Customer Reviews for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop

Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The Shark Professional Steam Pocket Mop lets you deep clean and sanitize all your hard floor surfaces. Featuring Intelligent Steam Control, the Professional Steam Pocket Mop provides continuous steam delivery and 3 settings of steam for all your cleaning needs. Features: 3 Settings of Intelligent Steam Control: Dust, Mop & Scrub   3 Interchangeable Heads - Triangle, Rectangle and XL Heads   99.9% Sanitization   4 All-Purpose Cleaning Pockets   Dimensions: 12" L x 5.9" W x 51.2" D   Weight: 4.85 lbs. Model: S3601CO / 569653
Average Customer Rating:
2.844 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
8
13 of 32(41%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Review 1 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago area, IL
Date:October 21, 2013

Makes washing the floor easier than ever

Pros: easier than washing on your hands and knees
Cons: microfiber cloths wear out around the attachment
Model Number: S3501
"This is the best invention ever! I'm in my mid 50's, have tile floors and hate washing my floor on my hands and knees! I use the microfiber cloths and first wet them and wring them out well. I have 3 dogs so I really need to "wash" the floor and have to wash it 2 or 3 times before I feel it's really clean. I rinse the cloth in between and use a clean one on the final wash. Stick to using distilled water otherwise your mop with gunk up from the minerals in the water (just like an iron). My neighbor bought hers at the same time as me, I use distilled water, she didn't. Mine is still working and hers plugged up. Save yourself aggravation and stick to distilled water and you will love this as much as I do. Oh, and my microfiber cloths wore down around the base where you attach it. I just took an old towel and cut pieces out and zigzag sewed it onto the cloth and it's still functional instead of buying new cloths (from Shark's website). Lastly, don't leave water in it otherwise it starts to smell musty or you can leave the cap off, just store it somewhere you know you'll find it."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburg, CA
Date:February 28, 2014

love this product

Pros: cleans great, easy to use, light weight, stores good
Model Number: S3601CO
"cleans my floors great, no cemicals to add, just water, I usually spray my floors with pinesol and mop away with my new Shark Steam mop"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014

Leaves Film with Plain Water

Pros: can take it back to costco
Cons: leaves the entire floor looking worse than it did.
"We have sealed oak hardwood floors. Thought this would be great for cleaning the floors with plain water that dries very quickly (like everyone recommends). The dirt comes up but this leaves a dull hazy film on the floor that only can be buffed away on my hands and knees square foot by square foot. Once people start walking on it, especially barefoot, there are tracks all over. The haze might as well be mud."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA
Date:July 26, 2012

Love the Shark Mop!

Pros: cleans great, no cleanser required
Cons: must use distilled water for long term reliability
"I read the other reviews and felt like I needed to write a positive review. I have had the Shark Mop for several years now and in fact now I have 2. I love it. It cleans great, is great at getting off sticky things, dries fast, and the best part is no smelly cleansers are required.
You absolutely have to use filtered water at a minimum, or distilled water preferably. I used filtered water only on my first one and it lasted about 2 years before the problems with the steam not coming out that others mentioned - and my handy husband took it apart and found that some of the plastic parts were clogged with deposits and was able to fix it and put it back together. So now I only use distilled water."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:July 15, 2013

Works great!

Pros: great on tile & hardwood!
"I've had this mop for almost a year now. It works great on my tile kitchen, bathrooms, and laundry room floors! I also use it on my hardwood in my foyer & family room. The pad is white when I start in my kitchen & is filthy after I'm done...even when flipping half way through. It has worked exactly as described for me! I always use purified water & wash the pads separately...hang them to dry. The pads never shrunk & always fit perfectly."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, Fl
Date:May 9, 2013

Steam rises...

