Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System

Real-time Detailed D1 Recording Smartphone Viewing 1TB HDD 100' Night Vision
Average Customer Rating:
4.03 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
27 of 33(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Review 1 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento
Date:September 29, 2011

Excellent Value

Pros: great night vision distance, excellent value for the price, really cool features in the dvr, works great on an iphone or other, there may be better but not at this price, great tech support
Cons: problem with one camera loosing night vision, after a month but excellent service, go it replaced pretty easy
Model Number: QT428
"I have this DVR QT428 and eight 520 line cameras around my home, and I am very happy with them.
one camera lost its night vision after a month or so,it still worked fine in the day time but I wanted to record happenings after dark, so I sent in to q-see and received a new one shortly after.otherwise no other problems,going on 7 months now.
the night vision is the best on the market for this price up to 100 feet it sees in pitch black.
I can see cameras on my computer, and my LCD in the bedroom, also I have viewed my cameras from an iphone and a friends HTC phone several times and every time I still cant believe how clear it is. I can write on and on explaining how cool the functions on the DVR are, and what a great deal it is....
check around for just one 520 line camera at frys or on the internet each camera would cost $100 or more so you add it up. Awesome deal, works great for me.......
while we were camping I was able to view all 8 of my cameras 4 at a time from my nephews DROID at the campsite its so cool.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Riverside, CA
Date:December 27, 2011

Terrible search capabilities

Model Number: Various
"I bought 5 of these units. Put them in my offices, home and vacation home. It takes FOREVER to search for a past event! If you're looking at the cameras "live", sure, it looks fine. But try to search an event that happened 1 or 2 weeks ago- it will take you many hours! I have 3 other DVR units that are much easier to use. I guess it's true- you get what you pay for. Very shoddy programming. To make it worse, the Q-See machines I bought have different software and can't all be upgraded to the same version. I would not buy another one unless they improve their programming."
26 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sunshine State
Date:October 3, 2011

QT528

Pros: great price & unit
Cons: instructions lacking
Model Number: Qt528
"This DVR is great for the price. I have had it for little over 2 weeks and I am very happy with it so far. I used the QT528 to replace a 4 Camera DVR (not Qsee brand) and this system is 100% better.
As for support, I used E-Mail and within hours I received very helpful correct information each time.
If you check Q-See's other DVR's on Costco you will find some of systems uses the same DVR for more money,
The only suggestion I have is; if you do not have tech knowledge this system will be difficult to install because the instructions are very vague.
At present I am giving 4 stars because lack of instructions in the manual.
I recommend the QT528 and will give an update in 2 months."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northridge, CA
Date:October 21, 2011

Good product, awful customer service

Pros: good value.
Cons: good luck if something is defective.
Model Number: Costco Item # 566015
"Video quality is good, but not great. Setup is straightforward enough which is good because instructions are not very model specific. I highly recommend adding one or more microphone(s) to the system. It is really great to have a audio/video record when overly assertive sales people need to be complained about. Good quality mics with 50' of cable and a power supply can be purchased online for $25. Our 8 camera system had one bad camera and it has taken 4 days of calls and emails to get an RMA number out of their customer service dept. Dealing with them is truly a surreal experience. I spent 12 minutes on hold yesterday listening to a recording saying that "calls are taken in the order they are received" - followed by a recording saying "there are zero people ahead you". Expect to give the same complete explanation, model #, address, and phone # to each person you write or speak to - even after getting an incident # and approval code. I was asked for the RMA number today, within 2 minutes and within the same phone call, by the very same person who gave it to me. No kidding!"
Review 5 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 9, 2011

