Customer Reviews for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer

Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer

The TIGER 10-cup JBA-B18U “Soft Touch button” controlled Rice Cooker/Warmer/Steamer incorporates the latest in cooking technology, taking the guesswork out of rice preparation.  With a press of a button, Tiger’s Automatic Cooking Logic™ system actively monitors cooking temperatures and senses when cooking is complete. The cooker then switches to “Keep Warm” mode to keep the rice moist and flavorful until served. Tiger has added a great new feature which allows you to steam your favorite vegetables, meats, poultry or other foods with the included steamer tray insert.  A cooking preset timer allows the user to delay cooking for up to 19.5 hours, and with Tiger’s modern design, it will be a perfect match for you and your kitchen.   10 cups of dry rice will yield 20 cups cooked   6 cups of dry brown rice will yield 12 cups cooked   Automatic Cooking Logic™: Microcomputer controlled cooking ensures perfectly cooked rice every time   Advanced pressure-controlled steam venting system seals in heat and flavor for the best tasting rice   Special keep-warm cycle warms rice for up to 12 hours without drying or burning   Menu selection has 7 unique built-in cooking choices   Cooking selections include plain (white) rice, Quick (faster cooking cycle), Rinse-free rice, Brown rice, Porridge, Mixed rice, and Steaming   Steamer tray insert allows you to steam your favorite foods quickly and easily   Re-heating cycle brings the rice back to the just cooked serving temperature   Soft-touch control panel   LCD displays menu selection, preset timer, steam timer and count down to cooking completion timer   A signal sounds when cooking is complete and then keep warm mode is activated   LED light indicates which function is in use   Compact body style with easy tote handle   Steamer tray insert, rice paddle, measuring cup, and instructions are included   Steaming timer has 8 settings from 5 minutes up to the maximum 60 minutes   Power: 918 Watts / 120 Volts   Color: Milky White   Dimensions: 14.3” L x 9.6” W x 10.8” H   Warranty: 1-year parts and labor   Made in China    For more information please contact Tiger America Corporation 800-346-6360.   Model: JBA-B18U
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 14(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Review 1 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:March 29, 2014

Very worthwhile purchase

Pros: ease of use volume
"I scoffed for a while at getting a rice cooker, but a friend raved about hers, so I decided to take the plunge. Picked up this cooker at what I consider a good price, and really love it. It is so easy to use and fairly easy to clean, as well. Love it!"
Review 2 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rio Vista, California
Date:March 22, 2014

Best Rice Cooker

Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
Model Number: JBA-B18U
"As in the Previous Reviews I Read before Purchasing this Rice Cooker, It is as good as everybody said it was."
Review 3 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:March 12, 2014

Average Product

Model Number: TIGER 10-cup JBA-B18U
"So far the cooker works well. The good thing is the inside wall is hard to be scratched. Price is about average.
One feature is missing which is when I open the cap, there is nowhere for water to pour out. My previous cooker has a cup for water to pouring in when open the cap.
"
Review 4 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:October 9, 2013

So Far so good

"use only 2 weeks, look nice, but don't know how it last."
Review 5 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:March 15, 2013

How have I lived so long without this?!?!?

Pros: best rice ever, timer, warmer
Cons: none
"I purchased this rice cooker because my son went to a buddies house that had one and he was in LOVE with the rice that his mom made. I tried to make the same on the stove and of course it didn't come close. I searched high and low for the "right" one and stumbled across this one. I work with several Japanese people who read all of the information on this one and said that it would be fine. FINE... IT IS AWESOME! I seriously don't know how I have lived without it! Not only does it make the best rice EVER it stays warm FOREVER! The other night I made a crock pot meal that was to be served over rice. I was able to set the timer on the rice cooker to be done at the same time and dinner was served. I have made oatmeal in it that was ready when we woke up the next day. I could go on and on but know you will stop reading if I do.
Bottom line... this is AWESOME! I would recommend this to ANYONE!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:December 27, 2012

great white rice

Model Number: JBA-B18U
"The best white rice, esp long grain: light fluffy & super tasty. Brown rice is still sticky. I LOVE the white rice with this maker. I eat the brown rice because it is better for me. Great size for feeding lots of people. Love the timer. Would recommend to anyone"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:December 9, 2012

Tiger JBA-18U rice cooker review

Model Number: Tiger JBA-18U
"Overall, the rice cooker does a very good job, I like the menu options to cook different rice, but so far I only used two of them, Plain rice and Porridge, both of them cook very well. I also like the Timer function, I used it to cook the porridge: set the timer, and my porridge is warm and ready in the morning!
I did not give 5 stars because I think there are a few improvements can be made: 1. The heat releasing plate (inside the lid) can not be removed for cleaning, I had to use a cloth to wipe it after I cooked porridge, sometimes it gets dirty. 2. There is no reservoir cup to capture the steam water, the steam water ends up in the upper casing, had to use cloth to dry it, and sometimes it gets to the bottom of heater plate, you have to turn the cooker 90 degree to see if there is water down there, if not careful, this can damage the cooker.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Berkeley, CA
Date:June 21, 2012