Pros: best for floors that don't get very dirty., eliminates the need for expensive cleaning product
Cons: most of the steam is lost out of the top., poor durability.
"This was the third and last Shark product I will own. With white tile floors and three kids, things get pretty dirty. So I need something reliable, fast, and effective.
-As I've found with other Shark steam products, if you want to clean immediately, damping the pad first is a must. Otherwise it takes too long for the steam to start wetting the pad for effective cleaning. Of course that will mean your floors will take a bit longer to dry, but I don't mind. They still dry reasonably fast.
- I like that you can flip the mop head over and have a clean surface to clean with. However, this convenience leads to my biggest complaint.
- The ability flip the mop head means that there is nothing forcing the steam to go DOWN and towards the floor. A small amount of steam reaches the floor, but most of the steam just rises out the top of the mop head. The top side was always wetter then the bottom side I was cleaning with, and I'd have to flip again. (Had the Shark "Vac then Steam" previously, which forced MUCH more steam towards the floor for much better cleaning power, though it had it's own issues.)
- Finally, as with all three Shark products I've owned, the durability is awful! This particular product did not have parts break off if it accidentally slipped from where I propped it or the cord was pulled and it fell over. However, every single one I had stopped functioning altogether in less than a year. Lucky for me, this one quit one day before my 1 year warranty and I was able to return it to Costco for a full refund.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 17, 2012

Short-lived Greatness

Pros: washable cloths, safe for use around children & animals, no chemicals, extra long cord
Cons: short life span
"The Shark Professional was my first steam mop and I loved it in the beginning. It worked very well, cleaned my hardwoods and vinyl floors without leaving streaks and dried in no time. After a year of use, the mop head would not heat up and left big puddles of water on the floor. We do not have hard water, but I did try taking it apart to clean any possible deposits that may have been clogging it with, no luck.
I am disappointed to have spent the money for only a year's worth of use. I'm going to try another steam mop...just a different brand."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2012

Big waste of money

"I loved this contraption...while it was working. Like another reviewer on here...If I could give it zero stars, I would have. It seems that every Shark product I purchase has a limited lifespan. I bought the handheld steamer and it lasted maybe 12 uses before dying. This one was a bit better, with maybe 2 dozen uses. I love the steam mop idea, and will purchase another one...JUST NOT A SHARK PRODUCT!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:January 12, 2013

Works as described

Pros: quick to assemble, heats fast, can use the wide sponge to clean large areas fast, works good on tile floors
Cons: floor doesn't shine after first clean
"I purchased this today at my local COSTCO store. It took me less than minutes to assemble.
I wanted to test it on my tile floor without doing anything to it. I have to admit that I could sit in a chair and the mop glided without any issues across the floor."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 27, 2013

Just pushes the dirt around

Pros: good for quick go over
Cons: pushes dirt around, broke after minimal usage, put lots of humidity in the air which caused mold.
Model Number: S3601
"I had this for about 2 years. I only bought it because the motor on my hoover floormate burnt out. It doesn't do anything but push the dirt around as I thought it would. We used it for quick cleaning once or twice a month (I since fixed the hoover and use that much more often), so about 20-40 times for 1/2 hour each time, total use maybe 10-20 hours of use. Now it's broke, leaking water all over the place and the motor sounds sick."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:August 24, 2012

Okay

"Mop cleans hardwood floors well. Dries super quick. The big bummer is the cost of the replacement mop pads. The only place I could find to purchase them was at the website for Shark. One pad cost $12 plus $6 shipping."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 28, 2013

Worst piece of garbage ever

Pros: great for taking your frustrations out in garage
Cons: everything no steam drips water, nothing but junk
Model Number: S3601CO / 569653
"This piece of junk starts out great then after two or things times of use, there is no steam, but there are plenty of drops of water I have to clean up with a towel. This is garbage. I would not buy anything made from this company. Buyer beware."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2012

stinks!

