Customer Reviews for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop

Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The Shark Professional Steam Pocket Mop lets you deep clean and sanitize all your hard floor surfaces. Featuring Intelligent Steam Control, the Professional Steam Pocket Mop provides continuous steam delivery and 3 settings of steam for all your cleaning needs. Features: 3 Settings of Intelligent Steam Control: Dust, Mop & Scrub   3 Interchangeable Heads - Triangle, Rectangle and XL Heads   99.9% Sanitization   4 All-Purpose Cleaning Pockets   Dimensions: 12" L x 5.9" W x 51.2" D   Weight: 4.85 lbs. Model: S3601CO / 569653
Average Customer Rating:
3.147 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
6
16 of 34(47%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Review 1 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 14, 2014

Dog breeder ... Best Tile Floor cleaner EVER

Pros: no dirty water left on floor like mopping, ease of use, fantastic cleaning, versatile for damp mopping & heavy cleaning, safe for kids & dogs without chemical cleaners
Cons: velcro on pads wears out, pads shrink after dozens of washings, hard to find replacement pads at some stores
"I breed large Alaskan Malamutes, hairy 100 lb dogs and they live in the house. I couldn't live without my Shark cleaner.
I had the purple one first & it stopped working after about a year of almost daily HEAVY use. I've had the next generation white model for a couple of years now.
For major cleaning, I soak the pads in water & some floor cleaner in the sink (Mr Clean, white vinegar, bleach). For quick damp mopping, I just get the pads wet first.
My dogs slobber, track in dirt, drop bones, etc.. and young pups even have accidents. It's soooo easy to clean up the floor on a daily basis.
I have had zero problems like others who mentioned. Tile Floor doesn't streak or leave a film, no water leaks, steam works all the time. But I sweep/swiffer the floor first to get up excess dirt. My only complaint is that the pads wear out after a while & the tons of times I've washed them.
I couldn't live without this... I've recommended it to all my breeder friends.
I don't know how it works on wood but wouldn't use it on laminate as steam eventually will cause damage to laminate"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego CA
Date:May 1, 2014

Very satisfied

Pros: glides over tile floors
Cons: don't have one
Model Number: S3601CO
"Warned by a friend to use only distilled water in the Steam Pocket mop and the high steam setting while cleaning my porcelain tile floors, this unit works beautifully. Lightweight, easy to use and takes up little room in the broom closet. A chore that usually wears me out has become much easier. The different shaped heads are very helpful."
Review 3 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hanover Park, IL
Date:April 26, 2014

Poor performance

Pros: great price
Cons: doesn't do the job!
"This product was not dependable. Lasted only about 15-20 uses. Though you have to dust your floor first before using this shark or your simply going to push the dust around and streak your floors. On de streaked, it's even tougher to clean up. The steam is not evenly distributed. Using this product gave me more work than its design intent."
Review 4 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Gabriel, CA
Date:April 21, 2014

LOVE this mop

Pros: easy to use does a great job
Cons: none
Model Number: Professional
"I've had this mop for 3 years and LOVE it! It’s light weight and easy to use. Does a great job with little effort. Add distilled water, heats up quickly and mop. Wash the cleaning cover in the washer, ready for next time. One person said it leaves a residue, huh; it uses water, no residue. Comes with different size attachments. I fortunately got mine on sale but would buy it for full price."
Review 5 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Olympia WA
Date:April 17, 2014

Disappointed

Pros: good reviews on shark
Cons: arrived from costco broken!
"I was looking forward to receiving and using the Shark; however, it arrived with a broken part of the handle (where the cord wraps for storage). The broken piece was nicely wrapped in plastic and stuffed in the box with the cleaner. It was not damaged during UPS shipping; must have been returned to Costco, damaged, and then it went out to me. Poor QA, Costco. But I ordered a Haan floor cleaner and it arrived today, all in good shape. Will try it out tomorrow."
Review 6 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburg, CA
Date:February 28, 2014

love this product

Pros: cleans great, easy to use, light weight, stores good
Model Number: S3601CO
"cleans my floors great, no cemicals to add, just water, I usually spray my floors with pinesol and mop away with my new Shark Steam mop"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014

