s. USB 2.0 maxes out around 30 MB/s. I have been using the drive with the built-in WD SmartWare security enabled for almost a year with no problems, and have only used 1/3 of the drive."
Review 2 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:December 8, 2011

Poor

"These drives just never fail to disappoint. Always quirky and don't last long."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Warren, MI
Date:November 12, 2011

Works As Expected

Pros: unit works as described and with usb 3.0 its fast, updates available on manufacturer's website.
"Computer recognized unit out of the box. But as with any external device I went to the manufacture's website to see if there was any firmware and software updates. There is, and I downloaded and installed them before setting my drive up for backups. In my case the software for WD works better than the Microsofts Backup and Restore. I had two failed attempts with Microsoft and it worked perfectly with WD's."
Review 4 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:U.S.A.
Date:November 12, 2011

Works with ZT computer from Costco

Pros: huge capacity, usb 3.0 is very fast, works with my costco zt i7 windows 64-bit computer, very easy to install and use, silent does not get hot
Cons: the usb connector reportedly is fragile, supposed to be used upright can fall over easily, included usb 3.0 cable is a bit short
Model Number: WDBACW0030HBK-NECS
"Based on other people's comments here and elsewhere, I updated the drive's Firmware immediately after connecting it to the computer. I'm not using the supplied automatic backup program, and can't comment on it.
The new ZT computer from Costco (Windows 7, 64-bit) recognized the My Book immediately, installed drivers, and gave me access. I didn't have to install any drivers myself, and each time the drive is connected, Windows just recognizes it.
The drive holds just over 3 trillion bytes (that's in decimal, which is how hard drive capacities are expressed; the binary equivalent of that is 2.72 TB).
USB 3.0 speed varied quite a bit. Sometimes, it was 4-5 GB/min, which is almost as fast as SATA-II; and sometimes "only" 2.5 GB/min, which is the same as SATA-I.
Twice while copying many large files to it, the copying just "hung" and it was necessary, but difficult, to kill the task and then begin copying what was left. Since I've had that kind of problem with other drives, it may be Windows 7 or a problem with the computer; just don't know.
The drive cannot be turned off. The power button doesn't do anything. The instructions say it only works when the WD software's installed, but even then, it didn't work. WD intended this to be used as a real-time backup device, but my use of it is to copy certain files to it, then disconnect it and put it on the shelf until next time.
Many people have warned that the USB port in the drive is fragile and easily broken. I'm trying to be careful about that, but there's clearly a design flaw.
Given the recent jump in hard drive prices (due to destruction of Western Digital's manufacturing facilities in Thailand, caused by flooding), it just seemed prudent to get a couple of spare drives to keep on hand, and Costco's price (and the fact they still have hard drives to sell) was irresistable."
Review 5 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, IL
Date:November 9, 2011

BAD BAD BAD PURCHASE

Cons: poorly built unreliable
Model Number: 3 TB Essential Edition My Book
"This is the last WD I will ever buy. I now have moved to Seagate. If you have DVD Shrink program on your computer, this drive will NOT work with it. Every other Western Digital has worked with this program except for this one (3 TB). I have had 2 Western Digitals go bad on me within a year and half. They go bad when they stop reading in my computer. Therefore you lose all the information on it unless you have it backed up. The first time I didnt and had to pay 300 to retieve it. The second time I had it backed up. These drives are not built well, they have cheap cords and plugs, and are so unrelaible. There support is also rated 1 star at best. Never again, so buyers beware cause the Smart Ware will burn you every time."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bowie, Maryland
Date:November 2, 2011

Bought two from Costco, still no problems

Pros: low price, large storage
Cons: not yet
Model Number: My Book Essential 3T
"I use my drives with Windows 7 and I've not seen any problems. Works great and couldn't have done my job without the drives. Of course I am a bit worried in the event that anyone of the drives should go off. I did not have to do anything special on windows 7. Just plug the drive and go. Like most hard drives, if you are having problems during initial setup, make sure you initialize your drive's ID in your computer management console. I did that for this drives."
Review 7 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:September 30, 2011

Don't Buy Product

Cons: died
Model Number: WDBACW0030HBK
"Bought May 6th 2011 Died September 25th 2011. Used as a time machine back up on my brand new iMac, and the WD 3T hard drive just up and quit after 4 1/2 months. Returned to Costco for full refund (they now run approx $30 less than I paid at costco) Bought a Free Agent go flex 2TB wish me luck!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:September 18, 2011

"secret" solution

Pros: big fast cheap
Cons: firmware needs to be updated
Model Number: 3TB MyBook Essential
"When I first bought one of these drives it would not work on USB3 at all, only USB2. The computer would not even recognize its existence as a USB3 device. It turns out that WD is shipping them out with an obsolete version of the firmware, one which has problems. Go to the software which comes with the disk and you will find a firmware updater - it goes to the web to get the current version. Do that and the disks are magnificent - ultra fast and not a flaw anywhere. I now have 6 of them and am completely thrilled."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2011

WD support awful

"Just beware after warranty and the products do fail, that WD does not offer support. Their recommended backup support will charge 5x more than the cost of the unit."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:August 13, 2011

Didn't work for me

Cons: does't work with usb 3.0
"This drive kept disconnecting from my computer after a few seconds of writing to it. I thought it was my USB 3.0 add-on card so I replaced it with a different brand. Same problem. I returned the drive and got a replacement. Same problem again. I have contacted support from WD and the USB 3.0 card manufacturer. WD sent me some information about incompatible motherboards but mine was not on the list. So I'll be taking this back and looking for another solution, probably eSATA."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whittier, California
Date:August 5, 2011

Wow....That's a ton of space!!!

