Customer Reviews for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Telescope Wand Lifetime Washable HEPA Filter
Average Customer Rating:
4.415 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(609 Reviews) 580
(out of 609 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (609 reviews)
5 stars
407
4 stars
119
3 stars
30
2 stars
35
1 star
18
536 of 609(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 2, 2012

Very Good Vacuum!

Pros: decent weight
Model Number: DC 33 Multi Floor Upright
"We bought the Dyson DC33, and have used it for two weeks. This vacuum is far superior to the (quite good) Miele canister vac we owned for 10 years. As a test, we vacuumed 3 rooms with the Miele, until there was nothing being picked up by the vacuum, using a new bag. Upon vacuuming with the Dyson, we filled the turbo canister with dirt, cat hair, and rug lint! The only thing I would watch out for, is the Dyson 33 plastic parts look like they are molded with the type of plastic that deteriorates with time. I would GUESS that one can probably count on a service life for this vac of 5 to 7 years."
Review 2 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Foresthill CA
Date:April 17, 2012

I will never buy a different brand of vacuum

Cons: add an attachment that can go under furniture.
"I bought my first Dyson in 2004. I purchased the new Dyson so I could give my old one to my daughter (it still works just fine)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2012

Great Vacuum

Pros: higher suction power than dyson animal vacuuums, lightweight, new color is blue instead of yellow, 5 year warranty, free attachment, washable hepa filter
Model Number: DC33
"Love this vacuum! A Dyson vacuum is the only vacuum to buy. Even though it is a bit spendy, the cleaning power is amazing. Previous vacuums always clogged, abut not this Dyson! Highly recommended!"
Review 4 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:April 14, 2012

Dyson dc33. Returning it

Pros: customer service people are very nice and helpful
Cons: not good on rugs
Model Number: DC 33
"This product doesn't work well with rugs or Persian carpets. It makes a horrible sound while vacuuming over the rugs. Customer Service even acknowledged the issue/problem. They were also unable to help rectify the problem and they suggested returning it. Works well on flat floors and surfaces and the overall functionality is good. But if you have rugs, this is not the vacuum for you."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 4, 2012

Love clean floors? You'll LOVE this vacuum!

Pros: easy to use, easy to assemble, lightweight, large canister, canister empties easily
Cons: cord does not retract, to use hose you must first take the handle off
"I'm thrilled with this vaccum. I've owned several different vacuums over the years and this one, by far, is the best. It's light, it's very easy to maneuver, and it's very long cord allows you to cover a large area quickly. The base is narrow enough to fit into tight spaces like between the toilet and bathtub. The canister holds more than most on the market, and it empties nicely with a couple quick smacks againsts the trash can. This vacuum is simple to assemble and no tools required. Most of the attachments click into holding places on the unit, only one does not."
Review 6 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Gatos, Ca.
Date:March 16, 2012

Broken in 20 minutes - PLASTIC

Pros: looks good
Cons: poorly made weak parts, bad on carpeted stairs
Model Number: DC33
"I had high hope for this technology and this brand. The machine is all plastic including parts that should be strong and metal. The carpet brush broke in less than 20 minutes use! Perhaps it is a fluke but clearly this is not a durable machine.
Usability: Stairs were a pain, unable to get into the cracks.
To be returned immediately
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:March 13, 2012

Bad for long hair and too high for under cabinets.

Cons: can't handle long hair, cant get under beds our cabinets., cant get through to customer service
Model Number: Dyson DC33
"First time I used the product it stopped working after about 15 minutes, second time after 5 minutes. Apparently if you have long hair, a small amount of hair will cause the brushes to stop working and you need to clean it out. After spending about an 30 minutes on the phone, I was given instructions on how to manually reset the vacuum and it worked. Now the second time, I went on line to trouble shoot, didn't help. Did the reset thing, didn't help. Called the 800 number and still waiting to talk to a human after 30 minutes. Like I have time for this every time i want to quickly vacuum.
In addition, when you recline the vacuum, it raises up so high that you will not be able to vacuum under your bed, under your cabinets or anything with less than a 9-10" clearance."
Review 8 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clovis, CA
Date:March 11, 2012
Cons: doa after 3.5 years
Model Number: DC7
"I bought a Dyson for my daughter 3.5 years ago. It worked great while it worked. Both on hardwood and carpet.
We took it in to be serviced due to lack of suction and the repair person said it was the cleanest vacuum they had ever seen. Nonetheless, the vacuum is DEAD and needs a new motor and clutch. I will not be replacing it with another Dyson. It was a lot of hype and $$$ for a not so great lasting product.
"
Review 9 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:suburban Philadelphia
Date:February 11, 2012

