Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1

Tegra 2 Processor 1GB DDR2 Memory 1080p Video Playback Front & Rear Camera
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(826 Reviews) 826
(out of 826 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (826 reviews)
5 stars
566
4 stars
200
3 stars
31
2 stars
16
1 star
13
714 of 760(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:March 26, 2012

Thought it was great until....

Pros: lightweight, thin, greta display
Cons: overall mediocre performance
Model Number: Galaxy Tab 10.1-16
"I bought my Samsung Galaxay Tab 10.1 from my local Costco (which we love) about 60 days ago. Seemed to run well with a few annoying problems but I figured it was the same with all tablets.
Unfortunately for Samsung my daughter insisted on an Apple iPad 2 which we bought about a week ago.
As a test I did some very simple "side by side" comparisons and the iPad 2 destroyed the Galaxy on every one. Screen rotation...Galaxay was minimum 3 seconds behind the iPad 2 and the Galaxay often was confused on which way to flip. Transistions from screen to screen on the iPad 2 are smooth and seamless, on the Galaxay screen transitions often jerk and hang for seconds as you swipe from one to the other. In addition the Galaxy has a difficult time handling more than one or two apps runnning simultaneously and destabilizes pretty rapidly."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa
Date:July 1, 2011

A leader in tablet

Pros: samsung design bright sharp screen flash ergono, all the files light just want to hold it.
Cons: none
Model Number: Samsung Galaxy Tablet 10.1"
"Hi
First, let me say I had an iPad. Sold!
Now, I have read every comparison, reviews on the Net before buying Samsung Galaxy 10". I knew what I was buying. And let me tell you, this tablet is the best one out there! A new leader in Tablet is here! Design makes you want to hold it, the screen is bright and sharp. It is light. It plays flash videos. And handles all the many files of msn Word, excel and Power Point. Perfect for a high school, a college student.
An iPad can not do this. I have been a fan of Samsung for awhile, the company is dominant in Asia and Europe. Here, in US, it will be the top World electronics company in 2-3 yrs. (Sony is in financial trouble). It truly is ahead of iPad2 in capabilities. iPad fans point out, apps are fewer than apple. But is 200,000 apps for Galaxy not enough for you? How many apps do you really need? Ridiculous. Samsung galaxy tablet is awesome! Get it! It will only get better!
"
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:November 28, 2011

Great tablet, but it may be good to wait

Pros: light, beautiful screen, snappy performance, elegantly designed, works great with netflix streaming video
Cons: expensive, poor update support, no microsd card slot or usb port., new tegra 3 tablets coming out in a few weeks
Model Number: 16 GB
"I've tried several different Android tablets. For me, because I own an Android phone, Android tablets are what work best. Of all of the tablets I've tried, the Samsung is generally the best engineered. It is thinner, lighter and in many cases faster than other tablets with similar specifications. However, you also pay a premium for that of around $60 to $100.
Additionally, the new Tegra 3 based tablets are coming out in early December. For a price equal to what you pay now for this Samsung tablet, you can buy a tablet by ASUS for the same price that has triple the processing power, much better graphics display capabilities and a very good screen. This new tablet is thinner and lighter than this Samsung tablet, faster, provides better graphics abilities, browses the web faster, and so on.
Finally, Samsung is not the best at providing operating system updates for their devices. They normally provide updates to Android well after other tablet makers have updated their software. This wouldn't be an issue if the updates were bug free, but that is not always the case. For instance, the latest Android 3.2 update provided by Samsung initially bricked some tablets and removed the ability to access the web. The update, to Samsung's credit, was pulled until the problems were fixed, about a week later."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kailua, HI
Date:July 25, 2011

Galaxy 10.1 Tablet 16g

Pros: the one to buy
Cons: none
Model Number: Galaxy Tab 10.1 16gb
"It is slick, light weight and very easy to use. There are loads of various Apps available (though not all may work properly with Honeycomb). I have had it a week or so with no major complaints or problems. It looks to be keeper.
Only the 16gb model was available when I placed order. So far it seems more than ample, but I may want to upgrade to 32gbs. Time and usage will tell.
Contrary to some reviews there is no need for lots of extra built-in ports. The charger cable's USP connects to any computer for side-loading. Optional port connection accessories are available.
Battery life is very good and screen resolution is excellent (which is expected from Samsung). Sound is good, for its size. but not great,
Would highly recommend buying a leather/vinyl case which makes it much easier to hold and handle.
This one is a direct competitor to the iPad. This is the ‘One’ for non-Apple users.
"
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Love IT