Pros: very easy install
Model Number: Item# 561513
"I purchased the "Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive" a few days ago and Wow!
The hook-up was very easy. Plug & Play went seamlessly into my system.
There's enough room, on the drive, for a lifetime worth of pictures, enough MP3's to play for a month solid, and all the Docs, Forms, and Backups I could find on my computer.
I feel pretty secure in knowing that I now have everything backed up.....just in case something should happen to the originals."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2011

Does not work with Windows 7 Backup software

Cons: can't create win7 system image
"You cannot create a system image on this hard drive using Windows 7 system backup software. I contacted WD system support and they confirmed this."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:August 2, 2011

To soon to tell

Pros: works on a usb 2.0 port
Cons: does not work on a usb 3.0 port
Model Number: WDBACW0030HBK-NECS
"It may not be fair for me to write a review of this product at this time because it does not work on the USB 3.0 port of my new ZT computer that I also got from Costco. We (Costco Concierge, ZT, Western Digital) are attempting to research why there is a problem. If I were to rate the product right now I would have to rate it ONE star, and that might not be fair if the problem is with the ZT computer. It gets the one star because it does work as designed on a USB 2.0 port - but I didn't buy it to connect to a USB 2.0 port - I bought it for the speed of USB 3.0 and right now that doesn't work. The computer doesn't reliably "see" the drive when it's connected to USB 3.0 and when it does see it, the drive will disconnect itself randomly after 3 to 5 minutes then mysteriously reconnect itself after 3 - 8 minutes. Used 3 different USB 3.0 cables from two different manufacturers - same problem. WD actually sent me a replacement drive - it had the same problem. Maybe I can revise this review's rating upward if either Western Digital or ZT get the problem fixed."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Glendive, MT
Date:August 1, 2011

SO FAR SO GOOD

Pros: price, costco selling it
Cons: it doesn't matter what the cost is if it fails., customer service
Model Number: WD 3T
"I am a little worried after reading other reviews since I have pictures that can't be replaced stored on it. So far it has been working like a charm, but I only use it to store pictures on. My computer has not ever crashed, but has shut down do to power outages without any problems."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:July 23, 2011

Major Software Problem

Cons: software will screw up your computer
Model Number: My Book Essential 3.0
"I have a similar experience. The software seemed to load, but had some glitches during installation and now it won't run at all. Windows uninstall utility cannot uninstall it. WD tech support can't uninstall it either and wants me to do major updates on 4 different things - Windows operating system, .netframework, java, flashplayer, and then maybe they can help me uninstall it. Of course I should back up before doing any of these things, but that is what I need the product for is to back up! This is product is a real lemon. Costco needs to pull it from the shelves."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:July 21, 2011

Did Not Work for Me

Pros: price, customer support
Cons: did not work for my purpose
"I purchased this to attach via USB to my router so that I could back up my desktop and laptop. It would not work as a USB attachment to my router so I took it back to Costco. Great return policy!
WD tech support was helpful in telling me why it wasn't working. I ordered a WD drive to connect via network which hopefully will work for me.
If you only need to connect directly to a computer via USB I think this will work fine. So my rating may be low - it reflects for my intended purpose."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 20, 2011

Would not buy again

Pros: large storage capacity at a good price
Cons: does not work
"I purchased this drive on Sunday to make room for my digital photos. Luckily I had not moved them onto it yet, only some files that I had backed up elseware. When I plugged it into my computer on Sunday it booted up like champ and was working fine. By yesterday it had disappeared from my computer and nothing I could do would bring it back. My computer kept saying that drive had to be reformatted.
I called WD customer support and was advised that I need to reformat the drive and it was probably my fault for putting corrept files on the drive or unplugging from the computer without dismounting it. Neither of these things occured, I tried reformating with customer service on the phone and it failed that. Customer service suggested I return for a new unit. Based on the other reviews I see on this site I will be returning it, but not for a new one of these, but a different brand. I have another external drive from another manufacture, that works flawlessly.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:July 15, 2011

Choose something else

Pros: usb 3.0 interface is fast, large capacity
Cons: install corrupts pc, drive self-disconnects, backup sw coverage incomplete
"I recently bought one of these for use as a backup drive for a new Windows 7 based system. The install screwed up, and messed up the PC so badly I ended up wiping and re-installing to recover. Once I finally got it working, I discovered the included software cannot do a complete backup - it only does the files IT thinks I should backup. I then found that the drive would simply disappear from the PC device list after several hours, making it inaccessible. That in turn caused the scheduled backups to fail.
I returned it and got one of the Seagate drives from Costco instead, and the Seagate drive works like a charm. WD has a real lemon on it hands in this unit, IMHO."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tehachapi, CA
Date:July 14, 2011

Worst purchase ever!

Pros: very large capacity
Cons: disastor waiting to happen-computer crash + ext hd
Model Number: WDBACW0030HBK-NCES
"I bought this on April 8, 20211 thinking this would hold my expanding catalog of digital photos. I am starting to sell my pictures. Little did I know that my computer would crash. When my computer crashed I also lost all my files on this HD. I have another ext HD by a different company that was NOT affected by my computer crashing. I have spent many hours and money on trying to recover the files including contacting WD but to no avail. Don't buy it.
I am not a person to write negative reviews but this drive caused me more frustrations than should have happened when my computer crashed which was bad enough but to also loose files that I thought would be ok when a computer crashes is inexcusable."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB External Hard Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2011

Slow Backup Software

Pros: price, costco replacement practice
Cons: backup software slows down system, drive prematurely failed
"The backup software that comes with the HD is very slow and makes your system CRAWL! The HD itself seems OK but one out of three I have failed within 6 months...so hopefully I just had a bad drive. The drive speed itself seems OK, and I'm using USB2.0. For the price it's a great value, so I'll give it another try - but will not load any of Seagate's software."
1 2 next>>