Great Buy on a Great Product

Model Number: DC33
"Thanks again Costco, no wonder you were recently voted top retailer and top retailer web site by Consumer Reports.
You bring good, name brand products to us at very competitive prices. And, if there are some of us who just can' t appreciate the value, you take it back, no hassles.
We have owned a Dyson DC14 for many years. We have just got tired of lugging the DC14 to our second and third floors, so we thought we would leave to old DC14 for the main floor and basement and have a new DC33 for the second and third floors. The price was certainly right for a quality Dyson product. But when I started reading some of the negative reviews I thought that perhaps Dyson had altered the product since we first bought our DC14. I can say with confidence that the DC33 is every bit as good as the orginal DC14 we have.
The DC33 is a little smaller, and is a little lighter. The dust bin is lesser capacity. The cord is longer, which is helpful. Still has the same if not greater sucking power (which is what you really pay for) and better than any other vacuum we have ever owned. The tools are OK, but I might have to go to Amazon and buy one of the combo tool kits....no big deal..saved a lot on the price of the vacuum anyway.
For the critics who complain about the cheapness of the plastic...you know, many plastics are stronger and more durable than other materials...and this looks the same as our orginal DC14 which is still going strong.
The concern over the carpet height and floor adjustments also puzzle me. The DC 33 worked just fine on our medium pile carpets and on our tile floors. We have two big dogs that shed constantly and both of our Dysons do a great job on dog hair....don't really think you need "the animal" version.
Lastly, I am thankful for reading one of the reviews that stated they had bought to "ball" version but taken it back and found that this version was no less manoueverable. I was thinking about buying the ball, but don't really think the price or technology difference is going to make the cleaning result that much better."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Date:February 1, 2012

Great Purchase

Pros: easy to dump dirt
Cons: works poorly on area or throw carpet with long nap
"The price at costco (with a $50 rebate) was the lowest. The vacuum is working great - used 2 weeks."
Review 11 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 6, 2012

Great product

Pros: cleans really good, easy to clean
Cons: never bump it against the wall
"I love this machine. It cleans reallllly well. I got it a month ago and I use it several times a week. Since it picks up every single dirt and dust from the carpet, I have to empty it every time I use it. The reason I gave it 4 starts because when I used it for the first few times, I made a mistake and bumped it against the wall so it made a really loud noise. I had to open it up to try and see what happened. The bump was really not that strong. My advice, be gentle when you use it. It is really a good machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eastern Washington (state)
Date:January 6, 2012

Best Vacuum Ever

Pros: quieter than most other vacuums, goes from carpet to throw rug w/no hesitation, easy empty canister w/o getting dirty hands, easy pop out brushes
Cons: high priced, does not fit under toe kick of cabinets, attachment hose is a bit stiff, i wanted wood floors =(
Model Number: DC 33
"With the first piece out of the box, I could tell the Dyson DC33 was a well built machine and it had smart technology.
(Last week, I had put together, taken apart and returned it's "identical", cheaper, purple competitor.)
Extremely easy set up. Less than 5 minutes after opening the box, I was plugged in and ready to roll.
My plan was to prove to myself (ok, husband) that the Dyson DC33 was no better than my beloved burgundy pet hair vacuum and that we really needed to rip out our 5 year old carpets and replace them with wood floors - NOW.
So, before turning on the Dyson DC33, I thoroughly vacuumed the living and dining rooms with my 1 year old vacuum. I went over and over the carpet until nothing more went into its canister.
OK, I admit it, I was wrong. The Dyson canister filled up not once, but twice. My "clean" carpets apparently had lots of deep down dirt. Totally disgusting. Had I not witnessed this with my own eyes, I would not have believed it.
Dang, my 5-1/2 year old carpets look almost new again. Guess I won't be getting those wood floors after all =(
I switched to the bare floor mode and vacuumed the kitchen and breakfast nook. I was disgusted with how much unseen fine dust was sucked into the canister. Honest, I'm not a bad housekeeper.
After our cat had his daily 4 hour nap, I vacuumed the cushion on our white chair. Amazing suction power. It pulled the cushion right out of the chair and removed every piece of cat hair and probably years of dust from deep inside the cushion!
The negatives (besides the fact I don't get my wood floors now) are the high price and the vac head is a bit too tall so it does not fit under the toe kick of the cabinets.
Luckily, the wand, quickly and easily, pulls out to get the edges the vac itself cannot.
Reluctantly, I am highly pleased with our purchase of the Dyson DC33."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 16, 2011