"Ok people when they came out with the tablets, it wasn't designed to take the place of your main computer....It's more for surfing the web, movies, emails and music. its not your desk top or your laptop.....so if that's what your wanting, than stick to your laptop....I do all my work on my laptop, my tablets is for play..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia
Date:September 12, 2011

Exactly as described

Pros: drag and drop easiness, battery life is pretty good, great screen resolution
Cons: just a large phone., word functionality, no expandable memory option
Model Number: Galaxy Tab 10.1
"I bought this for a trip to test out and see how much I'd actually use it.
Honestly, these tablets right now are just oversized phones. Anyone that says otherwise, please ask them to explain what makes them different... there ISN'T a difference.
I first had an ipad and liked it but found myself wanting more advanced functionality. I thought this may provide a bit more but it's the same as an ipad just a little quicker and much better screen for movies
.
It's a great product for playing games with larger screen and watching movies while on trips.
It's also great that it's quick to turn on and very long battery life. I watched 2 HD movies on it along with a few hours of games and still had over half the battery life remaining.
However a few of the negatives:
1. No expansion for memory.
2. No way to load photos from digital cameras onto the pad without first putting them on a standard computer.
I liked to have dinner with friends and family and review vacation photos but it makes you have to drag and drop them.
I do love the drag/drop feature that the galaxy allows. Easily lets me transfer 1 or 2 movies or even songs very quickly.
Samsung even gives an option on whether to convert or leave it full quality. (some of my movies are 5gb in size and look amazing on the tab).
My phone hooked up to the tv with hdmi cable ($4) and bluetooth kb ($25) do everything this does and has expandable memory (Currently 40gb total)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:January 23, 2012

My View of the Galaxy 10.1 Tablet

Pros: bright display light weight easy to use, quality construction long battery life
Cons: none to date
Model Number: Galaxy Tab 10.1
"This tablet is everything I wanted it to be. It has a bright display, is light weight and easy to use. It is perfect for checking on emails, browsing the web, reading newspapers or books or magazines anywhere in the house or out on the patio. It is very convenient and appears to have excellent build quality. You can add the use of an SD card and USB flash drive with an adapter. It just works great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yorba Linda, CA
Date:August 20, 2011

iPad Like

Pros: light thin easy to use - open architecture
Cons: seems to be slow at times when changing screens
Model Number: Galaxy 16GB 10.1
"The look and feel physically is like the iPad, slightly thinner and slightly lighter. The screen resolution is higher.
I enjoy the open Android platform which automatically sync'ed with my Google contacts, calendar and gmail.
Samsung provides a nicely customized version of the Andriod platform to differentiate it from other Andriod tablets."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Date:January 9, 2012

Love this tablet

"We've had the 7 inch Galaxy Tablet for over a year and it has been great! Mom is 88 and is on it most of the day...No complaints...so I just bought the 10 inch Galaxy - just for me...love the Galaxy tablets...and Costco's guarantee."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, CA
Date:November 20, 2011

DO NOT BUY

Pros: none
Cons: can't play netflix, too slippery, low volume, too reflective outdoor, pricey
Model Number: CE168
"The thing can't even play Netflix, the sound would play way ahead of the video.
Clearly this is a design copy from the Ipad, i walk down the street and people keep calling it an Ipad.
I regret buying this product so much. The cheap plastic is terrible. The Ipad is aluminum, Samsung uses some sort of metal imitation plastic.
It's extremely slippery, so be careful, hold it tight.
It doesn't work well outdoor.
The product is too pricey for what it can do(or lack of)
You are better off buying a laptop.
It crashed on me a few times.
If you play wit it for more than 4 hours, the thing would freeze and slow down.
"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, State
Date:January 27, 2012

Samsung Galaxy 16GB

Pros: built-in speakers bright display durable realis, none
Model Number: 7510mayab
"I brought this at the costco and man I just love this tablet. I didn't want to spent the money on a ipad so this was the next best one to get. I do have a 11.1 laptop that I do use also and this is not ready to replace the laptop because on the amount of memory and hd you get but along with your laptop this is "AWESOME". I'm a Pastor at my church and my wife tell me that I can use this for my sermon but not yet. I use this for checking my email, surf the web etc this tablet is off the chart."
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfield, CT
Date:August 2, 2011

Great Tablet

Pros: light and sturdy beautiful colors on screen.
Cons: manual not very good.
Model Number: 10.1 16G
"Light, yet sturdy and well made. Starts right up and thousands of apps. Bright screen even in full sun, and colors are brilliant. Almost a laptop replacement. Only problem was I had to upload latest version of Flash before several programs would run, including my email, and nothing in instructions about that. Battery life has been very good. Manual not very helpful, but once you play with it, it's quite intuitive. I never had a tablet or smartphone before, but find the Galaxy easy to use."
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Discovery Bay, CA
Date:August 31, 2011

Wife likes it, I don't !