Great system for the price

Pros: easy hardware install
Cons: tricky to get web access
"Hardware was easy to install. Plug cameras in and your ready to view. DVR fans are a little louder then expected but not an issue. DVR software is great. Lots of options. Remote viewing was tricky to install. I had 2 routers on my network and had to bridge the one from my DSL provider to make it send all of the web requests directly to the second router. Manually opened ports but had to use ports other then default because DSL provider blocks default incoming ports (as most do). Instructions do provide a link to an auto port open program if you are not familiar. After forwarding ports on my second router had to restart router manually to get the open ports to work even though it says it restarted. Smartphone wireless provider would not let me access DVR over their network to install software (must be blocking auto software type things) but after connecting to WIFI with the phone and downloading the software to the smartphone it connects no problems over wireless carrier. Remote viewing is slower framerate then watching off of DVR directly (expected). Over all with learning things as I went with remote viewing, I am happy with purchase. I did not contact technical support. I have computer and networking experience. I have forwarded ports in the past. Hope this helps"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Essex County, NJ
Date:September 30, 2011

Great Product for price

"Best purchase I ever made for my business security need. Picture quality is good. Easy to install and to progrem to wathch over internet . Customer service from Q-see is much batter than I thought."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Independence, MO
Date:October 2, 2011

Quality for the money!

Pros: ease of use and install!
Cons: dvr is a little noisey.
Model Number: QT5281107
"Easy to install, night quality of camera's is better than I expected. Camera's are almost undetectable!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Milan, NM
Date:September 30, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: picture quality, easy to install cables
Cons: remote access softward, customer service
Model Number: QT528
"After installing the System, we cannot access it from the internet. You have to leave a phone number with their customer service, but they never return your call.
The pictures on the cameras are excellent, but it is necessary to receive reports of activity on the internet and your IPhone from the security system which is its capability."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:maryland
Date:October 4, 2011

works excellant for the price range

Model Number: QT528
"Easy set up
the cameras that come with the unit work well good night vision
The site does have some good instructions posted, follow them and you should be able to set it up
easy to review the recordings
Hard to reach a person on the phone
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2011

Great Product

"This is an overall good home surveillance system. The picture quality is good in day or at nights. The cameras seem to withstand water so far, I live in Seattle and it rains all the time. Easy installation!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pennsylvania
Date:October 6, 2011

Mediocre system DVR OK

Model Number: QT528 item # 588000
"We were using a QC444 with 4 cameras dvr system we purchased from Costco several months ago and wanted to add a couple more cameras and upgrade to full D!. I could have gotten the QT528 dvr for separately but though it better to pay the extra money for the cameras.
I currently have 4 camera types in use:
1 Q-See QSC48030,
2. VideoSecu ( sorry don't remember the exact model but it was pretty cheap)
3. QSEDS3635W cameras that came with the QC444 system.
4. QSM5265C that came with the QT528 system.
Of all the cameras, the ones that came with QT528 item # 588000
have the poorest video quality. I tried two so far and both lack focus and clarity and even more surprising is how poorly they do in the darkness compared to the others -it's ironic, the cheapest cameras, the VideoSecu with 28 IR Leds outperform them all in darkness, but do not have as clear a picture as the better Q-See camera ( QSC48030)..
The best overall camera we have is the QSC48030 , followed by the cheap VideoSec cameras, and the QSC48030 cameras. The main problem with the QSC48030 cameras that came with the QC444 is they did not hold up well in the rain, after a couple months they developed problems, according to the Q-See web site the cameras with the 8 channel QT528 are waterproof so they should hold up better.
The QT528 dvr is pretty good but lacks the ftp ability I enjoyed using with the QC444. With the QC444 I could ftp pictures from the events to a hard drive to view on my TV using an ordinary media player - if I saw something interesting I could then go to the dvr to watch the video.With the QT528 you can email pictures, but that is not as nice as having them sent via ftp and organized in the process.
Overall the QT528 appears to have more capabilities than the QC444 - it's the poor quality cameras that bother me, almost like they are factory seconds.. I checked the specs on the QSM5265C and they should be a better camera, and that is why I question if they are factory seconds."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:October 9, 2011