Love the vacuum but very pricey

Pros: good power and suction, easy to use
Cons: price... price ... price
Model Number: DC25
"we purchased the animal version of this which for some reason is no longer on here so i can't review it. the DC25. anyways... it was very good but very expensive. stings to buy it but wife loves it so can't complain."
Review 14 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Clovis, CA
Date:November 17, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: dust cup, light weight
Cons: doesn't adjust to thick pile carpet, handle with wand hard to figure out
Model Number: DC33
"We just got new carpet in the whole house and needed a vacuum that could do the job. We were so excited to try this vacuum out because the reviews were so good. When we tried the Dyson, we were so disappointed because we couldn't even push it across the carpet. The front would dig into the carpet. We are both fit people but this was too much work to get this thing across the floor. I did like the dust cup function and it did hardwood floors nicely. We took it back the next day and purchased a German made vacuum that glides over the new carpet like a dream."
Review 15 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:November 15, 2011

Ergonomic nightmare

Pros: great suction, lightweight
Cons: attachment hose is unwieldy and clumsy, can't get under kitchen cabinet toe kick, tips easily when using attachment hose, overpriced
Model Number: DC33
"We gave this vacuum cleaner a fighting chance for over 6 weeks. There is no doubt this has plenty of suction, and is lightweight for the power it has. However, that is where the positives end. The handle is oddly designed and just doesn't have a good feel to it as you are pushing and pulling it. Its high "nose" above where the floor brush resides is something that completely disallows getting underneath the toe kick of a kitchen cabinet. Finally, the accessory hose is clumsy. The flex hose must be completely separated from the solid extendable sections in order to easily clean surfaces such as upholstery, counter tops, window sills, etc. Bottom line: my wife doesn't like it, and I don't like it. For the well-above-average price you pay for this machine, you would expect better ergonomic design. Thankfully, Costco has a flexible return policy; it's going back."
Review 16 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newport Beach, CA
Date:November 14, 2011

Overrated and overpriced

Pros: decent vacuum
Cons: overpriced, have to fuss with to use wand attachements
Model Number: DC33
"Dyson spends tons of money advertising their junk. Gave this model a try for a couple years and it did a satisfactory job, not great.
To use the attachments you have to do through several steps, so you can't just go back and forth seamlessly while cleaning. Wish Costco carried the Electrolux models back when I purchased this one.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 11, 2011

Best vacuum I have ever owned

Pros: best all around vacuum ever
Cons: flimsyness of the telescoping wand
Model Number: Dyson DC33
"The suction is perfect.
I love the ability to go from carpet to kitchen vinyl with a switch of a dial. I also have the ability to vacuum my throw rugs on the vinyl. (I hate to shake out throw rugs).
I love the ease of switching attachments and the attachment with the roller brush. It is the best attachment for stairs and furniture I have ever used although I have found it is easier to use without the telescoping wand since the telescoping wand is slightly flimsy. The suction power is greater than the rigidity of the telescoping wand so it tends to bend when vacuuming stairs and furniture.
"
Review 18 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:November 9, 2011

Disappointment - Stick with DC14

Model Number: DC 33
"I needed to replace my Dyson DC14 (power cord broke at base). Costco recommended paying $100 more for the "new, improved" DC33 instead. I was very disappointed. The suction was not as strong, dog hair clogged at the top of the dirt bin, the dirt bin holds less, there was no hardwood floor/stair attachment included ( that is $50 more plus shipping). Thank Goodness it was Costco. I returned the DC33, bought the DC14 and I'm very happy. Better suction, bigger dirt bin, my attachments all fit, and I saved $100. Can't beat Costco for customer Satisfacton."
Review 19 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2011

Complicated instructions

"First I could have purchased an upgrade for this item at a local store with the added cost for shipping. Not pleased.
Second, the instructions are in pictures. Yet the pictures were so basic they didn't show what to press to release the hose and how to use that feature.
Finally, it works good so far."
Review 20 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2011

Does not work on Area Rugs or Tall Carpet

Pros: extremely strong suction
Cons: horrific noise when used on area rugs
Model Number: DC33
"This vacuum is extremely effective on my wall to wall carpet, but when I try to vacuum my area rugs and other unattached rugs (e.g. bath mats), it makes a horrifically loud noise and won't budget. The Dyson rep says it is so strong it is simply sucking up the unattached carpet . There is no solution; he said it is just not suitable for all carpets or flooring. That is not how it is marketed, of course. He suggested using a separate vacuum cleaner for my area rugs and throw rugs. As much as I love the power of this vacuum, having to use two separate vacuum cleaners in the same area is simply not tenable. Alas, I will just have to take it back to Costco.
I hope that they can redesign it so it works with all flooring as it is supposed to and perhaps I can get one next time!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>