Cons: poor design for a usb adaptor, won't accept my bluetooth only wifi
Model Number: Galaxy 16 gb - 10 "
"This is a nice running tablet. It is fast and very thin, lite weight. Runs most android apps. If I needed another Tablet, I would stay away from this one. To watch my Tv on it, I have to keep it upright, same with movies. It should have a USB port, and it should be in a convienient position, either on the side or on top, not on the bottom. Using the USB adaptor, I can not rest it on a flat table, as it stick out 6 inches from the bottom."
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:colorado
Date:July 26, 2011

so sad

Pros: nice resolution
Cons: software bugs
Model Number: Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
"I have the ipad 2 and love it but cannot do flash video. Bought the Samsung Tab to bridge the gap and one week into the trial the tab started buzzing and froze up permanently. Samsung tech support deemed it defective and offered to have a service call but we opted to return it instead. It was good while it lasted (6 days) butnot nearly as fast or smooth as the Ipad 2."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2011

mediocre product

"This is only a mediocre tablet and priced too high; looks cheap and does not feel good in hand; text ink looks dirty and gritty, making eyes feel strained; many of the apps do not work at all; went dead after only a month's use; movies and videos are bad; I think my time was wasted downloading and installing the apps and gettig them running; I lost my data."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlantic Beach, FL
Date:August 16, 2011

Super Tablet!

Pros: thin, light, long battery life, great screen resolution, many apps available
Cons: no integrated usb port
Model Number: GT-P7501
"Got this for my wife. She loves it and I think it's great too. Easy and intuitive to use. Long battery life. I really wish it had a USB adapter built in but the USB adapter allows the connection of other devices which is a big help. The screen is bright, the unit is light ans slim. It's not a replacement for a laptop but it's great for just surfing the web."
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:September 2, 2011

Exceeds Expecatations

"Very well designed product. No regrets. Only that I did not buy it sooner. I am realizing now that there is a big gain in productivity for the multitude of personal and business tasks I do daily. Spent lot of time test driving various tablets and settled on Galaxy. Being based on Android works well for me."
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay area, CA
Date:July 26, 2011

Sleek, light, some wifi and browser flaws

Pros: light weight, wide reader friendly screen, flash support after downloading an addon
Cons: wifi disconnects on its own often which is annoyi, file organization is a challenge
Model Number: Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
"I brought this Tablet about 2 weeks ago- for my wife-for surfing the net without having to powerup the laptop each time,
reading pdf documents from web and watching videos..So far we are happywith what we thought but there are some issues we hope don't get worse over time.
While buying, I preferred this one over IPAD any time becaue of the FLASH support. iPad does NOT play videos or show many websites which I frequently visit. Also this one seemed to be the first with a big screen(10.1) and light enough to be held for a little longer time.
I also have a Galaxy S Andorid 2.1 Samsung device since last year from Costco/Tmobile and I am able to compare these.
This tablet is honeycomb andorid 3.1 - so it does not have inbuilt way of Adding folder. It is tough to organize folders.
Free app for organizing is available, but you still do not get flexibility to store a file at a folder location you want. All the downloads from web go to a predefined location. I get these options in Andorid 2.1/2.2
The 3.1 UI is a bit different from the smartphone (Android 2.1 or 2.2 device) and I liked the smartphone much better. For example the dedicated Menu key is missing in the tablet and many times you don't know what you can do on the screen. The action buttons on the tablet are all the way on the left bottom.
One thing my wife has been complaining is that WIFI drops for no reason occasionally and you have to go to the settings and enable it again. For a device whose only access to internet is through wifi - i would have expected better performance at this price.
Also, inbuilt browser crashed 3-4 times so far. I have downloaded Mozilla, but have not been able to test it much so far."
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:July 28, 2011

Second Chance

Pros: user friendly
Cons: tbd....
"I bought my 1st Samsung Tab 10.1 last week @ costco.com but I have to return today. The power button does not work properly. I decide to try again just to see if the 1st one was just a defective item or Samsung does not know how to make a good Tab. The picture & other function are good."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy 16GB Tab™ Multi-Touch HD 10.1" Screen HoneyComb 3.1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2012

Samsung 10.1 Tab

"This Tab is far better than my expectations.
I have a Samsung smart phone with a Google account. When I set up my new tab instantly all my apps appeared on my new tab.
Would reccomend it to anyone.
"
1 2 next>>