Poorly Matched Package

Pros: dvr has some nice features.
Cons: cameras were poor quality., absolutely no information on the i/r remote.
Model Number: QT528
"Sounded like a real deal for the price with D1 resolution and 520 line cameras. Unfortunately, the cameras are junk. They may have 520 lines, but they cannot deal with contrasting light within the field of view, either during the day or night. In daylight, a sun-lit roadway will wash-out everything around it. At night, any reflected I/R from nearby bushes or tree leaves will make everything behind them a black-field. These cameras have CMOS image sensors. My older Q-See system has 420 line cameras with CCD image sensors, and does a much better job of handling contrasting areas, especially at night. Q-See must have gotten a great deal on the cameras since they offer them with most of their packages now. No thanks, I sent the whole system back."
Review 13 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:November 2, 2011

Good for the money but has issues

Pros: good price., lots of features, costco guarantee, color and night vison work well
Cons: basically no support, live internet setup a nightmare unless u r a tech, poor (dvr) resolution
Model Number: QT528 DVR w/ 8cameras 1TB hd
"For the money this 8 camera system is a pretty good deal especially with the 1TB hard drive. Shopping around this package was hard to beat.
BUT there are some disappointments.
I had a bad camera from the get-go and still awaiting a replacement (4 weeks).
The DVR has recording resolution limits, you are NOT going to get a license plate # unless they are less than 10 feet from the camera.
I plugged in a $1,000 camera to the DVR and got the same results, so the DVR is the limiting factor. According to my buddy without going to a hiDef system for lots of $$ this is to be expected I guess.
Getting the remote computer and phone apps via the internet to work was, frankly a nightmare. I had to call in a buddy of mine who knows that stuff and it took him over an hour working through various settings to configure it properly.... BUT IT NOW WORKS - HOORAY!
The software is actually pretty good, you can set up each camera with motion sensitivity and also de-select areas you don't want it to detect (like a tree branch moving in the wind) After quite a bit of tweeking the system works pretty good... but on a windy day the motion dection will go crazy no matter what.
Overall this is a pretty good system, and even with my complaints I'd recommend it."
Review 14 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:October 12, 2011

Great product but some manufacturing isue

Pros: simple user interface, easy to install
Cons: email notification requires some enhancements
Model Number: 520TVL
"The product is simple to install and easy to configure. I had the system up and running in less than one hour. One of the cameras is not working. It looks like that the quality control made a misstake by passing this camera. The RMA request has been issued. So validate all cameres before you start.
The DVR has a nice and clean interface. The features are clear to control. I miss already some configuration. The motion detection works but the email notification requires some enhancements.
1. No single control to enable or disable notification (when you leave the house, you like to enable it)
2. Email notification can not include a picture
Overall I recommand this product. You use any smartphone to view it."
Review 15 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MECHANICSVILLE, VA.
Date:November 4, 2011

Q-See 8 channel DVR

Pros: price & features, 1tb hard drive
Cons: cables, power supply
Model Number: QT528-826
"Best unit for the money. Cameras work great in the day. O.K. at night. This system comes with 60 FT unshielded cables. The power supply for the cameras will only support 60' cables. In other words, if you need cables longer than 60' you will need to buy a power supply and make up your own cables like I did or purchase longer ones elsewhere and still purchase a power supply. The IR led's will burn out if you don't hook up all 4 cameras at the same time to the supplied power supply. I had one of the camers led's burn out and the camera would not work at night. The supplied Q-See power supply is unregulated. I purchased a Q-See QS1009 9 camera regulated power supply off the internet. Don't try to contact Q-See to order this power supply you will be wasting your time. After I received the DVR from Costco, it took about one month to get the power supply, shielded pro grade RG59 cable, connectors, and tools to put the cables together. I have a two story addition, and it has taken me some time to run 8 cables in the attic, thru the soffet on the outside of the house (25' in the air) and back to the DVR and power supply. I love this unit now that I have it up and working. I also purchased for the front of my house 2 Sony vari-focal 700TVL resolution cameras which have a wide viewing area and 130' range. After purchasing an Asus 24" monitor, I have just over $1300 in the system I planned to spend $500.00 on. My next project is to add a PTZ camera and try to view from the internet."
Review 16 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Branch, NJ
Date:December 23, 2011