Leaves Film with Plain Water

Pros: can take it back to costco
Cons: leaves the entire floor looking worse than it did.
"We have sealed oak hardwood floors. Thought this would be great for cleaning the floors with plain water that dries very quickly (like everyone recommends). The dirt comes up but this leaves a dull hazy film on the floor that only can be buffed away on my hands and knees square foot by square foot. Once people start walking on it, especially barefoot, there are tracks all over. The haze might as well be mud."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 27, 2013

Just pushes the dirt around

Pros: good for quick go over
Cons: pushes dirt around, broke after minimal usage, put lots of humidity in the air which caused mold.
Model Number: S3601
"I had this for about 2 years. I only bought it because the motor on my hoover floormate burnt out. It doesn't do anything but push the dirt around as I thought it would. We used it for quick cleaning once or twice a month (I since fixed the hoover and use that much more often), so about 20-40 times for 1/2 hour each time, total use maybe 10-20 hours of use. Now it's broke, leaking water all over the place and the motor sounds sick."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago area, IL
Date:October 21, 2013

Makes washing the floor easier than ever

Pros: easier than washing on your hands and knees
Cons: microfiber cloths wear out around the attachment
Model Number: S3501
"This is the best invention ever! I'm in my mid 50's, have tile floors and hate washing my floor on my hands and knees! I use the microfiber cloths and first wet them and wring them out well. I have 3 dogs so I really need to "wash" the floor and have to wash it 2 or 3 times before I feel it's really clean. I rinse the cloth in between and use a clean one on the final wash. Stick to using distilled water otherwise your mop with gunk up from the minerals in the water (just like an iron). My neighbor bought hers at the same time as me, I use distilled water, she didn't. Mine is still working and hers plugged up. Save yourself aggravation and stick to distilled water and you will love this as much as I do. Oh, and my microfiber cloths wore down around the base where you attach it. I just took an old towel and cut pieces out and zigzag sewed it onto the cloth and it's still functional instead of buying new cloths (from Shark's website). Lastly, don't leave water in it otherwise it starts to smell musty or you can leave the cap off, just store it somewhere you know you'll find it."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington, TX
Date:September 6, 2013

LOVE IT!!!

Pros: visible water level, multiple mop head options, very long cord to reach throughout entire room, thin mop head to reach shallow places, mop head can be flipped to use both sides
Cons: wish it was detachable to use on cabinets/shower
Model Number: S3601
"I just purchased this steam mop today and I LOVE IT! I will wait and see what happens regarding some of the other experiences consumers had with it not producing steam after a short time, but it blasted out steam for me and got all of my floors cleaner than they have been in ages. I love the different attachment heads and how thin the mop head is, even allowing you to get under the stove and fridge. I did take the suggestion of another consumer and dampened the mop head with warm water before I attached it. Worked perfectly!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013

STOPPED WORKING

"Bought it with excitement. Used it for a month or so with excitement. Disappointed. After a few uses, the steam stopped steaming. Another one of those that I have to toss out! I loved the Shark vacuum cleaner though. That one works and works well and wondrously. This one doesn't! Sadly!"
Review 12 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 29, 2013

Big disappointment

Cons: not reliable and doesn't deliver what it says
"I purchased this steam/vac (not from Costco) over a year ago. The steam part pooped out after 3 months and doesn't work at all. The vacuum works ok, but the product was a major disappointment. Even when the steam did work, it really didn't "clean" my kitchen floor. I still could rub dirt off with a damp rag."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:July 15, 2013

Works great!

Pros: great on tile & hardwood!
"I've had this mop for almost a year now. It works great on my tile kitchen, bathrooms, and laundry room floors! I also use it on my hardwood in my foyer & family room. The pad is white when I start in my kitchen & is filthy after I'm done...even when flipping half way through. It has worked exactly as described for me! I always use purified water & wash the pads separately...hang them to dry. The pads never shrunk & always fit perfectly."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, Fl
Date:May 9, 2013

Steam rises...