Good ricecooker

Pros: never burns the rice, keeps rice warm for hours
Cons: minimum 2 cups
"Bought it for my husband and he loves it! He has done all kinds or rices and quinoa dishes and so far so good.
Have not tried the steaming yet, though it does steam while cooking rice.
Be aware that the minimum amount to use is 2 cups, which is amount for 4-5 people easy. It is big.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 25, 2012

Perfect Rice Cooker

"I bought this machine at least two years ago. I always wait to write a review:) We never ate rice everyday and I consider myself a pretty good cook. How hard can rice be to make, right? wrong! I cannot believe the difference in texture as well as taste, yes taste when using this machine. Easy, if you can use a measuring cup and turn the water on, you can use this machine. It's that easy. Whatever it does to the rice while it's in there is magic. My entire family LOVES any rice I make in my machine and I literally use it every single day! Best purchase I think I've ever made and I love my kitchen "gadgets" but this trumps them all.
Absolutely love this machine and the price is unbelievable!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2012

Great cooker.

Pros: very well made. easy instructions to follow
Cons: large capacity is not suited for cooking for 2.
"Bought this for my wife as a present even tho she has always cooked rice well. Had it for about a month and am extremely satisfied. So simple to use!
The best rice we have ever had!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:wisconsin
Date:February 11, 2012

great cooker

Pros: keeps rice perfect for 12 hrs
Cons: non yet
"owned for 2 yrs. use cup given for measurment , fill water, menu to type of rice. start for perfect rice every time."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:north carolina
Date:January 21, 2012

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

"This rice cooker disappointed me completely, it is no better at cooking rice than the cheap one I hoped it would do better with brown rice and so on, NOT WORTH THE MONEY!"
1 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:July 21, 2011

Amazing Quality and Value

Pros: quick and easy, makes rice so aromatic and delicious, you will understand why all japanese have one
Model Number: JBA-B18U
"My Japanese girlfriend called this to my attention as being a great value, and she was right! Tiger is a brand known all over Japan; it is one of the two major brands of rice cooker found in almost every Japanese home, the other being Zojirushi (the third being Panasonic). She knew instantly that this would be easy to use and of the highest quality. This is the real deal, used by people who eat cooked rice at virtually every meal, including breakfast, and leave it warming in the cooker for hours (for other meals). I initially didn't understand the point of the device, because we cook rice here by just boiling it on the stove. However, now I understand: the difference is amazing, and the machine is so easy to use. You just take the nonstick metal bowl out of the machine, add water to the appropriate line for the amount of rice you are making, add rice using the measuring cup they give you, push "Start", and that's it! The machine goes through an initial cooking cycle, then a steaming cycle. It uses fuzzy logic to determine the perfect cooking time and temperature. The process takes about an hour, but because the machine will then hold the rice safely for at least 12 hours, you can just start it when you come in the door from work and know that it will be ready whenever you make dinner. The result is fluffy, aromatic, perfectly-cooked rice. Even healthy, organic, long-grain brown rice, which I usually don't like, comes out fluffy and delicious every time, because the machine cooks it so precisely. (You just push one button to choose the type of rice you are cooking, and it remembers that until you change it. It really is: water, rice, Start...done!) Cleanup is easy: the nonstick bowl comes out, you rinse it and replace it and that's it. They thoughtfully provide a nifty rice spatula that is designed so rice doesn't stick to it; you use it to scoop out the rice without damaging the nonstick bowl. I can't tell you how easy and cool this device is, and how well made. The buttons have a quality feel to them, and opening and closing the lid is like on a Japanese car, with perfect fit and finish. Costco is selling it for less than half what you would pay for an equivalent Zojirushi, and I have seen this Tiger model for almost twice as much elsewhere as well. It's a steal, and well worth the investment."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tiger 10-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 21, 2011

liked it, but could be better for the price

Pros: works very well
Cons: cleanup is a hassle every time
"It does a great job of cooking brown rice, for which I purchased it.
For some reason, brown rice always bubbles up and out of most fully covered cookers, even when the rice+water together is only at half the total volume.
With this cooker there is no overflow (the Aroma $30 cooker does make a mess).
But, there is no easy way to clean the lid, and the inner lid, and the little plate on the top, along with the little rubber stopper, all have to be cleaned every time.
"
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.