Customer Reviews for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV

VIERA Link™ Wi-Fi Ready 600Hz Sub-field Drive 2nd Year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 of 15(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Review 1 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ftn Vly, CA
Date:December 15, 2011

Fabulous TV

Model Number: Panasonic 1080 Viera
"I wasn't sure what to expect from a web purchase of a TV but the picture is clear, sound is great and we are very happy with the Costco service we received during order and delivery."
Review 2 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Darien, IL
Date:December 8, 2011

quality TV, but lacking some features

Model Number: TC-P50GT25
"Very nice picture, but Panasonic seems to chince on simple things like the TV's clock- you have to set it manually. The 'info' button on the remote does not provide anything in the way of information on the particular show you are watching, other than its title. No guide as to the show's time frame, or what shows are coming on afterward. My cheaper TVs have that. BTW, I'm an antenna user. Otherwise, a great TV."
Review 3 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:california
Date:November 30, 2011

Great deal, Awesome picture

Pros: price vs. quility & size, picture
Cons: only optical audio out no rca audio out.
Model Number: LC-60E69U
"Amazing picture tv overall styling looks great! super thin.
sound is typical of a thin tv unit. will want a sound bar or surround unit.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 26, 2011

Love this TV

Pros: picture, sound, thin screen
"Great picture, great sound, 60" is big and beautiful. I have over forty flat screen Tv's in my business. This is one of the best."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2011

DO NOT BUY A PANASONIC!!!

"Up until about a month ago I would have whole heartedly endorsed Panasonic. I had one for 10 years with happy results. I recently purchased a Plasma, then one of the pixels blew and produced a Green Dot, just enough to distract your view. When I contacted Panasonic, I was told this is normal, the person tried to apply the "the pixels may get brighter or duller" to mean a green dot is normal. Luckily I was able to contact a service company and they came out and confirmed it was a defect. Only now I have a full 5 inch black bar from the top of the screen to the bottom of the screen, slightly more distracting. Doubtful if panasonic is going to replace, wondering if the repair man is going to have to just schedule regular visits. Based on the horrible customer service alone, I would not recommend buying this brand."
4 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville,FL
Date:September 16, 2011

Correction to reviewer TickTock about HDMIs

Pros: picture quality, value, thin tv enclosure
"This TV has 3 HDMI inputs not 2 inputs. 2 are in the back of the set and 1 is on the side. Just wanted to point that out ;) I own this TV and love it!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2011

Good value

Pros: good picture, excellent price, refresh rate for motion video
Cons: 900 lines resolution
"Traded in a much more expensive LCD set for the panasonic plasma. I will say the LCD had a better overall picture, but it displayed serious motion artifacts and picture defects, so I traded the overall better picture for better performance with full motion video. Given I purchased this mainly for sports viewing and not movies, the trade off makes sense for me. I'm happy with it for the price. Much happier than the LCD set."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:September 7, 2011

very good value for money. very good picture

Pros: very good picture for the money, and picture is everything
Cons: no analog only optical audio out
Model Number: panasonic 60 inch plasma
"this is post mitsibushi 65 dlp which was amazing and had died on me, a sharp aquos 60 was returned as the picture was not good. The picture on this tv is really good - way better than the aquos and for the price cant be beat. easy to set up ethernet plugged in and immediately i have netflix.
I must mention though that there is no analog audio out- only optical which is a bummer as i have to get a new amp. also it consumes 50 percent moer power than a equivalent lcd screen"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2011

Solid Performer

Model Number: TC-60PS34
"Surprising at it seems, this is not the very best monitor available.Hard to believe but 9K will buy a better display. It's true.
However, for the price, this is the best value to be found. Just how much difference is there, between this and a 9K model? Not much , to my eye & definitely not enough to justify the higher price.
Odd as it may seem, I do not watch this set, sitting beside a 9K model, so I never notice the slight loss in Image Quality it may have, compared to the more expensive one.
This set is replacing a Pioneer Elite PRO-1410HD 61inch plasma. Among the very best to be had, in 2005. Just watched Planet Earth Blu-ray (Shallow Seas) and was impressed with the sharp, clear and colourful picture displayed.
Speakers are barely adequate but, as stated before, this size display is meant for surround systems. My high priced Pioneer Elite didn't have ANY speakers, so even these low end speakers are an improvement!
Buy the set , knowing what it is, an excellently priced display. One that will provide impressive imagery, yet not empty the wallet. Would an ST30, GT30 or VT30 give a better image?
Yes, without a doubt. there will be a noticeable improvement. Slight, but noticeable. Again, how often do you plan on viewing this model, while it is placed side-by-side one of them?
Oh yeah, there ar eonly 2 HDMi, on back. One more HDMI, on the side. No DLNA or youtube video watching (GOSH!). This model will not act as a servor, for your internet business, either. Nor will it wash the dishes. It's just a terificly priced Display and among the very best value to be found, for the size of the display, to be found anywhere.
Costco 2 yr warranty and, for $99 a Fair Trade warranty for an additional 3, bringing total warranty to 5 years? I could not find a better deal and I tried."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fox Island, WA
Date:August 31, 2011