Pros: best for floors that don't get very dirty., eliminates the need for expensive cleaning product
Cons: most of the steam is lost out of the top., poor durability.
"This was the third and last Shark product I will own. With white tile floors and three kids, things get pretty dirty. So I need something reliable, fast, and effective.
-As I've found with other Shark steam products, if you want to clean immediately, damping the pad first is a must. Otherwise it takes too long for the steam to start wetting the pad for effective cleaning. Of course that will mean your floors will take a bit longer to dry, but I don't mind. They still dry reasonably fast.
- I like that you can flip the mop head over and have a clean surface to clean with. However, this convenience leads to my biggest complaint.
- The ability flip the mop head means that there is nothing forcing the steam to go DOWN and towards the floor. A small amount of steam reaches the floor, but most of the steam just rises out the top of the mop head. The top side was always wetter then the bottom side I was cleaning with, and I'd have to flip again. (Had the Shark "Vac then Steam" previously, which forced MUCH more steam towards the floor for much better cleaning power, though it had it's own issues.)
- Finally, as with all three Shark products I've owned, the durability is awful! This particular product did not have parts break off if it accidentally slipped from where I propped it or the cord was pulled and it fell over. However, every single one I had stopped functioning altogether in less than a year. Lucky for me, this one quit one day before my 1 year warranty and I was able to return it to Costco for a full refund.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 30, 2013

Not a fan, returned after 2m

Pros: inexpensive (purchase price), cost to use (no cleaning solution/ pad refills), lightweight, chemical-free cleaning
Cons: hard work to push around, no way to safely lean/prop/rest it mid-job, flimsy-feeling, cool-down time, can't use on non-horizontal surfaces
Model Number: Model: S3601CO / 569653
"This was not a good solution for us (~900 sq ft semi-matte solid bamboo in kitchen/ LR/ halls). This was exhausting to push around on the wood floors (it might be easier on shiny/ smooth hard surface floors; my friends with tile LOVE this thing). Wood floors dried hazy/ dull/ streaked-looking and didn't feel clean or smooth underfoot even after trying all the recommendations from Shark and the interwebs. On the uneven slate floors, I had better results: floors looked fresher and felt clean, but this is a pretty easy job anyway. I might have kept this just for bathrooms if it had some sort of way to use it on non-horizontal surfaces, but enh. Not THAT impressed. I've tried 4 or 5 different hard floor machines and none can beat my leaky old Spinscrub (so I just ordered a new Spinscrub today!!)."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2013

Last 3 to 6 months.

Pros: love to clean with the shark
Cons: only good for a few months
"This is the second Shark steamer in one year. Other than durability love the mop."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:January 12, 2013

Works as described

Pros: quick to assemble, heats fast, can use the wide sponge to clean large areas fast, works good on tile floors
Cons: floor doesn't shine after first clean
"I purchased this today at my local COSTCO store. It took me less than minutes to assemble.
I wanted to test it on my tile floor without doing anything to it. I have to admit that I could sit in a chair and the mop glided without any issues across the floor."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brighton, MI
Date:January 10, 2013

A Dream come true

"I have dust allergies, a toddler, and a large dog - this mop is fantastic! We have mostly all hardwood or tile in our home. I use it regularly and love the clean feeling on the floors. Definitely helps my allergies and I love having clean floors. With a little one on them constantly, I need my floors really clean. Common Sense Clue: this product is NOT for cleaning up sticky spills! If you spill a sticky liquid on the floor, use a towel to clean it up! It is fantastic for keeping clean floors for those with allergies, little ones, and pets (or you just love clean floors). You only use filtered/or distilled water - which is recommended by Shark - so no chemicals to worry about!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tennessee
Date:December 31, 2012

Works well small flaw

Pros: cleans well, good price
Cons: mop head shrinks slightly after washing
"I have used this steam mop for over 1 year. You must use distilled water or purified water. The water reservoir cap must be turned snugly to avoid streaks. The only flaw is that after washing the mop pad, it shrinks so that it is very difficult to attach the velcro fasteners. The mop head stays on however. I now have 2 of these mops."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shark® Professional Steam Pocket® Mop
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 30, 2012

I expected more

Pros: lightweight heats water fast, good for picking up dust
Cons: does not pick up stains from tile floor, does not clean grout
"This mop is easy to use, lightweight and heats the water fast, however it's only good for picking up just dust from tile floors. If there is any type of stains, it does NOT pick them up even if I insist and go over it many times. I will use it to do the light maintenance but I will still need the good old fashioned mop and bucket to clean grout and the tile every so often."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>