Cons: does not work
"if i could give this no stars, i would. bought this at our Costco store thinking it would be great for our laminate floor. tried to use it, but it didn't do ANYTHING. oh, it steamed alright, but it barely got any dirt off the floor at all. my husband went behind it with a wet white cloth and nothing but dirt and grime came up even after steaming it on the highest setting! we took it back promptly. the lady at returns said she has a lot of them returned. awful awful product that does not do what it claims."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 30, 2012

I expected more

Pros: lightweight heats water fast, good for picking up dust
Cons: does not pick up stains from tile floor, does not clean grout
"This mop is easy to use, lightweight and heats the water fast, however it's only good for picking up just dust from tile floors. If there is any type of stains, it does NOT pick them up even if I insist and go over it many times. I will use it to do the light maintenance but I will still need the good old fashioned mop and bucket to clean grout and the tile every so often."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tennessee
Date:December 31, 2012

Works well small flaw

Pros: cleans well, good price
Cons: mop head shrinks slightly after washing
"I have used this steam mop for over 1 year. You must use distilled water or purified water. The water reservoir cap must be turned snugly to avoid streaks. The only flaw is that after washing the mop pad, it shrinks so that it is very difficult to attach the velcro fasteners. The mop head stays on however. I now have 2 of these mops."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 30, 2013

Not a fan, returned after 2m

Pros: inexpensive (purchase price), cost to use (no cleaning solution/ pad refills), lightweight, chemical-free cleaning
Cons: hard work to push around, no way to safely lean/prop/rest it mid-job, flimsy-feeling, cool-down time, can't use on non-horizontal surfaces
Model Number: Model: S3601CO / 569653
"This was not a good solution for us (~900 sq ft semi-matte solid bamboo in kitchen/ LR/ halls). This was exhausting to push around on the wood floors (it might be easier on shiny/ smooth hard surface floors; my friends with tile LOVE this thing). Wood floors dried hazy/ dull/ streaked-looking and didn't feel clean or smooth underfoot even after trying all the recommendations from Shark and the interwebs. On the uneven slate floors, I had better results: floors looked fresher and felt clean, but this is a pretty easy job anyway. I might have kept this just for bathrooms if it had some sort of way to use it on non-horizontal surfaces, but enh. Not THAT impressed. I've tried 4 or 5 different hard floor machines and none can beat my leaky old Spinscrub (so I just ordered a new Spinscrub today!!)."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Silverdale Wa
Date:June 2, 2012

At first I loved it

"For the first four months I had this mop I loved it. It steamed wonderful and did a great job cleaning then it stopped steaming. Then I got another one and after a few months it stopped steaming too so I am now looking for a new steam mop."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brighton, MI
Date:January 10, 2013

A Dream come true

"I have dust allergies, a toddler, and a large dog - this mop is fantastic! We have mostly all hardwood or tile in our home. I use it regularly and love the clean feeling on the floors. Definitely helps my allergies and I love having clean floors. With a little one on them constantly, I need my floors really clean. Common Sense Clue: this product is NOT for cleaning up sticky spills! If you spill a sticky liquid on the floor, use a towel to clean it up! It is fantastic for keeping clean floors for those with allergies, little ones, and pets (or you just love clean floors). You only use filtered/or distilled water - which is recommended by Shark - so no chemicals to worry about!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oak Park, CA
Date:September 13, 2012

Thought it would replace a real floor mop...

Pros: compact light weight easy to use
Cons: didn't clean up the floor issue
Model Number: S3601CO
"...but it didn't. We bought one this week with the immediate task of cleaning up some spilled sugar water in the kitchen area used for the hummingbird feeder. After several attempts in the high 'scrub' position, the unit did not clean the floor nor the stickiness. I contacted Shark directly, and the representative's response was that it may require using a vinegar and water solution with some elbow grease. Perhaps the unit would be good for general light cleaning but didn't cut it with this challenge. The unit is being returned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 29, 2013

Big disappointment

Cons: not reliable and doesn't deliver what it says
"I purchased this steam/vac (not from Costco) over a year ago. The steam part pooped out after 3 months and doesn't work at all. The vacuum works ok, but the product was a major disappointment. Even when the steam did work, it really didn't "clean" my kitchen floor. I still could rub dirt off with a damp rag."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>