Nice TV---Resolution question answered

Pros: fantastic picture, a great price with costco service
Cons: 2 hdmi inputs
Model Number: TC-60PS34
"The previous reviewer is confusing Native resolution (this TV IS 1080p) with Moving resolution. Yes this Tv displays only 900 liines with a MOVING image versus a static image of 1080. Do your homework and you will see this is great resolution and a fantastic picture. However, the previous reviewer is correct that this set only has 2 HDMI inputs in the rear. A deal breaker for me. I was really sold on this TV but there is no way I can live with 2 HDMI inputs (again!!)."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2011

good price, but low-end plasma

"Motion picture resolution is only 900 lines (check the spec sheet on Panasonic's web site). Also, there are only 2 rear HDMI inputs."
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:August 29, 2011

Best Deal Out There for a 60'' 600Hz Plasma

Pros: price, 600hz refresh rate, plasma - cinematic replication, panasonic product, 2-year costco warranty, 1080p blu-rays look amazing!!!
Cons: no thx setting, speakers are rather weak, not 3d
Model Number: TC-60PS34
"This is the best deal out there for a 60'' plasma with a 600Hz refresh rate. The image quality is amazing, especially with Blu-Ray/1080P content. The beauty of plasma TV's are their ability to closely replicate film presentation in a movie theater - the colors are vibrant and the darks are dark just like the filmmakers intended. The first movie I watched on this plasma was The Dark Knight - the ideal Blu-Ray to test the image quality - highlights, darks, colors, etc. For the non geeks out there, 600Hz rating refers to the image refresh rate (which usually comes into play with images having motion and, in particular, sporting events, action scenes, etc) and for the price you won't find a better deal as most TV's in this price range are only 240Hz - a slower refresh rate that can cause ghosting of the image. I've looked at every TV out there and in my opinion the LEDs and even the LCD's are too bright and make images (like movies) look too bright - sometimes appearing as if they were shot on video. I can think of only 3 minor negatives: 1) the speakers are weak - fine for news and sitcom viewing - but with a great TV like this you really need a surround sound system anyway - especially for watching movies, 2) There is not a THX setting (but it's not a THX certified TV) - check tweaktv.com for picture setting info, 3) This plasma is not 3D - but you'd pay at least $2000 & up for a 3D plasma of this size. To sum it all up - I love this TV - I love the price - and I love the Costco 2-year warranty! ...and I paid via American Express, which extends the warranty to 3 years!"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:coal region, pa
Date:August 25, 2011

perfect picture

Pros: picture clarity
Cons: none
"I held off on buying this tv until I read the 2nd review. The picture on this tv is incredible. I added a sound bar, so I cant comment on what the audio is like, but this is the best tv for the price I have seen anywhere."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:August 11, 2011

Best bang for the buck.

Pros: picture, value, user controls
Cons: menu lag time
"The main purpose here is to counteract the one star review due to the TVs default setting of 100% contrast. I had been on the fence with this TV simply because of the one star rating it received here. I saw it in our store and it looked fantastic. I finally actually read the review and that sealed it for me. Picked one up and I'm very pleased. This is our 3rd HD TV and it is every bit as good as our others... even more so. The room we have it in runs the spectum for lighting from very dark to flushed with light. The plasma display performs wonderfully in all lighting, something our LCDs sometimes have trouble with.
Menus are set up very well and are easy to navigate and understand. The only drawback I've found thus far has been in the menu. It lags a little bit when returning to previous menus. Of course, in the grand scheme of things, after it's set, how often are you going to need to make adjustments?
In short, it's an excellent TV, especially for the price. Go to the store and check em out. And FWIW... if a TV doesn't look great, see if the remote is available to adjust the picture. An ugly ducking on display may actually be a maladjusted swan."
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic 60" Class 1080p Viera™ Plasma HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2011

Mfgr's Default Setting is Faulty!

"When resetting this TV to the manufacturer's default setting, the contrast goes to 100%: this makes the picture too dark."
0 of 59 people found this review helpful.