Customer Reviews for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Telescope Wand Lifetime Washable HEPA Filter
Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(606 Reviews) 577
(out of 606 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (606 reviews)
5 stars
407
4 stars
118
3 stars
29
2 stars
35
1 star
17
535 of 606(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2011

Everything I Expected From Dyson

Pros: bottom of canister opens to empty content, vacuums up pet hair very well
Model Number: DC 33
"I vacuumed 2400 square feet of tile with my new Dyson Multi-floor Upright and it worked like a charm. I've got two dogs and I need a vacuum that can tackle dog hair as well as the country dirt and dust that comes in on our shoes. The holding canister is easy to take off the vacuum and the bottom opens with one push of a button so the dust doesn't come up in my face when I empty it in the trash bin. I'm glad I purchased this model and hope it will last a long time. I've had it about 2 weeks."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 4, 2011

Love my Dyson!

Model Number: DC33
"Easy setup, great results, low maintenance, great warranty. Love this thing! Worth every penny...very happy with my purchase."
Review 3 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:August 7, 2011

Finally...A Roar instead of a Whisper!

Pros: very powerful suction, easy to maneuver, you can see the success of your efforts (bagless), very long power cord, the tools are simple and productive (and creative)
Cons: the tool handle is very bulky and awkward, you can see the success of your efforts (bagless)
Model Number: DC33
"It's only day 1, but I am certainly in the honeymoon stage! This vacuum is unbelievable! I returned my Brand OrX vacuum today because it was like a whisper on my carpets. Our lifestyle was too much for that vacuum even to flirt with (with boys and dogs)..
This DC33 is unbelievable. We were more than astonished, and frankly sickened, and how much it vacuumed from our home today. It was well worth more than two bags on my other vacuum (which we changed bags after a month or so). Our carpets haven't looked this good in such a long time.
It is easy to maneuver, and gets edges/corners very well. The suction is unsurpassed in any vacuum I've owned over the years. Very, very, very happy. Money worth spent!"
Review 4 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2011

Not good

Pros: does have great suction when it works.
Cons: does not adjust well to all levels of carpet.
"The first time I used this vacuum I had trouble with the beater bar adjusting to my large area rugs. The reason I chose this model was because it was supposed to adjust to all floor types. When I tried to vacuum on my area rug the machine would make this awful noise and I would have to turn it off. I took it back because for the amount of money I paid I do not expect to have trouble using the machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Spitngs, CO
Date:September 1, 2011

Best Vauum Cleaner Ever

Model Number: DC33
"This is the best vacuum that I have ever owned. It is light weight and easy to use."
Review 6 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2011

Does not work on Area Rugs or Tall Carpet

Pros: extremely strong suction
Cons: horrific noise when used on area rugs
Model Number: DC33
"This vacuum is extremely effective on my wall to wall carpet, but when I try to vacuum my area rugs and other unattached rugs (e.g. bath mats), it makes a horrifically loud noise and won't budget. The Dyson rep says it is so strong it is simply sucking up the unattached carpet . There is no solution; he said it is just not suitable for all carpets or flooring. That is not how it is marketed, of course. He suggested using a separate vacuum cleaner for my area rugs and throw rugs. As much as I love the power of this vacuum, having to use two separate vacuum cleaners in the same area is simply not tenable. Alas, I will just have to take it back to Costco.
I hope that they can redesign it so it works with all flooring as it is supposed to and perhaps I can get one next time!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2011

Complicated instructions

"First I could have purchased an upgrade for this item at a local store with the added cost for shipping. Not pleased.
Second, the instructions are in pictures. Yet the pictures were so basic they didn't show what to press to release the hose and how to use that feature.
Finally, it works good so far."
Review 8 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:November 9, 2011

Disappointment - Stick with DC14

Model Number: DC 33
"I needed to replace my Dyson DC14 (power cord broke at base). Costco recommended paying $100 more for the "new, improved" DC33 instead. I was very disappointed. The suction was not as strong, dog hair clogged at the top of the dirt bin, the dirt bin holds less, there was no hardwood floor/stair attachment included ( that is $50 more plus shipping). Thank Goodness it was Costco. I returned the DC33, bought the DC14 and I'm very happy. Better suction, bigger dirt bin, my attachments all fit, and I saved $100. Can't beat Costco for customer Satisfacton."
Review 9 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 11, 2011