Superior product

Model Number: QT528
"Everything that was advertised about this product proved to do just that. I love this product. I recommend this product against any other competitor manufactured product. Q-see seems to take their time in making sure they produce a good product. As you can see their tough work is reflected in my opinions of the product. Costco you should be proud that you are selling this particular product by Q-SEE. Thank you for giving me the opporunity to own such a fine product.
Thank You Thank You Thank You"
Review 17 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, Texas
Date:October 11, 2011

Good security system

Pros: very clear picture., ease of use., loaded with cables and everything needed for setup, ease of installation., price for this combination is very good.
Cons: no ftp service to upload alarms.
Model Number: QSEE QT528 and Cameras
"I was replacing an existing system that was only two years old. From the moment I started replacing the DVR, Cameras, and the other components, I realized how much clearer the picture was using this system. It is very simple to setup and use. The only feature I miss is I could setup rules to FTP alarms off to another server. Your only choice is E-mail of snapshots and the use of a mobile phone to check on an issue. However, this system is hands down better than the one I had before. It is loaded."
Review 18 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:October 12, 2011

Q-SEE HAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER !!!

Cons: q-see has the worst customer service ever !!!
Model Number: QT 528
"This system is fairly good itself but the purchase has failed to meet my expectations as one of the cameras only displays in black and white and another camera seems out of focus a bit. I have tried for a week and a half to get ANY response from Q-See customer service including two website submittals of the information, four calls to customer service and seven e-mails and I have had no response at all not even an RMA number. I would not buy this system or any Q-see system just for this reason."
Review 19 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2011

Great product

"The product was shipped on time and arrived in great shape. You will have to read the manual from the provided CD, as the instructions leave a lot to be desired. Also, before running the wire, ensure the ends are marked correctly. I ran an entire run and was ready to plug it in, only to find that the ends were mis-labeled.
Works very well at night and you get pretty much the entire 100' advertised distance in your video."
Review 20 for Q-See 8-Channel DVR 8 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 14, 2011

Great Security System

Pros: price, hd camera with night vision and motion detection, full d1 recording on all channels
Cons: cheap bnc connectors, software not that easy to use
Model Number: QT528 w/ 520TVL Cameras
"Bought this about 2 months ago. I had been waiting on a system that would record all channels at D1 resolution as well as HD cameras. This system seemed to fit the bill. 8 cameras with 520TVL. Like others have said, running the wires is the most difficult part. It took me a while of playing around to learn the software. I was able to get a friend to access my system remotely, so was able to figure out the port forwarding part too. The night vision is as advertised. 50 feet no problem. My house is about 50ft long and I put one camera at each end pointing towards each other. It looks like I left a light on outside with the 2 cameras infared combining! Reason for only 4 stars is that I found out the female BNC connectors in the mail unit are not of a good quality type. I thought I had lost a channel, but when I touched the wire, it came back. Further investigaton showed that the internal part needed to be tightened up on the male part of the male BNC. I finally resorted to a smal wire nail and was able to push it in beside the female part to tighten the connection up. That was very sort lived as after I moved the system to it's final shelf, the connection was a bit loose again. So, be very careful when plugging and unplugging your cables. Software could probably be a bit better, but does the job. This system is what I needed and so far has done everything it claims. I'm actually having fun with it. Oh, I did purchase an inline microphone for one channel and that works well too. Only thing was that I thought it wasn't working, but found out you have to right click on that channel and click on "enable audio" to activate it."
1 2 next>>