Best vacuum I have ever owned

Pros: best all around vacuum ever
Cons: flimsyness of the telescoping wand
Model Number: Dyson DC33
"The suction is perfect.
I love the ability to go from carpet to kitchen vinyl with a switch of a dial. I also have the ability to vacuum my throw rugs on the vinyl. (I hate to shake out throw rugs).
I love the ease of switching attachments and the attachment with the roller brush. It is the best attachment for stairs and furniture I have ever used although I have found it is easier to use without the telescoping wand since the telescoping wand is slightly flimsy. The suction power is greater than the rigidity of the telescoping wand so it tends to bend when vacuuming stairs and furniture.
"
Review 10 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newport Beach, CA
Date:November 14, 2011

Overrated and overpriced

Pros: decent vacuum
Cons: overpriced, have to fuss with to use wand attachements
Model Number: DC33
"Dyson spends tons of money advertising their junk. Gave this model a try for a couple years and it did a satisfactory job, not great.
To use the attachments you have to do through several steps, so you can't just go back and forth seamlessly while cleaning. Wish Costco carried the Electrolux models back when I purchased this one.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:November 15, 2011

Ergonomic nightmare

Pros: great suction, lightweight
Cons: attachment hose is unwieldy and clumsy, can't get under kitchen cabinet toe kick, tips easily when using attachment hose, overpriced
Model Number: DC33
"We gave this vacuum cleaner a fighting chance for over 6 weeks. There is no doubt this has plenty of suction, and is lightweight for the power it has. However, that is where the positives end. The handle is oddly designed and just doesn't have a good feel to it as you are pushing and pulling it. Its high "nose" above where the floor brush resides is something that completely disallows getting underneath the toe kick of a kitchen cabinet. Finally, the accessory hose is clumsy. The flex hose must be completely separated from the solid extendable sections in order to easily clean surfaces such as upholstery, counter tops, window sills, etc. Bottom line: my wife doesn't like it, and I don't like it. For the well-above-average price you pay for this machine, you would expect better ergonomic design. Thankfully, Costco has a flexible return policy; it's going back."
Review 12 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Clovis, CA
Date:November 17, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: dust cup, light weight
Cons: doesn't adjust to thick pile carpet, handle with wand hard to figure out
Model Number: DC33
"We just got new carpet in the whole house and needed a vacuum that could do the job. We were so excited to try this vacuum out because the reviews were so good. When we tried the Dyson, we were so disappointed because we couldn't even push it across the carpet. The front would dig into the carpet. We are both fit people but this was too much work to get this thing across the floor. I did like the dust cup function and it did hardwood floors nicely. We took it back the next day and purchased a German made vacuum that glides over the new carpet like a dream."
Review 13 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 16, 2011

Love the vacuum but very pricey

Pros: good power and suction, easy to use
Cons: price... price ... price
Model Number: DC25
"we purchased the animal version of this which for some reason is no longer on here so i can't review it. the DC25. anyways... it was very good but very expensive. stings to buy it but wife loves it so can't complain."
Review 14 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eastern Washington (state)
Date:January 6, 2012

Best Vacuum Ever

Pros: quieter than most other vacuums, goes from carpet to throw rug w/no hesitation, easy empty canister w/o getting dirty hands, easy pop out brushes
Cons: high priced, does not fit under toe kick of cabinets, attachment hose is a bit stiff, i wanted wood floors =(
Model Number: DC 33
"With the first piece out of the box, I could tell the Dyson DC33 was a well built machine and it had smart technology.
(Last week, I had put together, taken apart and returned it's "identical", cheaper, purple competitor.)
Extremely easy set up. Less than 5 minutes after opening the box, I was plugged in and ready to roll.
My plan was to prove to myself (ok, husband) that the Dyson DC33 was no better than my beloved burgundy pet hair vacuum and that we really needed to rip out our 5 year old carpets and replace them with wood floors - NOW.
So, before turning on the Dyson DC33, I thoroughly vacuumed the living and dining rooms with my 1 year old vacuum. I went over and over the carpet until nothing more went into its canister.
OK, I admit it, I was wrong. The Dyson canister filled up not once, but twice. My "clean" carpets apparently had lots of deep down dirt. Totally disgusting. Had I not witnessed this with my own eyes, I would not have believed it.
Dang, my 5-1/2 year old carpets look almost new again. Guess I won't be getting those wood floors after all =(
I switched to the bare floor mode and vacuumed the kitchen and breakfast nook. I was disgusted with how much unseen fine dust was sucked into the canister. Honest, I'm not a bad housekeeper.
After our cat had his daily 4 hour nap, I vacuumed the cushion on our white chair. Amazing suction power. It pulled the cushion right out of the chair and removed every piece of cat hair and probably years of dust from deep inside the cushion!
The negatives (besides the fact I don't get my wood floors now) are the high price and the vac head is a bit too tall so it does not fit under the toe kick of the cabinets.
Luckily, the wand, quickly and easily, pulls out to get the edges the vac itself cannot.
Reluctantly, I am highly pleased with our purchase of the Dyson DC33."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 6, 2012

Great product

Pros: cleans really good, easy to clean
Cons: never bump it against the wall
"I love this machine. It cleans reallllly well. I got it a month ago and I use it several times a week. Since it picks up every single dirt and dust from the carpet, I have to empty it every time I use it. The reason I gave it 4 starts because when I used it for the first few times, I made a mistake and bumped it against the wall so it made a really loud noise. I had to open it up to try and see what happened. The bump was really not that strong. My advice, be gentle when you use it. It is really a good machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Date:February 1, 2012

Great Purchase

Pros: easy to dump dirt
Cons: works poorly on area or throw carpet with long nap
"The price at costco (with a $50 rebate) was the lowest. The vacuum is working great - used 2 weeks."
Review 17 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:suburban Philadelphia
Date:February 11, 2012

Great Buy on a Great Product

Model Number: DC33
"Thanks again Costco, no wonder you were recently voted top retailer and top retailer web site by Consumer Reports.
You bring good, name brand products to us at very competitive prices. And, if there are some of us who just can' t appreciate the value, you take it back, no hassles.
We have owned a Dyson DC14 for many years. We have just got tired of lugging the DC14 to our second and third floors, so we thought we would leave to old DC14 for the main floor and basement and have a new DC33 for the second and third floors. The price was certainly right for a quality Dyson product. But when I started reading some of the negative reviews I thought that perhaps Dyson had altered the product since we first bought our DC14. I can say with confidence that the DC33 is every bit as good as the orginal DC14 we have.
The DC33 is a little smaller, and is a little lighter. The dust bin is lesser capacity. The cord is longer, which is helpful. Still has the same if not greater sucking power (which is what you really pay for) and better than any other vacuum we have ever owned. The tools are OK, but I might have to go to Amazon and buy one of the combo tool kits....no big deal..saved a lot on the price of the vacuum anyway.
For the critics who complain about the cheapness of the plastic...you know, many plastics are stronger and more durable than other materials...and this looks the same as our orginal DC14 which is still going strong.
The concern over the carpet height and floor adjustments also puzzle me. The DC 33 worked just fine on our medium pile carpets and on our tile floors. We have two big dogs that shed constantly and both of our Dysons do a great job on dog hair....don't really think you need "the animal" version.
Lastly, I am thankful for reading one of the reviews that stated they had bought to "ball" version but taken it back and found that this version was no less manoueverable. I was thinking about buying the ball, but don't really think the price or technology difference is going to make the cleaning result that much better."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clovis, CA
Date:March 11, 2012
Cons: doa after 3.5 years
Model Number: DC7
"I bought a Dyson for my daughter 3.5 years ago. It worked great while it worked. Both on hardwood and carpet.
We took it in to be serviced due to lack of suction and the repair person said it was the cleanest vacuum they had ever seen. Nonetheless, the vacuum is DEAD and needs a new motor and clutch. I will not be replacing it with another Dyson. It was a lot of hype and $$$ for a not so great lasting product.
"
Review 19 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:March 13, 2012

Bad for long hair and too high for under cabinets.

Cons: can't handle long hair, cant get under beds our cabinets., cant get through to customer service
Model Number: Dyson DC33
"First time I used the product it stopped working after about 15 minutes, second time after 5 minutes. Apparently if you have long hair, a small amount of hair will cause the brushes to stop working and you need to clean it out. After spending about an 30 minutes on the phone, I was given instructions on how to manually reset the vacuum and it worked. Now the second time, I went on line to trouble shoot, didn't help. Did the reset thing, didn't help. Called the 800 number and still waiting to talk to a human after 30 minutes. Like I have time for this every time i want to quickly vacuum.
In addition, when you recline the vacuum, it raises up so high that you will not be able to vacuum under your bed, under your cabinets or anything with less than a 9-10" clearance."
Review 20 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Gatos, Ca.
Date:March 16, 2012

Broken in 20 minutes - PLASTIC

Pros: looks good
Cons: poorly made weak parts, bad on carpeted stairs
Model Number: DC33
"I had high hope for this technology and this brand. The machine is all plastic including parts that should be strong and metal. The carpet brush broke in less than 20 minutes use! Perhaps it is a fluke but clearly this is not a durable machine.
Usability: Stairs were a pain, unable to get into the cracks.
To be returned immediately
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>